Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Come on Katie, of course we know the judges will be favouring the brit and giving her easy points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Aidric wrote: »
    The standard of debating is quite strong.

I never claimed to be an expert on the sport of sailing. My point is this: she put herself in a strong position to medal but failed to perform at the crucial stage of the competition. You can put this down to mental frailty perhaps but it's an all too common trait with Irish athletes unfortunately.

I don't think it was necessarily mental frailty that caused her to lose. Maybe it was just experience. For sailing it is all about knowing the wind and plotting which course to take. With better coaching and practice she can improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's on the Red Button, or on BBC Olympic 3 for those on Freesat

I'm not in Ireland or the UK and the only English channel I have is BBC 1. feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Aidric wrote: »
    leahyl wrote: »
    That's all it deserves to be quit honest - knew you were gonna come back and say that anyway :-) so predictable
    FatherTed wrote: »
    If you're such an expert on Sailing and other athletic events, why don't you show us how's it's done. Looking forward to seeing Aidric in Rio.

The standard of debating is quite strong.

I never claimed to be an expert on the sport of sailing. My point is this: she put herself in a strong position to medal but failed to perform at the crucial stage of the competition. You can put this down to mental frailty perhaps but it's an all too common trait with Irish athletes unfortunately.

You quoted my post, I wasn't looking for a debate. I gave an opinion and a fact and think Annalise did quite well. You obviously don't feel that way, why don't we leave it at that and cheer on Katie Taylor now :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

I'm not in Ireland or the UK and the only English channel I have is BBC 1. feck.
    You're in luck BBC1 are going to show it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

2fm online to hear it????

I was right. They're showing it. Boxing on now, Taylor fight delayed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Yup the boxing is on BBC 1!

Going to watch it there, as cant stand Magee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Jasus this Adams one is a tough cookie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Sea Filly wrote: »
    Really wish I wasn't right here. :(

Oh wait, I wasn't right. Annaliese came 5th according to the official site.

It's her first of hopefully many Olympics, she'll medal eventually, but well done for the position she gained this year.
    I'm sick of people being harsh on Irish athletes that get fuck all funding and compete at their very best year in year out, just because we're not top of the world doesn't mean we're underachieving anyway.
    For a nation of about 4.5m people we have 66 competitors in 14 sports. That's a great achievement and we should be proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Does Bernard Dunne have a black eye or is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Colmo52 wrote: »
    Aussie guy in the Mens Trap Shooting just shot all 125 targets. Joint world record.

ya wouldn't want to wander onto his land by accident.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

flyswatter wrote: »
    Nah think its just poor lighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Nearly time for Katie, behave yerselves now British boxing judges.

flyswatter wrote: »

You have a black eye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

pithater1 wrote: »

Are the judges British? I thought they were from uninvolved countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

I've a knot in my stomach waiting for this boxing matching to start. Best of luck Katie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Here we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Barbieliveshere

C'mon Katie loving the crowd she has a lot of supporters over there! Great entrance music too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

She's something else, GWAN KATIE!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Lets get ready to rumble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

They are, but you know what I mean, no schenanagans from the judges, thank you very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

God Bernard Dunne is cat for interupting the rest of the panel.

We will We will knock out the Brit:D

Algeria's 1500M runner booted out of Olympics for 'not trying' in another race. He was a favorite to win too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

So much pressure on Katie.
    Hope it doesn't affect her too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

They are, but you know what I mean, no schenanagans from the judges, thank you very much.

They are not British, Jesus christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

British boxing judges from notorious British loving countries such as Argentina?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Bloody hell, really nervous about this one. Come on Katie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

No boxing on BBC now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I expect to feel like I am dying for the next 15 minutes or so.

I am already getting tense.

Knock her out Katie.

I feel sick!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

C'mon Katie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

"why can't we be friends, why can't we be friends..." :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,890 ✭✭✭✭klose

Wow amazing support there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Sea Filly wrote: »
    Oh wait, I wasn't right. Annaliese came 5th according to the official site.

Oh no, wait, I was right. I'm off to lie down and rest my weary head. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Katie got a bigger cheer than her British opponent

Her hands are so fast, like a blur watching her punch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Barbieliveshere

Jaysus Katie has some speed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Feck me I'm nervous! I know nothing about boxing...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Why is there a male referee?

Algeria's 1500M runner booted out of Olympics for 'not trying' in another race. He was a favorite to win too
    Too right as well, no place for that bull.

OLE OLE OLE OLE

First round is in the bag I'd say

yeah.. 5-2 up

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

God, why the ole ole, was praying that wouldn't start :(

C'mon Katie!! 5-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Hard to tell who is the Home Boxer here.

GO ON KATIE!!

5-2, nice one.