Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

50 Shades of Grey Phenomenom?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Someone gave this to me for my birthday last week. I had heard about it all over the radio etc but I didn't realise what the book was actually about. I hated it! It was actually a bit scary. I think anyone that enjoyed it is one sick puppy. I discussed it with a friend of mine a few days ago and she actually said that her fantasy is for someone to fu/king beat her up and then have sex with her....WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE

He slaps her on the arse a few times like, not as if that's beat up! Anyway it's a book (fantasy) not real,didn't happen. The reality is that most women wouldn't stay with a guy that is that ****ed up.

Some people like S & M some don't ....no big deal different strokes for different folks. I'd say most who read the book have little or no interest in S & M they just enjoy the fantasy of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

You'd find better written porno stories on the web.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

tan11ie wrote: »
    He slaps her on the arse a few times like, not as if that's beat up!

But doesn't he tell her that he wants to beat the shít out of her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

He slaps her on the arse a few times like, not as if that's beat up! Anyway it's a book (fantasy) not real,didn't happen. The reality is that most women wouldn't stay with a guy that is that ****ed up.

Some people like S & M some don't ....no big deal different strokes for different folks. I'd say most who read the book have little or no interest in S & M they just enjoy the fantasy of it.

I read the book and I know what he did. I didn't say he bet her up I merely stated that it stirred something in my friend and she now wants to be beaten before sex. Also at the end of the book if you call that a few slaps on the arse I worry :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Zeppy7

I went fifty shades under the sun reading this in work last week.. can't quite take in the naivety of the 'heroine'. Mr Grey has since introduced her to sex and now he wants to divulge his further fantasies in his enigmatic 'room of pain'... eh, I think not. I still can't believe a woman wrote this, she must have a fair dose of testosterone in her...

smash wrote: »
    But doesn't he tell her that he wants to beat the shít out of her?

Not that I remember I recall him wanting to spank the ass of her and it never gets any further then that...tbh I just don't get the hype and the drama about the book it's not that racy at all !

I read the book and I know what he did. I didn't say he bet her up I merely stated that it stirred something in my friend and she now wants to be beaten before sex. Also at the end of the book if you call that a few slaps on the arse I worry :rolleyes:

And I can bet she wouldn't want it if she was to get to that point...big difference when faced with the reality of it.

Why worry:confused: it's a book you should have put it down before you got that far then...get over it!

And I can bet she wouldn't want it if she was to get to that point...big difference when faced with the reality of it.

Why worry:confused: it's a book you should have put it down before you got that far then...get over it!

hmmmmmm Dublin Chick leaves thread.....all too serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Why is that worrying? It's what some people are into, if it's two consenting adults then what's the problem? In the book, even though Ana didn't actually like it when she was being caned, she did consent to it and it was her choice not to use the safe word. Just because it's something that you don't understand, it doesn't mean it's "sick"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

The dialogue she has about her 'subconcious' and her 'inner godess' is one of the absolutely strangest parts, I think these are voices in her head, but I have no idea, I mean how is her subconcious so concious? I have no idea what her inner goddess is meant to represent but here are some examples :

My inner goddess has her sequins on and is warming up to dance the rumba.
    I swallow, and my inner goddess squints from her sun lounger where she’s trying to catch rays with a silver reflector fanned out at her neck
    My inner goddess looks like someone snatched her ice cream
    My inner goddess looks up startled from her Jackie Collins.

My subconscious has her arms crossed and is wearing Burberry check
    My subconscious purses her lips and mouths the word ‘ho.’ I ignore her. Sitting beside me, he gently pulls my sweatpants down again. ‘Up and down like whores’ drawers, my subconscious remarks bitterly. In my head, I tell her where to go.
    My subconscious is frantically fanning herself, and my inner goddess is swaying and writhing to some primal carnal rhythm

Maybe she suffers from schizophrenia

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Maggiesims

I think too many people are reading too much into the 50 shades trilogy. I have read all 3 books and thought they were really far fetched and alot of the books took place over a 3 month period.

I enjoyed them and took what I wanted from them and left the rest.

26 year old unattached self made billionaire who employs 40,000 people and makes $100.000 an hour meet a 22 year old college virgin who never has had an orgasm.!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Zeppy7

Maggiesims wrote: »
    I think too many people are reading too much into the 50 shades trilogy. I have read all 3 books and thought they were really far fetched and alot of the books took place over a 3 month period.

I enjoyed them and took what I wanted from them and left the rest.

26 year old unattached self made billionaire who employs 40,000 people and makes $100.000 an hour meet a 22 year old college virgin who never has had an orgasm.!!!

Righto on, Maggiesims.. it doesn't add up to much when you break it down like that. It's all fluffed up with the s&m stage shows thrown in to give the watery, romantic storyline an additional edge.

I'm only reading it to keep up in conversations... :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Looks like Emma Watson might be the leading actor for the part of the young female lover: http://www.digitalspy.ie/movies/news/a394805/emma-watson-considered-for-ana-steele-in-fifty-shades-of-grey-movie.html
    Emma Watson is reportedly a "frontrunner" to play Fifty Shades of Grey's main character Anastasia Steele in the film adaptation.

According to the International Business Times, the Harry Potter actress is wanted to play EL James's female protagonist Ana in the erotic movie.
    The Twilight-inspired novel follows a young college student as she embarks on a BDSM relationship with an older businessman...

...Hollywood actresses Emma Roberts, Ashley Benson and Lucy Hale have all expressed an interest in the part of Ana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Alexander Skarsgard as Christian Grey? As Ana would say: "Oh my!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Piste wrote: »
    Alexander Skarsgard as Christian Grey? As Ana would say: "Oh my!"

Aye LOL

...But Emma Watson in kinky gear?
    Himmmm... I could live with that! :D

(They probably will tone it down or show bugger all if they chose her. Clever camera shots etc)

i sincerely hope they change the movie a lot from the book
    the quotes i've read are mindnumbingly awful

ill have to go write a book and get rich too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I have not read the book but my sex life is great since she has....

I am hoping she reads it tonight...

Biggins wrote: »
    They probably will tone it down or show bugger all if they chose her. Clever camera shots etc

As long as they leave out the tampon bit it'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

As long as they leave out the tampon bit it'll be ok.

Lol. Or the bits in the third book where Ana gets turned on watching Christian lick some sweets of his INFANT son's fingers. Or when they have sex while she's pregnant, and Ana says that her IN UTERO baby girl must enjoy sex already.

Right... So when is the author going to be taken away for a psych test?

Holy lanterns! That is SICK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭qwert2

Forgive me ignorance, but what is Hunger games? and what is 50 shades of whatever? Also what is batman? (seriously)

#hype

qwert2 wrote: »
    Forgive me ignorance, but what is Hunger games? and what is 50 shades of whatever? Also what is batman? (seriously)

#hype

#This #doesn't #do #anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Maggiesims

Posted by ibarelycare
    Lol. Or the bits in the third book where Ana gets turned on watching Christian lick some sweets of his INFANT son's fingers. Or when they have sex while she's pregnant, and Ana says that her IN UTERO baby girl must enjoy sex already.on's fingers. Or when they have sex while she's pregnant, and Ana says that her IN UTERO baby girl must enjoy sex already.[/QUOTE]

I had to go back to the end of the third book and check this out I was surprised i wasn't disgusted that she was turned on by that:eek: When I read it Ana wasn't turned on by this but it was to show how much he adored his son and how he had changed and was now able to show emotion and love for his son.

Also the part about the daughter enjoying sex already, Christian replied she won't be having sex until she is 30, again showing his caring side towards his kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

Just bought my copy of Fifty Shades of Grey and Fifty Shades Darker on O' Connell's street this morning, so hope to read them soon and see what all the fuss is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

I had to go back to the end of the third book and check this out I was surprised i wasn't disgusted that she was turned on by that:eek: When I read it Ana wasn't turned on by this but it was to show how much he adored his son and how he had changed and was now able to show emotion and love for his son.

Also the part about the daughter enjoying sex already, Christian replied she won't be having sex until she is 30, again showing his caring side towards his kids.
    Yeah I hear 50 Shades is all about subtext...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Thank god I only read the first book!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Theres nothing like getting a ride and a blow-job at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

So it looks like Emma Watson will be starring as Ana Steele in the upcoming film:eek:

http://www.webpronews.com/emma-watson-to-star-in-fifty-shades-of-grey-twitter-reacts-2012-07

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Namlub wrote: »
    Yeah I hear 50 Shades is all about subtext...

And domtext.

Sounds more controlling than caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I realise that it's a little late in the day, but it just occurred to me that there's a passable pun suggesting something along the lines of 50 Shades readers being 'wet behind the ears' as opposed to anywhere else, or something of that ilk. I've not slept in a while, so if someone could formulate that general notion into an epigrammatic quip and direct the thanks my way, it would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Ficheall wrote: »
    I realise that it's a little late in the day, but it just occurred to me that there's a passable pun suggesting something along the lines of 50 Shades readers being 'wet behind the ears' as opposed to anywhere else, or something of that ilk. I've not slept in a while, so if someone could formulate that general notion into an epigrammatic quip and direct the thanks my way, it would be much appreciated.

50 shades of grey: making women wet behind the ears wet in other places too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    50 shades of grey: making women wet behind the ears wet in other places too

That's fecking terrible :(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yeah, at least throw in some contortionism. What is Ficheall paying you for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Ficheall wrote: »
    That's fecking terrible :(

Ficheall by name, fickle by nature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Oh god! Was just looking at the Ann Summers website, and they now have a 50 shades of grey section :O

http://annsummersireland.ie/shop/50-shades-of-grey?limit=10&limitstart=10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

syndeyfife wrote: »
    Oh god! Was just looking at the Ann Summers website, and they now have a 50 shades of grey section :O

http://annsummersireland.ie/shop/50-shades-of-grey?limit=10&limitstart=10

I bet you didn't go in there just to see if the book was in stock ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

kfallon wrote: »
    I bet you didn't go in there just to see if the book was in stock ;)

I heard she wrote the book :eek:

I heard she was shopping for chocolate willies!

Jaysus ye lads hear a lot of things.....

I could write a better erotic novel in my sleep....

Jaysus ye lads hear a lot of things.....
    It's all over the interwebz!

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

not my kind of book, I heard there is no murders, bank robberies or vampires like Dracula (not gay vampires like Twilight)
    just some old crusty housewife getting F*cked, who cares:rolleyes:

It's all over the interwebz!

I must be visiting the wrong sites! Never got wind of any of this on 'The Bebo' :pac:

just some old crusty housewife getting F*cked, who cares:rolleyes:

No, she's only 21. And she's a virgin!

Not for long.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

I must be visiting the wrong sites! Never got wind of any of this on 'The Bebo' :pac:

You're clearly talking to the wrong paedophiles so ..

:D That was brilliant