Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ever been screwed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

superblu wrote: »
    Some chancer in the ifsc farmers market charged me a tenner for a bag a fancy nuts

I always get screwed when i buy nuts from markets.

Im a b*tch for honey roasted almonds:D bloody expensive though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

well isnt alcohol in Ireland expensive too :P I feel screwed everytime I come out of a club :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

6 quid for a red lemonade in the Shelbourne hotel bar the other day!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Last week some chap sold me a bag of gear' for €40, it was only worth 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Senna wrote: »
    No-one posted the "yeah i paid €450k for a flat in Dublin" yet?

This is the "being screwed thread" not the "did something stupid thread"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Brokentime

...racially abused by greasers ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,307 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Just paid E649 for House Insurance!!

Well & truly screwed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

gammygils wrote: »
    Just paid E649 for House Insurance!!

Well & truly screwed

You just reminded me to pay mine!

See, some good did come out of that.

Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I'd make a sex joke but I just couldn't be arsed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

€10 for a bottle of water in a secluded night club in Crete. It was only a small bottle too. I think it was to discourage people from sobering up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,679 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

€7 for a bottle of coca cola in Rome a few years ago.

1ZRed wrote: »
    I just couldn't be arsed

You'll never make it in the gay porn industry with that attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Pottler wrote: »
    Bouncer in London west end for a fair while. Carrying a weapon was a no no but everyone loves fire safety equipment. Especially when theres about ten of them fighting and they're all big.:) Still have a large hole in my thigh where a love struck charmer decided to shoot the wrong person and another misguided individual cut my thumb off one night, while attempting to eviscerate me. Lovely. Discovered thumbs are over-rated anyway.

Jesus christ, was this nightclub in London or The Congo?

Who would be a bouncer? The type of crazies you describe make me think you lot are either fearless or stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

€13 for a bottle of Heineken in Capri!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭event

got a small margarita pizza, plate of chips and two cokes outside the vatican.

43 euro

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

So general consensus is that Italy are the ones who screw everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

cruais wrote: »

With Paris a close second. I know a guy who termed the people of that city 'parasites' in the same way we would say 'dubliner'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

With Paris a close second. I know a guy who termed the people of that city 'parasites' in the same way we would say 'dubliner'!
    Took the wife and kids there just a short while ago and everything I bought and everywhere we turned seemed a rip-off. And they say Dublin is expensive! At least here they have the decency to half-smile in shops when they ride you, the Parasites just scowl. No flowers or chocolates either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Kirby wrote: »

Who would be a bouncer? The type of crazies you describe make me think you lot are either fearless or stupid.

I know which one my money is on

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭ComfyKnickers

I know someone who went to the Gresham Hotel in our own lovely Dublin recently and got two glasses of white wine, a glass of milk & two minerals - €25.00!!! The glass of milk was around €4.00 or more. Posh hotel or not, that's an absolute disgrace!! :eek:

€10 for a 250ml bottle of water in Space,Ibiza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Train from Rome airport to Termini, the largest train station, €14
    Local train only two stops away, €2.60

By the end of my trip I was buying the cheap ticket and just staying for the extra two stops.

Italians are leaders when it comes to price gouging. Trains were filthy and air conditioning bust too. I stopped giving out about Irish Rail for a while afterwards

Paid €4 for a small bottle of water in the city centre

That was cheap, you can pay a lot more then that from the street sellers

You'd be needing the services of the Pope after your heart attack if you saw the prices the cafes charge outside the Vatican

Loved Rome but felt everyone was trying to rip me off, place is full of tourist traps

Why would you pay for water in Rome? The stand pipes every where are free and gorgeous cold water too.
    Got ripped off in a cafe though, well away from the vatican or any significant tourist trap. 36 yo yo's for a coffee a piece of cake and two soft drinks, just because we decided to sit in a certain part of the cafe. They seem to be used to being challenged though, I threw him 18 yo yo's and claimed it was all I had on me. He backed down! ;) Fecking chancers and Dublin gets called the rip off capital, but as my da used to say, 'if you are a big enough donkey, they will ride you to Cork!' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

A friend of the family had a look through the itemised bill for a funeral from the undertakers', ****ing rip-off merchants. Got a few quid back but one wonders how many people either wouldn't care enough to check or then care enough to try to get money back.

Yeah I remember on the day of my father's funeral all these little extra unwanted services started appearing. For example we had the wreath on top of the coffin which we had arranged for, but they also put two flower arrangements on stands on either side of it. At the cemetery the undertaker handed a single rose to all the family members to throw into the grave when the coffin was lowered. We never asked for this he just did in during the service so we had to go along with it. There were other little things too but I can't remember right now.

When we got the bill the two extra wreaths were nearly €100 each and the roses were €20 each! Also the original wreath we thought we had agreed on wasn't available or something, so the one we were given cost about €90 extra. The bill we got was shocking and my poor mother was afraid to say anything for fear of coming across as tight about her own husband's funeral but in the end she did and got nearly a grand off the bill no questions asked. They didn't even try and defend it - shysters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Why would you pay for water in Rome? The stand pipes every where are free and gorgeous cold water too.

I learned that and made full use of the free refills :)

Just I needed a bottle,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Posted about it in another thread, Ryanair fuucked me over with an extra on the spot baggage charge.

And I DO blame them, before anyone says "your fault, should have checked the allowances", I DID. My bag complied with what they had on their website, in size and weight. At the gate, however, they seemed to have different standards. That is a rip-off, should be illegal if it already isn't (wouldn't be surprised).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

Please share with us all with your getting screwed stories

Certainly.

I was going through Speke Airport in Liverpool a good number of years ago. Was there early so decided to get myself a bite to eat whilst waiting for my flight.

Had a look at the prices - chips £1.50; large sausage roll £1.50. Asked for both and the kind lady served them up on a hot plate.

"Would you like some beans with that?"

"Ah, why not," thinks I.......

"Yes please."

Down to the till - "That will be £6.50 please."

"You must be mistaken mate - chips and sausage roll are only £3.00 in total."

"Not so my gullible friend. Chips, sausage roll and beans constitute a Sausage Roll Meal - and as you'll see from the prices, a Sausage Roll Meal costs £6.50!"

In my shock, I paid for the thing!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Paid £7 sterling for a burger outside Wembley stadium
    Just a standard burger, nothing special about it, probably cost 3 or 4 euro in an Irish chipper

Meh, I knew I was going to get burned when you buy at a big event

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭narfsnonsense

9 euro for a pint of Stella in Abu Dhabi airport. Spent a small fortune on a 6 hour stop over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭veryangryman

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Paid £7 sterling for a burger outside Wembley stadium
    Just a standard burger, nothing special about it, probably cost 3 or 4 euro in an Irish chipper
    Meh, I knew I was going to get burned when you buy at a big event
    Buying anything at the O2 trumps most of what I seen outside of the Italian stories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Paying for VHI General Medical coverage, Plan A, well, any VHI general medical plan. I am changing to some other provider as soon as the bank deductions stop next year. - I am stuck with VHI for now for this purpose
    This is distinct from the VHI DeCare plan I have - I am well satisfied with my dealings with the VHI DeCare plan funnily enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

cruais wrote: »

It's not looking great for the Italians, in Piazza san Marco Venice, sat down with the missus and two kids for a couple of drinks, the waiter, dressed in what looked like full military whites with gloves and all gave us the large bill, I questioned one of the items and was told it was for the music being provided by the brass band playing, ffs

Two former workmates arrived in Rome on business a good number of years ago, hopped in a cab, taxi driver took them off, pulled over and proceeded to rob them, the lads had little cash, driver goes to the boot, lads thought they were about to be killed, he pulls out one of those old mechanical credit card swiper jobbies and swipped the company credit card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Truley wrote: »
    Yeah I remember on the day of my father's funeral all these little extra unwanted services started appearing. For example we had the wreath on top of the coffin which we had arranged for, but they also put two flower arrangements on stands on either side of it. At the cemetery the undertaker handed a single rose to all the family members to throw into the grave when the coffin was lowered. We never asked for this he just did in during the service so we had to go along with it. There were other little things too but I can't remember right now.

When we got the bill the two extra wreaths were nearly €100 each and the roses were €20 each! Also the original wreath we thought we had agreed on wasn't available or something, so the one we were given cost about €90 extra. The bill we got was shocking and my poor mother was afraid to say anything for fear of coming across as tight about her own husband's funeral but in the end she did and got nearly a grand off the bill no questions asked. They didn't even try and defend it - shysters.
    I saw an undertakers invoice include for the hire of umberellas as it was raining on the day of the funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

smcgiff wrote: »
    Last week I wasn't around and my wife needed to get a car bulb fitted, she went to halfords. It cost €8.99 to fit a bulb. I felt sick.
    I took the bosses 7er for its NCT, he asked me to take it to the main dealer
    for a tailight bulb on the way
    Coffee sir, have a seat sir , that'll be €35 sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭EireIceMan

Yes,
    I voted Fine Gael:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

SocSocPol wrote: »
    Anglo Irish
    AIB
    Irish Nationwide
    Irish Permanent
    Bertie Ahern
    The Universal Social Charge
    etc etc etc...I'm Irish I'm used to being screwed!:mad:

http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/596/25091138035742202969712.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 whitey90

Not money related but a friend of mine booked a hostel in amsterdam for a few days and when they got there they realised it was a christian hostel and drinking wasn't allowed...she's not allowed to book things anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Paid 2p for 'penny' jellies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Ryanair. I printed out the wrong page for the online check-in. It had all the necessary details but no barcode. They took something like €80.

Tried to screw me over this year for a name change. Constant phone calls got it down from £100 to €10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭The_fever

Coming back from Glasgow on a Ryanair flight bag came through the conveyor belt open. Clothes everywhere one of my shoes was missing. I filled out a form at the desk pricing them at one hundred euro. A few weeks later they sent me a cheque for fifty quid , the price of one shoe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

The_fever wrote: »
    Coming back from Glasgow on a Ryanair flight bag came through the conveyor belt open. Clothes everywhere one of my shoes was missing. I filled out a form at the desk pricing them at one hundred euro. A few weeks later they sent me a cheque for fifty quid , the price of one shoe.

Im surpised you got anything off Ryanair tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

The Setting: A dodgy underground nightclub in Florence, you didn't pay for your drinks at the bar but rather got a card stamped with how much you owed. Come the end of the night you'd pay what you owed on the card as well as the club entrance fee and then the burly bouncers would let you through the steel gate to go upstairs to freedom.

Southern Comfort and Sprite - Bar staff stamped my card for €50. Twenty minutes of arguing with the two bar staff and then the manager it took me to get out of the place without paying as no way in hell was I going to be stung like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

The_fever wrote: »

That made me laugh. You've got to admire their shere brass balls. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

I think most of these stories are of people beeing naive rather than getting screwed. Most places will have a price list, in fact I think its compulsory in Ireland, not sure about abroad.
    Check the prices before you order something. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Junoesque

Kirby wrote: »

I've been admiring the ability to always know the whereabouts of the fire extinguishers in time to grab it before getting dumped on your rear. Or worse.

Returning to the actual subject: In my location there have recently been warnings to check the till receipt against the price quoted...It appears that some stores have marking one price and charging another, always a higher price and who really checks their receipt that carefully so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

At Oxegen a few years back at Cuisine de France stall I got 2 small coffees and 2 croissants for €26, she said they were that price because the croissants had nuts on the top of them...............i.e they saw me coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Kolido wrote: »
    I think most of these stories are of people beeing naive rather than getting screwed. Most places will have a price list, in fact I think its compulsory in Ireland, not sure about abroad.
    Check the prices before you order something. :rolleyes:
    I did a 3 week tour of Italy with my girlfriend about 4 years ago and ate in loads of places right beside tourist traps and thought it was amazingly cheap!
    Pizza in the only place beside Pompeii was something like €6, beside the trevi fountain was similar with €2 for a bottle of house wine.
    Always worth scanning the menu first.

One taxi driver in Rome tried to rip me off with a scam, other than that its a great place. Although agree with the poster that said Milan is a shithole. It really is.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Does "being screwed" mean "didn't read to menu" now or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

A nightclub in Spain there a few years back. It was €10 entry and you got a free drink with that, of anything you wanted so I got a vodka and redbull. Next time I went up to get a round I ordered 2 double vodkas and 1 redbull, the bill came to €90... €20 a vodka and €10 a redbull.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

smash wrote: »
    A nightclub in Spain there a few years back. It was €10 entry and you got a free drink with that, of anything you wanted so I got a vodka and redbull. Next time I went up to get a round I ordered 2 double vodkas and 1 redbull, the bill came to €90... €20 a vodka and €10 a redbull.

And Spain went bust how exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So the advice here is if in Paris or Roma ask the price before ordering something
    if someone tried to charge me 16 euro for a coffee or 7 for a cola i would literally just get up and run away .no way ii'd pay