Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ryanair refuses elderly lady with Colostomy bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

no i didnt but i worked with a lot of incontinent patients wearing nappies as they forgot their toilet training due to alzheimers..
    there were some convalescing patients but i didnt work on that ward but i saw them from time to time on my way down the corridor so ya..

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

thank fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

okay lads i would like to ask you would YOU like to sit beside the shoite bag lady - be brutally honest here i wont mind..

I'd rather sit beside her than sit beside you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Micky really is a cat mod!!! Did ya see that pounce :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Chucken wrote: »
    Micky really is a cat mod!!! Did ya see that pounce :D

Are ya joking ? he's a sniper mod.. that was a head shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,219 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

okay lads i would like to ask you would YOU like to sit beside the shoite bag lady - be brutally honest here i wont mind..
    your referring to yourself there. would i want to sit beside you? to be brutely honest no. anyone agree he/she is a troll?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I flew to Florida last year with aer Lingus.
    In dublin airport, walking down from a coffee shop, down a long corridor. There was 4 of us and a family behind us.
    I noticed an old man standing up crying, down the end of the corridor. I thought he had bags on the ground beside him but as I got closer I realised it was his wife. I ran over. He said she just collapsed and she's dead.
    SHe was sitting on the floor slumped over, chin on her chest, not breathing.
    I lay her down, check if she's breathing and perform cpr.
    Next of all I hear this noise, and I realise she's after letting her bowels go. I remember someone told me years ago you do that after you die. My heart sank.
    The smell was unreal, the noise was worse, and there were loads of people around crying and shouting for someone to get help etc.
    I must have been going for at least 5 minutes, when she starts coughing.
    I asked her if she knew what had happened? She said she must have fainted because of the smell. Wasn't at all funny at the time, but makes me smile now to think about it.
    When she realised what she had done She was mortified. BRought her in to the bathroom, got her cleaned up as best I could. I left and later found out she had been checked over by medical staff, allowed have her case back so she could change clothes and let on the flight.
    Would have ruined my holiday if she had died. Lovely lady she was and her husband cried happy tears then. :)
    Aer Lingus, great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Mod

Posts deleted. Move on from banned posters comments or this thread is done.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

I used to work in a nursing home,and the smell off some of the clients/patients was sometimes awful,you knew they had just shat themselves in their nappy,and it was that same smell,and she had(the woman in the shop)something poking out of her top..thats how i knew..
    as a residential home resident who is singular incontinent [sometimes doubly after a seizure]; living with a lot of adults,teens and kids- many who are doubly incontinent,can say that there is no smell from either urine or faeces unless it leaks and smears up the outer skin or is left on to long-and if its because its left on to long-its neglect pure and simple,if irelands equivilent of CSCI/CQC had read that in the daily logs they woud have tore the staff and management a new one.
    adult pullup pads and nappies are actualy very good at controling the odour from both 'recycled elements'am personaly calling BS on the idea of having worked in a nursing home but thats just own view.

as for the bags,though not quite the same as a colostomy,dad has got the urine version on him at the moment and woud never know he was wearing it,the line is taped to the leg so it doesnt even dangle-no one is aware unless the person tells them.
    there is no scent on it even up close when its full and these are regulary changed with a larger one used at night time.

perhaps OP needs a colostomy as he seems to be spewing the brown stuff at an alarming rate in this thread.
    even for him it seems a rather different change from his usual style.

annyway,starbelgrade [if am correct in thinking] was spot on about ryanair,ryanair are the worst airline for accomodating additional needs.
    if impaired/disabled people want to make a point they need to stop using them and use another airline though that might be hard if they are on a low budget and cant afford another.

@ Scruffles..great post but can I ask why you say Ryanair are the worst airline for accomodating additional needs.

This is from their website: http://www.ryanair.com/en/terms-and-conditions#regulations-reducedmobility

I think they're fairly comprehensive guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

@ Scruffles..great post but can I ask why you say Ryanair are the worst airline for accomodating additional needs.

This is from their website: http://www.ryanair.com/en/terms-and-conditions#regulations-reducedmobility

I think they're fairly comprehensive guidelines.
    Ryanair sued after leaving a disabled woman on the tarmac because the hydraulic lift, booked by the woman when she booked the flight, didn't turn up. Her husband had to put her over his shoulder and carry her up the stairs. http://www.terminalu.com/travel-news/disabled-woman-wins-case-against-ryanair-after-being-refused-boarding-help/8717/

Yeah, Ryanair are just lovely to people with disabilities. In recent years they've also added 50c to the cost of every flight to cover passengers who need wheelchairs; this from a company that makes profits of 100s of millions.

I really, really wish there was a viable alternative to Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

kylith wrote: »
    Ryanair sued after leaving a disabled woman on the tarmac because the hydraulic lift, booked by the woman when she booked the flight, didn't turn up. Her husband had to put her over his shoulder and carry her up the stairs. http://www.terminalu.com/travel-news/disabled-woman-wins-case-against-ryanair-after-being-refused-boarding-help/8717/

Yeah, Ryanair are just lovely to people with disabilities. In recent years they've also added 50c to the cost of every flight to cover passengers who need wheelchairs; this from a company that makes profits of 100s of millions.

I really, really wish there was a viable alternative to Ryanair.

I fly to London up to 3 times a year, European holiday most years out of the last 5 or 6, and twice to other locations in Britain during that time, only once have I used Ryanair during that time. There is alternatives.

As for the 50c wheelchair chair. Surely thats ilegal. My understanding was, and this is from an Airport worker, that airport costs appplied to all passengers cover the costs of escorting passengers with difficulties, be that on the Golf Buggies, wheelchairs, etc etc.

kylith wrote: »

From that article: ‘Under EU law airports, and not airlines, are responsible for the provision of special assistance to passengers.

‘This service is paid for by Ryanair and the failure of Luton Airport’s service provider to assist Mr and Mrs Health in this case was not the responsibility of Ryanair.’

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

From that article: ‘Under EU law airports, and not airlines, are responsible for the provision of special assistance to passengers.

‘This service is paid for by Ryanair and the failure of Luton Airport’s service provider to assist Mr and Mrs Health in this case was not the responsibility of Ryanair.’
    Since most other airlines* would have tried to help that lady and Ryanair didn't, but instead just put their hands up saying "not my problem" then that is evidence that Ryanair are bad compared to other airlines at accommodating peoples needs.

*Someone in my family is disabled (and wears a bag) so I have a bit of experience to say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

:confused: This makes no sense. Why would she even tell staff she had a colostomy bag? It would fit in her hand luggage.

The woman clearly wanted to have the spare bag on her person so she could change it during the flight if necessary. If it was in her hand luggage it would have been locked away in the cabin during the flight.

And just to reiterate what every other mature person on here has been saying, colostomy bags are designed to be odour-proof.

ViveLaVie wrote: »
    The woman clearly wanted to have the spare bag on her person so she could change it during the flight if necessary. If it was in her hand luggage it would have been locked away in the cabin during the flight.

And just to reiterate what every other mature person on here has been saying, colostomy bags are designed to be odour-proof.

What do you mean locked away? Your cabin bag is in the overhead locker and can be handed to you at any stage during the flight (except when the seatbelt signs are on)

I dont tell cabin crew when I have my medication in my hand luggage, so I'm just wondering why that lady felt the need to tell the crew about a colostomy bag :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

As bad as it may be, People have a choice to fly Ryanair or not.
    In my view the ryanair staff are not as pleasant as other airlines and yeah the seating is very close together but i still believe it is a good option for shorthaul flights.

Ryanair is all about profit and they don't pretend otherwise..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Is it possible with the take off and landing certain pressures are put on the (or her) body in such a way her bag might fill quicker than normal, then she would have to tell them she was wearing one so they could get her a replacement bag from the overhead lockers if needed,

but yes it is a joke at this stage of the game to be refused admission to a flight because of a disability you have.

What do you mean locked away? Your cabin bag is in the overhead locker and can be handed to you at any stage during the flight (except when the seatbelt signs are on)

I dont tell cabin crew when I have my medication in my hand luggage, so I'm just wondering why that lady felt the need to tell the crew about a colostomy bag :confused:

Well I have flown Ryanair before and needed to get medicine out of my carry-on luggage and the air hostess was very rude to me when I attempted to do so. Also, it's just unnecessary hassle isn't it? Having to reach up, drag down the bag and go through it, instead of just being allowed to carry it on your person.

I'm quite short so for people like me, or the infirm or elderly (seeing as this woman had a colostomy bag I imagine she wasn't in the best health) they may have to ask somebody else to get the bag for them and it is awkward going through it when there's really little space to do so. Ryanair planes are usually very small and overpacked.

If there was a leak too, I'm sure she wouldn't want to delay and spend time getting it out of the carry-on first. All in all, I think it is reasonable that she wanted to have it on her person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

i dont know what she could have been bringing that wouldnt be allowed on a plane. I have a stoma bag too and when im travelling i just bring spare bags, surely the actual bag is not a flight hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Also from that link "the couple were left waiting by the plane for over half an hour, when a hydraulic airlift that they had requested at the time of booking didn’t arrive." Ryanair had been informed that a hydraulic lift was needed; it was their responsibility to make sure it was there. This lady could hardly go and get it herself.

Real Life wrote: »
    i dont know what she could have been bringing that wouldnt be allowed on a plane. I have a stoma bag too and when im travelling i just bring spare bags, surely the actual bag is not a flight hazard.

I think the problem wasn't what she was bringing on the plane, but rather that she was bringing it on without it being contained within the carry-on luggage. Ryanair are completely ridiculous when it comes carry-on restrictions. You can't even have a newspaper in your hand lest they try and charge you extra for going over the carry-on restrictions.

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    As bad as it may be, People have a choice to fly Ryanair or not.

Unfortunately, some people don't have the choice. They may not be able to afford another airline and frankly I don't think a lower fare price is justification for embarrassing people with illnesses and medical issues and not accommodating their situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I guarantee you, you did, you just didn't know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

why didnt she just put it into her bag and take it out once she was boarded? there are rules for boarding, they may be s*it rules, but they are rules and they are not that hard.

one item of hand luggage per passenger, how difficult is that to understand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

why didnt she just put it into her bag and take it out once she was boarded? there are rules for boarding, they may be s*it rules, but they are rules and they are not that hard.

Ryanair generates a good bit of income by taking full advantage of their ability to change the rules whenever they want and catch out a good lot of people who don't spend their days reading the small print

They are a shower of bastards, due to the way they carry on with rules and general sh1t treatment of their customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

quoted from the Journal article.

'According to Ryanair, passengers who wish to carry and use medical equipment during flights must first contact their dedicated special assistance line. “This special assistance phone line is used by thousands of passengers each year, without issue,” the airline said in a written statement.'

I think the problem here is that some folks will not comply with the rules and then bitch when they encounter problems. if I had a disability I would let them know at least a few hours beforehand to avoid any unpleasantness.

this is like the woman who went to Turkey and could not get back cos her sons passport was out of date.only herself to blame.

Well maybe she thought to herself, "I'll need to take this out of my hand luggage immediately once on the plane. I'm sure if I show my doctor's certificate to the air hostess on boarding that she'll realise how awkward it would be to pack it in only to unpack it in a busy aisle that has very little free space and, considering it's a medical situation, she'll allow me to carry it on in my hand".

I guess she wasn't counting on the rigid air hostess publicly humiliating her, rather than just having a bit of discretion and compassion. It really is absolutely ridiculous to expect a sick woman to have to go this rigamarole of packing and unpacking, possibly obstructing other passengers in the aisle, and the rigmarole of calling up beforehand and waiting at least 30 minutes just to get clearance to carry it in her hand, when the air hostess could have let her carry it on.

And I do not think that Ryanair are okay with letting passengers unpack stuff from their bags during the flight. I had problems with this before. It seems like it would have been a lot easier for them to just say, "Doctor's note, oh okay, no problem" and let the woman carry it on!
    Fuinseog wrote: »
    quoted from the Journal article.

'According to Ryanair, passengers who wish to carry and use medical equipment during flights must first contact their dedicated special assistance line. “This special assistance phone line is used by thousands of passengers each year, without issue,” the airline said in a written statement.'

I think the problem here is that some folks will not comply with the rules and then bitch when they encounter problems. if I had a disability I would let them know at least a few hours beforehand to avoid any unpleasantness.

this is like the woman who went to Turkey and could not get back cos her sons passport was out of date.only herself to blame.

I called their special assistance line before about carrying medicine on board and the woman on the line didn't have any idea whether I was allowed to or not. She said I could 'chance it' after checking with her supervisor. I asked could I speak to her supervisor and she said the line was breaking up and she couldn't hear me. The line was crystal clear. I asked for her name so I could quote her if I did get into difficulty when boarding and she refused to give it. Their special assistance line is an absolute joke.

Judging from some of the posts here I must be slightly naive, but as much as I feel sympathy for that poor woman feeling humiliated, surely Ryanair aren't completely to blame.

There's a number you can ring to let Ryanair know if you need special medical consideration. She claims that she couldn't get through on three different occasions. But with the amount of people using Ryanair, surely the facility must be working or we'd have heard thousands of cases like this. She showed up for the flight with a note. The person she was dealing with should have gotten a superior to see the lady, but they shouldn't have accepted a note as authorisation. They needed proof and went about it the wrong way. But when you're one worker in a large operation like Ryanair, being expected to use common sense and discretion isn't as easy as it sounds. Airlines are really strict these days, and especially with an airline like Ryanair where they're counting the pennies and have the reputation that they do, you should know what to expect, i.e. no special treatment.
    when the air hostess could have let her carry it on.
    "Doctor's note, oh okay, no problem" and let the woman carry it on!
    But that's the point. An air hostess does not have the authority to change the regulations of an airline.

I totally understand where the lady is coming from. Having the bag is bad enough without having to be singled out and hassled because of it. But it's not the air-hostess' fault that the lady didn't understand the same procedures that thousands (millions?) of people that use Ryanair manage to understand. To be honest, I can easily envisage a situation where the lady in question was already embarrassed and defensive before she even brought up the issue. Embarrassment can lead to anger, and the lady could very well have been a difficult customer from the outset due to this.

I know I'm sounding like a horrible person, but just because the lady's circumstances pull at the heartstrings doesn't mean that she was in the right. There were a few options open to her and she didn't use any of them.

Sorry but....."Cabin Crew" ;) The lads usually dont like being called hostesses :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Two days of this mild hysteria wind up rubbish!

Totally agree with the moto 'comply and fly'.

Surely this thread belongs with the thread about the prams left at the bus stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

Another thread full of those that love to hate Ryanair.

Can anyone explain how this was even an issue? Why didnt the woman or her daughter put the colostomy bags in their carry on luggage?

Sorry but....."Cabin Crew" ;) The lads usually dont like being called hostesses :D

If that's in response to me, I said air hostess because the article said she had tried to show the "air hostess" her note.

Judging from some of the posts here I must be slightly naive, but as much as I feel sympathy for that poor woman feeling humiliated, surely Ryanair aren't completely to blame.

There's a number you can ring to let Ryanair know if you need special medical consideration. She claims that she couldn't get through on three different occasions. But with the amount of people using Ryanair, surely the facility must be working or we'd have heard thousands of cases like this. She showed up for the flight with a note. The person she was dealing with should have gotten a superior to see the lady, but they shouldn't have accepted a note as authorisation. They needed proof and went about it the wrong way. But when you're one worker in a large operation like Ryanair, being expected to use common sense and discretion isn't as easy as it sounds. Airlines are really strict these days, and especially with an airline like Ryanair where they're counting the pennies and have the reputation that they do, you should know what to expect, i.e. no special treatment.

But that's the point. An air hostess does not have the authority to change the regulations of an airline.

I totally understand where the lady is coming from. Having the bag is bad enough without having to be singled out and hassled because of it. But it's not the air-hostess' fault that the lady didn't understand the same procedures that thousands (millions?) of people that use Ryanair manage to understand. To be honest, I can easily envisage a situation where the lady in question was already embarrassed and defensive before she even brought up the issue. Embarrassment can lead to anger, and the lady could very well have been a difficult customer from the outset due to this.

I know I'm sounding like a horrible person, but just because the lady's circumstances pull at the heartstrings doesn't mean that she was in the right. There were a few options open to her and she didn't use any of them.

She said she rang the number on three separate occasions and did not get a response. I have rang this number before and it is appallingly run. I did not get answered for a very long time (close to 40 minutes). The assistant on the phone didn't even know if I could bring certain equipment with me and said her supervisor said to 'chance it'. I have no problem believing that she couldn't get through, having had experience of this 'option' myself.

She came with a doctor's certificate, which carries a bit more weight than a note. You say they had no proof, however the certificate is the proof. It is a medical document ascertaining that the woman needed this equipment for medical reasons. It is the same proof that is provided when going through security before you board the flight and it is an accepted method of proof by airport security and airlines.

How exactly would a superior have been able to verify that it was medical equipment? Would s/he have a medical degree? The only possible difference is that a superior may have more authority to waive the 'rules'. However, I don't believe that there are management superiors on board a flight with Ryanair and the rules allow for medical equipment to be carried on board, with evidence that it is required. That is the procedure. The assistance line is usually to check or confirm use of equipment. It is not absolutely necessary in order to bring equipment on board. The air hostess could have used her discretion in this case. If the woman needed to bring life-saving equipment on board and the hostess had refused to allow her, but the woman had died on the plane, would the hostess bear the responsibility then?

I disagree that using common sense and discretion isn't as easy as it sounds. It's really not that difficult to lower your voice, or direct the passenger to a quiet area where the matter can be discussed privately. Humiliating someone in this vulnerable position is inexcusable in my opinion.

Maybe she was a difficult customer. Maybe she wasn't though?

What options exactly were available to her? You say she had a number that she didn't use. She tried the phone line to no avail. She brought a doctor's certificate with her when boarding. What else could she have done?

What options exactly were available to her?
    Put the bags in her or her daughter's carry on luggage?

UDP wrote: »
    Another thread full of those that love to hate Ryanair.

Can anyone explain how this was even an issue? Why didnt the woman or her daughter put the colostomy bags in their carry on luggage?

In all fairness the thread got well sidetracked until last night.

Its always the same, mention Ryanair and the stories start.

The rules are there for a reason.
    Some people seem to think its a bus they're getting on,not realising if the plane looses its slot it will be late, then there will be something else to grump about.

75million people are happy with them so I'll leave it at that. :)

Put the bags in her or her daughter's carry on luggage?

Ryanair don't stipulate whether you can remove items from your carry-on after boarding. I'd assume the woman thought there may have been an issue there.

If she can have it on the plane, why can't she have it walking onto the plane?

If that's in response to me, I said air hostess because the article said she had tried to show the "air hostess" her note.

No..no, It was just a general response. I was giggling at the thoughts of the lads being called anything other than cabin crew :)

In all fairness the thread got well sidetracked until last night.

Its always the same, mention Ryanair and the stories start.

Some people seem to think its a bus they're getting on,not realising if the plane looses its slot it will be late, then there will be something else to grump about.

75million people are happy with them so I'll leave it at that. :)

They also get the highest number of complaints of any airline. So yeah...

The rules stipulate that medical equipment is ALLOWED. She was REFUSED this accommodation.

Ryanair don't stipulate whether you can remove items from your carry-on after boarding. I'd assume the woman thought there may have been an issue there.

If she can have it on the plane, why can't she have it walking onto the plane?
    Of course you can. I bring my laptop with me onto the flight in my carry on luggage and take it out as soon as the fasten seat belt light comes off.

You are only allowed to carry one bag onto the plane as it just slows down boarding otherwise - look at how long a boarding is (or at least was) with aerlingus vs Ryanair. Then you have people putting the second bag into a space that would fit a bigger bag wasting space and resulting in others who have paid for a ticket having to have their bags put in the hold.

This woman could also not be ignorant of the fact you can take out items from your carry on luggage considering this was a flight back from Fuerteventura.

The rules stipulate that medical equipment is ALLOWED. She was REFUSED this accommodation.
    She wasn't refused she was most likely told that she is only allowed one bag as carry on luggage. There was nothing stopping her putting the colostomy bag into her hand luggage which it looks like she did in the end.

Of course you can. I bring my laptop with me onto the flight in my carry on luggage and take it out as soon as the fasten seat belt light comes off.

You are only allowed to carry one bag onto the plane as it just slows down boarding otherwise - look at how long a boarding is (or at least was) with aerlingus vs Ryanair. Then you have people putting the second bag into a space that would fit a bigger bag wasting space and resulting in others who have paid for a ticket having to have their bags put in the hold.

This woman could also not be ignorant of the fact you can take out items from your carry on luggage considering this was a flight back from Fuerteventura.

Okay but I had an issue before with Ryanair when I tried to get stuff out of my bag after boarding.

AFAIK, she wasn't allowed to take the bag onto the flight AT ALL. The crew member didn't tell her to put it in her bag but rather that it wasn't allowed on board. Correct me if I'm wrong there.

Okay but I had an issue before with Ryanair when I tried to get stuff out of my bag after boarding.
    After boarding or after take off?
    AFAIK, she wasn't allowed to take the bag onto the flight AT ALL. The crew member didn't tell her to put it in her bag but rather that it wasn't allowed on board.
    She was allowed and that is what happened at the end. She was just not allowed to have it in a second bag. The way she misrepresented what happened shows how difficult it must have been to deal with her.

After boarding or after take off?

She was allowed and that is what happened at the end. She was just not allowed to have it in a second bag. The way she misrepresented what happened shows how difficult it must have been to deal with her.

After boarding. The crew member gave out to me and told me I was obstructing passengers and not allowed to remove items from my luggage once on the plane.

The article states the woman "was refused permission to bring a change of colostomy bag with her"

"Duff was eventually allowed to board the plane, which was flying to Dublin, with the colostomy bags in separate hand luggage, from which she was separated during the flight."

Hmm...

It seems she was initially refused and eventually, after much arguing, was allowed to bring them on board but was not allowed to access them after.

This isn't accommodating a sick person. She obviously needed it to change on the flight.

They asked her to lift up her top also which is disgraceful and a complete invasion of privacy. Why argue at all?

I can understand Ryanair only allowing one carry-on item. However, in a situation such as this, where it makes it easier to accommodate an ill person, I think that she should have been allowed to walk it on. Why allow it on in the luggage but not in her hand, when it is medical and she will be removing it from the luggage in a moment?

Humiliating her is unacceptable, regardless of how difficult she was to deal with. The staff member acted unprofessionally.

To make life easy for Ryanair and hard for everyone else. Some are just plain to catch people out, like that stamp that non-EU residents must get. No other airline does this but the amount of people that missed their flight over this and bought an overpriced replacement ticket must be unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

I dont know how to feel about this because i dont know the whole story.
    Like i said earlier i too have to bring ostomy bags with me, but ive only been with aer lingus and i had them thrown in my hand luggage, I dont know why you would need to bring them seperate.

It needs to be cleared up whether the problem was that she had these colostomy bags or was it just because she had them as seperate luggage.

eth0 wrote: »
    To make life easy for Ryanair and hard for everyone else. Some are just plain to catch people out, like that stamp that non-EU residents must get. No other airline does this but the amount of people that missed their flight over this and bought an overpriced replacement ticket must be unreal

Surely thats an immigration stamp. Only Ryanair do this??????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Real Life wrote: »
    I dont know how to feel about this because i dont know the whole story.
    Like i said earlier i too have to bring ostomy bags with me, but ive only been with aer lingus and i had them thrown in my hand luggage, I dont know why you would need to bring them seperate.

It needs to be cleared up whether the problem was that she had these colostomy bags or was it just because she had them as seperate luggage.

Did this situation really happen? I am fed up with people knocking Ryanair.
    I have never had a problem with them. without Ryanair we would be paying hundreds of euro to escape our windswept rain lashed island!

Surely thats an immigration stamp. Only Ryanair do this??????????

Easyjet dont and never heard of any other airline doing it

Did this situation really happen? I am fed up with people knocking Ryanair.
    I have never had a problem with them. without Ryanair we would be paying hundreds of euro to escape our windswept rain lashed island!

Notice the OP just threw this up and left without another word ;)

I've said my piece, I'm out of here. Have a nice evening :)

Notice the OP just threw this up and left without another word ;)

I've said my piece, I'm out of here. Have a nice evening :)

There I was hoping you'd know something about this stamp. Its probably somehow integral to giving Ryanair the ability to offer cheap flights, or the Irish government's fault, or something. It wouldn't be Ryanair's fault anyway cause nothing is ever their fault.