Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

February 2014. Its in Russia

What we gonna do till then :confused::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

The Vuelta starts on the 18th? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

What we gonna do till then :confused::(

Paralympics :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭scrumqueen

Just under two hours to Katies fight! I'm too excited to do any work! :D
    Katie Taylor is also trending on twitter, if you're on twitter check it out! :)

Lovely, more fit cyclists to ogle at for another month ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Who is the cute blonde on BBC One talking about the BMX competition

Paralympics :)

Ah yeah, those guys will really put meus couch potatoes to shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Just read that 5 medals is the best Olympic performance by an Irish team in over 56 years (when there were also 5). Seriously, like? One would have thought that runners, rowers, swimmers, shooters, riders would have had at least one good olympics in the last 50 years to add to the boxing. NZ have 11 medals, and 3 golds. I'm amazed. I though that this was a rubbish olympics for Ireland, but it turns out it is a great one....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Who is the cute blonde on BBC One talking about the BMX competition

Blue Peter presenter Helen Skelton I think. She did some bike ride to the Antarctic for Sport Relief this year.

BMX on now guys and gals BBC One

Awesome ...today has lacked excitement so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

That Eurovision sports link is brilliant btw. I've got training tonight and I'm gonna miss the 200 metre final by only a few minutes. Can log on there, rewind and watch away.

Wish that kind of a facility was available for all sporting events and not just this. Would make life so much easier.

Ya its easy to know the end of the games is near :(

5 races for each quarter final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

How ye all. Had a few days at the hospital glued to olympics though still! Owe someone an apology said Cian O'Connor hadn't a hope. Fair play to him although I'm not the man's greatest fan.

Now C'mon Katie!

P.s. best olympics ever! Only a few days left will be missed. We'll never get anything like it

Ah lads this is mental

Ya its easy to know the end of the games is near :(

5 races for each quarter final

Wow barely had I said that when insane crash happens!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

do the bmx guys do flips? I tried to watch the water polo but I've no idea what they're at

Wow barely had I said that when insane crash happens!!!!!

Upside down great craic

phasers wrote: »
    do the bmx guys do flips? I tried to watch the water polo but I've no idea what they're at

No just race each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If Katie wins today, it would really set up the last 3 days nicely. With 3 boxers to slug it out for final and outside chances in both Walks and Canoeing.

Carnage!!!!

Carnage!!!!

Damn, you were posting about crashes and i'm like, wtf?

Just realised I was watching replay!

Damn, you were posting about crashes and i'm like, wtf?

Just realised I was watching replay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Nice, the Frenchman gets a face full of asphalt and still finishes 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The only thing that could possibly make BMX better is with Timmy Mac as commentator. Why is this not on TV more? You could make a fortune on the betting markets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Why did the commentator give the temperature of the water in fahrenheit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

Jesus H Christ, BMX is surly the most dangerous sport at the games, 4 races and 3 massive accidents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

mike65 wrote: »
    Something weird just happened - South Africa are back in the 400 relay after an appeal, as they didn't finish the race how does that work?

http://espn.go.com/olympics/summer/2012/trackandfield/story/_/id/8250476/2012-london-olympics-oscar-pistorius-4x400-meter-relay-reaches-final-appeal

The Kenyans got the blame for the collision, so the RSA team get to run in the final in the outside lane which would have been empty anyway.

The only thing that could possibly make BMX better is with Timmy Mac as commentator. Why is this not on TV more? You could make a fortune on the betting markets.

Ya Timmy would be great

BOOMMMM and the French rider goes down

Make a horse look like a fool competition is on now

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

racso1975 wrote: »

So funny, just about worth my tv licence fee :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Jesus H Christ, BMX is surly the most dangerous sport at the games, 4 races and 3 massive accidents!

The Canadian guy had his Spleen removed 10 weeks ago after he injured it in a crash. It wasn't going to heal in time for the Olympics so he decided just to have it removed! Pretty hardcore sport.

^ :eek: ^ :eek: ^ :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

do horses enjoy dressage? A lot of people say the horses enjoy racing, is dressage the same? their heads are down so I can't see whether they're smiling or not

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭jsemple

I can't believe what I'm seeing with these horses. I honestly thought one of them was warming up only for the commentators and crowd to go wild praising them. A horse just walked to the theme of the lion king and they are well impressed. Have none of these people ever been to a circus this is seriously the most amateur thing I've ever seen.

I just want Michael Phelps or someone to turn up at the medal ceremony and go what the **** at them getting the same award he does for mincing around on a horse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

A couple of weeks ago I knew nothing about the Olympics, now I can't wait for next year's.    

Hey Jesus. Frankie Boyle called. He wants his joke back.

http://twitter.com/#!/frankieboyle/status/233248759998459904

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

this reminds me of that simpsons twin peaks sketch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Rascasse wrote: »
    The Canadian guy had his Spleen removed 10 weeks ago after he injured it in a crash. It wasn't going to heal in time for the Olympics so he decided just to have it removed! Pretty hardcore sport.

Reminds me of the episode of Desperate Housewives and Susan's "wandering spleen"!

Nerves. Oh the nerves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Nerves. Oh the nerves

I know :(

Arse is literally chewing on me undies here!

Ya Timmy would be great

BOOMMMM and the French rider goes down

Timmy Mac could commentate tiddlywinks and I'd be glued to it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Dr.Broccoli

kfallon wrote: »
    I know :(

Arse is literally chewing on me undies here!

Delightful..

RTE showing the race that I watched on the BBC live about 3 hours ago. Can they not show a bit of bmx or one of the unusual sports for ones who don't have BBC?

Delightful..

RTE showing the race that I watched on the BBC live about 3 hours ago. Can they not show a bit of bmx or one of the unusual sports for ones who don't have BBC?

That is the million dollar question.

Try the eurovisionsports website

That is the million dollar question.

Try the eurovisionsports website

No I have BBC, but I'm sure some don't and they won't be able to see some of the other sports. :)

Only 3 teams/individual could fill pub at this time of day. The International football team, Sonia o Sullivan and Katie Taylor.

Its good to have buzz about something again. We could do with more of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Ya Timmy would be great

BOOMMMM and the French rider goes DOWNNNNNTOWN

Fyp ;)

Only 3 teams/individual could fill pub at this time of day. The International football team, Sonia o Sullivan and Katie Taylor.

Its good to have buzz about something again. We could do with more of it.

Rugby team last year filled pubs in the morning didn't they? :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Rugby team last year filled pubs in the morning didn't they? :P

Yeah in D4 maybe, or Limerick where it's a working man's game or so they constantly f*cking tell me! I doubt anyone bothered there arses where I'm from in Dublin