Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

RTE can be such a shambles...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

BBC interviewed her after she got out of the ring.

Ok we get it. You prefer BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Mod:
    Do not post here again.
    That's a shame; I was enjoying him making a tit of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I prefer to see the actual sport while watchign the Olympics. It's kind of why I put it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

pc7 wrote: »
    lol I read that the way Cartman said it in Southpark ;)

Its what Jamei Gumm (The posters name)or buffalo bill said in Silence of the lambs.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭Jorah

Hungary going crazy!

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Rosen

Is it just me or anyone else finding it hard to hope Cian O'Connor wins a medal? Weird feeling.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Shameful Paddywhackery.

Everything they do reflects an inferiority complex.

It's like "look how great we're doing despite the fact that we're gombeen men".

Instead it should be "we are a great nation among equals...well done Katie Taylor".

I really hope you're just a troll because it would actually make me feel a bit sad if I thought there was people out there who could get this bitter for no reason whatsoever

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Colmustard wrote: »
    Its what Jamei Gumm (The posters name)or buffalo bill said in Silence of the lambs.

Ah yeah I know that but there is an episode of South Park where Cartman is playing 'lambs' and reenacts that scene. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Rosen wrote: »
    Is it just me or anyone else finding it hard to hope Cian O'Connor wins a medal? Weird feeling.

It was the horse that cheated, not him. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Cian is on shortly so I think they can forget about that fight until later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I prefer to see the actual sport while watchign the Olympics. It's kind of why I put it on.

Normally I'd be the same, but I enjoy the build up, the dicussion, and the analysis. This is our best athlete and there is massive nationwide interest, so I'm enjoying the talk before and after.

Possibly another chance now in the showjumping with Cian O'Connor. Personally I'd love to hear ole,ole,ole and Fields of Athenry being belted out but a huge crowd of Irish people at the horsey place :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

The vast majority of viewers would want to see highlights of Katies fight and her interview over the fight to see who she's going to beat next, which is being shown now anyway. Might not be what you want but that's what the BBC red button is for

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I feel I can't support him, not very Irish of me but I just cant I mentioned it earlier in the thread, same with Gatlin the other night, left a very bad taste. :(

No I really hope he does it, but I probably shouldn't, I remember being confused about that whole doping episode. I was never sure whether he was guilty or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭cylor

Wow Cuban pole-vaulter's pole snapped :eek:

Time to go on a diet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭patmac

I feel sorry for anyone not enjoying Katie's olympic journey, these days don't come around very often, I for one will be enjoying all of the singing, jingoism, interviews and endless replays. Those who don't are very sad indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

What the heck is going on with the women's boxing Brazil & Russia. Loose trunks, untied laces. Very sloppy boxing too. Especially after seeing Katie. That gombeen on RTE "She boxes like a man." No, she boxes like a fukn boxer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Still buzzin' after Katie :D

On behalf of the whole Country, this is for you Katie:

:o
    :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Grand. Enjoy. Much to be full of yourself about.

patmac wrote: »
    I feel sorry for anyone not enjoying Katie's olympic journey, these days don't come around very often, I for one will be enjoying all of the singing, jingoism, interviews and endless replays. Those who don't are very sad indeed.

+1 and hopefully in 20 years time I'll be able to tell the kids I remember the day Katie Taylor won gold in the first ever games were women were allowed to box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Nice tweet from the Telegraph editor after their earlier error.

https://twitter.com/gallaghereditor/status/233197779537780736

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

What time tomorrow is her next fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Horse jumping is on now.

O`Connor out near the end.

donalg1 wrote: »
    What time tomorrow is her next fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Rascasse wrote: »

With a typical classy response :rolleyes:
    https://twitter.com/RyanKilbane1/status/233200288960487424

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

There are some tw@ts on twitter. Did you see reply No.2 ??:eek:

What an idiot posting a reply like that, seriously what is with some people. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

With a typical classy response :rolleyes:
    https://twitter.com/RyanKilbane1/status/233200288960487424

Ah ffs, nice one Ryan Kilbane you complete muppet. :rolleyes:

And before I even opened it, I knew the 'c' word would dominate proceedings. Embarrassing. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

RTE are STILL talking to the boxers about Katie Taylor :eek:

Meanwhile.....awesome BMX'ing on BBC3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Dr.Broccoli

Wow, this bmx'ing looks great :D

That BMX looks like a laugh.

Nothing wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭buyer95

telekon wrote: »

And before I even opened it, I knew the 'c' word would dominate proceedings. Embarrassing. :mad:

Is he noted for this kind of thing or something?

RTE are STILL talking to the boxers about Katie Taylor :eek:

Meanwhile.....awesome BMX'ing on BBC3

That is an awesome sport, this is the first time I seen it.

telekon wrote: »

To be fair, he does look a bit ''cerebrally challenged''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭patmac

Meanwhile on RTE: 'we will back with a commercial break after this short break'.
    They should spend some of their advertising revenue on their I.T. department.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Claire Balding wetting herself,be some craic if Cian can get a medal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

patmac wrote: »
    They should spend some of their advertising revenue on their I.T. department.

An almighty balls up today with the site crashing. Surely they knew the traffic would have been massive today.

As Yoda would say; ''Boggles, the mind does''!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

And a few bars of Fields of Athenry there :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

course is so tough that I'd say a clear will guarantee a medal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Tazzer

kfallon wrote: »
    Still buzzin' after Katie :D

On behalf of the whole Country, this is for you Katie:

:o
    :p

Ah my wedding song

I believe thats what they call a "face plant". That's got to hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

RikkFlair wrote: »
    An almighty balls up today with the site crashing. Surely they knew the traffic would have been massive today.

Was the same the other day I think it was Friday last week I checked it and it had crashed too, alls I got was a picture of Bosco with the text saying, Sorry our website seems to be temporarily unavailable.

I expected it today tbh but half hoped they might have sorted it. I am surprised they managed to show it on TV and didnt mess that up somehow.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

I'm finding it hard to see past Nick Skelton for the gold in the showjumping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I believe thats what they call a "face plant". That's got to hurt.

That looked painful! Poor girl.

She must have seen a gash of the same name ;)

Still laughing at her 'performance' on Epsom Derby weekend, "Bonfire this" & "Bonfire that" it was nauseating until Camelot went past and farted in his face :D

I'm finding it hard to see past Nick Skelton for the gold in the showjumping.

You'd be hard pressed to see past his brother Dan, the big fat bollix :pac:

Why do horse people always look like horses.