Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nursing and Midwifery prospective students 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 claratreacy

Siobhnk wrote: »
    Nursing in UCD :D yay! :) congrats to everyone :)

Wohoo same here! congratulations, see you there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭siobhan93

Got nursing in UL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Siobhnk

Wohoo same here! congratulations, see you there :)

Eep I'm so excited! :D What hospital have you chosen? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Gemma.93

Children's and General Nursing in DCU,I cannot WAIT :D:D

Gemma.93 wrote: »

Oh my friend finished her first year there! You'll love it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Gemma.93

Oh my friend finished her first year there! You'll love it! :D
    Ah that's great then, wasn't sure whether I was right putting DCU over TCD but I'm glad I did! saying that TCD with Tallaght would have been handier for me but still :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Lavidabonita

Ciara 5 wrote: »
    I accepted the Adelaide too!Yaaaaayyy!Definitely be seeing you there! :D
    Can't wait so nervous/excited!

I know, I'm sooo nervous and excited!That email from trinity made it seem so real 'Dear Student Nurse' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Ciara 5

I accepted the Adelaide too!Yaaaaayyy!Definitely be seeing you there! :D
    Can't wait so nervous/excited!

I know, I'm sooo nervous and excited!That email from trinity made it seem so real 'Dear Student Nurse' :D

I didn't get an email :o only saw it on the website last night & then filled out all the forms. It's real now :D so excited to know what's happening :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭wibblin

General nursing in TCD....Cant Wait to start!:D eek! anyone going for halls?

wibblin wrote: »
    General nursing in TCD....Cant Wait to start!:D eek! anyone going for halls?

What hospital are you going to pick? :)

err..I'm not too sure,:p But i think maybe St. James...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭monkeysarecool

err..I'm not too sure,:p But i think maybe St. James...:D

I put down st James! :)

Woo see yous in Trinity!Do any of you think this whole mytcd thing is confusing?Mine won't work :L It says when I log on that it won't work properly until I've formally accepted my course...but I did accept it?:L

I saw someone on boards say that it doesn't work til the 29th? Not sure though! I'm so glad we don't start til the 17th :D

Oh ok phew!I'm too eager :L Dying to see our timetable and stuff!!I know we still have nearly a month left of:D Summer!Whenever I go on this thread I get so excited!

I feel the exact same! I was in there today to drop in my forms because I live close enough and I was just thinking to myself that I'll actually be studying here in a months time :D I love reading this and the tcd forum!

I know and it's so weird that we're all going to know eachother and see eachother like everyday for four years!So freaky"

Hopefully 4 years anyway :P which hospital did you choose? I really hope I get st. James because it'd be so handy for me! Are you getting accommodation or do you already live in Dublin?

Tallaght!Yeah I live in Dublin and close enough to Tallaght so Tallaght would be handier for me!:D

Awh right, sure I'll see you in lectures anyway :pac:
    I heard that we share some of our lectures with medicine students but I don't know how true that is!

actually so excited to start now!:D i was able to get on to the mytcd thing just there, maybe try it again?

Yay I got in! Took me ages though because I didn't read the part about the password properly...I was putting in a two digit number instead of the first three letters, if that makes sense?!

Eep I'm so excited! :D What hospital have you chosen? :)

I picked Vincents! Few of my friends sisters went there.. so i said ok, vincents it is :p how about yourself? are u applying for accom?! :D i can't believe how soon it is, less than two weeks like :eek:

I picked Vincents too! :D It's closer to the campus, handy! Yeah I applied for it! I'm number 383 now so hopefully I'll be getting an email later! Did you?
    I know I'm so excited and nervous... It's such a mixture of feelings! I hope everyones nice.. I'm sure they will be but I just have this vision of me walking around UCD forever alone :P

I picked Vincents too! :D It's closer to the campus, handy! Yeah I applied for it! I'm number 383 now so hopefully I'll be getting an email later! Did you?
    I know I'm so excited and nervous... It's such a mixture of feelings! I hope everyones nice.. I'm sure they will be but I just have this vision of me walking around UCD forever alone :P

Good stuff, see u there :) yeah I got an email there yesterday eve just after four, I think I was around 163 and dropped to 98 or something? Booked merville! :D where abouts are u hoping for? You'll surely get an email today, if not tomorrow :) haha I am the exact same! I know NO ONE coming up here :eek: suppose that adds to the fun of it :p do u know anyone coming up or already up? Where abouts u coming up from actually? :)

I got an email yesterday at 4 too :) booked merville also! You are welcome to house 4 anytime :P I preferred the fact that there's 3 bathrooms, instead of the 1 in belgrove!
    I know a few people coming up, about 5. I'd only really consider 2 good friends, and at that I probably won't see them much! I'm from Meath :) and yourself?

I got an email yesterday at 4 too :) booked merville also! You are welcome to house 4 anytime :P I preferred the fact that there's 3 bathrooms, instead of the 1 in belgrove!
    I know a few people coming up, about 5. I'd only really consider 2 good friends, and at that I probably won't see them much! I'm from Meath :) and yourself?

Awh brilliant, some relief having it all sorted.. Haha thanks, you're welcome to house 10 anytime too :D there was some list of places, I just picked a random house that a girl was already in.. Do u know who else you're living with? :) you're grand so, have a few people headin up.. See u won't be forever walking ucd alone ha :p I'm a kilkenny woman! May try find ya on facebook, be good to know someone up there :)

Wait I'm house 9! We're probably beside each other so :P There's 2 lads and a girl living with me! yeah do! :D

Just wondering, did ye get a letter from trinity? or is that still to come?

A letter about what? I think everything is online this year so theyre not sending any letters!

oh right, cool, thanks!:D

No probd :) Have you been on the site and sent off the forms?

yeah, it's just i was re reading in and it was saying that we've to bring in an official offer letter from tcd on the 17th so was just wondering if we got a letter for that, so im guessing its the email they sent us we've to bring in?

I thought that we were meant to bring in the letter that the cao sent us saying that we were offered tcd? :confused:

I have no idea, my plan though is to just bring in everything that say welcome on it, give them it all...yano..like a boss...:D

Haha I might do that myself, just to be sure!
    I looked it up there and it says "the original offer letter you received from tcd"...is must be the letter from the cao because I haven't gotten anything else?
    Did you put st James down in the end? :)

Haha I might do that myself, just to be sure!
    I looked it up there and it says "the original offer letter you received from tcd"...is must be the letter from the cao because I haven't gotten anything else?
    Did you put st James down in the end? :)

safest thing to do when in doubt!:P yeah i haven't got anything else either that's why I thought we were going to be sent out a letter!:L

yeah i did, eeee so excited, hope i get James now!:D did you? you in halls?

safest thing to do when in doubt!:P yeah i haven't got anything else either that's why I thought we were going to be sent out a letter!:L

yeah i did, eeee so excited, hope i get James now!:D did you? you in halls?

Exactly because they specify loads that we NEED these to register!
    I put down James too...when do we find out?
    No, I live in Dublin...near Croke Park-ish :L did you get halls?

Exactly because they specify loads that we NEED these to register!
    I put down James too...when do we find out?
    No, I live in Dublin...near Croke Park-ish :L did you get halls?

yeah they did and when it's not in an actual letter form on paper i'm confused at what exactly they want!:L

i dunno, it will probably be on the 17th when we have the course meeting thing! i bloody better get James, the adelaide seems so far out!:L

ah sure that's handy enough, think of the amount of money you'll save with no rent to pay!:P will it take you long to get in and out to college/James everyday? yeah i gots halls, so happy i did too coz otherwise i might have ended up living alone somewhere...not too fun!:L really want to know who i'm sharing a room with though!:L

yeah they did and when it's not in an actual letter form on paper i'm confused at what exactly they want!:L

i dunno, it will probably be on the 17th when we have the course meeting thing! i bloody better get James, the adelaide seems so far out!:L

ah sure that's handy enough, think of the amount of money you'll save with no rent to pay!:P will it take you long to get in and out to college/James everyday? yeah i gots halls, so happy i did too coz otherwise i might have ended up living alone somewhere...not too fun!:L really want to know who i'm sharing a room with though!:L

I know, the cao thing was only an envelope/letter so I don't know if that's it? I hate the ambiguity!
    I can't wait to find out where I'm going, I really hope it's James too because I'd have to get a bus and the Luas to tallaght :/ and there's something about James that I really like
    Yeah, it is really handy tbh...the bus only takes about 20/30 mins depending on traffic to get to trinity and James is on the same route! Getting to james would be 30-40 mins! My bus card will be 86euro a month...I know it's nothing compared to what you have to pay, but it's a nuisance :L
    Ah congrats! How long does it take to get from halls to trinity? I'm sure it won't be too bad, my brother goes to nuig and the guy he shared with snored reallyyyy loudly :P

I know, the cao thing was only an envelope/letter so I don't know if that's it? I hate the ambiguity!
    I can't wait to find out where I'm going, I really hope it's James too because I'd have to get a bus and the Luas to tallaght :/ and there's something about James that I really like
    Yeah, it is really handy tbh...the bus only takes about 20/30 mins depending on traffic to get to trinity and James is on the same route! Getting to james would be 30-40 mins! My bus card will be 86euro a month...I know it's nothing compared to what you have to pay, but it's a nuisance :L
    Ah congrats! How long does it take to get from halls to trinity? I'm sure it won't be too bad, my brother goes to nuig and the guy he shared with snored reallyyyy loudly :P

zero idea on whether it is or not...but hey i doubt they'd turn us away anyways we had something say we got in!:D it's annoying though!

yeah me either, cant wait to get started too!:) that would some trek alright for ya, wouldn't be too nice especially if theres a lot of 9 o' clock starts!:/ really? I've never actually been to James so don't know what it's like! I've heard it's in a bad area?

jeez yeah that a fair amount to be paying for transport in a month, it would build up i'd say too, i'm hoping to cycle to places but im not sure how realistic that is, slight bit of rain and i'll be like nope!:L

thanks, um i think its like 10-15mins on the bus but it stops right outside halls and trinity itself so pretty handy like!:D haha oh god, now ya have me worried!:L

Is any of your friends doing nursing or going to Trinity?

zero idea on whether it is or not...but hey i doubt they'd turn us away anyways we had something say we got in!:D it's annoying though!

yeah me either, cant wait to get started too!:) that would some trek alright for ya, wouldn't be too nice especially if theres a lot of 9 o' clock starts!:/ really? I've never actually been to James so don't know what it's like! I've heard it's in a bad area?

jeez yeah that a fair amount to be paying for transport in a month, it would build up i'd say too, i'm hoping to cycle to places but im not sure how realistic that is, slight bit of rain and i'll be like nope!:L

thanks, um i think its like 10-15mins on the bus but it stops right outside halls and trinity itself so pretty handy like!:D haha oh god, now ya have me worried!:L

Is any of your friends doing nursing or going to Trinity?

Ah sure we'll be grand...hopefully!

If i had to go to tallaght I'd consider moving closer, i know people who live around there so I could move in :L I've been to James a fair few times because my mam used to work there and from visiting people when they're in the hospital. The area isn't too bad, like you're going to find dodgy people all over Dublin...just don't walk around it at night time...or look people in the eye ;)

It's actually 86euro for 30 non consecutive days...but still! I might walk home from trinity a few times..maybe, if it's not raining! You could get the Dublin bikes?

Ah that's handy that it's only 15 mins! It wasn't too bad because his roommate didn't go to college often so he basically had his own room!

I know a fair few going to trinity, but none doing nursing :/ I know someone doing midwifery though...and I know a few doing nursing in dcu! I wish I knee people doing nursing in tcd. Do you?

Ah sure we'll be grand...hopefully!

If i had to go to tallaght I'd consider moving closer, i know people who live around there so I could move in :L I've been to James a fair few times because my mam used to work there and from visiting people when they're in the hospital. The area isn't too bad, like you're going to find dodgy people all over Dublin...just don't walk around it at night time...or look people in the eye ;)

It's actually 86euro for 30 non consecutive days...but still! I might walk home from trinity a few times..maybe, if it's not raining! You could get the Dublin bikes?

Ah that's handy that it's only 15 mins! It wasn't too bad because his roommate didn't go to college often so he basically had his own room!

I know a fair few going to trinity, but none doing nursing :/ I know someone doing midwifery though...and I know a few doing nursing in dcu! I wish I knee people doing nursing in tcd. Do you?

we will surely!:P ah that's not too bad then, at least you have a back up!:P you must know it fairly well so I'll take you word on it, coz like when i told dad, he grew in dublin, he was like "oh now that's a bad area" but pretty sure he was a southsider so there obviously some bias there!:L NO eye contact..got it!:D

suppose if you're using the bus alot it's not too bad to pay like..was thinking of getting one of those leap cards heard they're handy! true that, think there's a dublin bikes thing near enough to halls! yeah be grand sure!:D god that would be handy a roommate who was never there!:L

not so bad, you'll not be alone so! i know a few starting and a few already in trinity but don't know anyone else doing nursing so it'll be a bit scary at first i'd say!:L all my close friends are going to different colleges!:L

we will surely!:P ah that's not too bad then, at least you have a back up!:P you must know it fairly well so I'll take you word on it, coz like when i told dad, he grew in dublin, he was like "oh now that's a bad area" but pretty sure he was a southsider so there obviously some bias there!:L NO eye contact..got it!:D

suppose if you're using the bus alot it's not too bad to pay like..was thinking of getting one of those leap cards heard they're handy! true that, think there's a dublin bikes thing near enough to halls! yeah be grand sure!:D god that would be handy a roommate who was never there!:L

not so bad, you'll not be alone so! i know a few starting and a few already in trinity but don't know anyone else doing nursing so it'll be a bit scary at first i'd say!:L all my close friends are going to different colleges!:L

Well obviously a southsider is going to think its bad! The are isn't great, most people living there don't go to college etc, but they're not that bad! Just look at your shoes the whole time ;)

Don't get a leap card, get a student travel card because it works out cheaper in the long run if you use it twice a day! The Dublin bikes would be very handy for you, I don't know anything about them though :L

I suppose I'm not totally alone, but I can't be hanging out with them all the time when they don't do my course! Ah sure we'll be grand after the first few days of awkward aloneness! Where are you from? :)

Well obviously a southsider is going to think its bad! The are isn't great, most people living there don't go to college etc, but they're not that bad! Just look at your shoes the whole time ;)

Don't get a leap card, get a student travel card because it works out cheaper in the long run if you use it twice a day! The Dublin bikes would be very handy for you, I don't know anything about them though :L

I suppose I'm not totally alone, but I can't be hanging out with them all the time when they don't do my course! Ah sure we'll be grand after the first few days of awkward aloneness! Where are you from? :)

yeah i thought so:L but like i don't really mind if it's a bad area sure the hospital has a goos rep that's all that really matters to me anyways!:D I'll buy nice new shoes just to look at!:L

oh really? cool thanks i might apply for one of them then!:D yeah i have no clue about them either, must google that!:L

haha true enough but hey if we get in the same hospital and class I'll hang around with ya...i promise I'm not much of a creep!:L sure once everyone has a few drunken nights out together as a class i'm sure we'll all get on grand!:L I'm from Cyaaavan (Cavan)...must stress though I'm not a bogger of any sorts!:L

yeah i thought so:L but like i don't really mind if it's a bad area sure the hospital has a goos rep that's all that really matters to me anyways!:D I'll buy nice new shoes just to look at!:L

oh really? cool thanks i might apply for one of them then!:D yeah i have no clue about them either, must google that!:L

haha true enough but hey if we get in the same hospital and class I'll hang around with ya...i promise I'm not much of a creep!:L sure once everyone has a few drunken nights out together as a class i'm sure we'll all get on grand!:L I'm from Cyaaavan (Cavan)...must stress though I'm not a bogger of any sorts!:L

Exactly, I'd rather go to James than any other hospital...I think it's known world wide. You should always have nice shoes anyway :P

You can get the travel cards in newsagents and probably the Dublin bus building on oconnell street!

I dunno...I don't really associate with Cavan people :cool: ah no, sure I'll talk to ya! Im hoping that the people in nursing will generally be more friendly than the people doing, let's say physics, because of the profession? Perhaps I'm being a tad optimistic! My dad's actually from Cavan but moved here when he was 15 :L

Exactly, I'd rather go to James than any other hospital...I think it's known world wide. You should always have nice shoes anyway :P

You can get the travel cards in newsagents and probably the Dublin bus building on oconnell street!

I dunno...I don't really associate with Cavan people :cool: ah no, sure I'll talk to ya! Im hoping that the people in nursing will generally be more friendly than the people doing, let's say physics, because of the profession? Perhaps I'm being a tad optimistic! My dad's actually from Cavan but moved here when he was 15 :L

is it? that would be a very good hospital to train in so!:D there's a good motto to live by!:L

ah good so there not one of those things that will take about 10 forms filled in to get!:L i'll definitely give them a go!

well if it helps my cause i've only lived in Cavan for about 9 years...like that's barely a decade!:p haha yeah that's what i thought aswell, like it's kind of necessary that they're nice, so the first week can't be too bad!:L haha really? small world!:L

is it? that would be a very good hospital to train in so!:D there's a good motto to live by!:L

ah good so there not one of those things that will take about 10 forms filled in to get!:L i'll definitely give them a go!

well if it helps my cause i've only lived in Cavan for about 9 years...like that's barely a decade!:p haha yeah that's what i thought aswell, like it's kind of necessary that they're nice, so the first week can't be too bad!:L haha really? small world!:L

Yeah, I think it's more widely known anyway!

No no, it's super easy...you just have to have a student travel card with you when you're buying it...I must get a student travel card actually :L

Ah sure what's 9 years? Nothing at all :P tis indeed, he's from bawnboy!
    That's what I'm hoping for anyway...you'd hardly do nursing if you were a mean and rude person! Going to be about 2 guys in the course though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Fiona1993

Gemma.93 wrote: »
    Same!!! Ahhhh :)

Yeah, I think it's more widely known anyway!

No no, it's super easy...you just have to have a student travel card with you when you're buying it...I must get a student travel card actually :L

Ah sure what's 9 years? Nothing at all :P tis indeed, he's from bawnboy!
    That's what I'm hoping for anyway...you'd hardly do nursing if you were a mean and rude person! Going to be about 2 guys in the course though :(

That'll be pretty useful then when we go looking for jobs!

note to self..get student travel card, it would be so much better coz i never have the right change on me!:L
    sure 9 years is nothing on 90 after all...and that's when it counts i think!:L
    they wouldn't get very far in the profession if they were, and they probably wouldn't want to be doing it much either if they were mean and rude although then again i could be proved wrong!:L I know, such a big downside, wish boys would realize it's okay to do nursing too!:L