Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭fionnsda

Aidric wrote: »
    The 800mts is a beast of a discipline.
    Er you just have to run 200m ...so what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

cgpg5 wrote: »
    2055 I think don't quote me on that

QFT :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

ANy betting men out there? Get on gold for Jamaica in 200m tonight! A dead cert :P

No such thing as a dead cert ;)

there's almost no value in it either - you'd have to bet your entire bank account to get enough profit to buy a bag of tatyo :pac:

it's 1/25 for a Jamacian 1-2, that's €100 bet to make €4 profit :p not for me sorry

Bolt 1st, Blake 2nd at 3/10 might be worth a look for putting in a double with something else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

ANy betting men out there? Get on gold for Jamaica in 200m tonight! A dead cert :P

I have a feeling Powell may get this.

But no-one agrees with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

probably something useless like 1/20 though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Colmustard wrote: »
    I have a feeling Powell may get this.

But no-one agrees with me.

Because he's not in the race!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    No such thing as a dead cert ;)

there's almost no value in it either - you'd have to bet your entire bank account to get enough profit to buy a bag of tatyo :pac:

it's 1/25 for a Jamacian 1-2, that's €100 bet to make €4 profit :p not for me sorry

Bolt 1st, Blake 2nd at 3/10 might be worth a look for putting in a double with something else

I was being sarcastic btw

pithater1 wrote: »
    probably something useless like 1/20 though :p

Put 20 quid on you'll be a euro richer! A euro for free :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

David Rudisha is some feckin athlete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Rudisha, wow! :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

WOW. Just wow. Powerhouse performance from Rudisha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Best athlete in the Olympics imo

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

He is a machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I was being sarcastic btw

I was hoping :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Was he taking that easy? Barely looked like he was trying :eek:

50 mins ladies and gents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Yahoo, had a few quid on the WR to go at 12/1

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Yahoo, had a few quid on the WR to go at 12/1

Congrats,nice win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Wow awesome performance by Rudisha.
    New world record.

Nice

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Amazing from Rudisha - coached by the Irish priest.. always suprised me that the 800 m WR hadn't progressed much from Coe's 1.41 back in the early 80s..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

'Trained by an Irish priest' do much fooder for AH in that statement alone lol
    Amazing run in fairness he wasnt even breaking a sweat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

David Gillick om nom nom! Must say this has been an extremely good looking Olympics also :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Rudisha.... Mr Cool. How easy did he make that look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

titan18 wrote: »
    Best athlete in the Olympics imo

I agree. Pity they don't schedule it better to allow a man to do the 400/800 double, or the 800/1500. I'd fancy him in any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Didn't see it, but I'mma say Rudisha is amazing cos opinion guy thanks every post praising him :cool:

So in a way that's another gold medal for us :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The best thing about that WR was he went out and ran it from the front himself. He could have ran that as a time trial and still broke it.

A Maasai tribesman running in a team mostly dominated by Kalenjins and trained by an Irish priest.

You honestly couldn't make that shit up

A Maasai tribesman running in a team mostly dominated by Kalenjins and trained by an Irish priest.

You honestly couldn't make that shit up

Check the RTE player Man On A Mission from Tuesday night,well worth watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Wow, just watched the piece on BBC about the black power salute in the Mexican games. Only part of the Olympics that nearly brought me to tears!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Malari wrote: »
    Wow, just watched the piece on BBC about the black power salute in the Mexican games. Only part of the Olympics that nearly brought me to tears!

Yeah, I read recently about the Aussie fella Peter Norman - really felt for him, ostracized for taking part in the salute. And still the fastest Australian over that distance. A bad case of not being appreciated at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Don't think I'm exaggerating when I say that 800 was one of the best races I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

What time is the 200 on tonight lads thanks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Here comes my smiley girlfriend shelly Ann

racso1975 wrote: »
    Here comes my smiley girlfriend shelly Ann

I thought she was mine :D

They have rested her

Ahhh the jamacians have robbed me! This scratch team better qualify

Wohoo get to previous on my shelly again.......back away kerrydude.....i dont joke about shelly......eva

Anybody reckon a new wr in 200? Would be the cherry on an amazing day of sports

Remember women......no flicking :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Remember as Larry Saunders used to say, no flicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

?

Malari wrote: »

?

I second that! ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Just home now after a drink to celebrate! It was such a privilege to witness Katie's win, I gave myself a stress headache and a sir throat but was it worth it!!
    The crowd was amazing; we were perched between two couples rooting for GB but other than that, surrounded by Irish young and old! Haven't a clue what McGuigan said because you could hear feck all with the cheers. Felt sorry for the last match boxers as a lot of people were talking and goIng in and out to the loo/bar during their bout, but I guess everyone's adrenaline had dyed down after the anthem!
    She is truly an amazing talented and dedicated boxer and I will remember this day for a long long time!!

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭michaelr666

just heard on the BBC that the first american runner on the 4X400 meter heat this morning broke his leg after 200 meters and carried on running, he said he didnt wanna let his teammates down..

:eek: :eek: :eek:

some man

leahyl wrote: »
    I second that! ?????

It was just a coment the guy on rte 2 made

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

leahyl wrote: »
    David Gillick om nom nom! Must say this has been an extremely good looking Olympics also :-D

well, it is the XXX Olympiad ;)

Looking forward to seeing my main man Bolt ;-)

I'd say Blake is gonna win this. Bolt will have a bad start

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Bolt has been backed from 1.26 to 1.16 on Betfair.
    Have big money on the Katie/bolt double.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

I have Bolt, Blake and Spearman as the 1,2,3