Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Great to see the irish supporting the British girl. Maybe we're all growing up at long last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Just got a time shock, the BeeB commentator said our only other gold in boxing was Micheal Curruth 20 years ago in Barcelona.

Bloody hell I remember that as if it was yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

They said they would.

Probably cheaper to show that than actual sport :P

I reckon we'll have a few more gold medals from the boxing too. Katie was amazing. Maybe John Joe and the others will too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Congrats Katie...so so proud of you, you were amazing! Wasn't the support fantastic too?! Great day to be Irish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Somebody needs to tell that auld lad that all those T-bone steaks are going to give him a coronary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

I'm retarded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Fukn delighted!!! Proud to be Irish today.
    Well done Katie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'd say Enda Kenny is out in Dublin airport already waiting for her to come home, anything to increase popularity :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

'Nicola Adams becomes first olympic womens champion'
    Disgrace!:mad:
    http://www.london2012.com/

First thumbnail!

But she was.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

First thumbnail!

Her fight was on before Katie's so they are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Dave0301

First thumbnail!

But she did.....

Her final was before Katie's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

First thumbnail!

Because she did.

Edit: SNAP !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Cadburys should have had one of those advert thingies prepared for Katie's Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

First thumbnail!
    And? She was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

First thumbnail!

Sorry if you think that she stole Katie's thunder, but they're right....Nicola was first

But how does that detract from Katie's achievement?

I'm retarded :o Complete misread!

Sorry folks I love ye all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

blueser wrote: »
    Wasn't she that before today?
    She's the current European and World Amateur Champion, pretty much the only thing she didn't have was an Olympic Gold, and now she does.

15 major wins in 7 years, 6 of them in the last two years.

Could she be the most successful amateur women's boxer of all time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Omg so delighted!!! Well done Katie!!! Olympic Champion!!!

My mum just text and said if a doctor checked her blood pressure right now she'd be on a seconf tablet! :-P

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Lads getting worried about Katie now,all she needs to do is read Kennys book and the do the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,608 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Guess who's gonna be a guest on the first Late Late in September....
    go on.....
    ye'll never guess............. ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Anyone else have a little spar with their friends?

They'll be dancing boxing in the streets of Bray tonight to celebrate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

seamus wrote: »
    She's the current European and World Amateur Champion, pretty much the only thing she didn't have was an Olympic Gold, and now she does.

15 major wins in 7 years, 6 of them in the last two years.

Could she be the most successful amateur women's boxer of all time?

She's probably one of the most successful amateur boxers full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

dfx- wrote: »
    They'll be dancing boxing in the streets of Bray tonight to celebrate...
    Don't they do that most weekends anyway?

JOKING!!!!!

*gets the tin hat out of the loft*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

So delighted for Katie. :)
    Missed a lot of it because I foolishly decided to watch it on RTE online and predictably the servers couldn't handle the traffic.

Found the last round on Aertv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

msthe80s wrote: »
    go on.....

Wil be my first time watching it in years so :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

go on.....

opinion guy? westendgirlie? ColMustard?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Amazing stuff, I still feel sick!! Hope they do an open bus for all our medal winners I know I'll be out to support them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

I honestly think Bernard dunne has to really stop himself from beating the crap out of mick evey time he opens his trap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

keith16 wrote: »
    opinion guy? westendgirlie? ColMustard?

Not sure I can find time in my schedule for that.
    Talk to my people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭robman60

The relief I felt when she was announced as winner! The pressure the media were creating was ridiculous, so I'm just so glad she won.

Well done Katie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

go on.....
    Brendan O'Carroll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

That has made my day.

Can't wait to see the tricolour being hoisted and Amhran ba bhFiann being sung at the top of 10,000 Irish sets of lungs!!! :-D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

go on.....

Ted???? :D

Well done Katie ( not allowed have a specific thread about it ), therefore the congratulations and good wishes will get eaten up by the rest of the topics.

Considering Ireland is pretty small, and her friends and family are probably on here, I think this is pathetic.

I know there is a boxing forum, but most on here would not post there.

Will probably get a ban for saying this.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

go on.....

She might as well host it too. She'd be a million times better than the present gimp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Wow Heart jumping outta my chest!!! Unbelievable!!

Great stuff to comeback from a point down, great stuff for keeping her head when the Russian was so frustrating. Well done to her and her trainers!!

Katie Taylor you absolute Legend!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Jacksquat

So good to see Latest Gold Medal Katie Taylor on the official site

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

it would be perfect if at the medal ceremony, someone shouted "we love you Katie" and then she shouted back "yeah and I love yous too"

I will be standing in front of the TV watching our flag being raised and hearing our national anthem played

What time for the medal presentation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

leahyl wrote: »
    Can't wait to see the tricolour being hoisted and Amhran ba bhFiann being sung at the top of 10,000 Irish sets of lungs!!! :-D

When will that be?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I really wish Bernard Dunne would shut up

What time for the medal presentation?

Few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Well done Katie ( not allowed have a specific thread about it ), therefore the congratulations and good wishes will get eaten up by the rest of the topics.

Considering Ireland is pretty small, and her friends and family are probably on here, I think this is pathetic.

I know there is a boxing forum, but most on here would not post there.

Will probably get a ban for saying this.

Have to agree. I think she's deserving of her own thread here. She's made Olympic and Irish history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

G'wan Katie, frickin' delighted for her! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Finally somebody has exacted a measure of revenge for the murder of Apollo Creed. Congrats to Katie Taylor

syndeyfife wrote: »

When will that be?????

Should be on in the next few minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I hope I'm not the only person in the country who shed a little tear of pride and joy after that. Well done Katie. Forever a national hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Gwan Katie! Russian had no excuses at the end of that!

syndeyfife wrote: »

When will that be?????

Should be on in the next few minutes!