Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rashers or Sausages ?

• 23-07-2012 12:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭

Which is nicer? They're both deadly, but if you to choose one over the other, which would you go for?

Rashers or Sausages ? 204 votes

Rashers
    0% 0 votes
    Sausages
    100% 204 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Rashers. I can't stand sausages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Why would you force this horribly mean decision on somebody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sausages every time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Bambii_

Rashers are naturally nicer, how could you ask such a question? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

It would depend what is going with them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Sausages made out of rashers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

MJ23 wrote: »
    Which is nicer? They're both deadly, but if you to choose one over the other, which would you go for?

Can't decide without a poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

Sausages!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

White pudding

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭JamieKCCO

I picked sausages...but have you ever had sausages wrapped in rashers? you'll never look back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

Burnt Rashers that you have to snap rather than cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Venison sausages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Bloodwing

A quality sausage wins hands down over a rasher. The next question is fried or grilled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

smoked rashers in batch bread and some YR brown sauce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Rashers

Because sausages are terribad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Sausages with rashers wrapped around them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Sausages with mash and gravy.

Rashers for pretty much anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Shaws of Limerick or some decent brand

If you're going to buy cheap own brand muck with a tiny percentage of meat there is no point at all

There are a lot of cafes guilty of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

Rashers every time. No competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I rarely opt for either item of lipid-rich, proletarian fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

You cant have one without the other. No way.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

This is an outrage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

sausages, the sleeda farm sausages and sausage rolls that supervalu do are sex on a plate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Venison sausages!

La-de-fucking-da

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

oops, thought this was a sexuality thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

My local butcher solved this conundrum. Smokey Bacon and Cheese Sausages. Take a bow Mr Brady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Bacon, definitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Depends on the brand.
    I think Rashers could swing it though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Rashers, then real sausages, then a billion other foodstuffs, then Irish sausages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Rashers for the yummy smell they make cooking, cant beat it, and when theyre on buttery toast :D
    Sausages for when having with chips or battered :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Depends on the brand.
    I think Rashers could swing it though.

Most branded rashers are full of inorganic phosphate salts - basically a chemical preservative. They add them not only as preservatives but also so they can pump more water into the rashers, which increases the weight. When you cook them, you'll notice that a white "foam" comes out of the rashers & they get a lot smaller when cooked. So you're paying for added water that you don't want & preservatives that you don't need.

There's a few small companies in Ireland who dry cure their bacon & a good few of the better butchers do it, but all the big brands such as Galtee, Denny etc don't.

And don't get me started on the shite they try to pass off as sausages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I had this debate with someone yesterday! I dont eat either, but would prefer rashers if I had to choose.

Cant beat superquinn sausages though!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Rashers, then real sausages, then a billion other foodstuffs, then Irish sausages.

Irish sausages from a decent butchers are the best in the world.

Doyles in Greystones for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Cheap rashers are without a doubt better than cheap sausages!! Anybody choosing tesco value sausages over value rashers is just wrong.

in the high quality versions, i'd prob still be a rasher man tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,467 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Duggy747 wrote: »

At work and there's no fúcking way I'm even going to open that link in there :D

syndeyfife wrote: »

At half eleven in the night eh ;) :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭splashthecash

This is neck and neck!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Sausages with rashers wrapped around them

Is the correct answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Kearns sausages. A million times Kearns sausages.

Ah Jaysus I'm starving now ye big shower of bollixes :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

Rashers..

I would eat back with a fry or whatever, but I use streaky for having with pancakes and maple syrup, and I chop them up and add them to lasagne.

I had this debate with someone yesterday! I dont eat either, but would prefer rashers if I had to choose.

This post is full of confusing contradictions!

I'd call it an 'awakening', at the start it was she didn't like either but the more she thought about it the more she realised that infact she did like both.....a moment of clarity if you will.

She has now gone to fire up the frying pan!

I dont eat either.
    If I had to eat one, I would eat rashers.
    Although superquinn sausages are nice.

I dont eat either.
    If I had to eat one, I would eat rashers.
    Although superquinn sausages are nice.

Are superquinn sausages nicer than rashers then?

Im really confused now. I have rashers and sausages once a year.
    I went for rashers in the poll so Ill go with no....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Sausages definitely although I do like rashers too

Im really confused now. I have rashers and sausages once a year.
    I went for rashers in the poll so Ill go with no....

Well I'm glad we are both confused :D

I like superquinn sausages, or hicks of Dun Laoghaire, but mostly superquinn.

Wouldn't bother me if I never had another rasher as long as I lived. Though they are nice with poached eggs and homemade brown bread. Mmmmmm.