Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Looking forward to that one, the first Kick Ass was really good.

And now for some toast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Well that's Kick Ass rewatched before the sequel next week.

Nice idea!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,531 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Kick Ass 2...with Jim Carey being silly.

Coke muffins sound odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Morning all

Sore head again :( I can smell a deep fry
    /drool

Pembily wrote: »
    I just had a coca cola muffin. Amazing!!
    A what? Is that somethig you get in Amsterdam :pac:

And looking forward to Kick Ass 2 as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I tried watching Kick Ass last weekend, made it about an hour in and turned it off, thought it was muck.

Pem, please explain about the coca cola muffins, I am intrigued.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I tried watching Kick Ass last weekend, made it about an hour in and turned it off, thought it was muck.

Pem, please explain about the coca cola muffins, I am intrigued.

But Lyndsy Fonseca does help ease the pain a little.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Don't knock the muffins till you try them. It's a Nigella Lawson recipe.

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

entropi wrote: »
    I see your steak and ice cream and raise some vodka & red bull and cheese & onion hunky dorys. Ice cream sounds tempting, though I'm dying for a tayto sandwich.

Comic con most of the day (met some boardsies out there too), boozing now. Life of a student, eh? :pac:

How'ye lads!

Touché. I've never had a tayto sandwich. :o

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    But Lyndsy Fonseca does help ease the pain a little.. ;)

Ah, Lyndsy Fonseca. That woman is absolutely stunning. I rewatched Kick Ass a few months ago, so the memory should be OK for the sequel when it comes out shortly.

I can't decide who I want to see lose this match. I don't particularly want to see either Cork or Dublin win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Ah I'm shouting for Dublin as a Daly v Fitzy final would be interesting!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,531 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Ah, well, Nigella's ham in coke recipe is great.

Backfromthebog_zpsbb21502c.jpg

Back from the bog. :pac:

Well, I'm now €6 poorer. Stupid Cork.

Just booked 4 nights in Lisbon with herself for November, looking forward to it.

There is an awesome looking zoo and Oceania park there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Awkward moment..
    Came into the Dining Room earlier, mum was watching Fair City. A scene comes on where a few auld wans stick on a dvd and next thing all you can hear is this cheesy porno music. Obviously they had been mistakenly given a porno. (Hilarity and mortification ensues among the auld wans)
    As soon as I heard the music I blurted out without really thinking about it: "Hah, porn music!"
    A few seconds of silence pass (bar the prono music from Fair City!) then Mum asks: "And how do you know what porn music sounds like?"
    I had no real choice so I responded with.."Do you really want to go down that road now Mother?"..
    Awkward!!!
    She saw the funny side and laughed!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

On a slightly similar kind of note, I was at a wedding yesterday of two old friends and the groom's dad was one of many that spoke a few words. He spoke about the time he sat my mate down when he was a pup and said "Okay, Kevin, I know this is going to be awkward but it's time we spoke about the birds and the bees.". To which my mate replied. "Okay Dad, what do you want to know?".

These posts won't put off anyone new to posting in tGC. :pac:

Ara, if we can't share our experiences and have a giggle along the way in TGC then times are bad, hah?!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Pretty Polly

Panthro wrote: »
    Ara, if we can't share our experiences and have a giggle along the way in TGC then times are bad, hah?!:pac:

Yeah I still cringe when those type of scenes come on the telly and my mum is in the room. I wonder will I ever grow out of it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Hah indeed!
    Yeah I still cringe when those type of scenes come on the telly and my mum is in the room. I wonder will I ever grow out of it??

Jaysus I can't watch TV with me dad in the room without that feckin' Durex ad coming on :/ awks

Each time you walk past the dining room and hear music you should go 'typical. Porn music at this hour - RTE!!1111!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Aye, sharing is caring :pac:
    My mam will just want the channel changed if something like that comes on, I won't even watch Game of Thrones or Spartacus if she's at home, there's no point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,320 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I'm the same if at home and I'm in the living room with my parents while they're watching tv. If nudity or a sex scene comes on, that's when I suddenly show great interest in my phone or tablet or whatever's handy to feign lack of interest in naked women. And about a minute later, if expecting a similar scene later on, I just conveniently leave the room just so the same awkwardness isn't repeated.

Ahh Monday, you horrible bitch master.

Morning folks.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

morning/afternoon.. 3 day week for me this week.. yay \0/

Just wondering, you know how crazy people tend to drill a hole in their head to let the voices out? Do you think it would work to get this One Direction song out of my head?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,347 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Just wondering, you know how crazy people tend to drill a hole in their head to let the voices out? Do you think it would work to get this One Direction song out of my head?

Listening to some loud, angry music should help :D

Morning everyone, it was very busy here at the weekend! Coca cola Muffins and all :eek:

How were the weekends? Mine was lovely :D

Pembily wrote: »
    Ah I'm shouting for Dublin as a Daly v Fitzy final would be interesting!

You've slighted me as the son of a Limerick man :pac:
    Just booked 4 nights in Lisbon with herself for November, looking forward to it.

There is an awesome looking zoo and Oceania park there!

And a happy Monday to you too díckhead! :D

Nice one man, won't be long rolling around what with the pace Summer's gone by
    morning/afternoon.. 3 day week for me this week.. yay \0/

Pffft....you work in IT, I know full well you'll be checking the mails!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Guten tag hermanos.

Bonjour Kiiiiiiiiiid

D'Agger wrote: »
    Pffft....you work in IT, I know full well you'll be checking the mails!

Funnily enough, no.. I don't own a blackberry and I have no intention of remotely connecting to my email while away.. so there :P

*Shakes fist

Got a work phone recently, job not having to pay my bill anymore and while it's a nice looking phone iphone < Android from my experience thus far.

Really would've loved an S4

Ahh Monday, you horrible bitch master.

Morning folks.

67-case-of-the-mondays-5-f1b1026b-sz308x335-animate.jpg?w=500&h=544

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

hey hey everybody, hows it goin?

Got a job interview tomorrow, first time in a long time.

Zombienosh wrote: »

Going...fast...seriously where's the day gone!

Besta luck in the interview bud! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Well good luck.

It's been one of those days for me....

Going grand. Saw the new Wolverine film this evening. A solid 3/5.

Best of luck with the interview tomorrow.

Kev.OC wrote: »
    Going grand. Saw the new Wolverine film this evening. A solid 3/5.

Best of luck with the interview tomorrow.

I ain't heard good things about it, I'm gonna go see kick ass 2 tomorrow.

The trailer looks awful imo

How'd the interview go or is it later today? Keep forgetting about KickAss2 - has alot to live up to but looking forward to seeing it.

I hope to go see Kick Ass 2 next week. Already read the comic and the Hit Girl comic which basically fills the gap between the 2.

How'd the interview go or is it later today? Keep forgetting about KickAss2 - has alot to live up to but looking forward to seeing it.

Interview went really well thanks, Not sure how I feel about accepting the position though.

Is it an internal role ZN or a different company?

While watching an episode of Power Rangers today, as you do, I was thinking Imagine if bad guys in movies turned into giants when they were beaten. We could have John McClane taking on a Nakatomi Plaza sized Hans Gruber

Interview went really well thanks, Not sure how I feel about accepting the position though.
    What's making you question it?

Get to work in our new office tomorrow doing networking stuff - very basic stuff but still, happy to be away from people bugging me :)

Few minor little things wrong with it, but no glaring problems with consistency/physics. It's not going to win any Oscars, but it'll keep you entertained for a few hours.

I gave up on trailers after The Dark Night Rises. The trailer essentially showed all the film. Bane collapses the football pitch in the trailer, and then when I went to see the film rather than thinking "Wow, he just collapsed a pitch!" it was just "Oh, that's where that fits in."

I get to drive up and down to Sligo today. I wouldn't mind if it was in my old car, but instead I'll be in the mother's 1.4L Punto, and I'm not exactly a slow driver. I just look at it as me helping the car to stretch it's legs a bit. :pac:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

The north American black-out, 10 years today. Walking home from downtown Toronto, free food in restaurants, cooking by candlelight and streaking.

Sniff. Memories.

Oh, I was reading about that yesterday, and remember some of the coverage at the time. Didn't realise it was Canada as well.

Kitten closed her account. That's a pity.

Hello, weekend.

Hey Kitten, if you're reading this..."Fooooooook you!!!"....:mad:
    (I am of course just kidding, sorry to see that Kitten has closed her account, was a good contributor round these parts.)

Taz Mania is on telly, good times!:D

Kev.OC wrote: »
    I gave up on trailers after The Dark Night Rises. The trailer essentially showed all the film. Bane collapses the football pitch in the trailer, and then when I went to see the film rather than thinking "Wow, he just collapsed a pitch!" it was just "Oh, that's where that fits in."

Yup, trailers are getting worse imo - even Skyfall, the teaser trailer was all you needed, 2mins of awesome and had me dying to go see it, second trailer gave away a good bit and annoyed me

How'd the drive go btw?

Got my car serviced today, they did a serious job on it, like driving a cloud around the place :D
    Kitten closed her account. That's a pity.

A sad day for the TGC parish indeed :( *pours some liquor on ground
    Hey Kitten, if you're reading this..."Fooooooook you!!!"....:mad:
    (I am of course just kidding, sorry to see that Kitten has closed her account, was a good contributor round these parts.)

You'd want to be kidding, nobody likes a bitter, bitter mod P-Dawg :pac:

Haha! But of course I'm kidding D'Agg!:pac:
    I'm just going to put this out there and say...what the absolute fook?!

What's making you question it?

Get to work in our new office tomorrow doing networking stuff - very basic stuff but still, happy to be away from people bugging me :)

It was unpaid, they didn't mention that til the interview.