Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

The silver lining is that we had 60% possession and a pass completion rate of 89% -- our highest in over 4 years.
    But we still cant put the ball in the net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭Sappy404

The same issues are there: accuracy and bottle.

We need to learn how to cope when under pressure, and we need a player or two who can put the ball away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

The silver lining is that we had 60% possession and a pass completion rate of 89% -- our highest in over 4 years.

6 out of 7 Dwarfs are not happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,497 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I'd like to see us play
    4-3-3 but in a more robust way
    What i mean is to be stronger without ball than with it

Like this

___________Reina___________

Johnson__Carra___Skrtel___Enrique

Gerrard__Henderson_Lucas_Allen_Sterling

___________Suarez_____________

You see 4-5-1
    I see 4-3-3

What i mean is it changes, With and without ball

Gerrard, Suarez, Borini spectators today when we didn't have it,

So set them up as 4-5-1
    And give Gerrard and Sterling permission to get forward when we have it ,

Gerrard never got back into midfield today when we lost ball,

Its like it does not need to,Not expected to,
    So that's why i'd play it this way,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

Sappy404 wrote: »

We need to learn how to cope when under pressure, and we need a player or two who can put the ball away.

We also need a few players with bottle and a captain that will lead the team when things aren't going our way. Gerrard hasn't been that man in years. Goes missing way too often these days.

Edit: Um, I kinda just repeated what you said, nevermind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

CL7 wrote: »
    We also need a few players with bottle and a captain that will lead the team when things aren't going our way. Gerrard hasn't been that man in years. Goes missing way too often these days.

Yes a bottle of Captain would do wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Apparently our depressing game is first on MOTD
    Getting their digs in early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I'd imagine that going a man down overwhelmingly tends to result in losses and even more so if you're a goal down already.

I'm not saying we have accuracy or bottle either, but teams rarely do well under the kind of circumstances we faced today.

We could play a hell of a lot better and still get completely stuffed by City.

With that start and the fixture list - Utd, City, Arsenal at home and Norwich and Sunderland away, we could well be lurking around the bottom of the league on October 1st. I think we can expect very little of this team until then and we're going to need to be patient. From October through to January things get much easier. The really testing games will be Chelea and Spurs but we could easily rack up the bones of 25 points from the other 11 games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

delw wrote: »
    Apparently our depressing game is first on MOTD
    Getting their digs in early

If it was on last you'd be complaining about being marginalised!

Gbear wrote: »
    I'd imagine that going a man down overwhelmingly tends to result in losses and even more so if you're a goal down already.

I'm not saying we have accuracy or bottle either, but teams rarely do well under the kind of circumstances we faced today.

We could play a hell of a lot better and still get completely stuffed by City.

With that start and the fixture list - Utd, City, Arsenal at home and Norwich and Sunderland away, we could well be lurking around the bottom of the league on October 1st. I think we can expect very little of this team until then and we're going to need to be patient. From October through to January things get much easier. The really testing games will be Chelea and Spurs but we could easily rack up the bones of 25 points from the other 11 games.

The morale of the story is we bet ourselves with and the ref didn't help.

We didn't score our chances and made mistakes at the back.

That usually results in a poor result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Ape X

Lads, relax. "Operation Lull Rest of League into False Sense of Security" Phase 1 has been completed. Now onto Phase 2.

To be honest I don't think the reaction in here has been too bad.

I thought it would be worse.

Maybe we are getting used of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

theres always next season!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

We will be fine one crap game does not a season make
    Anything above last season in the league i will be happy with
    As BR said it will take time and i am willing to give him that time

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

Hoki wrote: »
    The pub is the only place to watch the first match of the season, and the second & third etc ..... !

Not the stadium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

mike65 wrote: »
    If it was on last you'd be complaining about being marginalised!
    I never complain Mike :)

djPSB wrote: »
    To be honest I don't think the reaction in here has been too bad.

I thought it would be worse.

Maybe we are getting used of it.

I think the way it happened has helped - conceding a cracking strike of a goal (could happen to anyone) then a peno and red card (could happen to any team) and then the late-ish goal against 10 men (often does happen to anyone). It wasn't as if WBA had spent 90 minutes outplaying Liverpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Maybe he's responsible for this:

LIVERPOO.gif

Love(in a wtf type of way) how Shelvey goes in to have a smell of it first just to make sure.

Wenger contacts Sahin

''Hey i just met you, and this is crazy, But heres my number, call me maybe,''

Not looking good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Kuyt scored again for Fernerbahce tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,891 ✭✭✭✭klose

NukaCola wrote: »
    Its what we do best. This thread should be called

Superthread Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours/overreaction Thread 12/13

On one hand, you see posts like this bashing some of the negative sentiments following the result today.
    Agree more effective on the wing.

Team id like to see v man city, a win by whatever means would be a great boost after today

reina-
    glenjo-skrtel-coates-enrique
    lucas-allen--
    gerrard/shelvey-
    suarez----borini
    assaidi

sterling on the bench and used too

Of course itll be cara starting and coates on the bench, I reckon carra almost pulls rodgers asides and nearly makes him play him :pac:

Then you have posts like this that go beyond blind optimism.

I'm guessing you're referring to the assaidi inclusion in the team id like, might aswell he can play both wings apparently and downing should be shown the door after his performance today. So assaidi goes lw instead, sterling on plays rw I think.
    We didn't buy him to play the reserves and might aswell throw him in at the deep end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Kirby wrote: »
    One game lads......only one game.

Call off the four horsemen.

That needs to be read.

Lads we know this is a long term thing. In the first half we played some lovely stuff and you could really see Rodgers trying to implement his style. Lacking that clinical striker. Suarez coming in off the wing would be my preference going forward.

A wonder goal from Gera scored at possibly the worst time possible didnt do the first half justice. West Brom looked really good so not taking anything away from them, but if Suarez was a better finisher he should of scored one if not two.

That header he missed from 3 yards was awful.

Agger ****ed up badly for the penalty. He pushed him, and it was a deserved red. The second penalty is debatable. Again though, Long nicked the ball off Skrtel when it shoul of been cleared.

Of course we fell to pieces after the sending off. I just hope all the supporters cop on and stop acting like its the end of the world. The next few games are ridiculously tough too. Just try and remember that Rodgers is a long term appointment.

Kneejerking all over the place. Its going to take time, but if Rodgers can get us playing the way he wants while achieving results. This could be the beginning of something great.

/optimism

Give the man time.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Gbear wrote: »
    The really testing games will be Chelea and Spurs but we could easily rack up the bones of 25 points from the other 11 games.

Don't do it to yourself. I used to as well.

But I learned, regardless of the opposition, over a ten game stretch we are a 1.5 point a match club, not a 2+

Use 1.5 in your calculations and the pain numbs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

First half was encouraging, if it wasn't for Suarez and his usual wasteful bollox we would have been beyond them.

poor old borini didnt get a shot off at all id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

I'm so pis*ed off about today I've just cracked into a pack of cheese and onion crisps. I just don't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Ape X

Vanolder wrote: »
    I'm so pis*ed off about today I've just cracked into a pack of cheese and onion crisps. I just don't care.
    We're all upset man, but jesus, it's not worth it!

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭ShaneScouse

Am I the only one glad we didn't hit the post today? Its gota be something :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I do worry about us being unable to build momentum over these first few games:

West Brom (A) - L - 0 points
    Man City (H)
    Arsenal (H)
    Sunderland (A)
    Man Utd (H)
    Norwich (A)
    Stoke (H)
    Reading (H)

Those are our first 8 games before the away derby at the end of October.
    12/13 points would be a pretty good return from those imo.

- I'm banking on us getting 3 points (one way or another) from the three home games against City, Arsenal and United.
    - 6 points from the home games against Stoke and Reading
    - 1 win out of the Sunderland/Norwich away games

That would see us with 12 points after 8 games, which is a bit behind where we want to be in terms of points per game. But it would see us negotiate a tough start without losing touch with the top 4.

The next 4 games are huge. The three best teams in the league last season come to Anfield and a tough trip to Sunderland.

I just want us to get out of that stretch of fixtures in a position where Rodgers does not have fans on his back.

City next Sunday (I'll be there!). The dilemma for me is - do we play some of the senior players against Hearts on Thursday to try and forget today and build more cohesion in the starting XI?
    I'd be inclined to give Borini a run certainly. Another goal would do him the world of good.

Joseph Musker ‏@Musker_LFC

Andy Carroll was the only player who didn't get on the coach with the #LFC squad. He was escorted to a separate car.

Not sure what the significance of this is

that car probably had a horsebox on the back of it for him.

Why don't you make like a tree, and get the hell outta here

Biff_1955.JPG

make like a banana and fack off

Is that from Back to the Future III?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Milkers wrote: »
    I too would love to see Suarez not played as the central man of the front 3, a top quality natural striker would do wonders for this team with Suarez/Borini/Gerrard etc. feeding the play into him. Kess let me know the best man for the job and then get the chloroform ready.

Welliton_6.jpg

no.

Just a random saying my buddy uses.

he also uses the slightly more crude

"let's make like a vagina and discharge". :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Cole after his injury
    Physio - "Looks like your Hamstrings gone Joe". Cole - "Mmmmm....Ham"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Hansen isn't a happy bunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

spockety wrote: »
    Don't do it to yourself. I used to as well.

But I learned, regardless of the opposition, over a ten game stretch we are a 1.5 point a match club, not a 2+

Use 1.5 in your calculations and the pain numbs

If we were a 1.5 point a game club last season we would have finished above Everton......

1.36 was last season's magic number. :(

Hansen thinks
    ' We play Man City next week, we got to give Rodgers a chance give team a chance''
    He expects another loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Hansen thinks
    ' We play Man City next week, we got to give Rodgers a chance give team a chance''
    He expects another loss

No matter what the result today i would think a lot of people wouldnt be surprised by a defeat to ManCity being honest.....some may even expect it..

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Kuyt scored again for Fernerbahce tonight

Against Elazığspor Kulubü who were last seen in the Super Lig in 2004 (the game ended in a draw), Kuyt couldn't hit a barn door with a paddle (or whatever the phrase is) for most of last season.

Or were you making a different point?

No matter what the result today i would think a lot of people wouldnt be surprised by a defeat to ManCity being honest.....some may even expect it..

If the Liverpool we all know from last season show up,We will beat City,
    Yet lose to Reading,
    That's the frustration ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

mike65 wrote: »
    Against Elazığspor Kulubü who were last seen in the Super Lig in 2004 (the game ended in a draw), Kuyt couldn't hit a barn door with a paddle (or whatever the phrase is) for most of last season.

Or were you making a different point?

Maybe he's just mentioning it because he likes Dirk and wants him to do well?:confused:

Why is Suarez so **** at finishing? It must surely be something managers have picked up on?

I reckon he gets himself too wound up. He looks either furious or miserable unless he's just scored.

Chilli peppers wrote a song about that.

I like Dirk, yeah I like Dirk yeah I like Dirk :D

Damiao in a dream world would be a great man to lead the line and if we had £25m to spare.

I definitely think Borini would be better up top than Suarez.

I'd like to see Carroll play there on Thursday to give him a chance.

the guy roma signed to replace Borini looked very very good vs England in that friendly recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Knowing us we'll play City off the park and win 2-0.

I dont think the current team is 100 miles away from the good team Rafa had.

Stick an in form Torres up top and its not far off.

Masch
    Xabi

---Kuyt
    Gerrard
    Riera

Torres

vs

Allen----Lucas

Borini----Gerrard---Suarez

--missing part of the jigsaw--

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sully34