Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 25/7/12 to 12/10/2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

The proposed cuts that were u-turned yesterday was 130m euro. The free travel costs 75 million. While I agree that cutting home help is not a good idea, but having heard all the arguments for not making those cuts, the reasons we are hearing now such as "Gets them out of the house", "It would be a shame", "Is nothing sacred", they're not really washing with me. We have to cut something.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭wyrn

That's a Sean?! I thought it was a woman :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

Oh dear lord, a buke. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

jaysus whats with the writing of books?? thats twice hes asked

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Jaysus, this unabashed lick-ar5ing of a FF dynasty by Duffy is sickening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Some great plugeening going on for the Haughey clan, talking bout a book now. Wonder if the "keane" affair will get much of a mention .

it seems this week every one but the healthy taxpayer is getting somthing subsidised. travel passes, personal assistants, home help, medical cards, coeliac food

Happyman42 wrote: »
    They bought the makings of the sandwiches and tea somewhere -thus adding to the economy.

By the same argument, if they didnt get free travel somewhere, they would still have to eat at home and are therefore contributing to the local economy that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭Dutchie

Owryan wrote: »
    Some great plugeening going on for the Haughey clan, talking bout a book now. Wonder if the "keane" affair will get much of a mention .

Yeah apparently Mick Mc Carthy doesnt come out smelling of roses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Joe must have a raging hard on at the prospect of a haughey memoir

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Who is this loon priest??

youre not in good company missus

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

FFers out in force today :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

"I'm in good company so":eek: Sean Haughey! This woman exemplifies the entitlement mentality that is the average Duffy listener. Fianna Fail in the main and therefore a very loose grasp of what is right and wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

syklops wrote: »
    By the same argument, if they didnt get free travel somewhere, they would still have to eat at home and are therefore contributing to the local economy that way.

So what was your point?
    If you travel for leisure you generally spend more than you would if you stay at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

How much is the Roman Catholic crime family costing us through abuse claims?

Get off the Radio:mad:

Who is this loon priest??

hes on to deflect us away from child abuse

I'd say he's had a few Martinis already..

a few more martinis?? shaken not stirred

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

On free travel passes, I ve one compliments of DA. Dont need it as i am able to walk/stagger/drive, so i went to my welfare office and offered to return it .

Nice lady told me to keep it and use it to bring my kids to the zoo.

Think it should nt be an automatic entitlement in all fairness

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Faahdur Moycheal. you can heardly preach.

wasnt it the Dominicans who ran the inquisition?

hes getting cross? sounds like graham norton in father ted

why does Joe revere FF when they are no longer in power. he had the CJ haughey on the air a few times a few years ago and brown nosed like never before

Wasn't it not all that long ago they were talking about rolling out free travel to ALL EU pensioners to get em to holiday here ?

Faadur,

why are you giving out about the church you are supposed to serve? are you recanting your papist ways?

Another "controversially outspoken" priest..... Just go away..

Happyman42 wrote: »
    So what was your point?
    If you travel for leisure you generally spend more than you would if you stay at home.

One of the reasons for keeping the free travel pass according to one of the callers was that they "go out and buy sandwiches or tea".

Yes, when I go out for leisure I spend more than when I am at home. The elderly members of my family have a different philosophy. Instead of trying to have the best time they can, instead its a competition to spend as little as possible. I don't think this is a philosophy unique to my own family.

That guys point was, that its good for the economy for pensioners to be allowed travel. My point is - not very.

neris wrote: »
    hes on to deflect us away from child abuse

michael commane sounds like a makey up name from Killnascully.

Joe Duffy should stop trying to pronounce his "th" correctly.

He just makes himself like a bigger idiot than normal.