Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 25/7/12 to 12/10/2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

Suzie4 wrote: »
    mmmm...childrens allowance seems to me to be a grant for working

that could be an entitlement not a grant....i think :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Is this guy living in 2012 or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Ah the old black and white pub of the year award...handed out like smarties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

So he is passionate about maintaining his cultural heritage but he doesnt want to pay for it himself..get off your soap box.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Who would want to visit that area? Whiners like Martin there to moan upon your arrival.

Sell up Martin , don't be waiting on my taxes to roof you.

just tell damo your business is boll*xed, he needs the doom and gloom

4 times after being told, Damo twigs the pub is closed

He really is rather dim.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

There's an actual place called Kilmeaden :eek: I always thought it was just a makey-up place that they invented to sell cheese blocks.

Then again, Joe found the Gortnahow metro area for us so I shouldn't be too shocked.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

plug plug plug where's aubrey when you need him

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

pc7 wrote: »
    plug plug plug where's aubrey when you need him

Line 2

There must be a huge grant available for making ever-more ridiculous TV Licence ads.

Current callers people smuggling scam rustled, she's upset as she now has to rent a van to drive the undocumented from the Belfast port to Dublin

its the Guards ''entitlement'' to check id's

europa11 wrote: »
    There must be a huge grant available for making ever-more ridiculous TV Licence ads.

There is, every house funds it to the tune of €160 per year

Guess what people?

We have rules.

Obey them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

He's a non-EU citizen, of course he can't just pop down south for a night.

The Naas film festival

Hollywood quakes

Yea you are a superstar. Give that man the freedom of kilmeadon

The Jamaican is being economical with the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Was there not a paragraph in the Good Friday Agreement banning whinging Northern Irish accents on the airwaves?

Could he not have flown into belfast and came down on the train if he was that arsed on making the ceremony

she's afraid the tree will fall on her house, so who does she call...the liveline good jaysus :rolleyes:

le la rat wrote: »
    Could he not have flown into belfast and came down on the train if he was that arsed on making the ceremony

He lives in Belfast, I can assure you if he had legally placed a foot here he wouldn't be going back to Belfast.

There's a strategy at play there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

She forgot at the start that her husband is ex

My bad

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Is Joseph missing for the week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Liveline has been on air now for something like 20 years and it has of course waxed and waned down the years. Right now its definitely at something of a low point. Funny Friday is an affront to comedy, most callers are an affront to a sense of proportion while the hosts sound increasingly bored or clueless. The former increasingly reflected in the listenership I suspect, certainly if this thread is any measure.

Even taking into account the bovine nature of the mass market I really don't not think many are interested in complaints that are very local/specific or play on the "poor me/my family" emotional angel. When the programme has been at its best its usually been when tracking shysters and highlighting genuine consumer issues.

I'm not expecting it to change but my God I wish it would!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

le la rat wrote: »
    They used to check passports of people, ahem, kinda foreign looking coming down on the train from Belfast. Don't know if they still do it.

Is Joseph missing for the week?

He's taking a few days off to do what he loves. His happiest and most engrossing past-time outside of model trains.

(Expect updates on the Seapoint Tragedy upon his return) ;)
    IMG_0990-724156.JPG