Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

50 Shades of Grey Phenomenom?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

flyswatter wrote: »
    That's like buying toilet paper to see how much cotton content it has.

Wow that's a great analogy!!!

Oh wait no, it's not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

no never read it,but will buy it to see what all the fuss is about,im reading 9/11 wars at the moment and will be reading a bit of madeline mcann next,then after that i will read 50 shades of gray its the book everybody is talking about so when i have a few euro to spare i will buy it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I bought it to see what all the fuss is about. The only remarkable thing about it is that it's doing so well despite being SO badly written. I'm only halfway through and I don't know if I can finish it. There is barely any storyline, the "author" uses the same sentences and phrases over and over (seriously if I read about "my inner goddess" one more time, I will scream).

It's only successful because of the hype and I really fail to see why it's being hyped up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Sounds pretty softcore. Seriously where is the pooper licking?

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

im sick of hearing about this crap now, i think women just
    want to be seen with it now in a bus or whatever than care
    about reading it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I read them - they were grand, something to spice up the 'ol imagination for the bedroom.
    Then that film "secretary" came on last night and I realised that it's pretty much a copy - right down to the guys name being Mr. Grey!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28W3d3brIf0
    I'll probably find out that that was stolen from something else too.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 26 lolz81

I read them to see what all the fuss was about. I thought I was going to hate them. I wanted to hate them. I was looking forward to rolling my eyes at all the eejits who were caught up in the hype.

Much to my dismay, I found myself quite enjoying them. :o Granted, they're not the work of a literary genius (some of the language used is ridiculous), but if they're giving a few women a bit of a knickers thrill sure what's the harm?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

That Katrina Lumsden review someone posted is genius (http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/340987215). Now there's a good role model for the "modren woman" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

That Katrina Lumsden review someone posted is genius (http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/340987215). Now there's a good role model for the "modren woman" :pac:

I nearly choked on my tea when I saw the gif for Christian Grey! :pac: Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

That review is amazing! :P

I might read it a bit and see what I think, but I don't see it being something I'd like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

That review is painful to read. Talk about OTT sensationalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Piste wrote: »
    I've already said I bought the sequels because I wanted to have read the entire trilogy for when I'm talking about it with other people so I know what I'm talking about, unlike the majority of this thread. I also wanted to see if the writing style changes at all in the following two books. It doesn't. Also because I thought the attitude of the main character and how she tries to resolve comprimising her own wishes for the needs of her boyfriend was problematic (eg. one of the sentences in the book reads something like (paraphrased): "Should I not be able to take more pain to please my man?") and I wanted to see if she explores this further. She doesn't.
    You bought three 'erotic' novels, despite them being terrible, so that you would know what you were talking about when discussing the series and to analyse the writing style?

Sure...

Sauve wrote: »
    That review is painful to read. Talk about OTT sensationalism.
    Far better than the books it's reviewing though, no?

Ficheall wrote: »

Yeah, but in fairness the books are exactly what they are, they're not claiming to be a great storyline at all, it's a cheap, trashy easy read with some very steamy scenes. End of.
    What other porn do you know of that's well written and has a good storyline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I don't understand all the fuss. :confused:

Hmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

I've read them all. Found the sex laughable at the start and boring throughout. But I was captivated by the story of Grey - found that very interesting. Dunno if it's that I've a history of abuse in my past...

But much better sex stories on literotica that I read during alone times ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Yeah, but in fairness the books are exactly what they are, they're not claiming to be a great storyline at all, it's a cheap, trashy easy read with some very steamy scenes. End of.
    What other porn do you know of that's well written and has a good storyline?

But they're even crap as porn, using ridiculous euphemisms such as "his length" to describe genitalia. The Good Reads review does a fantastic job of picking apart exactly why the books are so mindnumbingly stupid in every way and why it's befuddling that they're so popular. That "50 Shades is the manual men needed" or whatever Facebook post is bizarre.

By the way, I prefer my porn visual, but quality is important -from the camerawork, to the performance, to the premise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭SellingJuan

It is basically Twilight with sex...... w/ the sparkly vampire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Every few years the next generation of women 'discover their sexuality' (Madonna, Sex and the city blah blah blah) and feel compelled to tell the rest of us how they are liberating themselves from our buttoned down conservative ways in a juvenile attempt to make us drop our monocles into our champagne glasses through sheer shock.

Newsflash!! We don't care - we've all been kinked up long before these fads came out! The sexual revolution happened about 50 years ago....yore ma and your ma's ma and yore ma's ma's ma were all doing the filthy salami shuffle long before you were swimming in yore da's ball sack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Next time I see a woman reading it on the bus I'm going to sit beside her. I reckon she will be so turned on by the book that I might just get a shag then and there. 'Take me. Take me now you big stud' :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

PK2008 wrote: »
    Every few years the next generation of women 'discover their sexuality' (Madonna, Sex and the city blah blah blah)

That.....is actually a very good point!

This rubbish, while being read by every age group, is also being read by 17- 20 year olds who likely have not bothered hunting down the SITC repeats in the same manner that women of a generation 4 years and plus older idolised it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Every few years the next generation of women 'discover their sexuality' (Madonna, Sex and the city blah blah blah) and feel compelled to tell the rest of us how they are liberating themselves from our buttoned down conservative ways in a juvenile attempt to make us drop our monocles into our champagne glasses through sheer shock.

Newsflash!! We don't care - we've all been kinked up long before these fads came out! The sexual revolution happened about 50 years ago....yore ma and your ma's ma and yore ma's ma's ma were all doing the filthy salami shuffle long before you were swimming in yore da's ball sack.

so by your reasoning we learn to swim before we are even bornded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

so by your reasoning we learn to swim before we are even bornded.

Please tell me this is a joke.

Aye, if such women had any idea what goes through most men's heads they'd **** themselves. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Aye, if such women had any idea what goes through most men's heads they'd **** themselves. :pac:

I suppose you've documented what goes through most men's heads yourself have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Namlub wrote: »
    Please tell me this is a joke.

this is a joke,

I hope your happy now with yourself.

I'd guess that the opposite is true too.

The constant "liberation" of women with tame stuff like this book would suggest otherwise. Or that it's all a load of hype about nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 whitey90

its becoming a hazard in all good book shops nationwide

The constant "liberation" of women with tame stuff like this book would suggest otherwise. Or that it's all a load of hype about nothing.

Well, I guess I should rephrase what I said earlier...

Men get to joke about tits and porn and vaginas all the time. It's taken for granted. In fact a load of people bemoan the idea that it's all that men do. There have been many posts in this thread about how women would be shocked if they realised what men get up to. Well... Stop being so shocked that women get up to this too. Women can be moronic pervs too. The fact that it's creating a big commotion is enough to show that it's still a "big deal!" There was Madonna, and the sexual liberation of the 70s and The Pill (Unfortunately the liberation of the abortion has yet to come to Ireland.) But even still the idea that women are being dirty aul gashes in their bedrooms, on the bus and in the canteen still seems to cause a big stir. Feck that.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Well, I guess I should rephrase what I said earlier...

Men get to joke about tits and porn and vaginas all the time. It's taken for granted. In fact a load of people bemoan the idea that it's all that men do. There have been many posts in this thread about how women would be shocked if they realised what men get up to. Well... Stop being so shocked that women get up to this too. Women can be moronic pervs too. The fact that it's creating a big commotion is enough to show that it's still a "big deal!" There was Madonna, and the sexual liberation of the 70s and The Pill (Unfortunately the liberation of the abortion has yet to come to Ireland.) But even still the idea that women are being dirty aul gashes in their bedrooms, on the bus and in the canteen still seems to cause a big stir. Feck that.

I'm not shocked by it, I'm tired of hearing how closeted women apparently are/have to be about sex when in my experience it's completely rubbish. It's apparently acceptable for women to put up statuses like "Just finished whatever the book is called, almost time for bed ;)" but me saying "Almost time for bed, just gonna watch a bit of porn first ;)" would be inappropriate in my opinion. No-one cares and no-one is "shocked", it's the fact that some women seem to think that taking about it is a big deal that's annoying.

Yes, because they do think it's a big deal. And that's a thing particular to them. They think it's a big deal and a wink wink thing that they're doing this.

I have no problem with someone being balls to the walls, all out kink in everything they do. And I have no problem with people being reticent and giggling over looking at a man's calves or thighs.

I think we broadly agree, but when someone lists the supposed events that have liberated womanhood over the past 40 years, yet it still happens that women are giggling over this stuff either says something about women or the liberation. I think it says a little about both. But really I'd just like to see an honest discussion about sex and gender, and liberation and dominance in society. I'll give you an example, there's a joke, that I think is a particularly good and hard hitting joke and it came up pretty damn quickly when I typed "a lock" into Google:

"If a lock is opened by many keys, it's a ****ty lock. If a key can open many locks it's the master key."

And that still seems to be the prevalent idea about female sexuality, unless you ignore it and go to homosexuality where women are either porn stars or butch dykes.

It is the case that it is a big deal. I've been involved in tonnes of conversations with guys about how they can't get their girlfriend to be adventurous in bed. And quite a few about how their girlfriend can't even orgasm. And these are genuinely concerned people who feel their partner is missing out. While I've talked to literally one man about how he doesn't "get" sex.

I just think it's important that women get to talk as much about sex out in the open as men get to do. And it is happening, it's slowly happening, but it's a societal thing, and the fact that 50SoG is such a big deal (outside the publishing issue) is testament to the idea that wimmins getting off is lulzworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Dave0301

My Facebook status sums up what I know about the book,

"Some young one reading 50 shades of grey on the bus. The way people have been going on I'm expecting she'll burst into spontaneous masturbation any second now."

Yes, because they do think it's a big deal. And that's a thing particular to them. They think it's a big deal and a wink wink thing that they're doing this.

I have no problem with someone being balls to the walls, all out kink in everything they do. And I have no problem with people being reticent and giggling over looking at a man's calves or thighs.

I think we broadly agree, but when someone lists the supposed events that have liberated womanhood over the past 40 years, yet it still happens that women are giggling over this stuff either says something about women or the liberation. I think it says a little about both. But really I'd just like to see an honest discussion about sex and gender, and liberation and dominance in society. I'll give you an example, there's a joke, that I think is a particularly good and hard hitting joke and it came up pretty damn quickly when I typed "a lock" into Google:

"If a lock is opened by many keys, it's a ****ty lock. If a key can open many locks it's the master key."

And that still seems to be the prevalent idea about female sexuality, unless you ignore it and go to homosexuality where women are either porn stars or butch dykes.

It is the case that it is a big deal. I've been involved in tonnes of conversations with guys about how they can't get their girlfriend to be adventurous in bed. And quite a few about how their girlfriend can't even orgasm. And these are genuinely concerned people who feel their partner is missing out. While I've talked to literally one man about how he doesn't "get" sex.

I just think it's important that women get to talk as much about sex out in the open as men get to do. And it is happening, it's slowly happening, but it's a societal thing, and the fact that 50SoG is such a big deal (outside the publishing issue) is testament to the idea that wimmins getting off is lulzworthy.

The only ones I've seen really talking about it as if it's a big deal are ones who I thought were idiots to begin with as it happens. Some of whom would usually be all "coy" about sex, others who would have a worse mouth on them than any fella I've met. It's just the whole "Oh look at me talking about this" attention seeking that gets on my nerves.
    I guess it's down to picking friends. Most of my female friends are open enough talking about sex and I can have conversations with them about their little preferences and mine and general wonderings etc.
    My other issue is that just because someone perceives themselves to not have permission to speak about something doesn't mean it's true. How many of the sales of the books have been to the same middle-aged and menopausal women who queued up foaming at the gash (sorry but I am loving the excuse to use such phrases :pac: ) to see a topless 16 year old lad in the Twilight film? Still they seem to think they're being "outrageous" or "adventurous" to be seen to be reading these books. It's totally in their own heads.

Funny enough, I don't have a massive sample size to base this on, but I know a few situations where it's the woman who is more adventurous than the man or is easily bored by them.

The only ones I've seen really talking about it as if it's a big deal are ones who I thought were idiots to begin with as it happens. Some of whom would usually be all "coy" about sex, others who would have a worse mouth on them than any fella I've met. It's just the whole "Oh look at me talking about this" attention seeking that gets on my nerves.
    I guess it's down to picking friends. Most of my female friends are open enough talking about sex and I can have conversations with them about their little preferences and mine and general wonderings etc.
    My other issue is that just because someone perceives themselves to not have permission to speak about something doesn't mean it's true. How many of the sales of the books have been to the same middle-aged and menopausal women who queued up foaming at the gash (sorry but I am loving the excuse to use such phrases :pac: ) to see a topless 16 year old lad in the Twilight film? Still they seem to think they're being "outrageous" or "adventurous" to be seen to be reading these books. It's totally in their own heads.

Funny enough, I don't have a massive sample size to base this on, but I know a few situations where it's the woman who is more adventurous than the man or is easily bored by them.

Yeah, I'd agree with you.

But the point is that if enough times someone looks at them and says, "Yeah, that reminds me of that redtube video..." They'll quick enough realise that it's not dirty and it's not weird and it's not shocking. I just have this weird idea of Ireland grown up on Gay Byrne. And I mean Gay Byrne was a good influence. Mary Robinson and all that. Happily thankful that they could get condoms down south, but still not willing to talk about it with anyone but their husband on occasion. Or their best friend, and even then only with giggles.

I think AH is generally good for this stuff as well. But it annoys me that a lot of people write these women off as stupid biddies frothing over nothing much. For them it is a big deal. We should be happy to say, "Welcome to our world!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Dave0301 wrote: »
    My Facebook status sums up what I know about the book,

"Some young one reading 50 shades of grey on the bus. The way people have been going on I'm expecting she'll burst into spontaneous masturbation any second now."

And did she?? :confused:

Yeah, I'd agree with you.

But the point is that if enough times someone looks at them and says, "Yeah, that reminds me of that redtube video..." They'll quick enough realise that it's not dirty and it's not weird and it's not shocking. I just have this weird idea of Ireland grown up on Gay Byrne. And I mean Gay Byrne was a good influence. Mary Robinson and all that. Happily thankful that they could get condoms down south, but still not willing to talk about it with anyone but their husband on occasion. Or their best friend, and even then only with giggles.

I think AH is generally good for this stuff as well. But it annoys me that a lot of people write these women off as stupid biddies frothing over nothing much. For them it is a big deal. We should be happy to say, "Welcome to our world!"
    I'd rather not get to the point where easily overheard and general conversations would refer to redtube and porn, I guess that's my problem. :pac:

Sorry for the edit but to sum up, if someone is claiming that they don't feel comfortable talking about sex etc. but then go ahead and post things like I said earlier where their parents and brothers and sisters can read it then they're full of ****. I'm not going to publicly talk about watching porn except when it's a joke and non-specific, does that mean that I'm actually a victim of society? No, it's because I like to think I've got a little bit of decorum. :pac:

I'd rather not get to the point where easily overheard and general conversations would refer to redtube and porn, I guess that's my problem. :pac:

Sorry for the edit but to sum up, if someone is claiming that they don't feel comfortable talking about sex etc. but then go ahead and post things like I said earlier where their parents and brothers and sisters can read it then they're full of ****. I'm not going to publicly talk about watching porn except when it's a joke and non-specific, does that mean that I'm actually a victim of society? No, it's because I like to think I've got a little bit of decorum. :pac:

Ah sure, they could think you're talking about waterskiing.

I didn't realise "fisting" was a waterskiing term.

It is after the pressure builds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Dave0301

syndeyfife wrote: »
    And did she?? :confused:

Unfortunately not! Although at one stage her cheeks were quite flushed and I though **** was about to get crazy!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

/has idea for Kookie Kackhouse novel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

Someone gave this to me for my birthday last week. I had heard about it all over the radio etc but I didn't realise what the book was actually about. I hated it! It was actually a bit scary. I think anyone that enjoyed it is one sick puppy. I discussed it with a friend of mine a few days ago and she actually said that her fantasy is for someone to fu/king beat her up and then have sex with her....WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I discussed it with a friend of mine a few days ago and she actually said that her fantasy is for someone to fu/king beat her up and then have sex with her....

While she's unconscious like? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

Its just Mills and Boon on viagra . . .:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Ficheall wrote: »
    You bought three 'erotic' novels, despite them being terrible, so that you would know what you were talking about when discussing the series and to analyse the writing style?

Sure...

Have you read the book? Badly written though it may be there is a plot there, and themes are developed. Mainly the theme of his desire/need for control and her independence. I wanted to see how this theme was resolved in the sequels because I wasn't happy with how it was dealt with in the first book.
    It's resolved poorly and I ended up disliking both main characters and thinking they deserved whatever came to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

darragh16 wrote: »
    “He’s my very own Christian Grey flavor Popsicle.” “Hmm… he’s soft and hard at once, like steel encased in velvet, and surprisingly tasty…”

Absolute filth and women everywhere are reading this!!

Wow, how shocking that our innocent women are being corrupted like this. :eek:

Who cares; I have no interest in the book but insulting things just because they are popular is a bit silly to be honest.

smash wrote: »

Probably Smash.......nothing surprises me

Can't see how that'd be much fun for her to be honest.

That book has a lot to answer for lol

Tell her that reality hurts... literally!