Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

50 Shades of Grey Phenomenom?!

123457»

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Angelwings4

grindle wrote: »
    Hardonwaning.

Be nice if you always got one of those :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Be nice if you always got one of those :p

Sounds like the worst thing in the world....

Id much prefer a hardonraging!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Angelwings4

syndeyfife wrote: »

Well as they say forewarned is forearmed or should i say fore played :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Most of my friends have jumped on board the Fifty Shades train and are swooning over Christian Grey, and banging on about how they practically jumped their boyfriends after reading it. To be honest after reading the excerpts it sounds like a Twilight porno - I'm not gonna rush to the shops to read a book that is badly written, promotes women who are controlled by men, and uses the term "Oh My!" more than once.

I can get my kicks from much more exciting things than that ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

bluewolf wrote: »
    Maybe she suffers from schizophrenia
    You are confusing this with Multiple Personality Disorder, which is a completely different illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

kfallon wrote: »

I was more terrified than a white mouse in a tampon factory. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

syndeyfife wrote: »

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    Most of my friends have jumped on board the Fifty Shades train and are swooning over Christian Grey, and banging on about how they practically jumped their boyfriends after reading it. To be honest after reading the excerpts it sounds like a Twilight porno - I'm not gonna rush to the shops to read a book that is badly written, promotes women who are controlled by men, and uses the term "Oh My!" more than once.

The book is much more than just controlling Anastasia, yes Christian has a perfound need to give orders and have her obey him, but she also wishes to please him ..

As with an BDSM or S&M relationship, there's more to it than meet's the eyes.. while you may not like the concept the book promoted, try and understand, that there's more to it than a guy over powering a woman...

Ah_Yeah wrote: »
    I can get my kicks from much more exciting things than that

Naked skydiving perhaps ?

eternal wrote: »
    You are confusing this with Multiple Personality Disorder, which is a completely different illness.
    thank you :)
    i had a niggling feeling i had mixed it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

hadepsx wrote: »
    this fecking book is the scourge of me, the missus is trying to turn me into Mr.Grey. well i aint no billionaire, and she definitly aint no virgin.:D
    i do enjoy the new activities i must admit:pac:

:(Thats not what she told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Ms.M

50 shades of Grey is great! I can show it to my English class and say "Hey look, if this can get published, anybody in this class could be a future author."

Truly inspirational stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

Lol. Or the bits in the third book where Ana gets turned on watching Christian lick some sweets of his INFANT son's fingers. Or when they have sex while she's pregnant, and Ana says that her IN UTERO baby girl must enjoy sex already.

Way to spoil it for people who haven't got that far in the books. It may be shite but you could have used spoiler tags.

ana gets turned on

ana and christian have sex

sex often leads to pregnancy

the third book is about the same characters and they're still having sex

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I think part of you knew that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

eternal wrote: »
    That's fine, I didn't mean to sound overbearing, I have a thing about illnesses and their symptoms. Thanks for not coming back with a bitchy retort so often seen on Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Winston Payne

What's our favourite reading of this then? Gottfried's been posted already in this thread and his is good. Duke Nukem did a reading. Personally, mine is this:

Fifty minutes of silly-voiced erotica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

If there's many more BS fads for women to get into the economy may just rebound. Go on you f'kin sheep, lap that garbage up. Why not read it while listening to One Direction and drinking some coconut water while having a fish pedicure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Wompa1 wrote: »
    If there's many more BS fads for women to get into the economy may just rebound. Go on you f'kin sheep, lap that garbage up. Why not read it while listening to One Direction and drinking some coconut water while having a fish pedicure

My, my.

I'm sure you didn't mean that post to come off as bitter and hate-filled has it has.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

^^Someone invested in rat peeling or beaver waxing, I'll wager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

^^Someone invested in rat peeling or beaver waxing, I'll wager

You know it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

What have you got against coconut water? It's got more potassium than 3 bananas! (or something)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

The Snipe wrote: »
    What the hell is with everyone obsessing with this book?! It can't seriously be that good.. Anyone I know that is into reading says it is crap; then why the hell are so many people buying into it?!?! Its just like the entire Hunger Games phenomenon.

It really amazes me...

Whats you guys opinions about it?

Have ye read it? Do ye plan on?

a load of bollix. soft porn written by a very shy woman for women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Is that how you read it?

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭TheRealSquishy

The mother came into the sitting room with a package yesterday. I asked her what it was and she said it was the 50 shades trilogy. I said there's three of them? 'Yeah' she says, '50 shades of grey, 50 shades darker, and I dunno what the last one is called but shur I'll probably be pregnant by the time I get to read it'.

While I was eating my fcuking dinner :mad: I hate these books. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Lol. Or the bits in the third book where Ana gets turned on watching Christian lick some sweets of his INFANT son's fingers. Or when they have sex while she's pregnant, and Ana says that her IN UTERO baby girl must enjoy sex already.

Way to spoil it for people who haven't got that far in the books. It may be shite but you could have used spoiler tags.

This is a thread discussing the books. Maybe not the best thread to read if you don't want the wonderful story to be spoiled for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Oh snap, girlfrien'!