Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

why wouldnt the russian be pissed after losing such a close contest?

the crowd didnt even cheer her ffs, shes only human

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Brilliant, thanks Katie.....brought a tear to my eye every time she fought.

Made my Olympics that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

We were all there Darragh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

DB10 wrote: »

Seb Coe was pissed off when receiving his silver for the 800m in Moscow, but he wasn't disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Katie has her gold now - lets keep the support up for John Joe, Michael and Paddy - why the **** can't we get 4 golds when we're at it

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I didn't hear booing? I was hoping they wouldn't I heard cheering?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Jimmy Magee just after the anthem: "I bet you have a tear in your eye.."

I did Jimmy, I did.. so proud.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

i'm sure the fact that PR seeker Pat Hickey was there will fuel further comments from that delusional Russian sore loser after the fight

unfold your arms, show some respect - you just had a reality check and were beaten by the better fighter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Its mighty to hear our national anthem on a massive world stage and a gold medal to boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

When will she be presented her medal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

F**k sake people the Russian shared a laugh and smile with Katie when the medals were given out there - give her a break.

Jesus RTE - another 4 hours of ****e talk now I guess :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Its great its great its great. Fair play to her and her team and may they become happy and financially secure for ever & ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

When will she be presented her medal?

Done and dusted.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

F**k sake people the Russian shared a laugh and smile with Katie when the medals were given out there - give her a break.

Has to be done,especially when we win something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Next person to insult the Russian fighter gets a ban, a long ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Mad eyes from Darragh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Of course she's understandably disappointed as are all the silver medallists at all the other events. Doesn't matter. There's a way to behave in this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Agreed. Some of the comments on here were very poor, to be honest. As was the booing of the Russian in the arena before the bout. Left a bad taste in the mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭patmac

Take as long you want lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,226 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

She's praising God.

Cue a dramatic U-turn on her by After Hours.

Mad eyes from Darragh

He is totally rattled by all of this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

blueser wrote: »
    Agreed. Some of the comments on here were very poor, to be honest. As was the booing of the Russian in the arena before the bout. Left a bad taste in the mouth.

I presume that was down to what she said in the papers? Not saying it was right but that was probably the motive for it. Either way don't like hearing booing agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

blueser wrote: »

To be honest some of the quotes from her that were reported last night were bordering on disgraceful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

J. Marston wrote: »
    She's praising God.

Just makes me like her even more :D

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

I doubt many people on this forum know what its like to miss out on your dreams by mere inches.

Give the Russian a break ffs. Getting a gold medal was probably what she had been dreaming of all her life and she lost it by the narrowest of margins. The Russian might even had won that last round by 2 points if were honest.

Fair play to her for hugging and congratulating Katie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Sea Filly wrote: »
    Of course she's disappointed as are all the silver medallists at all the other events. Doesn't matter. There's a way to behave in this situation.

Vince Lombardi: "Show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser"

I 100% agree.....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

She's praising God.

It's well known she's a devout Catholic - regularly mentions her faith..

I didn't see many insults. :confused: The way the Russian was acting stuck out like a sore thumb. It's going to be commented upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    She's praising God.

Shes not a Catholic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

kfallon wrote: »
    To be honest some of the quotes from her that were reported last night were bordering on disgraceful

Any links to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Two wrongs don't make a right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Sea Filly wrote: »
    I didn't see many insults. :confused: The way the Russian was acting stuck out like a sore thumb. It's going to be commented upon.

Thats because i deleted them. There are ways to criticize people but calling someone a cnut is not one of them.

Yep, she was already preparing excuses for if she lost. She had a bad attitude going into this fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Jaysus the Russian has some puss on her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Jaysus the Russian has some puss on her.

I though the Russian showed serious disrespect with her arms stubbornly folded all the time at the awarding of the medals.
    Not just to Katie but to the boxing competition over all.

zero19 wrote: »
    Any links to them?

Darragh read out a good few before the fight. Not sure what source he got them off. I read direct quotes in the start this morning too. They were disgraceful

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Not a Catholic buddy, she's a bible believing Christian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

She's not catholic- she's a Christian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Any links to them?

It was on Newstalk last night when I was going to football, feel free to email them or use google

keano_afc wrote: »

Not a Catholic buddy, she's a bible believing Christian.

Ah they're all the same to me :P

It was on Newstalk last night when I was going to football, feel free to email them or use google

Exactly. "any links" is the most annoying thing I see on boards. Google it and make up your own mind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I have something for the favourite unsolved mystery thread.

Where did all those Irish get the tickets for the boxing arena for 2 final fights. Like how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Any links to them?

There was an article on Journal.ie, can't link it I'm on my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

mike65 wrote: »

Michael Phelps on his own still beats us out!!:eek:

This guy should be his own country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Very nervy watching that fight, particularly how it stood after the second round. Like all class athletes, however, she stepped it up when it mattered. Taking a 2 point lead in to the final round gave her the psychological edge to take in to the final round.

She is an inspirational person and deserves every accolade coming her way. That she is a very grounded human being makes at all the sweeter.