Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inhouse Coding Trap

Options
  • 21-07-2012 4:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

Hello,

I'm a newbie here and I have a question that I would love you all to offer an opinion on and maybe some advice.

I'm a Software developer working in Ireland and I've noticed while moving from one job to another that you run the risk of getting sucked into or even forced to redirect your career and knowledge and invest a lot of time learning inhouse code which can not be used elsewhere and means little or nothing when going for other jobs. You usually get a vacant look on the interviewers face when you mention that you coded the "Biz rule on the XYZ coding system". :) means nothing to them.

Why would it I suppose, its merely a specialized text format being consumed by the "Real" code underneath (often with horrible syntax). If you know Java/Spring MVC etc well it can take you to many different jobs (worldwide), whereas being proficient in "proprietary code" after 5 years seems to mean nothing to the outside world. Don't get me wrong I understand that there is sometimes a need to know the inhouse stuff so as to you know the bigger picture when you set about coding in Java / C++ for that company and their product. But what if you never get to code in Java and get pigeonholed into their system and language.

While some could try argue that Java is proprietary in a way :) at least you can buy books, look up forums etc to learn, whereas there are little or usually no books explaining the dev for an inhouse coding engine. Frustrating :mad: