Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

DominoDub wrote: »
    Well Hello . Leryn Franco Paraguayan javelin :eek:

What???? What's happening there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

time penalty for one of the Brownlees ??:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Patser

Noble leading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Noble gone out in front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

He's in first! Not that position matters now

He's driving them on. Looks like he knows cycling is his strenght and running his weakness, so trying to open up a gap on the large pack and knacker out his ooponents now.

ohohohoh

Hes' chattign with the borwnlees - trying to make a new break ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Does anyone know - can Noble run ?

rasco was saying it's his weaker section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

What do the two red flags mean ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

He is giving himself every chance of a good finish,lets hope he can keep it going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

No. He qualified for the Olympic triathlon without being able to run. But I hear he can walk very, very fast! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Call me Al

YFlyer wrote: »
    Call me Al wrote: »
    He is looking very comfortable. Lead down to about 7 seconds.

How good is he in the running?
    Well he is in the lead right now.... Not that it makes much difference in cycling.

Can he run? Irish commentary saying he isn't the strongest on that part...
    Very impressive for his first Olympics though!

You know what -whatever happens in the run - legend so far!!!

Anyone else think the cameraman standing on the back of the motorcycle should be getting a medal of some sort ?:D

He's not actually standing, just got a very long back.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Pherekydes wrote: »

No. He qualified for the Olympic triathlon without being able to run. But I hear he can walk very, very fast! :p
    Chuckle :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

In 8th now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Poor Fionnuala Britton. Must say from the interview, she seems like a lovely genuine girl.

They're ALL lovely girls.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

The Triathlon is enjoying some great support, they truly are "the best games ever"

el diablo wrote: »
    They're ALL lovely girls.

Even the Peruvian shot putters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Is he still in the leading group?

time penalty for one of the Brownlees ??:eek:

Ten minutes ahead of RTE. fair play.

Pudsy33 wrote: »

No sitting back a bit now but still in the leading group

Confirmed 15 seconds penalty for Johnaton Brownlee, one of the 2 brothers leading the race - an djust after RTE were saying they'd be able to work as a team (along with another Brit) to control the race.

Penalty for early bike mount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Even the Peruvian shot putters?

Ok, not including those or the Belarussian shot-putter or the Chinese weightlifter. :)

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

Pudsy33 wrote: »

Ya,still looking comfortable

Ten minutes ahead of RTE. fair play.

I just flicked to rte to see if i was missing good commentary

what did i flick to ?? An ad.

BBC it is so :)

I turned over after they showed Bolts race,couldnt be dealing with all the ads

11th after lap 5

I turned over after they showed Bolts race,couldnt be dealing with all the ads

Bolt was racing ? **** I missed it. Did he break any records ?

No cruised into the semis of the 200m,walked the last few metres :)

Originally Posted by opinion guy

BBC it is so

I am normally a fan of RTE sport, it is usually excellent, but not for these games, its more a panel show with lots of ads and chatter.

As for the BeeB their coverage is just brilliant.

Colmustard wrote: »
    I am normally a fan of RTE sport, it is usually excellent, but not for these games, its more a panel show with lots of ads and chatter.

Yeah rte are ****e for these games - far too much in studio chat.

the beeb are ok - but if like me youn don't have a red button its kind of annoying when they change sports have way through the event :rolleyes:

Alistair Brownlee has made a break for it

Scrap that,that didnt last long :)

Yeah rte are ****e for these games - far too much in studio chat.

the beeb are ok - but if like me youn don't have a red button its kind of annoying when they change sports have way through the event :rolleyes:

I hate to dig it in, but the red button is truly the best sport coverage device ever invented.

Alistair Brownlee has made a break for it

Looks like they caught him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

BBC is wearing me out, getting tired of their incessant repeats of their wins, their Track and Field coverage isnt great, they miss a lot of the field events because they want to interview every single british athlete no matter what.

I've found myself switching to RTE for all the athletics. I also prefer the Irish commentator for the athletics(cant think of his name, but he has done it for years).

I hate to dig it in, but the red button is truly the best sport coverage device ever invented.

Ah feck off with your feckin red button :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Noble 28-1 on betting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Anyone wrote: »
    BBC is wearing me out, getting tired of their incessant repeats of their wins, their Track and Field coverage isnt great, they miss a lot of the field events because they want to interview every single british athlete no matter what.

I've found myself switching to RTE for all the athletics. I also prefer the Irish commentator for the athletics(cant think of his name, but he has done it for years).

Jerry Kieran

Yeah they interrupted their coverage of the triathlon when Noble was leading to interview British female triathlete for opinion on Brownlees time penalty :rolleyes:

Ya cant think of his mane either,he is very good himself and Timmy "Downtown" Mac are the best RTE have

BOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMM :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Jerry Kieran

Not him, the commentator, not the studio analyst.

BOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMM :D

Should let him do a GAA match for a laugh :)

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Jerry Kieran
    George hamilton is on commentry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Yeah they interrupted their coverage of the triathlon when Noble was leading to interview British female triathlete for opinion on Brownlees time penalty :rolleyes:

That was a fairly insightful piece as opposed to being just fluff, how many here knew when he had to, or could choose when, to take his penalty ? And at that stage of the race nothing was going to be missed, plus they were about 10 minutes ahead of RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

Surely it's the television.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That was a fairly insightful piece as opposed to being just fluff, how many here knew when he had to, or could choose when, to take his penalty ? And at that stage of the race nothing was going to be missed, plus they were about 10 minutes ahead of RTE.

For sure - but they could have given us the audio whilst giving us the video from the race!

Nobles going for the front of transition!!!!!

Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

I prefer bb myself, I don't mind the bb chats either.
    I like the thing they do before some events where they tell you about the event .