Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

looked like blake nearly got caught on the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I missed the race, was Blake show-boating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Dr.Broccoli

Why do the javelin/shotput throwers step out of the ring/line and get a red flag? What's the point of it? They don't get another go like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,368 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Jesus Blake hit the brakes a bit early.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

Eathrin wrote: »

He was ahead by a mile then slowed almost to a stop before the line and only just qualified by a 100th of a second. It wasn't showboating just very very stupid to slow so much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Here comes the lighting bolt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Jesus Blake hit the brakes a bit early.

A bit???

Rule #1 in athletics is that you don't ease up till you are about 5 metres past the line.

Could have easilly injured himself there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Here he is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Eathrin wrote: »

Slowed down so fast before the line he was very nearly caught. Won by 30cms maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Fast jog for Bolt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Here comes the lighting bolt.

But does it strike in the same place twice.

And it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

delad wrote: »
    He was ahead by a mile then slowed almost to a stop before the line and only just qualified by a 100th of a second. It wasn't showboating just very very stupid to slow so much.
    He very nearly fcuked up, although he'll say he knew exactly what he was doing.

Hmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

Bolt has it again

Its all too easy for him.

Jesus bolt nearly made me cream myself..he is just a god out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Good jog by Bolt.

*job

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

pithater1 wrote: »
    Rule #1 in athletics is that you don't ease up till you are about 5 metres past the line.
    Usain Bolt pulled up about 70m too early there so :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

pithater1 wrote: »
    A bit???

Could have easilly injured himself there.

Same in motor racing, never lift til after the chequered! especially in qualifying :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Good jog by Bolt.

*job
    Funnily enough it did seem like a jog to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Dr.Broccoli

Blake reminds me of someone, I think it was a vampire from Sabrina the Teenage Witch years ago :pac:

What time is smiley face Shelly Ann Fraser Pryce on??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I do be surprised how many of them sprint with chains around their necks. Something flapping about my neck would wreck my head and distract the hell out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Heres the photo of Blakes finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Colmustard wrote: »
    The GB athlete got the 1500m tactics totally wrong, Steve Cram is her coach.

She set a lifetime best, ffs.

The second long jump and the competition is over 7m12. Brittany Reese USA.

That rule is very harsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

That one false start is so not fair at all :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

Rascasse wrote: »
    Heres the photo of Blakes finish.

from that photo you would think he came 3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Obviously that was an open and shut false start but the thing I dont like about the rules on false starts is getting called on going too fast after the gun. IMO once your move is after the gun then it should be fine. If an athlete wants to try 2nd guess the gun and take a chance with false starting that should be his choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What time is Barnes fighting at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

What a day it will be if Paddy Barnes can manage a win to get us our third medal of the day, missed Katie's fight today, load of us gathered around the only computer in work to watch it today and bang, it crashes (thank you RTÉ, you useless shower of cints). From what I could gather on the radio she seemed well in control, she is a special talent.

Also fair play to Cian, nobody but Cian himself knows what went on in 04 and he served his ban gracefully so perhaps people should lay off him, I for one am delighted for my fellow Kildare man.

C'mon Paddy!! :D

gerry got a bit of a gambling prob me thinks:D

8.45 I do believe so closer to 8.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Obviously that was an open and shut false start but the thing I dont like about the rules on false starts is getting called on going too fast after the gun. IMO once your move is after the gun then it should be fine. If an athlete wants to try 2nd guess the gun and take a chance with false starting that should be his choice.
    Isn't the rule 0.1 seconds. If your reaction is faster than that, it's classed as a false start. They (yes, them again) reckon that the human body cannot react faster than in one tenth of a second.

20:45

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Those little minis running around the field look cool. I want one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Who's the Blondie on the panel?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Come on Paddy make it 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

blueser wrote: »
    They (yes, them again) reckon that the human body cannot react faster than in one tenth of a second.

I'd agree with "them" that theres a limit to how quick you can react but what I'm saying is if people want to try 2nd guess the gun and try go when they think the gun is coming , as long as they move after the gun, regardless how quick after it, thats their choice to risk being disqualified.

nuxxx wrote: »
    Who's the Blondie on the panel?

Ailis McSweeney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Barnes' opponent, Devendro Singh knocked his first opponent out afaik. It's not gonna be a walk in the park for Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Come on Paddy! Bring it!!:D

Michael Carruth with that line across his head

http://i.ytimg.com/vi/x0OfU-C29Wg/0.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Does anyone else feel that Bill has no clue what's happening, be it boxing, soccer or anything. His on a par with Jimmy McGee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

'Mon Paddy burst him!

Jaysus, theres not a pick on him.

Come on paddy, you can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

statesaver wrote: »
    Does anyone else feel that Bill has no clue what's happening, be it boxing, soccer or anything. His on a par with Jimmy McGee.

Yeah but still it's Bill - you gotta love him!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

leahyl wrote: »
    Yeah but still it's Bill - you gotta love him!:D

I miss him saying "okie doke".

looking good