Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Yer man from Prodigy is the bookies favourite to light it now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You don't win 5 golds without doing something right...
    Michelle Smith :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

He lit the torch in 97. He looks like he couldn't light his own farts these days.
    Ah cmooooon!!! How in jaysus name can you make a joke about a legend with Parkinsons. I got a lump in my throat looking at him.AH and all....seriously, ye havent changed a bit SBG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

They shouldn't have had Ali out there.

The man clearly wasn't well ebough to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Ah fcuk! Steve Redgrave.

For all we know he could have been a passenger in every boat he won gold in.

A passenger in a two man boat....you'd go round in circles, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,355 ✭✭✭naughto

dident they miss it one year with a arrow or some sh1te like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Guys. Redgrave is only receiving the Flame. Think it going around a few more people before the touch is lit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Ah fcuk! Steve Redgrave.

For all we know he could have been a passenger in every boat he won gold in.

Yep, especially that Commonwealth gold he won in the single skulls.

You'd want to be some man to row to golds single handedly in the pairs all those times dragging steve redgrave along with you too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

A boxing judge taking the oath of impartiality. First for everything I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Pretty spectacular opening overall :):cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I once asked Redgrave where the toilets were in Gatwick without even copping on to who he was

The vast majority of the world outside 'GB' will have no idea who he is.
    Still, probably a good choice given who might've been picked.

naughto wrote: »

Barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It'd be gas if it blew out now.

No it would be gas that makes it not blow out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

No it would be gas that makes it not blow out

/Anti-joke Chicken

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

Super-Rush wrote: »
    They shouldn't have had Ali out there.

The man clearly wasn't well ebough to be there.

i do feel for him. what a load of horse-****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Yayyyy go Moltres!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Trip!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Love the hard hats! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

naughto wrote: »

If there was ever a year for amateurs to f*ck things up, this is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Nice to see they honoring the builders....bound to be loads of Paddys in there lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Cienciano wrote: »
    Opening ceremony will be 3 hours of drum and samba bands

Tbh that sounds awesome!!!!!!! I'm there!

twirlagig wrote: »
    Pretty spectacular opening overall :):cool:

you're on drugs right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

announcers lagging a bit behind the action....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Redgrave what a hero, rowing is one of the toughest sports around and to do what he's done is nothing short of amazing!
    Perfect guy for it, legend!

Kinda magical viewing isn't it? Glad I tuned in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

The Nualas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

irish-stew wrote: »
    Barcelona.

It didnt miss, it caught the gas and the light arrow decended behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Two door cinema club!!! WTF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

FanadMan wrote: »
    Nice to see they honoring the builders....bound to be loads of Paddys in there lol

Sure the procurement director for the games is an Irish man. He came out of retirement for it. Was given a budget of £1.1 billion! That's some responsibility!!

you're on drugs right?

Ah... no... you? :)

jojofizzio wrote: »
    announcers lagging a bit behind the action....
    probably nodded off ......... zzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Redgrave what a hero, rowing is one of the toughest sports around and to do what he's done is nothing short of amazing!
    Perfect guy for it, legend!

Had to be him tbh.

Looks like a few of them might be lighting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

You'd want to be some man to row to golds single handedly in the pairs all those times dragging steve redgrave along with you too.
    IMO

Individual bronze > Team gold

everytime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Sure the procurement director for the games is an Irish man. He came out of retirement for it. Was given a budget of £1.1 billion! That's some responsibility!!
    The guy who checks the venues or picked the venues is from Galway too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Giz a light there will ya?

irish-stew wrote: »
    Looks like a few of them might be lighting it.

And none of them the athletes.

Whole illusion was that it was one flame that travelled miles all over the world,
    They just ruined that illusion forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Now that's nice, letting the kids light it!

well done Seanie Fitz!
    good to see the boys in blue didn't detain you too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

So that's what the copper things were for....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Wow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Now that is special. WOW/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Nicely done.

FanadMan wrote: »
    Now that's nice, letting the kids light it!

reminds me of the riots last summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

That is genius!

I actually feel stoned now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Love the symbolism behind the lighting of the cauldron