Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

50 Shades of Grey Phenomenom?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

kryogen wrote: »
    Missus is reading this feckin trilogy now, load of **** from what she tells me to be honest. Dunno how these things catch on, sheep mentality I guess, plus it sounds very similar to that film Secretary.

Women don't like to watch porn, but they will read the **** out of it!

Except that Secretary was actually quite sexy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

100 shades of grey anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭DOBBER112

50 Shades Of Ireland: She looked at the bodywork...it was immaculately shaped, sculpted and maintained. "Any chance of a ride?" said Caroline as she swooned at Paudie's Honda 50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I think I'll stick to the thousands of free stories on the literotica website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

kryogen wrote: »
    Missus is reading this feckin trilogy now, load of **** from what she tells me to be honest. Dunno how these things catch on, sheep mentality I guess, plus it sounds very similar to that film Secretary.

Secretary is a great film, so I'll have none of that. It's one of the few good RomComs out there.
    Women don't like to watch porn, but they will read the **** out of it!

If there was more to porn than, spit on cock, slap arse, thrust a couple of times, slap arse with cock, blowjob, cum on face and tits then I'm sure there'd be far more women into porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭omgitsthelazor

The only real "phenomenon" out of all this is how many men didn't know erotic literature existed before this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

WTF is it? Keep hearing about it... I know its a book and makes women as wet as a sweaty peado in a playschool but what's it about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

annascott wrote: »
    A friend on FB posted how good it was and (without knowing it is suppsedly erotic) I went out and bought all three books.
    Really?

REALLY??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

The Snipe wrote: »
    Its just like the entire Hunger Games phenomenon.

to be fair, it's slightly different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

Read the books and found them bland. I skimmed through a lot of repetitive sex scenes. I found that they just threw them in when they needed space filled.

I wouldn't call myself a feminist but even I think it's absolute ridiculous that a women can be turned on to her boyfriend wanting to beat the sh!te out of her. She spends the first book freaked out and constantly changing her mind about him, the second book clingy and jealous and the last book just fcuking annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

OakeyDokey wrote: »
    I am no where near being a feminist b

You don't believe in equality between men and women in the eyes of society and the law? That's a pity :(

Piste wrote: »
    You don't believe in equality between men and women in the eyes of society and the law? That's a pity :(

:rolleyes: Course I do, I meant I don't consider myself a feminist.

Anyway, the book used to be called Masters of the Universe :rolleyes: and was Twilight fanfiction as another user mentioned. EL James posted the fanfiction online to read for free. Ana = Bella and Christian = Edward. There was drama over her just changing the names but not the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

OakeyDokey wrote: »
    :rolleyes: Course I do, I meant I don't consider myself a feminist.

Anyway, the book used to be called Masters of the Universe :rolleyes: and was Twilight fanfiction as another user mentioned. EL James posted the fanfiction online to read for free. Ana = Bella and Christian = Edward. There was drama over her just changing the names but not the story.

I know it's off topic so this is the last I'll say of it, but do you not see the problem in agreeing with the fundamentals of feminism but not identifying as a feminist? It's like saying "I agree that people shouldn't be kidnapped, tortured, murdered or abused and should be treated with dignity and respect, but I don't believe in human rights"

Anyway more on topic, you can see so much of Twilight coming out in Fifty Shades, she's barely made an attempt to conceal it! You have Ana (Bella's) taciturn and gruff, yet loving step-father Ray (Charlie) and her scatter-brained, living far away, remarried yet also loving mother. You also have Christian's family who quickly accept Ana as one of their own along with their other adopted kids; the lighthearted, playful Elliot (Jasper/Emmet) and the charming, girly Mia (Alice). There's even the competing best friend/chap who fancies her lodged firmly in the friendzone, José (Jacob).

Am I the only person frustrated that Ana never says "No way José!" when he hits on her?

Nobody?

Just me?

Alrighty then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

What the hell is with everyone obsessing with this book?! It can't seriously be that good.. Anyone I know that is into reading says it is crap; then why the hell are so many people buying into it?!?! Its just like the entire Hunger Games phenomenon.

It really amazes me...

Whats you guys opinions about it?

Have ye read it? Do ye plan on?

this is a pussy book, just watch breaking bad and forget that ballix.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 FreeasmyHair

I wouldn't give it a go (seeing as I'm 15 & not stupid), people have said that the writing in it is supposed to be crap and it probably is. The women who read it need to cop on tbh. And I've read Hunger Games and I'm pretty much hooked. The movie is also amazing. But this 50 Shades of Crap? I agree, it's confusing.

I know it's off topic so this is the last I'll say of it, but do you not see the problem in agreeing with the fundamentals of feminism but not identifying as a feminist? It's like saying "I agree that people shouldn't be kidnapped, tortured, murdered or abused and should be treated with dignity and respect, but I don't believe in human rights"

What problem? I believe in equality between man and women, I think man and women should be treated the same, be able to vote, work in whatever profession and not be treated unfairly because of gender. I don't believe I need to label myself for what views I have. I guess I could be considered a feminist to some but then again there are other things that women have said to me that lead me to think other wise.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

more bull****,subcsribe to national goegraphic and get a grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I know it's off topic so this is the last I'll say of it, but do you not see the problem in agreeing with the fundamentals of feminism but not identifying as a feminist?

I'm here to comment on the book's popularity but I have to step in here for a second - many people like myself who adamantly believe that the law shouldn't differentiate between men and women, and should hold human beings equal in matters of law, would argue that the word "feminism" has been poisoned by the modern third wave element which is about "equality, but only in areas where equality would benefit me".
    I'm an "equalitist". I believe in equality for both genders, including areas in which it means I as a man will lose unfair privileges I have. When you hear the word "feminism" you don't exactly think of someone who would like to see father's rights improved AS WELL as improving areas in which women are disadvantaged, do you? :rolleyes:
    The word "feminism" has the name of one gender embedded into it. Since I argue strongly against double standards affecting BOTH genders, I don't feel it's appropriate to align myself with one or the other. That does NOT mean I don't believe in equality.

Anyway back on topic, in terms of 50 shades of grey, my theory is that it's giving people who were always too hung up or embarrassed to think about their sexuality a proper outlet, for the first time.

Hey, if it leads to Irish society becoming less terrified of sex, why not!
    On the issue of BDSM being horrible, some people are into that stuff. Just because it seems unthinkable for you to be turned on by it, why should we judge others who are? Everyone has their kinks, most people here just seem to have had too much "Irish Catholic Values" shoved down their throats to open their minds to them without the aid of a book like this :P

*puts on his anti flame shield and waits for the haters to start hating*
    Sometimes I feel my beliefs are more suited to Joe Duffy than After Hours :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

no point me reading it im deaf

You'll have to speak up, I'm wearing a towel !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

I went to Dubray Books in Stephen's Green yesterday and they had plenty of part 2 and 3. I borrowed part 1 and bought parts 2 and 3. I figure if it's going to be talked about it so much I might as well at least know what people are talking about. Instead of jumping on either the "OMG he's so dreamy it's so sexy!" or "this is a load of poorly-written, misogynistic rubbish" bandwagon.
    Why buy something (twice) you admit yourself is awful? The first book alone would tell you this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

flyswatter wrote: »
    Why buy something (twice) you admit yourself is awful? The first book alone would tell you this.
    Surely you're not suggesting that Piste was actually buying them for an auld fap, are you? :eek:

so women read this book notting is said

if a man read buys playboy/nuts mags there perves

and this is coming from a gay guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭skirtgirl

I wouldn't give it a go (seeing as I'm 15 & not stupid), people have said that the writing in it is supposed to be crap and it probably is. The women who read it need to cop on tbh. And I've read Hunger Games and I'm pretty much hooked. The movie is also amazing. But this 50 Shades of Crap? I agree, it's confusing.

Why do the women who read it need to cop on?you havent read it so before you pass judgement be very careful. You must remember that less than 20 years ago these books would have been banned in Ireland. I am glad to see women so freely discussing and enjoying this book. Maybe give it a read when you are 17 or 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

tajd wrote: »

Nuts is a great mag, sexy women, jokes and the pages with the injuries :o I used to rob them on my brothers :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

DOBBER112 wrote: »
    50 Shades Of Ireland: She looked at the bodywork...it was immaculately shaped, sculpted and maintained. "Any chance of a ride?" said Caroline as she swooned at Paudie's Honda 50.

Can't find the link, but someone was parodying this, Irish style, recently. Think the best one was
    'I want you to tie me down and ride me for 18 months, treat me like dirt!!' she gasped.

'No problem' said the man from Vodafone as he took out the contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I prefer 50 shades of Glasgow
    He entered her from behind this was his first time he went gentle.. she placed her hand and gasped "Hawd oan ma tampons nearly fell oot" -- 50ShadesGlasgow (@50ShadesGlasgow)
    Clare was £3 short for 10Club Unbuckling her jeans she said "a know yoo muzlims arney allowed pork but call it £1 and ye can lick ma gammon" -- 50ShadesGlasgow (@50ShadesGlasgow)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There's one in the works about the erotic adventures of a Wicklow police academy called Fifty Shades of Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

That would more accurately describe an egalitarian. It's arguable if feminism seeks equality at all, it does however seek to improve womens rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Just heard a guy on the radio.....

Presenter says have you read 50shades of grey?

He says 50 shades of shìte?? Sure there's no pictures in it, I don't know why anybody w*nks over it

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The pacing is all off; between chapters, sections of chapters and especially between actual books there should be at least some sense of time having passed, but in this book it's as if the author just wrote s stream-of-consciousness and threw darts at random to decide on new paragraphs, chapters and where the books should end and begin.

There isn't even much of a story there, the premise could be good but the execution is just all off. I appreciate a good book that can explore human minds and emotions, and a book that explored the history of Grey and why he feels the need to be so controlling and sadistic of Ana, but it's badly explored and poorly fleshed-out (ooh er matron etc).

So you're saying that despite finding the first one awful you still read the second one? Why would you do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nicowa

Anyway back on topic, in terms of 50 shades of grey, my theory is that it's giving people who were always too hung up or embarrassed to think about their sexuality a proper outlet, for the first time.

Hey, if it leads to Irish society becoming less terrified of sex, why not!

That's fine, but I'm sure once this bubble has burst most of them will never buy an erotic book again... Now if there was a link to literotica at the back... :D
    On the issue of BDSM being horrible, some people are into that stuff. Just because it seems unthinkable for you to be turned on by it, why should we judge others who are? Everyone has their kinks, most people here just seem to have had too much "Irish Catholic Values" shoved down their throats to open their minds to them without the aid of a book like this :P

*puts on his anti flame shield and waits for the haters to start hating*
    Sometimes I feel my beliefs are more suited to Joe Duffy than After Hours :D

I'll admit I don't think there's anything wrong with BDSM until it starts affecting life outside the bedroom (low self esteem in other parts of life ie work) which is where some fanfiction and (apparently) this book takes it to. Makes BDSM an abusive relationship - which someone has already said in this thread (that the relationship in the book is abusive).

If I'm completly off about the plot of the book, forgive me. I'm just going on other people's posts.

Mags and porn website are explotitive - mostly re women, I've no idea about the men on the sites. The book is all paper and ink, no naked pics of anyone, no one exploited for someone else's gratification. I would think that is the main difference (to me). No one has ever said that is a man masturbates he's a perv - or at least no one has said it to me, and every book I read as a teen re growing bodies etc, said it was a perfectly natural thing to do, so it's not that element of it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

:) Irish version of 50 Shades of Grey doing the e-mail rounds:

‘Give it to me, give it to me’, he roared aggressively. Some days Mary hated working at Ulster Bank.

He slipped his hand under the red silk.. “You’re so beautiful in that dress.” “Feck off, it was only a euro in Penneys!”

Bríd’s knees were sore and her throat was raw…This was the longest Novena she’d ever attended.

“You’re so tight“, he said, “I’m from Cavan“ she replied.

Slowly he ran his finger down the middle, parting the pink softness, feeling the moist sticky centre. He loved a Mikado.

She quivered as I stroked her thighs. ‘Take me in the shower Sean!’ I whispered to her ‘Wait til I turn on the immersion’

Her underwear was wet as he pulled the rope. There’s great drying out today he thought as the clothes line hoisted

She wrapped her fingers around it and greedily pulled it towards her lips. 20 bottles for 15 quid at Centra! Bargain!

'It‘s so long! Never seen the likes of it!' exclaimed Maire, as she joined the dole queue

She widened her mouth, trying to fit it all in!! Juices ran down her face. Mary did love a kebab after Coppers

She was panting as she let out one final scream of pure pleasure. There was nothing like beating Kilkenny in the hurling

She took a deep breath as the shivers rolled down her hot body... Jaysus, she thought. The Vicks is kicking in now!

Come on! Pump it hard ... Real hard! But it was no use the tyre was definitely punctured!

He asked if she could handle more than one finger. She said she preferred Hob Nobs or a purple Schnack with her tea.

'Spread 'em', he said gruffly. Margie looked dolefully at the bags of fertilizer destined for the back field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

annascott wrote: »
    Actually. the main guy is supposed to be jaw droppingly handsome but he is ginger!

Those two things are not mutually exclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Something that puts filthy sex on more womens minds can never be a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Decided to download this book about 6 weeks ago to see what all the hype was about. So many times I was tempted to stop reading it but I always ended up picking it back up again and finished it.

It was pure and utter shite, far and away the worst book I've ever read (and I've read the Twilight trilogy).

As has already been said, the writing is absolutely awful. The author is English, the book is based in America but the author uses loads of British turns of phrase that would never be used in America (e.g. "throwing toys out of pram" - American's don't use the word pram). It's unbelievably repetitive. I actually did a search in my Kindle for the word "flush/flushed" (as in "I flushed at the sight of his body" or some crap like that) and it's in there over 140 times. The protagonist "bites her lip" at least every 3 pages, she never stops consulting her "inner goddess" and by about a third of the way through the book I was fuming with anger every time she said "Oh my!" The storyline is basically non-existent. I was 90% of the way through the book and I was like "wait...what the hell has happened besides lots of sex?"

The characters are extremely unlikeable and unbelievable. Ana is supposedly just after completing an English major, yet her vocabulary is surprisingly limited. She is 22 and is portrayed as a "strong independent woman" yet she is pathetically naive and is more than happy to be in an abusive relationship. By abusive, I don't mean physically, I mean she is in a relationship with someone who is in complete control of her. Christian is a stalker and a control-freak, yet women the world over are frothing at the gash for him.

At the start, I thought the sex scenes were quite exciting, a bit of a turn on, but I quickly got bored of them. After the first one, there's one about every 5 pages or so. Ana comes as soon as Christian touches her most of the time :rolleyes: I'm a fan of BDSM myself, but it is portrayed very badly in the books IMO. The author makes it seem like a submissive has no choice in what happens in that world. The sex scenes lose their eroticism very quickly, when it is obvious the author is embarrassed to use words like "cock", "pussy" or any other adult terms for genitals. Instead, Ana refers to her vagina as "my sex" or "down there", and Christian's cock is called "his length".

I can't believe how much the phenomenon of this book bothers me. It's supposedly resulting in a whole new sexual awakening for women, however if women need this book to influence their sex lives then they're boring and unimaginative. My boyfriend's female colleagues were talking about it last week and saying how great it was. My boyfriend told them I hated it and thought it was a terrible book. One of them asked why, and he replied "Because she's not a fucking idiot". I think that about sums it up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Crash Override

Wasn't the book out like a year ago?

Why is it only now that it has turned into this massive thing?

Was it on the Afternoon Show or something? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm a bit worried about the women who read it and are turned on by it.

The guys a billionaire (couldn't just be a millionaire). The female character is a vapid little woman devoid of personality and no experience (who's also a virgin with no gag reflex). The guy alternates between buying her stuff and exploring mild bondage.

Is it just me or is it worrying that there are so many women who find this erotic? I think what freaked me out was when I started seeiong women posting **** like the photo below on facebook.

http://www.wtfpinterest.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/50ShadesInstructionManual.jpg

Reading a trashy book like this is fine for a laugh or giggle, but if someone buys into that fantasy, it's a bit worrying.

Wasn't the book out like a year ago?

Why is it only now that it has turned into this massive thing?

Was it on the Afternoon Show or something? :confused:

hehe. You said "massive thing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Grayson wrote: »
    Reading a trashy book like this is fine for a laugh or giggle, but if someone buys into that fantasy, it's a bit worrying.

He should have been on the dole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Crash Override

hehe. You said "massive thing"

Oh, you :rolleyes:

I'm a bit worried about the women who read it and are turned on by it.

The guys a billionaire (couldn't just be a millionaire). The female character is a vapid little woman devoid of personality and no experience (who's also a virgin with no gag reflex). The guy alternates between buying her stuff and exploring mild bondage.

Is it just me or is it worrying that there are so many women who find this erotic? I think what freaked me out was when I started seeiong women posting **** like the photo below on facebook.

http://www.wtfpinterest.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/50ShadesInstructionManual.jpg

A FB friend posted that picture on her wall. I commented saying "What men would learn if that book was an instruction manual: It's ok to be extremely controlling, manipulative, jealous and to treat women like prey. Women orgasm within seconds of you touching them. Women are pathetic and need to be told how to behave."

I agree that it is worrying but I don't actually think that most of the women who read this book and say they get turned on by Christian Grey would actually put up with a partner that controlling. I'm not a feminist but this book really sends out terrible signals to women. Being controlled in a sexual way is absolutely fine if you're both happy with that, but the completely controlling relationship is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Sounds like Twilight has a contender for the Pulitzer

A FB friend posted that picture on her wall. I commented saying "What men would learn if that book was an instruction manual: It's ok to be extremely controlling, manipulative, jealous and to treat women like prey. Women orgasm within seconds of you touching them. Women are pathetic and need to be told how to behave."

I asked if it was a manual for empty headed girls who live in towns where it rains a lot. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sounds like a big pile of shite to me!

Just go out and buy a Jilly Cooper 'book' instead, prob be a tenner cheaper too :rolleyes:

I agree that it is worrying but I don't actually think that most of the women who read this book and say they get turned on by Christian Grey would actually put up with a partner that controlling. I'm not a feminist but this book really sends out terrible signals to women. Being controlled in a sexual way is absolutely fine if you're both happy with that, but the completely controlling relationship is wrong.

Some people are into full time d/s i think, wouldn't be my cup of tea but not wrong
    but that's not what this is, from what i've heard, it's just plain abusive however much he tries to pretend it's d/s

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

It sounds like Last Tango in Paris for the functionally retarded written by somebody that has no understanding of S&M.
    I just didn't understand the whole S&M until I saw the film 'Secretary' starring Maggie Gyllenhaal.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0274812/
    For a movie about a very damaged woman conducting a sadomasochistic relationship with her emotionally chilly boss, it's a surprisingly funny, touching and romantic film that provides an insight into what people get out of that kind of relationship and why they might pursue such a relationship.
    I'd recommend binning the book and watching this film instead.

bluewolf wrote: »
    Some people are into full time d/s i think, wouldn't be my cup of tea but not wrong
    but that's not what this is, from what i've heard, it's just plain abusive however much he tries to pretend it's d/s

You're right, I shouldn't have said it was wrong, some people are into that and it's fine. However the relationship in the book is not healthy. Ana's annoying inner monologue constantly talks about not liking his controlling nature and his jealousy, yet she still succumbs to him!

• Registered Users Posts: 16 maoidh

Glad to see i'm not the only one who thinks these books are rubbish!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Haven't read the book but this review told me everything I needed to know about it in hilarious fashion:

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/340987215

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭cruasder777

What the hell is with everyone obsessing with this book?! It can't seriously be that good.. Anyone I know that is into reading says it is crap; then why the hell are so many people buying into it?!?! Its just like the entire Hunger Games phenomenon.

It really amazes me...

Whats you guys opinions about it?

Have ye read it? Do ye plan on?

Most people are lemmings, they do what others do, they read this book because others read it, they even need to be told how to enjoy sex in a certain way.

You could even get them to walk backwards down the street, if others started doing it.

Pretty sad really.

Read by the same lemmings who think they have to spend lots of money in Ann Summers to have good sex.