Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

50 Shades of Grey Phenomenom?!

• 19-07-2012 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

What the hell is with everyone obsessing with this book?! It can't seriously be that good.. Anyone I know that is into reading says it is crap; then why the hell are so many people buying into it?!?! Its just like the entire Hunger Games phenomenon.

It really amazes me...

Whats you guys opinions about it?

Have ye read it? Do ye plan on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

The Snipe wrote: »
    What the hell is with everyone obsessing with this book?! It can't seriously be that good.. Anyone I know that is into reading says it is crap; then why the hell are so many people buying into it?!?! Its just like the entire Hunger Games phenomenon.

It really amazes me...

Never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Its more acceptable to read erotic novels than it is to watch porn and masturbate along with it.

Its for stupid oul wans who want a bit of excitement.

I got halfway through and gave up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Eroticplants

I've read it.
    Got me wet as ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭frag420

Fifty shades of me sh1te!!!

Read that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

only heard what it was yesterday. funny thing is, women think its great and are dripping like a fucked fridge after reading it but they still think that men who read bongo mags are pervs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Everytime I change the radio station, the next c**t is talking about it too. If yiz want to read about porn, the comments section on redtube is free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Its porn for the high horse brigade who would never look at porn on the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

only heard what it was yesterday. funny thing is, women think its great and are dripping like a fucked fridge after reading it but they still think that men who read bongo mags are pervs

Sh1t the bed dude, that made me laugh!!! I tip my hat to you!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Hows about 50 shades of shut the fook up.

Edgar Allen Poe would be spinning in his eerie grave!

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭marknine

50 shades of grey?
    OH! I think I got that one a wee bit wrong.
    I thought it was the new Dulux Paint, neutral tones catalogue.
    I won’t be showing my face in B&Q for a while, I can tell you. DOHH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

Is it just here though to break the stygmia of reading errotic novels..? Or just to get em all wet as hell...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The Snipe wrote: »

It really amazes me...

Things reach a certain "critical mass". that Dan Brown thing was the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Paying for porn. Lol.

I've written my own book called 50 Shades of Gravy. Its very saucy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

It is an awful book.
    It is badly written.
    It is about an abusive relationship.

Clit Lit is nothing new, Black Lace books has been running for 20 years and been on sale in Easons for the last 15. Idiots are buying the book, idiots who can't use google to find good smutty stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

If she turns fishmonger she could call the sequel 'Fifty Shades Of Gay'.

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

"Mary Felt a warm liquid run down her neck; Jaysas she loved a good cup of tea"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

It Caters for the sex and the city twats, the same twats that are like a sack of spuds when it comes to real sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I've read it.
    Got me wet as ****e.

lies your just saying it to help up the hype... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I can tell you that there will some market if you could get them op. Was in a couple of different bookshop over last week and it was one or two conservation happen. Do you have that book 50 shades? No we're sold out we will be getting more next week. Do you have the squeal to 50 shades? No we're sold out there will be more in next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

no point me reading it im deaf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Sarn

Ok, who wants to start '50 pages of Boards'. It would involve a newbie to boards posting in personal issues, move to sex and sexuality with a bit of zombie survival for the kinky stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sharrow wrote: »
    It is an awful book.
    It is badly written.

It's also fan fiction from a Twilight obsessed women. http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702303734204577464411825970488.html

She pretty much wrote awful sex scenes between the mopey one and the sparkly one from Twilight, then changes the setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

“He’s my very own Christian Grey flavor Popsicle.” “Hmm… he’s soft and hard at once, like steel encased in velvet, and surprisingly tasty…”

Absolute filth and women everywhere are reading this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Culleeo

I've read it.
    Got me wet as ****e.

Just posted this in YLYL but here goes.
    I knew I saw you reading it in Tesco.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/553819_450055178350880_139538596_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 whitey90

Well yer wan is making a fortune out of it so fair play to her. God must be ragin though-he's getting the country wet for free :p

Sharrow wrote: »
    It is an awful book.
    It is badly written.

Clit Lit is nothing new, Black Lace books has been running for 20 years and been on sale in Easons for the last 15. Idiots are buying the book, idiots who can't use google to find good smutty stories.

ye says it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Blah blah blah...Men only have one thing on their mind....yadda yadda..... men only think with their little heads.........

50 shades of grey, Rampant rabbits, Ann Summers, Magic Mike, etc etc etc

Who are the real pervs eh? eh?

Women!! That's who!!!!

..and men...(me)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Read it, its crap.

As well as being warped.

PK2008 wrote: »
    Blah blah blah...Men only have one thing on their mind....yadda yadda..... men only think with their little heads.........

50 shades of grey, Rampant rabbits, Ann Summers, Magic Mike, etc etc etc

Who are the real perv eh? eh?

Women!! That's who!!!!

..and men...(me)

ever notice why women always sit at the back of a bus? thats where the engine is. the big vibrating engine;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

whitey90 wrote: »
    Well yer wan is making a fortune out of it so fair play to her. God must be ragin though-he's getting the country wet for free :p

Seems Duracell are too :Dhttps://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/306660_447965931904525_1768148238_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Read it, its crap.

As well as being warped.

Not warped at all, I've had sex like that before. But for a novel its badly written

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I started reading it. Its more cringeworthy than erotic and its really, really, badly written.

Porn for illiterates. A whole new genre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

What do you guys mean by badly written? Bad vocab or what?

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭AnnaVanilla

I've read it.
    Got me wet as ****e.

Just finished the third one. Yes please, Mr Grey sir :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

http://50shadesofarsenal.tumblr.com/quotes

If crap like this sells millions, someone should get those Trent stories published and make a fortune. Some real gold here.....

"Why is anyone the way they are? That’s kind of hard to answer. Why do some people like cheese and other people hate it? Do you like cheese?"

"I close my eyes, feeling the build up… pushing me higher, higher to the castle in the air."

"My inner goddess is doing the merengue with some salsa moves."

"My inner goddess sits in the lotus position looking serene except for the sly, self-congratulatory smile on her face. "

"My inner goddess jumps up and down with cheer-leading pom-poms shouting yes at me. "

"My inner goddess looks like someone snatched her ice cream."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,655 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Wife's just finished it. Gave it a 9 out of 10. She's getting the other two next week....

You should try spacing it out a bit, don't want to get all the sex at once and no more for the rest of the marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

What do you guys mean by badly written? Bad vocab or what?

The pacing is all off; between chapters, sections of chapters and especially between actual books there should be at least some sense of time having passed, but in this book it's as if the author just wrote s stream-of-consciousness and threw darts at random to decide on new paragraphs, chapters and where the books should end and begin.

There isn't even much of a story there, the premise could be good but the execution is just all off. I appreciate a good book that can explore human minds and emotions, and a book that explored the history of Grey and why he feels the need to be so controlling and sadistic of Ana, but it's badly explored and poorly fleshed-out (ooh er matron etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Got turned on for a while, then got bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭littleteapot

I work for a well known book shop. This **** is selling bucketloads. We can't keep it in stock.
    It's so funny when women bring it up to the counter, and put it face down as if we won't know what it is! I'm definitely more inclined to wave it around a bit when they do that.
    50 shades pt 2 has been out of stock for a while. It's due back in tomorrow and we have a waiting list for it. Sad-asses.
    Also, we've been having a lot of people trying to return it because the binding breaks. It's cause they keep opening the same pages to get off. So filthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I went to Dubray Books in Stephen's Green yesterday and they had plenty of part 2 and 3. I borrowed part 1 and bought parts 2 and 3. I figure if it's going to be talked about it so much I might as well at least know what people are talking about. Instead of jumping on either the "OMG he's so dreamy it's so sexy!" or "this is a load of poorly-written, misogynistic rubbish" bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I work for a well known book shop. This **** is selling bucketloads. We can't keep it in stock.
    It's so funny when women bring it up to the counter, and put it face down as if we won't know what it is! I'm definitely more inclined to wave it around a bit when they do that.
    50 shades pt 2 has been out of stock for a while. It's due back in tomorrow and we have a waiting list for it. Sad-asses.
    Also, we've been having a lot of people trying to return it because the binding breaks. It's cause they keep opening the same pages to get off. So filthy.

You should give a free whip and gimp mask with every copy

• Registered Users Posts: 38 GunRunner

It's not something I'd read. from what I've heard it just seems kinda pathetic. Also it strikes me as very midlife crisis-y.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

Mully_2011 wrote: »
    "Mary Felt a warm liquid run down her neck; Jaysas she loved a good cup of tea"

He slipped his hand under the red silk.. "You're so beautiful in that dress. "Feck off, it was only a euro in Penneys!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Missus is reading this feckin trilogy now, load of **** from what she tells me to be honest. Dunno how these things catch on, sheep mentality I guess, plus it sounds very similar to that film Secretary.

Women don't like to watch porn, but they will read the **** out of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭pushkii

Its not great to be honest, doesn't have anything too dark in it id prefer a good drugs book. Id agree it is badly written, quite juvenile. Ah sure ill finish it anyway ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

A friend on FB posted how good it was and (without knowing it is suppsedly erotic) I went out and bought all three books. I read about twenty pages. It doesn't seem very well written and the main (girl) character isn't even good looking. Actually. the main guy is supposed to be jaw droppingly handsome but he is ginger! It is the bad writing that is really putting me off. I may go back to it in a few weeks if my holiday turns out to be a washout but that is unlikely.

Big thumbs down from me.

Piste wrote: »
    threw darts at random
    Or pingpong balls.