Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

posh places in Dublin to have a drink

• 21-07-2012 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭

or a good koppaberg strawberry and lime ?

so where are the posh places to drink in Dublin and still under €5 a pint ? under €6 for koppaberg ?

bonus points if it has a view.

when I say posh I don't mean fibbers or academy.

a place of class with saphisticated people.

like the deer hotel howth.

any like so around Dublin city and county ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

The Towers in Ballymun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

The Cappagh House Finglas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

In before Coppers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Saphisticated people?? :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Loike Crowe's in Ballsbridge loike, you can loike get a great Heino there loike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

so where are the posh places to drink in Dublin and still under €5 a pint ? under €6 for koppaberg ?

Culchie or Foreigner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Parnell Mooney - a great bunch of lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Culchie or Foreigner?

culchie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

The Steering Wheel Clondalkin, you'll love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭martin46585

Go in for a laugh, come out in stitches ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

under 5 quid you say? Try 1994.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

morrisons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I know this place.

it's a kip.

wait a minute

after looking at Google with these names they look like holes.

it was a real question too :-(

pconn062 wrote: »

Saphisticated people?? :confused::confused:

I put emphasises on the f

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

Café Novo in The Westbury is pretty upmarket I guess, The Bailey is also quite refined and a great place to sit outdoors beneath the parasols when the sun shines. Pimms at the Pav works either -just don't ruin it all by ordering cider!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

A grand pub, decent pint and I never saw any trouble in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Sunset House in Summerhill

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 125 ✭✭wishwashwoo

So good you will be relived of your belongings

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Big Kahuna Burger.

That's the new Hawaiian burger joint. I hear they have some tasty burgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Silverface John's, its a more upmarket version of a well known pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭retroactive

The Shelbourne (8.50 for a glass of red)

Dice Bar in Smithfield is trendy and cheap

The Market Bar is nice and has good food, not particularly 'posh' though.

Pintxo Bar just of Temple bar is a hidden gem

Alfies on South FitzWilliam's street is lovely but you can't exactly get drunk in it.

Mulligans in Stoneybatter attracts the young lawyer crowd and has a brilliant range of craft beers.

Anyone asking "Where is the posh bar in Dublin?" may not feel overly comfortable in some of the places above. Stick to Café en Seine and don't wear a Cavan jersey and you'll have fun. Dublin isn't short of nice places to drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Brokentime

The Bank Bar

And that other one with the legal/law name, just off Grafton Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

If you can't spell sophisticated and think the Deer Park Hotel is a high-class institution I'd recommend avoiding the actual upmarket bars.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭retroactive

Brokentime wrote: »
    The Bank Bar

And that other one with the legal/law name, just off Grafton Street.

Central Bank Bar on College Green (near Dame Street and on front of Trinity) is lovely. Stock Exchange rolling above the bar and filled with historical objects. Old Safes in the bathrooms. Adore it.

...but the table service is dreadful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

the dail bar, most exclusive bar in the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Brokentime

Central Bank Bar on College Green (near Dame Street and on front of Trinity) is lovely. Stock Exchange rolling above the bar and filled with historical objects. Old Safes in the bathrooms. Adore it.

...but the table service is dreadful.

That's the one, but I just thought it was called the Bank Bar.Never mind. Lovely vibe in there, and relaxed atmosphere. Great if you can get a seat upstairs above the bar. Wasn't too expensive, either.

Table service wasn't so bad, as I recall.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

The Dawson Lounge has a great view of Dawson Street.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRYd0d6kBGNmLeh9pGaeCuAnDoum2_QBQTgG_wnVtccrVWl7C3f

(If you stand just inside the front door). :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Know feck all about Dublin pubs but I reckon The George might be right up your alley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

The deer park in Howth? Wtf ya on eh !! ?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

The Bank on College Green

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The Bridge Inn Chapelizod

They claim to be the only pub in Dublin right on the Liffey.

I mean right on the Liffey, not on a quay, the Liffey is right against their cellar wall.

Mad place, they do open the windows and throw out the stale bread from the kitchens to the ducks below.
    Fattest ducks in Dublin live beside this pub! :D

Good service, cheapest place in Chapelizod, quiet at times but lots of stuff at other times

Do a good toasted sandwich, nom nom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

The Dublin forum please.