Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI: League of Ireland Fixtures (WEEK 20) July 27-29 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Missing this away, pity as it's one of my favourites.

Both teams are of a fairly similar strength, so be happy to come away with a draw, delighted with a win, but we'll definitely get a red card, and concede in injury time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ah Cork and Shels...

CMB-18-United-Nations-Peacekeepers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

Sunday 29 July 2012

St. Patrick's Athletic vs Sligo Rovers (8PM) - Richmond Park

pretty sure this match is provisonally scheduled for 3pm on sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

Des wrote: »
    Missing this away, pity as it's one of my favourites.

Both teams are of a fairly similar strength, so be happy to come away with a draw, delighted with a win, but we'll definitely get a red card, and concede in injury time.

No, you're playing Cork City! We'll go 1-0 up and then sit back and defend and you'll score a late equaliser and we'll give away a stupid penalty...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sligored wrote: »
    Sunday 29 July 2012

Sorry, that's a typo and in no way an attempt to destroy the attendance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Sligored wrote: »
    Sunday 29 July 2012

Its off if one of us wins tomorrow night, hope its off. We are rubbish after European games :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

All jokes aside, I hope there is no trouble at the game, like there has been the last few times we have met. And if there is, hopefully they just batter each other, and leave the rest of us out of it.

gimmick wrote: »
    All jokes aside, I hope there is no trouble at the game, like there has been the last few times we have met. And if there is, hopefully they just batter each other, and leave the rest of us out of it.

Like I said, I won't be travelling.

You will be arranging it via bebo or twitter so ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Last time down their nothing happened aside from a few Corkies trying to run after the buses with bricks! :confused:

Last proper away of the season afaik, hopefully a win down there!

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Will be a harder game then maybe a few weeks ago against Dundalk after McCaffrey is now gone and their 2 decent 1-1 draws in their let 2 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    Will be a harder game then maybe a few weeks ago against Dundalk after McCaffrey is now gone and their 2 decent 1-1 draws in their let 2 games.

Far harder. There is a bit of belief with the players and some players that didn't get a chance under McCaffrey are hitting a bit of form. Still can't see us winning though.

doncarlos wrote: »
    Far harder. There is a bit of belief with the players and some players that didn't get a chance under McCaffrey are hitting a bit of form. Still can't see us winning though.

Btw im saving your club on sept 1st, you can come along and cheer me on.

2 louth clubs i have saved now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

BKC wrote: »
    No, you're playing Cork City! We'll go 1-0 up and then sit back and defend and you'll score a late equaliser and we'll give away a stupid penalty...

Refs don't give us penos. :(

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

As said, Dundalk looking a lot better now, will be a tight game I expect.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,276 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

At home to shels, looking forward to beating them again......maybe a late goal.....having been behind..... yeah, that will do nicely.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Btw im saving your club on sept 1st, you can come along and cheer me on.

2 louth clubs i have saved now :pac:

I've always said I hate Pat's least out of the big Dublin clubs! :D

It's actually pretty refreshing to see so many fans of different clubs help us out. I really hope I never have to return the favour

As said, Dundalk looking a lot better now, will be a tight game I expect.

You have a massive weapon in your arsenal. ME! I am an absolute jinx. I haven't seen us win a competitive game since May 2011 and I've seen us in about 20-25 games in that time. It's gotten to a stage where my mates dread seeing me going to games.

Last time down theRE nothing happened aside from a few Corkies trying to run after the buses with bricks! :confused:

Last proper away of the season afaik, hopefully a win down there!

Haha. Bricks you say?

Lets not try and paint your lot as angels. There is form with both sides.

I wonder what witty banner the shells fans will bring with them this time. Best and most hilarious fans in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Haha. Bricks you say?

Lets not try and paint your lot as angels. There is form with both sides.

I wonder what witty banner the shells fans will bring with them this time. Best and most hilarious fans in the league.

Don't even try to put us down at your level. :rolleyes: We don't have fans who travel around the country who wait outside grounds to attack people with their kids by throwing bricks and bottles at them.

Ye just don't have enough fans for it to be noticeable

oh, and I can do :rolleyes: as well

Also, when last was a shells fan hospitalised while on an away trip to Cork?

Was waiting for it, Limerick away Kevin Dohertys aul lad had to be hospitalised iirc.

Any reason why 3 Cork fans have been charged for violent disorder (1 has) or are up in court this week on charges (the other 2 are) for that night?

what the fúck?

that little scrote went looking for a fight that night. He got one.

I'm not saying he deserved to end up in hospital, but if you go looking for a fight, and end up getting a few digs, you have to assume at least some of the responsibility.

Was waiting for it, Limerick away Kevin Dohertys aul lad had to be hospitalised iirc.

Any reason why 3 Cork fans have been charged for violent disorder (1 has) or are up in court this week on charges (the other 2 are) for that night?

What does Limerick have to do with us?

Any reason? Presumably because they are filth. I do not try to deny we have a big scum element. I assume there were some shells fans up for similar at some stage?
    that little scrote went looking for a fight that night. He got one.]

He certainly did, and I have no sympathy for him. I am just making the point that we both have our issues. I acknowledge ours. Something you few seem unwilling to do.

I have no doubt there will be trouble again tomorrow night.

I assume there were some shells fans up for similar at some stage?.

You assume wrong, as usual.

which would be weird, if Shels fans were the monstors you are making them out to be, surely some of the chip-on-shoulder Cork bogger Gardaí in Drumcondra Station would have lifted a few of them.

He certainly did, and I have no sympathy for him. I am just making the point that we both have our issues. I acknowledge ours.

That's certainly big of you. *applause gif*
    If there's trouble tomorrow, it will be Cork toe-rags waiting around after the game. Shels will be held back til you lot leave the ground, so there'd be no reason for any trouble, unless Cork scrotes stayed around to cause some.

Any reason? Presumably because they are filth. I do not try to deny we have a big scum element. I assume there were some shells fans up for similar at some stage?

He certainly did, and I have no sympathy for him. I am just making the point that we both have our issues. I acknowledge ours. Something you few seem unwilling to do.

I didn't see the "trip to Cork" part!

There was one Dublin lad up for violent disorder charges, not a Shels fan at all afaik just some local scrote or probably a mate of a Shels fan.

Can't see their being trouble tbh, it will be a re-run of last time down there, few pints and a sing song in the pub next to Turners Cross, Cork Casuals leave in a huff, then get to the turnstiles and there'll be heavy handed Guards (refused a lad off our bus last time because he had an English accent, I sh1t you not), kept back a good bit after, escorted to our buses, then a Garda line moves back toward were the Cork fan will be waiting to come down and move them off and we go home after losing 2-1!

You assume wrong, as usual.

which would be weird, if Shels fans were the monstors you are making them out to be, surely some of the chip-on-shoulder Cork bogger Gardaí in Drumcondra Station would have lifted a few of them.

More Dub favouritism then. Why was no one done for hospitalising this kid?

That's certainly big of you. *applause gif*

I know the few of you like to stick together and not call your comrades scumbags. Thats fine by me.

If there's trouble tomorrow, it will be Cork toe-rags waiting around after the game. Shels will be held back til you lot leave the ground, so there'd be no reason for any trouble, unless Cork scrotes stayed around to cause some.

It will have nothing to do with the few of your mates who will not be allowed in due to being under the influence of various mind alterants no. Surprised they can still afford petrol. It has gotten expensive these days.

I didn't see the "trip to Cork" part!

There was one Dublin lad up for violent disorder charges, not a Shels fan at all afaik just some local scrote or probably a mate of a Shels fan.

Can't see their being trouble tbh, it will be a re-run of last time down there, few pints and a sing song in the pub next to Turners Cross, Cork Casuals leave in a huff, then get to the turnstiles and there'll be heavy handed Guards (refused a lad off our bus last time because he had an English accent, I sh1t you not), kept back a good bit after, escorted to our buses, then a Garda line moves back toward were the Cork fan will be waiting to come down and move them off and we go home after losing 2-1!

Seems both are expecting to lose by the odd goal scored very late on. Something else we cannot agree on!

More Dub favouritism then. Why was no one done for hospitalising this kid?

Don't know, I'm not the bleedin DPP

It will have nothing to do with the few of your mates who will not be allowed in due to being under the influence of various mind alterants no.
    You are mixing us up with SPA
    Surprised they can still afford petrol. It has gotten expensive these days.

doesn't even make any sense, you are beginning to babble biy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Is that Limerick your talking about with the scum element? And this coming from a Shel's fan...Shel's fans are the worst I've ever seen

yeah, gimmick the Shels fan.

More Dub favouritism then. Why was no one done for hospitalising this kid.

No CCTV and no witnesses! Sure they were trying to pin it on everyone, myself included. 7 page statement and a 3 hour interview wasn't fun at all!

Excellent! The Limerick locals are lovely all the way, nothing better than going towards your bus in the train station after a match to be meet with 30 or so lads with hurls and what not! :rolleyes: Not to mention the lads who do be in the stand who like throwing rocks and other crap down as you're leaving the stadium.

yeah, gimmick the Shels fan.

I have been insulted many times in my life, but this is the worst I have ever got.
    You are mixing us up with SPA

Ye all look and sound the same to us, bud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Nothing mentioned on 'Footballderbies.com' about a rivalry between Shels and Cork, so what's it all about? Where are the origins, if I may ask?

Anyway, one guy being beaten by three guys (hope, I got that part right), is not really fair, no matter, if he caused the fight or not. I'm more used to 1:1 , groups with equal numbers and stuff like that.

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Nothing mentioned on 'Footballderbies.com' about a rivalry between Shels and Cork, so what's it all about? Where are the origins, if I may ask?

Anyway, one guy being beaten by three guys (hope, I got that part right), is not really fair, no matter, if he caused the fight or not. I'm more used to 1:1 , groups with equal numbers and stuff like that.

Awh it only really arose in the First Division.

And it really wasn't like that, I think the whole thread has been derailed getting back on topic might be a start.:D

Lars1916 wrote: »

We do not like them. They do not like us. It is really that simple.

I would say that both sets of fans were ambivalent to each other before 2003ish. Then they turned into a shower of front bottoms. Or at least, their front bottomery became more noticeable :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Excellent! The Limerick locals are lovely all the way, nothing better than going towards your bus in the train station after a match to be meet with 30 or so lads with hurls and what not! :rolleyes: Not to mention the lads who do be in the stand who like throwing rocks and other crap down as you're leaving the stadium.

I don't associate myself the fella's in the stand, but last time ye were down in Limerick ye're shower were far from civil, was standing to the left of the Shel's crowd and the horrid things that were be howled from them was pretty nasty, and never mind trying to start a fight with the lads in the stand.

But sure we'll be in the markets field next season so we won't have to worry about the shel's shower bothering us in future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

We've had Cork and Shels up here recently and not a sign of anything other than two decent sets of supporters. What is it about the two clubs that brings out the worst in each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,592 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I don't associate myself the fella's in the stand, but last time ye were down in Limerick ye're shower were far from civil, was standing to the left of the Shel's crowd and the horrid things that were be howled from them was pretty nasty, and never mind trying to start a fight with the lads in the stand.

But sure we'll be in the markets field next season so we won't have to worry about the shel's shower bothering us in future
    It's a football match, one should expect the verbals. What happens after the game should never happen.

The whole Cork thing has gotten awfully boring. With games against actual rivals every second week, this one just doesn't excite me in the same way it did in the First when every other game was against Mervue and Athlone types.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    We've had Cork and Shels up here recently and not a sign of anything other than two decent sets of supporters. What is it about the two clubs that brings out the worst in each other?
    It only happened that one time as far as I know. Don't know what brought on the missile throwing, but everything after led from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

And that match is nowhere on the telly, isn't it? :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,276 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

CSF wrote: »
    It's a football match, one should expect the verbals. What happens after the game should never happen.

The whole Cork thing has gotten awfully boring. With games against actual rivals every second week, this one just doesn't excite me in the same way it did in the First when every other game was against Mervue and Athlone types.

Couldn't agree more.

I used to always get excited when we play shels. Since we have continually had the better of the games, I find it hard to see shels as 'actual rivals' - more an irritant really. Like when you have a bit of shít on your shoe, you just rub it on a bit of grass and get on with your day.
    That said I am still looking foward to roaring a bit of abuse at them tomorrow night - if they deserve it of course;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

Heading to Turners Cross for the match tomorrow night. Hopefully there won't be any trouble.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more.

I used to always get excited when we play shels. Since we have continually had the better of the games, I find it hard to see shels as 'actual rivals' - more an irritant really. Like when you have a bit of shít on your shoe, you just rub it on a bit of grass and get on with your day.
    That said I am still looking foward to roaring a bit of abuse at them tomorrow night - if they deserve it of course;)
    Yeah you really sound like you're not still passionate about us there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,080 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You can chat all ye's like, big match this weekend is Derry v Rovers.;)

Kenny coming back to the Brandy where hopefully we will help get him the sack:D

I'll take a draw.

Pats vs Sligo.....OFF

because...

Irelands European Club has shít to attend to :D

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Pats vs Sligo.....OFF

because...

Irelands European Club has shít to attend to :D

Good to see.

Off to Germany ye go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭kksaints

Corkies. Do ye have a friendly on the 12th? Will that effect our match against ye that weekend?