Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ferguson Ariva 250

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭Tony

Thats very cool thanks for the hard work.

cheers lads the newer dated software fixes the divx issues.

i have updated your channel lists into the newer software (Thanks Tony for the info on how to do it)

File name: STB_A250Combo_20121112_V1.20B6.abs
    Download link: http://www.mediafire.com/file/5cuq6kuc6h6sb3h

File name: Tony_A250Combo_20121112_V1.20B6.abs
    Download link: http://www.mediafire.com/file/4l8hxqqbajhunzq

thanks again.

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭iba

cheers lads the newer dated software fixes the divx issues.

i have updated your channel lists into the newer software (Thanks Tony for the info on how to do it)

File name: STB_A250Combo_20121112_V1.20B6.abs
    Download link: http://www.mediafire.com/file/5cuq6kuc6h6sb3h

File name: Tony_A250Combo_20121112_V1.20B6.abs
    Download link: http://www.mediafire.com/file/4l8hxqqbajhunzq

thanks again.

Ph3arTh35k1llz,

Whats the difference in these two uploads please?

Iba

Is this really a new update since the one that was posted on 4/5 November?

Why would they call it the same name?

Link here anyway - I hadnt noticed it at all

http://www.ferguson-digital.eu/en/download/HD-Satellite-Receivers/Ariva-250-Combo/

Tony wrote: »
    The original list took quite a bit of time and I was hoping that others would do terrestrial transmitter specific lists from around the country by adding on terrestrial channels but unfortunately STB and one or two others are the only ones that have pitched in so far .

Id upload mine, but really there is no point cause I have totally different stations on it that the normal Astra 28.2 User would have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

and embed it in your firmware and channel list (as mentioned previously).

2 bits of software.

Read the instructions or you will brick your box (I will not be held responsible)!

Works on Ariva 120/220 and Ariva 150/250 range.

Example - Customised Background for Radio mode
    226545.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭king2

Does the lipsync issue still exist on the new firmware?

As far as I'm aware its not a box specific issue so firmware will have no bearing on it . If it was firmware related then everyone with a 250 would have the same problem.

king2 wrote: »
    Does the lipsync issue still exist on the new firmware?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭O'Prez

STB wrote: »
    and embed it in your firmware and channel list (as mentioned previously).

2 bits of software.

Read the instructions or you will brick your box (I will not be held responsible)!

Works on Ariva 120/220 and Ariva 150/250 range.

Example - Customised Background for Radio mode
    226545.jpg

Deadly. Thanks STB.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 mcglough

Sorry if this has been asked and answered, I have not been able to find an answer. In a nutshell, I am looking for a recording device for the 250 - preferably a USB key or flash memory as I don't really want the extra device always powered on. If someone has gotten one that works well, please can you mention here. If that is really a non-flyer, I would be interested in any recommendations for a HDD that is quiet and is smart enough to power down and back on again when the 250 wants it to.

Thanks.
    mcglough wrote: »
    Assume you meant 256GB? In any case, what exact device did you use? I want to do the same but don't want to spash out on one unless I am pretty certain it works with the 250. I would also be interested to know where you bought it and how much you spent?

Thanks.

http://www.officepad.co.uk/stationery/kin14802.shtml

I use this one and it works well. Expensive though, I got a present of it a few years back.The write speed should be at least 10mb/s to work with the 250 according to the manual, If I was buying one I would go for something cheaper with this write speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Hagrid101

Having an absolute nightmare here!

Did an upgrade on the box, got the internet working, got irish channels, now the thing wont turn on for more than 2 seconds without turning off and illegible lights on the front of the box!

is it possible to hard reset the box or something back to factory condition?

HELP!

try disconnecting the dish cable and see will box power up, use the switch on the back of the box to do this.

Hagrid101 wrote: »

Did an upgrade on the box, got the internet working, got irish channels, now the thing wont turn on for more than 2 seconds without turning off and illegible lights on the front of the box!

HELP!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

HELP!

u need the rs232 cable like i will have to do also in the meantime if when u click on push channel up to change channel before it goes back off it does stay on i found , that helped me before mine bricked it

If you can get it to stay on there's a factory setting in the menu

i tried that - removing the antenna cables at the back, it didnt work. the display on the box shows different lines then it goes back into standby.

tried the pressing up channel thing too, still shut off to standby.

maybe the rs232 cable solution is the best thing to do? is that the failsafe/last resort solution?

Can i get that cable in a b and q or pcworld or any of those?

Will it be easy enough done?

I feel the box may in fact be 'bricked'...

i tried that - removing the antenna cables at the back, it didnt work. the display on the box shows different lines then it goes back into standby.

tried the pressing up channel thing too, still shut off to standby.

maybe the rs232 cable solution is the best thing to do? is that the failsafe/last resort solution?

Can i get that cable in a b and q or pcworld or any of those?

Will it be easy enough done?

I feel the box may in fact be 'bricked'...

Bricked is only temporary. These boxes cannot be killed.

What did you do to make this happen. The more honest you are the more we can help you. :)

What firmware did you use ? And What was the source of it.

i found some firmware on this post, like probably near the start of the 52 pages, to do with channel lists, quick read, found an underlined link, i think it was posted by yourself or tony, downloaded onto a usb, plugged it in, 'upgrade from usb', the thing said "dont turn off" up to 100 percent, it turned off, then turned on with nothing legible on the display thing, showed chuck norris for about 3 seconds in some show, then cut off. then the shhh one tee hit the fan. so, it was all honest, in that i did upgrade, but now its gone awol.

hashtag- DIYfail.

firmware - no idea, source - somewhere along this string of posts... oh, found it - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056711036&page=6

i found some firmware on this post, like probably near the start of the 52 pages, to do with channel lists, quick read, found an underlined link, i think it was posted by yourself or tony, downloaded onto a usb, plugged it in, 'upgrade from usb', the thing said "dont turn off" up to 100 percent, it turned off, then turned on with nothing legible on the display thing, showed chuck norris for about 3 seconds in some show, then cut off. then the shhh one tee hit the fan. so, it was all honest, in that i did upgrade, but now its gone awol.

hashtag- DIYfail.

firmware - no idea, source - somewhere along this string of posts... oh, found it - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056711036&page=6

Your box. What model is it ? It will say it on the front flap on the box.

ferguson ariva 150 combo sir.

Thought so. Yes well this thread is for the Ariva 250 which is different model box which has different firmware. So now that the cause is established you need to.

It will work and all will be fine again.

Ah, this is not good.

Is it possible to get a usb converter to that null modem cable?

Ah, this is not good.

Is it possible to get a usb converter to that null modem cable?

I know its not, but you are worrying too much!

You must know someone with a PC ? Follow my instructions on the 150 thread, stick the software onto a USB stick and bring it to someone elses PC and connect the PC to the box. 2 minutes! (A PC repair shop might let you borrow one and a null modem cable in shop to do there and then).

I have never seen a USB to Null modem cable that works.

The Ariva 150/250/120 etc all have different firmwares and using one meant for another model unfortunately will brick your box albeit temporarily. Your not the first!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

i am waiting for a usb to rs232 to be delivered from ebay so will see how it goes

I know its not, but you are worrying too much!

You must know someone with a PC ? Follow my instructions on the 150 thread, stick the software onto a USB stick and bring it to someone elses PC and connect the PC to the box. 2 minutes! (A PC repair shop might let you borrow one and a null modem cable in shop to do there and then).

I have never seen a USB to Null modem cable that works.

The Ariva 150/250/120 etc all have different firmwares and using one meant for another model unfortunately will brick your box albeit temporarily. Your not the first!

Ah yeah, not the end of the world! I'll get a cable and see how I get on. Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 16 beezer9791

Hi guys,

I wonder if u can help me. I have an ariva 250 but I'm having problems with the c line or logging in to be more specific. I put all my line details into ccam but it continuously gives me login failure. It's the very odd time I get a login success- and when I switch the box off and back on it won't automatically reconnect.
    I'm using the latest firmware that's out but have used the older one up to now and got on great ( with a different box however)

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 39 gg69me

i am getting fair sick of this YOUPORN is gone again and i only had it back for about three weeks with the new firmware.....everything else is there so is it just me or has anybody else lost YOUPORN aswell .....I GIVE UP.....if i have to download even another updated firmware i dont think i will bother....what a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,981 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Does anyone else get an 'invalid input' error when they're trying to set the timer? Its like it doesn't like certain programmes or something, I cant figure it out.

Thargor wrote: »
    Does anyone else get an 'invalid input' error when they're trying to set the timer? Its like it doesn't like certain programmes or something, I cant figure it out.

I got this when I mistakenly put in an end time instead of time duration. Maybe that's it?

No, Im not filling it in manually and I remember checking for that, its when you open the guide and hit green and all the details are already filled in. I dont understand it, 4 out of 5 times it works perfectly then it just decides it wont tape a certain programme.

Oh. Well mine won't record at all (from standby when I've set a timer) so I'm no help.

Thanks anyway, I think your problem is probably the storage device you're using, try a USB key with a 10mb minimum write speed.

I've tried the 16GB version of this (aswell as a mains powered 250gb hard drive) all to no avail http://ie.transcend-info.com/products/Catlist.asp?modno=267

I dont know then sorry, actually looking at the link it seems like a very advanced USB drive (assuming its not not all marketing bullcrap), maybe try one that's a bit more primitive formatted to NTFS?

The funny thing is it worked fine when I first got it and then it just decided not to work. I dunno. It's not firmware related either as I was on the same firmware when it decided to not record from standby anymore.

O'Prez wrote: »
    The funny thing is it worked fine when I first got it and then it just decided not to work. I dunno. It's not firmware related either as I was on the same firmware when it decided to not record from standby anymore.

Format the drive using the on screen menu. This will erase all the crap on the device already.

PVR Settings. Format [Yellow]

Set DVR settings space within this using the blue - set it to max.

I did all that except the "Set DVR settings space within this using the blue - set it to max" bit. I'll give that a go tomorrow. If I do that though can I still go ahead and transfer video from my computer to the drive and use it for media player purposes? Feckin' thing records grand from the timer when the unit is not in standby.

If the Wake up channel is selected I do not understand why it does not wake up.

Ask them via email

It does wake up. But that's all it does. It goes to the channel I have set to record (and I do have "record" selected in the timer menu) but it doesn't record it...just acts like I've set it to turn on that channel. I tried selecting it to the wake up channel option too as opposed to wake up to record to see if it was working arseways but no.

Glitch..... one for the software writers. They should just release the source code.

i think the surest way to record from a timed recording is leave your ariva box on and your hard drive on and forget about putting it into standby mode or the hard drive into standby....they wont waste that much electricity anyway being left on all the time....its better than missing an important recording.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wextipp

gg69me wrote: »
    i am getting fair sick of this YOUPORN is gone again and i only had it back for about three weeks with the new firmware.....
    Get a girlfriend.

wextipp wrote: »
    Get a girlfriend.

i have two and we like to watch together to get in the mood ,all three of us.....

You know when you just go to the channel you want and press Record on the remote, no setting the timer or anything, what happens when you do that? Will it stop automatically as in if the news finishes at 21:30 and you press record at 21:15 it'll just tape for 15 minutes and stop or will it stay recording until it fills up all the available memory does anyone know?

The default setting is 2hrs. If you want to change this, press rec button again after recording has started and a box will appear with the recording time which you can change.

Perfect thanks.

Guys,

I want to update with my channell list that I have on the box and Ive never done it this way before; I mean Ive always just done it from scratch - but this time Ive added new stations to one of my sats (Astra 19) and want to add those stations to my channell lists without starting from the beginning.

So Upgrade by USB - Upgrade Mode - then do I goto 'save channel list'? I see that under that I have a file called ch_list_20121202.bin - so is this the one I save to USB or or is it the one under Dump which reads DumpFile.abs?

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭iarann

Last night I powered down my 250, Disconnected the USB HDD & connected it to my PC (Windows 7) so that I could copy some recordings to the PC.

The USB HDD appeared, I could browse the file system, there were a few files & folders there but no large files that might be recordings.

I reconnected to Ariva & everything is working fine but there are no recordings any more.

Possibles are that 1) you cant plug into PC, but I though I had done this before & I thought I had seen posts where others have done this 2) somebody here [looking at nobody in particular] might have deleted all recordings or reformatted the HDD on the Ariva or 3) there is a bug.

Before I start a recovery process to see if I can undelete I was wondering if:
    Has anybody suddenly lost all recordings before,
    Anybody have anyluck undeleting recordings from the HDD.

Recording were of a friend who was interviewed & it is gone from RTE player :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

iarann wrote: »
    Last night I powered down my 250, Disconnected the USB HDD & connected it to my PC (Windows 7) so that I could copy some recordings to the PC.

The USB HDD appeared, I could browse the file system, there were a few files & folders there but no large files that might be recordings.

I reconnected to Ariva & everything is working fine but there are no recordings any more.

Possibles are that 1) you cant plug into PC, but I though I had done this before & I thought I had seen posts where others have done this 2) somebody here [looking at nobody in particular] might have deleted all recordings or reformatted the HDD on the Ariva or 3) there is a bug.

Before I start a recovery process to see if I can undelete I was wondering if:
    Has anybody suddenly lost all recordings before,
    Anybody have anyluck undeleting recordings from the HDD.

Recording were of a friend who was interviewed & it is gone from RTE player :(

Haven't had this problem with the 250 but with the 120 I lost recordings when I didn't eject the HDD by means of the menu option, even though I had powered off. Doesn't make sense but there you are.
    There are several data recovery software programmes available free on the net, no idea how effective they would be but you could Google and try, I didn't bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 ptallant

Hello i was delighted to find this thread, i have an ariva 250 which i purchased because i was told it had the ability to change the audio sync. I have been back and forth through the menu and can not seem to find such a setting. I have informed the sales rep of the problem and he still insists that he did adjust audio sync on a 250 in the past but cant remember how it was done. He said he would try to get a minute or two to search through a shop model but they are flat out coming up to christmas as can be expected. In the mean time i thought i would try to help myself, so am i right in thinking he has got mixed up with another machine or is there in fact an audio sync adjust setting on the 250. If not but you are aware of another combi box that definitely does have such a setting could you point me in the right direction....please.

As far as I'm aware there is no audio sync adjustment on the 250

ptallant wrote: »
    Hello i was delighted to find this thread, i have an ariva 250