Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nothing for Mayo in 2bn stimulus plan

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,273 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

It doesn't specifically say that none of that will benefit mayo. I'd take Enda over that crook Flynn regardless!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

P. Flynn always looked after himself. Enough of the gombeen politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Neworder79

Is there any way to end this poor mouth mentality, depressing reading all the winging and flag waiving before the ink is dry.

Isn't it bloody obvious this is a pitiful token stimulus that took years to pry out of the IMF/EU due to our desperate financial position. It could only ever be thinly spread on a couple of shovel ready PPP projects to be of any use, of which here are none in Mayo at present.

The stimulus includes provision for 2 primary health care centers in Mayo (and associated jobs), and school projects have already been announced. The county will benefit from the N17/18 motorway upgrade aiding traffic in and out of the county and to Knock and Shannon airports. Very lucky ANY project is advancing in the West. Broadband investment announcement is planned. There will be additions to the capital projects planned as money becomes.

Mayo is already benefiting from the N5 Ballaghaderreen/Longford bypass projects underway and Westport-Turlogh design funding from the annual capital budget for 2012.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭irishgeo

surely not having to drive through tuam and claregalway on the way to galway is a huge benefit to mayo people for those who travel to galway for work.

It's also a Galway city bypass and major interchange with the M6, something the media seem to have totally missed in announcing the "Calrenbridge bypass".

You'll be able to drive from Mayo border to south of Limerick on continuous motorway once complete. Good day for all western counties.

Neworder79 wrote: »
    It's also a Galway city bypass and major interchange with the M6, something the media seem to have totally missed in announcing the "Calrenbridge bypass".

You'll be able to drive from Mayo border to south of Limerick on continuous motorway once complete. Good day for all western counties.
    the tuam bit is only a dual carriage but i get your point.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Wonder what timescales are involved in this?

yop wrote: »
    Wonder what timescales are involved in this?

rumours the M18 has to go out to tender or wait on BAM to put some money up.

Is there any way to end this poor mouth mentality, depressing reading all the winging and flag waiving before the ink is dry.

Isn't it bloody obvious this is a pitiful token stimulus that took years to pry out of the IMF/EU due to our desperate financial position. It could only ever be thinly spread on a couple of shovel ready PPP projects to be of any use, of which here are none in Mayo at present.

The stimulus includes provision for 2 primary health care centers in Mayo (and associated jobs), and school projects have already been announced. The county will benefit from the N17/18 motorway upgrade aiding traffic in and out of the county and to Knock and Shannon airports. Very lucky ANY project is advancing in the West. Broadband investment announcement is planned. There will be additions to the capital projects planned as money becomes.

Mayo is already benefiting from the N5 Ballaghaderreen/Longford bypass projects underway and Westport-Turlogh design funding from the annual capital budget for 2012.

As you said, Its really improvements in Roscommon roads that would benefit Mayo most as the N5 is in a terrible state there. Although i do think 20 million of that 100 million bailout given to Shannon Airport should be diverted to Knock to help with its required expansion plans....;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

concernman wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0717/cabinet-set-to-approve-2bn-stimulus-package.html

With us having a Mayo Taoiseach this is disgraceful. Enda you will get a few harsh lessons at the next election in Mayo. P. Flynn always looked after us.

Can you declare your politcal allegiance.....the title echoes this headline http://www.midwestradio.ie/mwr/news/9642-mayo-ff-td-accuses-fine-gael-of-abandoning-thew-mayo-electorate.html

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭lotusm

mayomaffia wrote: »

As you said, Its really improvements in Roscommon roads that would benefit Mayo most as the N5 is in a terrible state there. Although i do think 20 million of that 100 million bailout given to Shannon Airport should be diverted to Knock to help with its required expansion plans....;)
    The 30km from stokestown to ballyhadreen is without doubt the worst bit of national road in the country. Maybe Enda should move to Roscommon ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭Avns1s

lotusm wrote: »
    The 30km from stokestown to ballyhadreen is without doubt the worst bit of national road in the country. Maybe Enda should move to Roscommon ;)

It's not "shovel ready" thanks to all the protected sites along the route.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

concernman wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0717/cabinet-set-to-approve-2bn-stimulus-package.html

With us having a Mayo Taoiseach this is disgraceful. Enda you will get a few harsh lessons at the next election in Mayo. P. Flynn always looked after us.

So because the Taoiseach is a Mayo man, we should get preferential treatment? Honest to god, its that kind of backwoods man bull**** that helped get us in this mess in the first place. And referencing P Flynn doesnt do your argument much good. Depressing to think that some people still think like you, a political illiterate.

Avns1s wrote: »
    It's not "shovel ready" thanks to all the protected sites along the route.

Out of interest, how far off is it? 1 year? 2 years? 3?

Not even officially in planning as far as I know, if it was it will have been shelved in last budget.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

N5 Ballaghadereen to Strokestown is not in planning, never was.

The most likely solution is that the N5 will be completely rerouted from Ballaghadereen to south of Carrick on Shannon owing to the giant antiquities complex surrounding Frenchpark and the 6 protected bogs generally situated NE of Frenchpark.

However Mayo Roscommon and Leitrim councils must collectively request this solution from the NRA before the NRA formally looks into it and so far they haven't.

There will be no 'new' N5 along the old one between Ballaghadereen and Strokestown, not ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,413 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Sponge Bob wrote: »

The most likely solution is that the N5 will be completely rerouted from Ballaghadereen to south of Carrick on Shannon owing to the giant antiquities complex surrounding Frenchpark and the 6 protected bogs generally situated NE of Frenchpark.

However Mayo Roscommon and Leitrim councils must collectively request this solution from the NRA before the NRA formally looks into it and so far they haven't.

There will be no 'new' N5 along the old one between Ballaghadereen and Strokestown, not ever.

So effectively the N5 cannot ever be upgraded/widened along this stretch? What is the point upgrading the N5 between Longford and Ballaghadereen at all in this case? Re-routing must be a priority.
    Is there no way at ait can re-routed close to existing alignment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

I thought some sort progress was made for the Ballaghaderreen bypass, trees were knocked at the bend in Tibohine since the announcement a few months ago. It looked like the proposed route the bypass would take. Tenders were being sought

http://www.nra.ie/RoadSchemeActivity/RoscommonCountyCouncil/N5BallaghaderreenBypass/SchemeName,16454,en.html
    http://www.build.ie/construction_news.asp?newsid=136353

• Registered Users Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

comment

Hadn't heard about this. Thanks for the information. A decision needs to be made urgently as companies like Allergan, Baxter etc are fed up with the Roscommon portion of the N5.

About development favouring Mayo generally - we should not be shy about getting what we can while Enda is Taoiseach. Do not mind the begrudgery about parish pumps etc. All politics are local. Those who criticise local clientelism are often found to be living or working in one of the better developed urban centres, convenient to all amenities

A further point about any projects we do get - I am all for biodiversity and the protection of rare fauna and flora etc. However can we afford the luxury of holding up a project for such reasons?

E,g some years ago the reconstruction of Roonagh Pier which serves Clare Island was held up for ten days during the middle of summer to "avoid intereference with the seals while breeding"

Many who used that pier for access to Clare Island and the islanders themselves found that hard to take because

(1) since the advent of motor boats seals breed in quieter places along the coast rather than at the pier

(2) seals take fish out of nets, so their preservation is not a high priority with many fishermen

(3) It is difficult and dangerous to land at that pier when there is a big Atlantic swell. The extension made it somewhat safer. The pier extension was finished before the winter storms, to the relief of the islanders. If it had not and there was a tragedy there over the winter at least the seals would be happy.

there are other incidents re frogs, snails, and even lichen - all allegedly rare

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

This is the most depressing bit of news I heard all day,beyond the Charlestown bypass the roads in Roscommon as far as Strokestown continue to be some of the most substandard in this country.:(

lets build a fly over the country roscommon.

Surely the ballaghdereen bypass will cut out a good portion of the crap road on this route? Presumably, it won't be bypassing Frenchpark as well?

finisklin wrote: »

Surely the ballaghdereen bypass will cut out a good portion of the crap road on this route? Presumably, it won't be bypassing Frenchpark as well?
    Not really. There is rougly 30km of substandard road from ballaghreden to strokestown. I would have no problem if it linked up to carrick. I emailed John o Mahoney about what was going to be done on this section about 2 months ago. Still waiting to hear. He must be too busy thinking deciding where to go on his summer holidays ;)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

If they can sort out/flatten/bomb/remove (take ur pick) that stretch of useless road around the likes of strokestown and them other ickle towns it will encourage some business down this way and give us a better drive to Dublin. The commute weekly is pain staking stuff and the bottle neck/bad drivers seem to be always around Roscommon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭GIMP

Wish you mayo people would learn to spell (ballaghreden) Ballaghaderreen correctly!! But I agree Ros drivers are attrocious and the roads once you cross the Shannon are a disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

So because the Taoiseach is a Mayo man, we should get preferential treatment? Honest to god, its that kind of backwoods man bull**** that helped get us in this mess in the first place. And referencing P Flynn doesnt do your argument much good. Depressing to think that some people still think like you, a political illiterate.

To be honest I think the OP was being sarcastic.

Considering the disproportionate money that has already gone west I think this latest one is a smokescreen, although Minister Howlin made sure his own Wexford got looked after ;)
    Didn't you lot already get more sports grant money from your own minister, in fact more than all of Dublin out together.

Gombeen politics never went away, so much for the "change" that this clown Enda Kenny promised in his election manifesto.

To be honest I think the OP was being sarcastic.

Considering the disproportionate money that has already gone west I think this latest one is a smokescreen, although Minister Howlin made sure his own Wexford got looked after ;)
    Didn't you lot already get more sports grant money from your own minister, in fact more than all of Dublin out together.

Gombeen politics never went away, so much for the "change" that this clown Enda Kenny promised in his election manifesto.

that sports money is only loose change to all the billions that has been spent on infrastructure in east... if thats the best you can come up with regarding "disappropriate money" the laugh is on you ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

"we should be getting more because Enda is Taoiseach" or "we should expect to get more because Enda is Taoiseach " how is that any different to what has gone on with previous governments, and lo and behold, thats exactly what Enda does.
    His comment on the training facilities in Bray boxing club a few weeks ago was classic, "get the application in, I will see that its sorted" considering it was a public embarrassment that possibly our greatest sporting personality was training in a 5hit hole.

We were promised a change from gombeen politics, we were told that there would be a new type of politics that was beyond reproach.

Yeah right, same 5hit different day. Its becoming embarrassing.

"we should be getting more because Enda is Taoiseach" or "we should expect to get more because Enda is Taoiseach " how is that any different to what has gone on with previous governments, and lo and behold, thats exactly what Enda does.
    His comment on the training facilities in Bray boxing club a few weeks ago was classic, "get the application in, I will see that its sorted" considering it was a public embarrassment that possibly our greatest sporting personality was training in a 5hit hole.

We were promised a change from gombeen politics, we were told that there would be a new type of politics that was beyond reproach.

Yeah right, same 5hit different day. Its becoming embarrassing.

Your right its fairly bad when you have to have a Taoiseach from your own county to even get a part of what you should have always been entitled to get:rolleyes:. You obviously don't have those kind of problems.

Its interesting that the new High speed Fiber transatlantic cable will soon be landing in Mayo and spread from there, and the oil and Gas for the next few decades come from there, a big percentage of the wind energy comes from there, your fisheries and farms are here, the only Irish self funding airport is here, But you the real gombeen begrudges 5 or 6 million worth of sport grants to a county that was starved of any sports funding for decades. Never mind the actual pathetic state of infrastructure here and local counties.
    Bertie one of your locals didn't even use the BMW disavantaged area money assigned from Brussels on the BMW area, he used it on the tens of billions worth of infrastructure spent in the east. Hey, but heaven forbid mayo gets 5 million of a sport grant:eek:

You really are scrapping the barrels when you complain about a tiny sports grant going to Mayo, which still happens to be way down the counties list for grants even for this year. :rolleyes:Mayo supporters have spend that much in croke park alone in the past 10 years.:mad:

Every summer people like yourself come down here for your holidays and have the stupidity to complain about the state of the roads and services. Then complain when locals campaign to have those same dangerous roads and infrastructure repaired. Yet you will travel to the Meath match today on multiple motorways that are part funded by Mayo taxpayers, to a city with with infrastructure part funded by Mayo taxpayers, to your local Croke Park "sports facility" which is again part funded by Mayo Taxpayers. What a complete Hypocrite you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

GIMP wrote: »
    Wish you mayo people would learn to spell (ballaghreden) Ballaghadereen correctly!!

:rolleyes: It's Ballaghaderreen