Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

BBC are hardly going to have such blanket covered of the paralympics are they? Be great of they were.
    Channel 4 have the Paraylympics coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

BBC are hardly going to have such blanket covered of the paralympics are they? Be great of they were.

I think Channel 4 are covering the paralympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Afaik channel 4 broadcast the Paralympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Federer is a class act. Still looked happy and in good spirits receiving silver.

But inside he's seething :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

titan18 wrote: »
    Anyone can miss a test, true. You miss 3 tests and you're either hiding something or you're so stupid that you have trouble tying your shoelaces.

It was found that it was impossible for her to have doped as she was tested in between and after the two missed test (the third was from a previous year).

From the Telegraph:

Tests she missed:
    Oct 12 2005: Testers waited for an hour at Mile End stadium, but Ohuruogu failed to appear.

June 28 2006: Ohuruogu tried to drive across London when she realised she had not notified testers she had switched training venues from Mile End to the Olympic Medical Institute in Harrow. She failed to make it in time.

July 25 2006: A school sports day at Mile End forced her to relocate at the last minute to Crystal Palace. In the panic to drive to the venue, Ohuruogu forgot to tell the testers.

Tests she passed:
    July 16 2006: Ohuruogu underwent a random test following her run in the 200m at the European Championship trials in Manchester where she finished fifth. Result: negative.

July 28 2006: Finished last in the 400m at the British Grand Prix at Crystal Palace. Again chosen at random to be tested. Result: negative.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Pherekydes wrote: »
    The usual ignorant sh1te. She's not a druggie or a drug cheat. She had a ban because of three missed tests. Athletes are allowed miss tests, just not 3. Sh1t happens. Anyone can miss a test.

Anyone can miss a test, true. You miss 3 tests and you're either hiding something or you're so stupid that you have trouble tying your shoelaces.

At the time they were relatively new regulations, and it was completely accepted even as the ban was handed down that there was no question of it being anything other than extreme carelessness on her behalf, as she was tested on numerous occasions within weeks either of the missed tests.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/olympics/2325245/Dates-prove-Christine-Ohuruogu-is-no-cheat.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Irish guy warming up for the cycling sprint on bbc3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Horriffic women's vault final in gymnastics, literally the worst one I have ever seen.

My sister and I were saying the same thing. Quality was terrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

F00king hell, the womens weightlifting.....Russian woman just lifted 149kg(about 23 stone in old money). New world record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

The usual ignorant sh1te. She's not a druggie or a drug cheat. She had a ban because of three missed tests. Athletes are allowed miss tests, just not 3. Sh1t happens. Anyone can miss a test.
    Just like Kostas Kenteris and E. Thanou?

To miss one test is unfortunate, two is careless and three........

Rio Ferdinand missed one and was banned for eight months, she can consider herself fortunate to only have received a 1 year ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Jason Kenny also looks unbeatable, the British are really dominating the track cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Whats the story with all these eejits holding up ipads and taking pictures of stuff 30 metres + away? Its a bloody 5mp camera on a tablet. Do these people not have phones at least or do they just want everone to know they have an ipad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Well done Murray couldn't be happier for him. Another gold for GB! Great stuff

Team GB is on some roll. Unreal stuff. I see Katie is fighting at team GB girl tomorrow. I am actually getting worried about this fight now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Jeez, did you never forget anything?

Jimoslimos wrote: »

Rio Ferdinand missed one and was banned for eight months, she can consider herself fortunate to only have received a 1 year ban

Well you cant get perma banned anymore, look at Chambers, the British federation wanted him banned for life, the IOC overturned it..

And holy shít that Russian just lifted 151kg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Roger Federer is a gent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Roger Federer is a gent

Different class in that interview.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Whats the story with all these eejits holding up ipads and taking pictures of stuff 30 metres + away? Its a bloody 5mp camera on a tablet. Do these people not have phones at least or do they just want everone to know they have an ipad?
    Don't know how anyone could ever think that a tablet is a convienient way of taking pictures, well other than the late Mr Jobs maybe. Even a phone is pretty rubbish for photo taking but if that is what you happen to have on you. The tablet thing is daft though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Horriffic women's vault final in gymnastics, literally the worst one I have ever seen. Canadian Elsabeth Black crashes her first vault, is injured on it and balks after running for her second one and doesn't vault. First (and second) receive a zero, but it's another controversial zero (a vault is zeroed if anything other than your feet hit the mat first) as it looks like she MAY have got her feet down.

Dominican Republic's Yamilet Pena Abreu spectacularly crashes her impossible vault- which few men attempt at all, nevermind women. She has sat the thing for over a year now, but gets a score as her feet hit first. Normally happy to be alive after vaulting (people predict her death when she throws that vault) she is absolutely gutted not to medal- must have been insane pressure on her, sad to see.

Russia's Maria Paseka comes off the mat entirely which is a huge deduction..and isn't deducted for it. She gets bronze and screws over the two very clean and ON the mat vaults by Germany's Janine Berger.

The outright favourite McKayla Maroney whose vault screenshot from team finals went viral as it showed judges with their mouths open at how spectacular it was SITS her second vault. This was seen as the only sure-thing gold in all of gymnastics, male or female. She would have won with a huge margin if she had vaulted like she did in qualification. Even with the sit-down and a non-perfect landing on her first vault- she loses gold by only one tenth, an absolutely tiny margin, which shows how fantastic her vaulting is. Sandra Izbasa takes gold, deservedly- great vaults. But this was a sickening final.

It was a shocking final. Maroney had hit 59 consecutive vaults up until that point. She said during the press conference afterwards that she wasn't disappointed with her silver medal - she was disappointed with her performance. Class. And Izbasa was the deserved winner. I'm American, but I would have been uncomfortable with an Olympic champ who had fall. Frankly, I'm uncomfortable with the silver medalist having fall, but Maroney does have such a huge advantage over everyone else in both difficulty and execution.

And how about that men's pommels final? Britain has to be feeling a little undone by this competition. First, the fluke in team finals, sending them from silver to bronze, and now a tie breaker that worked out in favor of Berki instead of Smith (although I've personally always preferred Berki to Smith).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Roger interviewed there. Really good guy. Great sport about taking silver.

If that Chinese one in the weightlifting walked on in the mens competition no one would question her not being a man.

No. Ohurougu's case has nothing to do with the two Greeks.

Ferdinand's case was also different.

Missing a test is not a doping offence (Ohurougu)

Avoiding a test is a doping offence (Ferdinand)

If Ohurougu did what Ferdinand did she would get a two year ban, so who got off lightly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Jeez, did you never forget anything?

Yes, have I ever forgotten something that important, no.

If you had to be at a meeting to save your job, would you forget it? Or worse, forget it 3 times.

Rascasse wrote: »
    It was found that it was impossible for her to have doped as she was tested in between and after the two missed test (the third was from a previous year).

From the Telegraph:

Tests she missed:
    Oct 12 2005: Testers waited for an hour at Mile End stadium, but Ohuruogu failed to appear.

June 28 2006: Ohuruogu tried to drive across London when she realised she had not notified testers she had switched training venues from Mile End to the Olympic Medical Institute in Harrow. She failed to make it in time.

July 25 2006: A school sports day at Mile End forced her to relocate at the last minute to Crystal Palace. In the panic to drive to the venue, Ohuruogu forgot to tell the testers.

Tests she passed:
    July 16 2006: Ohuruogu underwent a random test following her run in the 200m at the European Championship trials in Manchester where she finished fifth. Result: negative.

July 28 2006: Finished last in the 400m at the British Grand Prix at Crystal Palace. Again chosen at random to be tested. Result: negative.

Pretty naive to think it's impossible to be doping because you tested negative, considering the history of athletics and the amount of athletes who've never tested positive who were doped up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

I suppose if you can't be bothered to look at the specific circumstances of each case individually then yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

It was a shocking final. Maroney had hit 59 consecutive vaults up until that point. She said during the press conference afterwards that she wasn't disappointed with her silver medal - she was disappointed with her performance. Class. And Izbasa was the deserved winner. I'm American, but I would have been uncomfortable with an Olympic champ who had fall. Frankly, I'm uncomfortable with the silver medalist having fall, but Maroney does have such a huge advantage over everyone else in both difficulty and execution.

And how about that men's pommels final? Britain has to be feeling a little undone by this competition. First, the fluke in team finals, sending them from silver to bronze, and now a tie breaker that worked out in favor of Berki instead of Smith (although I've personally always preferred Berki to Smith).

I am fed up of tiebreakers. How many are we at now? Aly Raisman screwed entirely, Denis Ablyazin misses silver due to one and now again in pommel horse Smith loses gold. Still seven events to go! Scoring has been shocking so far. Just give both the meal if they have the same score! Berki IS better, but Smith has the higher difficulty..tough to call that one. Still, Whitlock's bronze was pretty unexpected...TF bronze, a silver and bronze in EF and still have Beth to go..that's a pretty phenomenal Olympics in GB gymnastics' book.

I think McKayla deserved that silver, her difficulty and execution just put her so far ahead. So close to the gold shows how great she is. Gutted for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Idiots at Wimbledon were doing it too. Basically watching the match through the I-pads. I was hoping a stray ball would smash it.

Basically just like when the iphone came out they wanted to show that they are a posh C*nt and have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

leahyl wrote: »
    So Federer let Murray win? JUST KIDDING!

Murray wanted it more.... Simple.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Rascasse wrote: »
    Tests she missed:

Tests she passed:

I think that raises more questions,

The tests she passed were in-competition tests - where she would expect a high chance of being picked.

The ones she missed seem to be out-of-competition. Rather important in the context of athletes cycling their doping regimes to be clean during competition time.

After the snatch comes the clean and jerk. Gold medal if you can manage it to the chinese woman.

The ones she missed seem to be out-of-competition. Rather important in the context of athletes cycling their doping regimes to be clean during competition time.

Would all traces be gone in 3 days?

el diablo wrote: »
    leahyl wrote: »
    So Federer let Murray win? JUST KIDDING!

Murray wanted it more.... Simple.

No doubt he did after losing Wimbledon final a few weeks back - delighted for him

Irish guy in cycling now

If you had to be at a meeting to save your job, would you forget it? Or worse, forget it 3 times.
    Bad comparison. These are meetings that you do not know about until the other guys turn up on your doorstep, but you have to let them know where you will be for an hour everyday(?).

Ooooh Denmark guy just fell off bike!

All substances are different and the list is long but for say testosterone or steroids you would be Looking at weeks or even months of remaining detectable.

On another note some great news that after these games they are going to name 5 athletes from Athens 2004 who have now been re tested as positive on there original samples, including a few medal winners who are to be stripped of their medals. Thankfully its getting harder and harder for the cheats to escape.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/olympics/news/five-athens-drug-cheats-to-be-revealed-8008017.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I am fed up of tiebreakers. How many are we at now? Aly Raisman screwed entirely, Denis Ablyazin misses silver due to one and now again in pommel horse Smith loses gold. Still seven events to go! Scoring has been shocking so far. Just give both the meal if they have the same score! Berki IS better, but Smith has the higher difficulty..tough to call that one. Still, Whitlock's bronze was pretty unexpected...TF bronze, a silver and bronze in EF and still have Beth to go..that's a pretty phenomenal Olympics in GB gymnastics' book.

I think McKayla deserved that silver, her difficulty and execution just put her so far ahead. So close to the gold shows how great she is. Gutted for her.

Yeah, the tiebreaking situation is just insane. It sucks to be a place lower than you expected, but especially on a tiebreaker. And you're exactly right - Berki is better, but Smith has more difficulty, and the execution breaks the tie, so it's all in accordance with the rules. It just sucks that both men can't receive gold medals.

I'm hoping - hoping! - for no more ties, but the way things have been going... today just wasn't an auspicious start to event finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,591 ✭✭✭patmac

Donegal winning the wrestling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭titan18

EPO has a half life if injected intravenously of 5 hours. An intravenous injection nearly eliminates the chance of it showing up in an urine test.

The old test for HGH was only detectable with blood testing and for up to 72 hours, I believe.

Not ignorant sh1te, she was banned for drug offences for missing 3 tests, I would rather accept the IOC's decision than your opinion.

patmac wrote: »
    Not ignorant sh1te, she was banned for drug offences for missing 3 tests, I would rather accept the IOC's decision than your opinion.

Nothing to do with the IOC.

The fact that she was banned for missing three tests doesn't mean she's a doper or a drug cheat.

An OK performance from Martin Irvine, 9th overall but he is at least competing and giving it his all. Kudos to him as he comes from a country with one outdoor velodrome which is useless in a country were it rains a lot.

Nothing to do with the IOC.

The fact that she was banned for missing three tests doesn't mean she's a doper or a drug cheat.
    Same for Michelle Smith anyway you have your opinion, so I am leaving it at that. Back to the GAA and Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Colmustard wrote: »
    An OK performance from Martin Irvine, 9th overall but he is at least competing and giving it his all. Kudos to him as he comes from a country with one outdoor velodrome which is useless in a country were it rains a lot.

He is on again in the 1Km TT at 6:16. Surely the legs will be fatigued.

patmac wrote: »
    Same for Michelle Smith anyway you have your opinion, so I am leaving it at that. Back to the GAA and Olympics.

Nothing to do with any other case. And it's not my opinion. It's simple fact. Check it out on the WADA website if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I really dont get this head to head cycling, coast around looking at each other barely moving for 2-3 laps and then flat out for the last half lap. :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

GB 2 breaks up in the tennis. Dream start.

GB 3-0 Belarus

YFlyer wrote: »
    He is on again in the 1Km TT at 6:16. Surely the legs will be fatigued.

Yes but so will all the other riders, he seems fit but IMO he is not much of a tactician. But overall I think he is doing Ireland proud. It's great having a worthy Irish athlete in the velodrome. I think Ireland could do more in track cycling, we have a decent cycling tradition and cycling is a growing sport in Ireland, its something the Olympic committee should look into.

Pendelton has invisible rockets on that bike of hers. What an athlete.

garv123 wrote: »
    I really dont get this head to head cycling, coast around looking at each other barely moving for 2-3 laps and then flat out for the last half lap. :confused::confused:

I think its great, its all about the flat out burst of speed at the end, you want to be just behind your opponent so you can get into his slip stream and let him expend his energy. Then you burst past him. But you can't let him get to ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Colmustard wrote: »
    Yes but so will all the other riders, he seems fit but IMO he is not much of a tactician. But overall I think he is doing Ireland proud. It's great having a worthy Irish athlete in the velodrome. I think Ireland could do more in track cycling, we have a decent cycling tradition and cycling is a growing sport in Ireland, its something the Olympic committee should look into.

Pendelton has invisible rockets on that bike of hers. What an athlete.

Would the other countries have different riders for different events?

Edit: Ah ok, just listening now on rte. they get points for positions and they are added up.

YFlyer wrote: »
    Would the other countries have different riders for different events?

No the same rider must compete in all 6 events.