Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Congratulations swapple :)

After all the blood donating chat last week, a clinic will be in my college this week. I might toddle on down tomorrow, hopefully my haemoglobin will be okay and I won't keel over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Congrats Swapple. Get one for me! You know it's customary to buy everyone in TGC chips with your first wage packet ya? Shame to break tradition...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

CastorTroy wrote: »
    And Pem, we already know awec's pregnant! :D
    Thankfully I'm not the baby mama (that's all on Panthro) I can't afford a baby, I like spoiling and feeding myself :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Pembily wrote: »
    Thankfully I'm not the baby mama (that's all on Panthro) I can't afford a baby, I like spoiling and feeding myself :p

Will you sush! He hasn't even told his folks yet!
    Well done swapple, get paying yo taxes like a motherfo!:pac:
    Daisies, balls on the Harddrive situation, why Lord, WHYYYYYY?!! (I'll be dramatic for ya)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

You guys are the best!

I lost Arrested Development, Community and loads more that I can't remember. I might actually just buy a big flash drive and post it to Pem and get you guys to fill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Daisies wrote: »
    You guys are the best!

I lost Arrested Development, Community and loads more that I can't remember. I might actually just buy a big flash drive and post it to Pem and get you guys to fill!

That's not a bad idea actually! Probably handiest for all involved! :)

Morning all!!

That's not a bad idea actually! Probably handiest for all involved! :)

Morning all!!
    Handiest for me really :P

It will be if you can put stuff on my hard drive too :) (there is no clean way to say that :( )

HAHA no worries Pem! I have a shed load of stuff I can Tranfer over!

HAHA no worries Pem! I have a shed load of stuff I can transfer over!
    Wuhoooo :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Handiest for me really :P

It will be if you can put stuff on my hard drive too :) (there is no clean way to say that :( )

I'm sure we can manage something alright.. :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

morning all..

hows everyone on this chilly morning?

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    morning all..

hows everyone on this chilly morning?
    I am warming up, that was a cold, cold cycle in! How are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Morning 0/ Still wrecked from last weekend. Roll on the weekend!

Fair play for cycling in that weather, Pem. It's bitterly cold out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,317 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Morning! Car started no problem this morning and roads were pretty clear once got out of the estate, so grand getting into work.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Morning all. It is minus 6 here, minus 6. But it has started to snow in the last few mins...woo!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

You guys are the best but GREAT NEWS. All my data has been recovered now I just need to sort out where I'm going to store the 250gb of data that just came off my laptop :rolleyes:

I am warming up, that was a cold, cold cycle in! How are you?

I'm grand, finally coming to the of this bloody cold I've had on and off for 4 weeks.. apart from that all is good.

I'd say it was a chilly cycle in alright.. don't think I'd fancy it..

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭swapple

cantdecide wrote: »
    Congrats Swapple. Get one for me! You know it's customary to buy everyone in TGC chips with your first wage packet ya? Shame to break tradition...

This is the first I've heard of it! :P Sure I'll post some out to ya! :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I got a bit carried away, the snow stopped after a minute :D

My feets are cold!! :(

Anyone have any news?

cantdecide wrote: »
    swapple wrote: »
    This is the first I've heard of it! :P Sure I'll post some out to ya! :D

Just post em out a big bag of these* :D

wood_chips.jpg

They didnt specify what type of chips!! :pac:

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

awec wrote: »
    Part of me wants it to snow really heavy! :D

I like snow.

Its literally just started here now.. BIG BIG flakes, but the ground is wet and its not sticking :(

Looks like it is going to stick here near lansdowne road!

now is great when you are indoors with no where to be - but it shuts down the f*cking country otherwise! So that is why it is sh!t.

You'd be surprised how quickly it stays. Rained heavy here on Thursday night, started snowing on Friday and place was covered Friday afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Looks like it is going to stick here near lansdowne road!

now is great when you are indoors with no where to be - but it shuts down the f*cking country otherwise! So that is why it is sh!t.
    Totally agree with you, Grames. I love snow if I can hibernate, otherwise, I hate it.

I live near Landsdowne Road, eeek! Hope it doesn't stick too much :(

Just post em out a big bag of these* :D

http://www.pelletstoves.ie/attachments/Image/wood_chips.jpg

They didnt specify what type of chips!! :pac:

I'll take those. Bloody freezing out! Still no bloody snow here though:/

awec wrote: »
    Part of me wants it to snow really heavy! :D

I like snow.
    Please don't wish it! I have to run on Sunday and running in the snow isn't fun, it's cold!

Cheese burgers are awesome - as we all know (or should know!)

Cheese burgers as described by Patrick Warburton Just become automatically more awesome!

http://www.cheeseandburger.com/

Hero!

It just bucketed down with snow as I was walking home from college half an hour ago, but it's nearly gone already. Still, it was nice while it lasted!

I'm going to warm up now with some Mexican Chilli Bean soup :)

Just reminded me I forgot to take burgers out of the freezer for dinner tonight.

On a random note, I had a strange dream the night before last about the end of the world somehow brought about by the moon being split in 2 for some reason.

I feel sorry for all you guys in the cold. I'm sweating in my office and can't wait to get home and change into shorts (for the half hour before I start getting eaten alive by mosquitoes).

Daisies wrote: »
    I feel sorry for all you guys in the cold. I'm sweating in my office and can't wait to get home and change into shorts (for the half hour before I start getting eaten alive by mosquitoes).

I'd have icicles on my nose and I still prefer that to mozzies. Bastards every one of them!

It's quiet! A little too quiet.
    Ooh maybe gonna be a surprise party?

Snow's nearly all gone here now. Goes quickly these days it seems

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,524 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Party? Baby shower for awec?

Party?

*dons party hat*

Party? Baby shower for awec?

You saying awec needs a shower? That's not a very nice thing to say. Especially with the smotional state he;s in with the pregnancy
    Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    Party?

*dons party hat*

Ssshhh, back in the cake! :P

Ooops.

There better be champagne at this shindig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Morning all!

I survived London.

Highlights include drinking from 11am until 3am on the day we arrived on 3hours sleep and travelling since 5am, having a huge snowball fight in Leicester square which ended abruptly after one of the lads pinged a copper from 30 yards away, one of the lads being tied to a chair with a scarf whilst passed out to prevent injury in a pub at 1pm on our departure day...also met a nice Brazilian girl :pac:

Swapple congrats on the job and welcome to the land of Universal social charges :)

Morning all!

D'Agger, that sounds like a weekend and a half. You were lucky to come back in one piece. And a nice Brazilian girl you say...do tell :P

Brazilian girl you say? Do show. :D

So what happened the guy who hit the cop? And saying about the guy being tied to the chair reminds me of a certain scene in Casino Royale. If that happened, it would certainly sober him up.

Morning!

Hmmmm.. heading to London on Friday, in fact gonna be there most of the next 3 weeks .. Any suggestions D'Agger? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Brazilian girl you say? Do show. :D

So what happened the guy who hit the cop? And saying about the guy being tied to the chair reminds me of a certain scene in Casino Royale. If that happened, it would certainly sober him up.

Morning!

He stepped in and the cops told us to cop on in case we hurt bystanders etc.

He then got the píss taken out of him for sucking up to the cops :pac:
    Hmmmm.. heading to London on Friday, in fact gonna be there most of the next 3 weeks .. Any suggestions D'Agger? :D

I was literally just drinking all weekend but from my previous trips to London I would highly recommend heading to Westfield shopping centre near Shepherds Bush - could spend 3 weeks there alone and you'll get some nice deals there.

Also - the Imperial War Museum is another spot where you could spend the day, been there twice and would easily go again - if you're interested in WWII then it's a must.

Morning all!! o/

TP you should visit the "movseum" in london - it is a museum of movie memrobelia (and cartoon stuff too) just opposite the entrance to the london eye (which is stupid money and not worth it!)

What kind of things are you into Paddy? I could give you along list of things I like in London but they might be of no interest to you :D

Hello everyone! I got my Christmas exam results and thankfully I've passed them all :) Need to bump up the GPA this semester though :-/

ToxicPaddy, try get to the Natural History Museum in London if you can, it's fantastic! The Tower of London is pretty good too :)

Congrats on the exam results Ilyana! Fair play!! :D

Nice one Ilyana, I hope you are spoiling yourself a little (or a lot :D) to celebrate today!

Thank you :)

Well right now, spoiling myself consists of eating pineapple and drinking coffee whilst browsing the interwebs, but later on I might book my flights for a class trip to Berlin in March :D

Congrats Ilyana. Always a relief.

And Berlin's nice, once you get used to the transport system