Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Your most impressive co-incidence...

• 20-07-2012 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭

But it has to be first hand. No 'me brother's girlfriend's neighbour' stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I was just about to start this thread. . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

co-incidence , as you understand it, doesn't really exist , I suggest you read up on Karl Jung and his explanatons of synchronicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

SocSocPol wrote: »
    co-incidence doesn't really exist , I suggest you read up on Karl Jung and his explanatons of synchronicity.
    I was just about to post that! Oh my god what a coincidence!

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭An0n

Gave my young siblings a bit of money each today as I got paid yesterday.

Half way through my day of work my coworker found a bit of money and split it with me.

I don't believe in karma normally, but today I'll make an exception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I was born on my birthday :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Picking up the phone to ring my mother - but there's no dial tone because she has just phoned me and is on the other end. It didn't ring but I picked it up to phone her just at the moment she phoned me.

This has happened twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Samich wrote: »
    Without fail, my birthday falls on the same day every year :eek:

Read a bit there on synchronicity but it didn't really make sense to me, probably should have a picked a better time than midnight. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I left Ireland last autumn and left my phone behind. I had my number since 1999 so was pretty attached to it. I ended going on an epic motorcycle journey in Nepal with a mate for a month and a half after which I was meant to return to New Zealand.

All my plans came to a crashing end in the far west of the country and a month after I was meant to get back to Auckland, I arrived back in Cork only fit to recuperate from heavy injuries. My life was, and is, upside down since the accident, but I'm well on the mend, thankfully.

I rang up Vodafone after I got back and told them my number was dead but I wanted to get it reinstated. They told me what to do and lo and behold it worked.

Literally 20 minutes after the phone came back on, My very first call in almost a year in that number went like "This is Garda ..... from .... Garda station. Back in 2010, you signed up for the Garda Bike Safety course. Sorry for the delay but we are able to take you next week if you're available". I knew the universe had a sense of humour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

cantdecide wrote: »
    I left Ireland last autumn and left my phone behind. I had my number since 1999 so was pretty attached to it. I ended going on an epic motorcycle journey in Nepal with a mate for a month and a half after which I was meant to return to New Zealand.

All my plans came to a crashing end in the far west of the country and a month after I was meant to get back to Auckland, I arrived back in Cork only fit to recuperate from heavy injuries. My life was, and is, upside down since the accident, but I'm well on the mend, thankfully.

I rang up Vodafone after I got back and told them my number was dead but I wanted to get it reinstated. They told me what to do and lo and behold it worked.

Literally 20 minutes after the phone came back on, My very first call in almost a year in that number went like "This is Garda ..... from .... Garda station. Back in 2010, you signed up for the Garda Bike Safety course. Sorry for the delay but we are able to take you next week if you're available". I knew the universe had a sense of humour...

You know when you said your life was upside down....was that from being in New Zealand ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Every time I go on holidays to somewhere a good bit away such as the states I always see people I know. I saw my neighbours a few weeks back in Florida, local shopkeeper too. Either that or I'm beig stalked

mattjack wrote: »
    You know when you said your life was upside down....was that from being in New Zealand ?

You would make fun of the disabled? Let's be friend :D

cantdecide wrote: »
    You would make fun of the disabled? Let's be friend :D

Now, you said you had injuries... and now you've become disabled.. my friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

mattjack wrote: »
    Now, you said you had injuries... and now you've become disabled.. my friend.

Being from Cork is a disability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My cousin shares his birthday with his first born niece. Coincidentally, his brother, father of the niece, shares a birthday with their uncle. So therefore there's two examples of an uncle sharing a birthday with an nephew/niece in my extended family. Crazy I know!

This all happened on the last Wednesday before yesterday afternoon.

My mam & dad both got married on the exact same day, same date, same year. Crazy stuff.

To each other ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Only last week, my brother sells his dog to a couple in Wicklow. Has a big goodbye to the pooch with his 2 kids and they all go their separate ways. 2 days later, he's out for a walk with the misses and kids and who do they bump in to only the doggy and the new owners. Cue the kids having to say goodbye all over again.

keano_afc wrote: »
    Only last week, my brother sells his dog to a couple in Wicklow. Has a big goodbye to the pooch with his 2 kids and they all go their separate ways. 2 days later, he's out for a walk with the misses and kids and who do they bump in to only the doggy and the new owners. Cue the kids having to say goodbye all over again.

With all those goodbyes, it sounds like the end of Lord of the Rings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Talking of pets, back in childhood we had a tabby cat who had to be put to sleep due to old age and whatnot.

Anyway, a few days later, my mother opened the front door and another tabby cat, not much older than a kitten really, was sitting on the step - it looked at us as if to say 'Hello. I'm your replacement'.

Strange kitty calmly walked in, made itself at home and stayed with us for about a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

As a disillusioned and wayward teen I signed up to fight on the Croatian side during the Yugoslavian civil war. After 6 weeks of basic training and having to purchase my own Kalashnikov, I was posted to a small village about 50 km north west of Dubrovnik. As we were raw recruits the area was expected to be relatively trouble free and we spent most of our time drinking coffee and playing cards, a Croatian version of gin rummy.
    On the fourth day of our arrival in the village we came under heavy and totally unexpected artillery fire just before dawn. This was without a doubt the most terrifying experience of my life. We were sheltering in the basement of a stone building that offered some protection from the shrapnel flying about but every fibre in my being was screaming run, run. With the terrifying noise, the incredible vibrations as the earth and every bone in my body shook, the smoke, the dust, all I wanted to do was run to fresh air, away from the noise, even though this would have more than likely been fatal.
    Suddenly as if by flicking a switch the shelling stopped. There was silence outside but still a painful ringing in my ears that seemed to be rattling my whole skull.
    One of the older guys, Ante crawled up the stairs of the basement to have a look to see what was going on. A couple of seconds later we hear two shots ring out and a terrible screaming from upstairs. Immediately 2 of Ante's mates race up the steps and return with Ante, ashen faced and with blood covering his entire upper body. He was writhing in pain as they place him on the dust covered floor.
    They removed his jacket and shirt which were saturated in blood. He screamed at every twist and turn as his jacket was removed. Then I saw through the blood that he had been shot in the left shoulder and I was so relieved that he was not going to die there and then. It was a kind of euphoria and we all relaxed a little. Then I looked at him lying on the floor in his blood soaked tshirt and there on his chest, bloodied but unbowed was the unmistakable face of Jack Charlton staring back at me!

It took a moment for it to sink in and in my astonishment and probably still in shock from the morning's events I could'nt get the words out so I ripped off my shirt to reveal an identical tshirt underneath.

We all laughed and hugged, even Ante who was screaming in agony in between high pitched wails of laughter, thankful to be alive.

For weeks later when the guys would tell other people that we met about it they would salute me and call me "Jackie's Army".

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Many many many years ago as a young kid I found a book in the house about visualisation and goal setting. Read it and thought I would give it a whirl.
    Set a goal of having 50 quid - never had my own money before and 50 quid was a lot to me, and a lot at the time.
    Followed all the instructions - wrote it down and imagined having it/being given it etc.
    Before the month was out my Grandad had died and bequeathed me......50 quid.

I'll be honest, that kinda put me off goal setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Patchy~ wrote: »

Read a bit there on synchronicity but it didn't really make sense to me, probably should have a picked a better time than midnight. :D

date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Met a guy in a mental hospital who kept repeating a set of numbers.
    When I got out I played these numbers in the lotto and won!!
    Since then my luck changed for the worse culminating in my plane crashing on the way back from Australia.
    I landed on an island where we found a hatch which had the numbers stamped on it!
    Stranger still when we got inside the hatch there was a man with a computer which needed a certain list of numbers to entered or the island would be destroyed, only for it to be the same numbers I used to in the lotto!!!

Weird,dude!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

With all those goodbyes, it sounds like the end of Lord of the Rings.

Kids are 3 and 6, they'd had the mutt around all their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I was on holiday in Bulgaria last week.

Was walking down the main strip in an Ireland top. Lad walked past me and said 'nice top, man'. I said 'haha cheers... you're in our hotel aren't you?'
    He said 'Fúck me, a brummy accent!'.

We got talking, asked whereabouts he was from. Turns out his best mate is a mate of mine.

Also, in Dublin Busaras last summer, there was a lad standing near me and he looked so much like someone I know, incredibly so. After about 20 minutes of glances over to him, it was bugging me too much. I went over and asked if he had a brother called Ciaran. He said yeah, (Ciaran is the same person who was friends with the lad in Bulgaria!) and we've been mates since, got the bus, ferry and trains back to Brum together.

Last one. My uncle runs a charity in South Africa, working closely with a parish and a priest he's friends with. When my nan died, we had an African priest doing the funeral as the usual one was away. My uncle got talking to the priest after the service, and found out he'd studied with my uncle's friend.

It's a small world.

My dad lost a hubcap off his VW Passat a couple of years ago. He'd only been on a short trip so decided to take my mother for a Sunday afternoon drive and back-track and see if he could find it.

A couple of hours later, they return with his VW Passat hubcap and I said 'Oh great- you found it'. Dad said 'no, we gave up looking after a couple of passes so went for a drive to Kinsale instead. That's where we found this one'.

Being a petrolhead I had a two wheel task and a four wheel task to take care of a couple of years ago. 1) find a new car and 2) find a specialist motorbike painter to respray my bike (good ones are rare these days).

I went through a painstaking process of finding a car and eventually after seeing one that was satisfactory, paid a deposit and agreed to come back the following weekend. It was 70 or 80 K's away. Happy days.

My motorbike mechanic rang me the next day. He told me someone had just left his shop who had just had some paintwork done. It looked great and he'd gotten the painters number for me. He said he didn't know anything else about him. I got the number and rang the guy and I was happy with his credentials so agreed to bring the bike to him.

When he started giving me directions I realised that it was all sounding very familiar. He lived up the same little nowheresville boreen, 70 or 80 k's away alongside the guy selling me the car and the two guys were lifelong best friends...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

1. I went on a trip to Italy and was going from town to town by train, no particular plan, starting in Venice and going down to Sorrento via Florence & Rome. Walking down the street in Sorrento I met my neighbour from home on her honeymoon. My brother had been at her wedding and said to her that she would probably run into me in Italy as I had a nack of coincidences etc.
    Later that night in an Irish bar, I ended up in the company of a couple from Northern Ireland. The girl said she knew one girl from Donegal but hadnt seen her in years.. it so happened to be my neighbour who we had met on the street earlier that day.

2. Last year I was sitting in a house in Niagara on the Lake when the phone rang. A woman with an Irish accent started talking.. 'I want you to take the dinner plates over to the other house and set the table..'
    I stopped her and asked her if she was from Ireland, she said she was, and I replied that I also was Irish. It turned out that she is from Wicklow and is living in Niagara and had dialed a wrong number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

My Uncle from Bray was over in New York on holidays and one night they headed to an Irish bar for a drink, got talking to the barman and turned out it was one of my childhood friends from Donegal.
    The next day the Uncle when to Yankee Stadium to watch a game and the same friend of mine sits down in the seat beside them and neither of them had mentioned that they were going the night before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

As a kid I was walking along this road on the outskirts of the town with a friend and we found a big red flask on the side of the road; it was in a bit of a dip where the grating was. So myself and my friend decided to smash it to pieces, as you do.

So we mischievously smashed the big red flask off the kerb and the resulting mess of brown tea, shattered shiny interior flask and red plastic outer shell was an interesting sight for a couple of small boys to behold.

Anyhoo, I was in my Granny's house that night with my Ma and I heard her giving out that <chuck's uncle> had lost his good expensive flask. On hearing this I went bright purple with guilt knowing that as sure as eggs is eggs I'd smashed my uncle's flask that day for fun.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I was on holiday in Santa Ponsa, and myself and my friend were walking back to our apartment. A girl was shouting at us from an overhead apartment to come up and help, there was a really big weird bug in her apartment. She was clearly Irish and didnt seem mental so we went to help her.

While we were in the apartment, the other two girls came out from the bathroom (they were scared of the bug), and to my shock, I realised one was a close friends sister, and another girl I knew from when I was in secondary school a few years ago.

The weird part was, the girl who called us up to help didn't know us at all. I thought it was good anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

SocSocPol wrote: »
    co-incidence , as you understand it, doesn't really exist , I suggest you read up on Karl Jung and his explanatons of synchronicity.

me bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Met a guy in a mental hospital who kept repeating a set of numbers.
    When I got out I played these numbers in the lotto and won!!
    Since then my luck changed for the worse culminating in my plane crashing on the way back from Australia.
    I landed on an island where we found a hatch which had the numbers stamped on it!
    Stranger still when we got inside the hatch there was a man with a computer which needed a certain list of numbers to entered or the island would be destroyed, only for it to be the same numbers I used to in the lotto!!!

Weird,dude!
    Hmm sounds familiar ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Patchy~ wrote: »
    Samich wrote: »

Your birthday falls on the same DATE each year, not DAY.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭woof im a dog

my neighbour works as a business consultant and he was driving to meet this woman to talk about her business. hes in dublin on the quays sitting at the traffic lights when he sees this man walk up to the barrier at the liffey and jump into the river. he gets out of his car to try and save him and calls the gards. he stays around until they arrive to see if they saved your man. anyway he ends up missing the meeting with the woman and a couple of days later the gards ring him to say that they found the guy who had drowned and that he had a history of depression but thanks for ringing us anyway. about 6 months later he runs into the woman he was supposed to meet that day and was like 'oh im very sorry about missing that meeting something urgent came up' and she says 'ahh its just as well the meeting didnt go ahead that was the day that my son drowned in the liffey' :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

One night my friend picked up a deck of cards, picked one at random from the middle and said "what card have I got".. I said straight away off the top of my head 4 of clubs, her mouth dropped open and she said how did you know! I got it right, what are the odds (that's a hypothetical question smartarses :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I find it an incredible coincidence that guys with cauliflower ears all end up playing the same sport!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Both me and my sister were born on Good Friday. Different dates (and year of course).

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭narfsnonsense

At EP one year we had this HUGE tent with no pictures on the instructions that took us about 2.5 hours to put up. We ended up with the door facing the fencing. Just as we sit down to have a much deserved beer, my next door neighbour sticks his head through a small hole at the bottom of the fencing right by my tent. My brother is on the other side of the fence too. It was the first spot they had chosen to try and bunk in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Im constantly finding that I have the EXACT amount of money in my pocket, and JUST that amount, for whatever Im buying in a shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

My mum got off a bus in Singapore and standing at the bus stop was a woman she did her Leaving Cert with in 1977. They hadn't seen each other in over 20 years.

On the same trip my mum sat down next to an old fella at a Foster and Allen concert in Sydney and it turned out he went to school with her mother in the 1930s back in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Using the little toolbar available to me in replying to this thread I hereby present my most impressive co-incidence:

Co-incidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

I have the same birthday as my dad and when meeting my now best friend for the first time we were getting our college ID's and we noticed we each had the same birthday.

I told him I had the same birthday as my dad and his face then drops and he says his mom also has the same birthday! Weird coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Not my co-incidence but my aunt and her son were both born on 1st April.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Maddest thing to ever happen to me was this:

Broke up with an ex and moved home to Dublin. Was very broken hearted. Had money saved and was planning on doing a Masters but went travelling in South America instead, partly because I thought it would be a good way to get over him.

Fast forward 7 months...

On one of my first nights in Argentina, I met an American girl in my hostel and we decided to go an watch this live band that were playing. We were chatting away at the concert about why we were both travelling alone. I explained I was travelling partly to get over a broken heart and told her a bit about the ex.

This American girl was just finishing up her travelling at this stage btw. Then she says, "Oh, by the way, I met an Irish guy in Northern Argentina and he's in Buenos Aires now and he's coming to the concert tonight. You'll like him, he's lovely. Thing is though, he has a new girlfriend but he kissed another girl in the hostel we were staying in. Anyway, he's a nice guy, you'll like him".

Grand.

About 30 minutes later, who walks in towards us and greets the American chica but duh duh DUUUUUH MY EX!!!! I was, "Eh...hi (ex name)"...he turns around and we were both speechless for a good 30 minutes. This was the guy she was talking about.

So the first week of my trip to get over an ex was spent hanging out with my ex and this American girl. Un-fooking-believable. Plus I found out he'd a new girlfriend and cheated on her as well. Last time I saw this guy was in London after a teary goodbye.

People don't believe me when I tell them this story but I swear to god it's true. Actually helped me to get over him though. We talked some stuff through and I felt I could move on from it.

Mad story though.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭Mossyman

Felt I had to reply as soon as I saw this thread about what happened to me in the last week.

I moved to Canada to begin a new job about a month ago, and was placed in Calgary, Alberta about two/three weeks ago. I was staying in a hostel for a week until the place was booked out because of the Stampede, just a bigger version of the Strawberry Festival in Wexford, except with cowboys and a lot more people. So I met a friend of a friend who gave me a couch to sleep on for a few nights until I found a place to live, as its very hard to get good accommodation here.

The friend of a friend had a friend who had a spare room going. Grand, I thought I'll move into a house with three Irish lads so I won't feel too homesick and make some friends in the process. And the three of them worked together in the same company so they knew each other pretty well at this stage. From where I'm living its about an hours commute to work for me via either two buses or a train and a bus. I didn't mind because I would prefer to be living in a house where I'm happy and have a long commute rather than be close to work and be unhappy where I'm living.

So they asked me where I was working and not knowing the specifics of the city I said out in the direction of the airport. They then said where exactly as they could drop me some or part of the way because they all drove separately to work. I found out the address as the company had moved office approximately three weeks ago just as I started and told one of the lads. He says that sounds very familiar and goes show me on Google Maps. I showed him and he goes that's very near where they work and to go into street view to show him the building.

And here's where to co-incidence lies, the three of them work in the exact same building as me! Just one floor below me in a four story building. Its not like its in a business or industrial area, its in the middle of nowhere out of the city and on its own, so to move to a new country all by myself, take a room from a friend of a friend of a friend and happen to work in the exact same building as them is just so weird! So now instead of an hours commute I have the option of three twenty minute lifts to and from work each day! Everyone I've told just cannot believe it. The term "everything will fall into place" doesn't do me justice!! I think in my lifetime it will be hard to beat that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭Blisterman

In a million to one shot, my brother's mobile number has the same last six digits as mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Blisterman wrote: »
    In a million to one shot, my brother's mobile number has the same last six digits as mine.
    Similarly, my dad and my auntie have the exact same phone numbers except one ends in a 4 and one ends in a 6; my sister and our friend's numbers are the same except for the second last number, and my number, my sister's, the aforementioned friend and another friend who we all share, all have the same first 3 digits (after the 08x of course).

Never really thought about how unlikely that is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

A few years back I went on an internet date with a guy. One date only. I was kinda interested but he had no interest at all in seeing me again. As far as I remember I asked him out a second time and was shot down :o

Anyways a few months later I was in a bar in Chicago and I saw his reflection in a mirror over the bar. Took a minute or two to assure myself that it was actually him. I have a bit of a sense of humour so I went over to him (he had his back to me) tapped him on the shoulder and when he turned around I said......"I am following you" in a menacing scary kinda way. I swear the guy went white HA HA HA HA HA!