Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Hate to say it but i can see Nolan losing tonight:mad:

Where's he from?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Where's he from?
    Wexford I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Good start :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Samich wrote: »
    You may well be wrong ;)

I hope so i really do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Where's he from?

Wexford. Was a Garda in Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,428 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He needs to press on though

Cmon Nolan! Do Wexford proud !!! ;)

Does Jimmy Magee ever take a breath. Incessant talking.

He's in training. It's an Olympic Event in Rio 2016 :D

will he get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,368 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

it could be close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Nolan tired badly in the last round...think he just won but its very close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

he got bashed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Should have it. Just

Nolan is not a great boxer. Ran out of steam very early and lucky to survive. Won't go too far in the Olympics in my humble opinion. Had a height and reach advantage but was hanging on and wide open in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

14-8 i thought it would be closer than that!...delighted he won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

Jaysus i thought it would of been tighter.

Well done Nolan

No way did Nolan take the last round:eek:

Glad i was wrong though:D

Dubious enough scoreline. Well done but he won't trouble many like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

A win is a win, I hope he gets some more, but..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Poor last round. How did he take it? A good first 2. Got fairly run down quickly though.
    Well done though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The Irish boxing team really shows what the Olympics are all about. Gypsies and Gardai competing together under the one banner. It's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Daniel O Donnel

I think Bill assumed Chloe was a catholic when he came out with that guff.
    Great to see a protestant representing her country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Commentator:Nolan is making the Irish wait for it.
    They'll enjoy that pint even more so tonight.

And I will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I thought Nolan was gonna lose the fight with the last round. Didn't even lose the round!

Samich wrote: »
    I thought Nolan was gonna lose the fight with the last round. Didn't even lose the round!

AT 11-6 he was comfortable. But really made bloody hard work of it. Stamina an issue

Just seen there is Volleyball on Eurosport

After last nights game im thinking lovely and crack open another beer....

Then i see its the Mens:mad:

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Just seen there is Volleyball on Eurosport

After last nights game im thinking lovely and crack open another beer....

Then i see its the Mens:mad:

Maybe after a few more you will enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

If Nolan is up against that American guy at any point he's toast!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

I think Bill assumed Chloe was a catholic when he came out with that guff.

She's cute too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I am just thinking, the Olympics are on 2 days and I can't leave the couch. So we have the greatest festival of sport the planet has to offer and I will probably put on a stone because of it.

I am looking at the Olympic flame on the beeB coverage it really is the business.

Carl Lewis hasn't aged at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I'm watching the volley ball at the moment. Brazil really are giving Tunisia a lesson on how to properly volley a ball.

Carl Lewis hasn't aged at all

Is the ceiling leaking? What is he doing wearing a cap?

It's almost like a catholic representing Iran :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

"Volleying a ball can be a lot like peeling an orange" the Brazilian skipper is heard shouting over to his Tunisian counter part. "Just volley the damn ball" comes the reply.

Is the ceiling leaking? What is he doing wearing a cap?

He can wear what he wants. He is the MAN ;)

keith16 wrote: »
    "Volleying a ball can be a lot like peeling an orange" the Brazilian skipper is heard shouting over to his Tunisian counter part. "Just volley the damn ball" comes the reply.

Why would he say that? :confused:

Can't believe how entertaining it has all been so far! I can't even remember the last Olympics - dont think I watched most if it. But this time, with a real medal hope in Katie Taylor and with the Olympics taking place just across the water it makes it more exciting I think. Plus, I think we all need a bit of a lift right now and something to take our minds off "everything". Even enjoyed watching the badminton with Chloe earlier - a game which I had never once seen played on tv before today! And all the swimming was just top class - so exciting :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Carl Lewis is wearing an ear-ring when did that happen, he is so 80s with the watch and cap and stuff.

leahyl wrote: »
    Can't believe how entertaining it has all been so far! I can't even remember the last Olympics - dont think I watched most if it. But this time, with a real medal hope in Katie Taylor and with the Olympics taking place just across the water it makes it more exciting I think. Plus, I think we all need a bit of a lift right now and something to take our minds off "everything". Even enjoyed watching the badminton with Chloe earlier - a game which I had never once seen played on tv before today! And all the swimming was just top class - so exciting :-)

Let's just hope she doesn't end up on drugs like previous gold medal winners, maybe her swimming cap might be on drugs seeing as theres no horse

There are suspicions about the chinese swimmer and the male swimmer Sun.

The 16 y/o girl swam her last 50m faster than Ryan Lochte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Yesterday, I think I got mixed up with the Peoples Republic of Korea and the Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea. South Korea is the Democratic one, isn't it :confused::confused::confused:

Nope, Democratic republic is the North.

A good rule of thumb is that any country with the word 'Democratic' in its title is an authoritorian regime or military state fcuked up beyond all hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

A good rule of thumb is that any country with the word 'Democratic' in its title is an authoritorian regime or military state fcuked up beyond all hope.

South is democratic alright, but not by name ;)

So we are a Democratic Republic then?

leahyl wrote: »

Let's just hope she doesn't end up on drugs like previous gold medal winners, maybe her swimming cap might be on drugs seeing as theres no horse

Swimming cap?!

Greatest show on earth by a mile. Off to bed can't bloody wait till morning to camp in front of the couch again! Incredible is the only word and it's only been 2 days :-D

So I got it right yesterday and wrong today. Feck It!
    *scrambles back to spreadsheet*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    South is democratic alright, but not by name ;)

Yep if you feel the need to put 'Democratic' in the title it's usually a bad sign.
    Those old enough may remember East Germany, the 'German Democratic Republic' -always confused me in school that one.