Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

London 2012 Megathread [Part 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

She's 1 point behind the Dutch and Chinese and 1 ahead of the German. Could win gold, could win nothing.

That's a Belgian flag, not a German one.

Bottom line: the three medals are between the first four sailors. No one else can medal.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Medal race is on at 1 on Monday,be great if she manages to get a medal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Brian017 wrote: »
    1. NED 33
    2. CHN 33
    3. IRL 34
    4. BEL 34

It's going to be some medal race on Monday. Let's hope she can hold onto 3rd at least!
    Am I right in thinking the medal race is worth double points, so finishing 1st or even ahead of her main competitors would be enough for gold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Be great if Rte showed the race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Tramampoline!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Am I right in thinking the medal race is worth double points, so finishing 1st or even ahead of her main competitors would be enough for gold?

Yes. That's it in a nutshell. No one else can win a medal, so ONLY the finishing positions relative to each other matter now!

All or nothing (or something :D).

Go Annalise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭who what when

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

donfers wrote: »
    a sports pyschologist would tell you that's completely the wrong attitude

let's hope she wins the race and wins the gold - that should be the only thing on her mind, she won the first four races, why not this one?

Well I don't think she'll be checking boards to see what to aim for. Fact is she's on the slide and hanging on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Yes, and as GB are 5th on 52 points its a case of the finishing order of the top 4 on Monday will decide where each finishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭ahyeahok

You can do it Annalise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

yes it's double points, if my maths are correct she has to finish ahead one of NED, CHN or BEL to guarantee a medal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

What time does Taylor fight on Monday?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

What time does Taylor fight on Monday?

2.30 I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Anyone wrote: »
    Tramampoline!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭cristoir

Salmon wrote: »
    Be great if Rte showed the race!

I'd imagine they'll have to.

You have to remember that medal races are designed to be shown on television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Come=on Paddy barnes, I think he has this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

Colmustard wrote: »
    Come=on Paddy barnes, I think he has this.

Yea I predict he'll win it 15-10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

lithuania hanging on to usa in the basketball with three quarters gone, could be the upset of the tournament, lads the baltic nation need your support, tune in for the fourth quarter and cheer them to the greatest upset in olympic history - tell your friends you were there (don't mention the online part)

Brian017 wrote: »
    Yea I predict he'll win it 15-10

So I am watching a replay,,:D

Well it was a good impressive win anyway.

Basketball
    Track Cycling
    Badminton
    Boxing
    Football
    And many more

To much bloody choice, not that I am complaining.

OK the track cycling and the basketball.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭LottieP25

Have to admire Serenas brute determination. She really wants that medal bad!
    She's a bully and a pretty unlikeable person IMO.

I also think she's rather limited as a tennis player. Fantastic serve - yes, but I don't think I've seen a slower player around the court in recent years.

A bully how ? Pretty stupid statement imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Certainly spoilt for Olympic viewing choice, with BBC1 and BBC1 HD - BBC3 - BBC Red button (the five Live stream channels) + the BBC HD channel + RTE2 HD - all giving great coverage on different events and repeats, and then there's BBC Raio 5 (on MW) in the Car . . .

Not forgetting all the regional BBC and ITV regional coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Feck, Lithuania are doin well against USA! :-O

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

LottieP25 wrote: »

To be fair, that's not the first time I've heard Serena being described as a "bully".

Personally, I'm not sure in what way either as I have but a passing interest in tennis at best, but maybe she does have that sort of reputation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCvL0nONMcg&feature=related

Nuff said.

Talking to a Northern Irish person and he was saying that up there there is a debate going on about Team GB excluding the nationalists.

According to the Good Friday agreement it should be team GB and NI, they probably have a point but IMO not much of one.

Just mentioning that as it is Olympic news but lets not have any history debates in this rather nice and conversational thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

The bright pink and red in the gymnastics arena make my brain hurt

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Talking to a Northern Irish person and he was saying that up there there is a debate going on about Team GB excluding the nationalists.

According to the Good Friday agreement it should be team GB and NI, they probably have a point but IMO not much of one.

Just mentioning that as it is Olympic news but lets not have any history debates in this rather nice and conversational thread.

it doesn't matter if it was called team gb & NI or team UK or whatever, if the nationalists living in northern ireland want to represent Ireland then they will, simple as that and that's the way it should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I'm sure that the official name of their team is GB and NI. However, most sports are organised on an all Ireland basis so lots of athletes from NI end up representing Ireland as an Olympic team has to come from a recognised UN country.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCvL0nONMcg&feature=related

Nuff said.

Jesus - some temper on her!

USA were lucky in the basketball there

donfers wrote: »
    it doesn't matter if it was called team gb & NI or team UK or whatever, if the nationalists living in northern ireland want to represent Ireland then they will, simple as that and that's the way it should be

That is roughly how I feel about it, the nationalist identify themselves as Irish so it doesn't matter if its team GB Or GB and NI.

I think it is impossible to have a name that would encompass everybody

GB - What about NI
    GB & NI - What about the crown dependencies, Isle of Man, Channel Islands?

Where do you stop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Its used to be team GB & NI, but in recent years they cut out the NI for some reason! (maybe to do with the Good friday agreement)? either way, people from NI have a choice, and they can either be part of Team GB or Tean IRL.

I think it is impossible to have a name that would encompass everybody

GB - What about NI
    GB & NI - What about the crown dependencies, Isle of Man, Channel Islands?

Where do you stop?

Well that was part of the Good Friday agreement. I get the impression someone is nit picking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,467 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Trampolining is great craic. I'd say i'd be good at that after a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

Women's trampoline was good. The Chinese girl messed it up at the end though.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

The Trampolining is great craic. I'd say i'd be good at that after a few pints.

You'd be seeing your pints again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

delad wrote: »
    BBC weren't showing the 100m heats live which was a joke.

BBC are showing everything. It''s all on the red button.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Paddy Barnes: Hes been like a dog all week
    Marty M: who?
    Paddy: scooby doo

lol he is great craic, twitter on his water bottle!

nice_very wrote: »

I don't understand a word he says. Is it just me?

Tim's not doing the basketball game :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

awwww where the feck is Timmy McCarthy for the basketball :( this makes me sad

Where the fook did they find this basketball commentator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,467 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

el diablo wrote: »

I'm the same ..... with Marty.
    Heard him commentating on the boxing on the radio. Not a clue. Stick to the GAA Marty.

Nah, I didn't get a word of that.

LeBron James is just :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

nice_very wrote: »

http://a.yfrog.com/img741/1070/b1at.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Where the fook did they find this basketball commentator?
    Where the fook is Timmy :(

Boooooooooooommmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!

In the Velodrome The British womens team have just jumped to warp, the clocks in the stadium are going backward.

Another world record gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

markie29 wrote: »
    awwww where the feck is Timmy McCarthy for the basketball :( this makes me sad
    Timmy's made it in the USA. Probably having talks with ESPN!