Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 25/7/12 to 12/10/2012

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

pc7 wrote: »
    Joe we aint all boggers, what the hell is a pto? I had to google slurry tank yesterday I didn't know what it was.

Power Take Off it is on the back of a tractor and it powers any machinery attached to the tractor ..
    As for Slurry tanks I thought they all had to be covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

TIURKINEY?!?! What the FOCK?

Tourniquet Joe is it? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

Half the mature audience for this programme have now drifted off to things like "Shure I remember, back in d'day, ye didn't have PTO shatfteens on de farrum so ye were safe as houses. Shure dis modren shtuff is too dangerous. Bring beck de donkey 'n cart".

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

A few beauties from Joe already:

What did the spanner do?

TURK-IN-AY (not tourniquet folks, TURK-IN-AY)

I'm surprised he didn't ask him which arm did he sign the consent form with.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

They're on early today :)

ac238-sm-chrome-slave-collar-w-nipple-clamps-bulk-1.jpg

Give 'em another squeeze-een Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

lucylu wrote: »
    Power Take Off it is on the back of a tractor and it powers any machinery attached to the tractor ..
    As for Slurry tanks I thought they all had to be covered.
    AFAIK they're not covered when it's being agitated (prior to emptying the pit).

Blackie the dog. Wonder if the family name is Connors?

A few beauties from Joe already:

What did the spanner do?

TURK-IN-AY (not touniquet folks, TURK-IN-AY)

I'm surprised he didn't ask him which arm did he sign the consent form with.:rolleyes:

Bahahahaha
    PLEASE, marry me? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

All farm accidents happen at 6 on a Saturday

all of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

pc7 wrote: »
    Joe we aint all boggers, what the hell is a pto? I had to google slurry tank yesterday I didn't know what it was.

Power Take Off, its what powers farm machinery using the tractor. Very easy to catch your clothes in it when hooking up machinery when in a hurry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

TIURKINEY?!?! What the FOCK?

Tourniquet Joe is it? ;)

He is either an absolute feckin eejit, or he has the most inept production team this side of the atlantic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

im sorry but if the dog went into a slurry tank, i'm not following it in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Are these things underground with a hole to gain access, or are they built up over ground level (asking out of pure ignorance here)? If underground, should there not be a grate over the entrance?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

AFAIK they're not covered when it's being agitated (prior to emptying the pit).

how is it agitated? a big shtick

New Safety message from Dept. of Agriculture:

Cut down on farming accidents by not working between 6-7 on Saturday evenings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Jesus that man had to give the HSE his arm to get his baby delivered... I've heard of paying and arm and a leg for something but that is just ridiculous.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

CAller getting positive, Joe trying to hang up, bad line bad line, more misery porn needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

An arm for a baby...."A good swap" :D

Only on Liveline!!

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Omen would have loved all of this

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

Joes lost

lucylu wrote: »
    how is it agitated?

Listening to the radio between 1.45 and 3pm ought to do it.

Yakuza wrote: »
    Are these things underground with a hole to gain access, or are they built up over ground level (asking out of pure ignorance here)? If underground, should there not be a grate over the entrance?

There are both below ground and above ground tanks.
    There is normally a wall and a gate around the below ground ones but gate are opened to either fill the tank or take slurry from the tank to spread.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Ffs lads. People are careless letting kids around tractors and trailers . They have to stir the slurry so that it doesnt block the spreader when they spatter it on the fields. More regulations regarding slurry handling is in order here.

"infinitessimal" :rolleyes:

The Omen would have loved all of this

i can picture him now at home banging the kitchen table shouting to the wife, i wanted that topic....I wanted that topic.

If they're listening, The Spence family must be loving the show today. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

What about the septic tank charge lads.........

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

I hear joes mates sinn feinn are in clontarf today for their pre dail meeting. Surprised he hasnt called for outrage from his neighbours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

If they're listening, The Spence family must be loving the show today. :rolleyes:
    I'd imagine they have other things on their minds.

And I'm sure they would agree with farm safety being promoted.

Did Joe just mix up a silage pit and a slurry tank?