Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sky entering Broadband in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

DenMan wrote: »
    Landmark day! Let's see what greedy Eircom now will do about this!

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/sky-to-launch-phone-and-internet-services-in-ireland-560692.html

Finally!! Great news.

UPC STILL don't have BB in my area. Fcuking joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭N64

They are going to use eircoms DSL network, so if you switch from eircom/vodafone/UTV, etc. you are going to have the same connection exactly.
    They won't stand a chance against UPC in terms of broadband quality or speeds since UPC have their own cable network.

Nothing to get excited about really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

I moved from o2 to sky recently in the north here and to be fair I don't have much to complain about. They offered me my landline and unlimited Internet usage for the same price I was paying o2 for broadband. So I have saved a fair bit in all honesty. But then, I'm not much into the Internet speeds or download stuff, so my opinion may not be the best one. But for general online shopping, live streaming of tv programmes etc. it does me the very best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

just read that there,
    there is nothing about pricing, so dont dis eircom yet, we do not know what they are offering,
    i guess we will have to wait and see,
    there is nothing in that linky to make me think they will offer any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Bad Panda wrote: »
    Finally!! Great news.

UPC STILL don't have BB in my area. Fcuking joke!

Same here. Sky will surely have the same problem??

Uggh. That answers my question.
    N64 wrote: »
    They are going to use eircoms DSL network, so if you switch from eircom/vodafone/UTV, etc. you are going to have the same connection exactly.
    They won't stand a chance against UPC in terms of broadband quality or speeds since UPC have their own cable network.

Nothing to get excited about really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭N64

One positive thing about this is that sky might have bundles (TV+BB+home phone) which is kind of like UPC's offering. This might cause UPC and sky to enter into a price war which is a win for the consumer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Announced today?

I heard about this last week from a lad who came around my gaff talking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Won't make much difference as they will still have to use Eircom's antiquated infrastructure for the most part.So for people who can't get broadband now with eircom,or who achieve crappy bb speeds with eircom it won't change a thing.

Sky's broadband will be a loss leader for them, basically a marketing tool for Sky to get people to sign up to their incredibly profitable TV services in a triple play deal.Also makes it appear that they are keeping up with UPC.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

Also lacking the UPC option locally, although I hate dealing with that company so much I'm not sure I'd bite anyway. Sorry to hear Sky will be using Eircom's network, though. I wonder will they be quicker about upgrading? In truth, I'd be happy enough to get close to the 8 Mbps I'm currently paying through the nose for.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Announced today?

I heard about this last week from a lad who came around my gaff talking about it.

My sisters best friends uncle told my dog in a dream five years ago. Its old news. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Another provider on Eircoms shít lines ? Woop di fcukin doo. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/sky-to-launch-phone-and-internet-services-in-ireland-560692.html

What will Eircom do? Nothing but sit back and reap the rewards. :pac:

It's reselling Eircom's bitstream DSL on Eircom copper lines. Like Vodafone, it will be priced to compete, most likely sold at a loss to promote their satellite service (Vodafone already sell at a loss to promote their mobile services)

**** eircom , same ****ty infrastructure LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Still wont beat UPC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

The only good thing is they should offer good deals on package deals but their broadband is going to be ****e because the infrastructure is ****e

I wonder were they ever tempted to buy Eircom?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

i tried to get sky TV - they would only put it in one room - they wouldn't not put it into a second room.

What good is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

N64 wrote: »
    One positive thing about this is that sky might have bundles (TV+BB+home phone) :D
    I wouldn't see adding a sky TV subscription to my BB as a positive thing. It's a bit like getting rabies included with your internet package.

One of the best providers I've used is digiweb, best speeds and connection not the best prices though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,079 ✭✭✭DenMan

It's post eircom I'd be more thinking about. If they go under (very likely) could Sky buy them out and then completely upgrade/overhaul the existing lines/network? It is a step in the right direction. The installer who put our Sky+ box in a few months ago said they were chomping at the bit to get into Ireland and now they finally have. Why have eircom not upgraded the network? Why are they light years behind the rest of Europe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

It's post eircom I'd be more thinking about. If they go under (very likely) could Sky buy them out and then completely upgrade/overhaul the existing lines/network? It is a step in the right direction. The installer who put our Sky+ box in a few months said they were chomping at the bit to get into Ireland and now they finally have. Why have eircom not upgraded the network? Why are they light years behind the rest of Europe?

I dont think Eircom will be going under since they'd agreed that new deal or somthing (not sure the in's and out)

Will you still end up paying line rental to Eircom?

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

Why have eircom not upgraded the network? Why are they light years behind the rest of Europe?

I think you hit the nail on the head, it's because they were going under. Think they're out of examinership now, but it's not like it's a tip-top company at the cutting edge.

I'd be hopeful that Sky will invest in infrastructure to compete with UPC. Since I already give Sky a sizeable chunk of my money, it would be nice to get some form of broadband bundle too.

i dont know if it is the same crowd,
    but about a fortnite ago, two guys outside a shop were offering broadband, and i asked them was there a package that would include sky and they said yes, but the quote i got was dearer than what i pay right now for both services,
    there were a few people stopped had an interest, until they did the math like me, it was dearer and the others had same to say,
    they had a great banner to draw our attention, but that was all, just two minuits of our attention,
    i do know that it was a sky broadband package, but i dont know if it is the same crowd as is spoken of here

Why are they light years behind the rest of Europe?
    In most other European countrys they have town planning so everyone is living in towns and they only have to supply broadband to that town. In Ireland we have houses all over the place which slows everything down as they have to bring connections out to every nook and cranny of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's a great shame that Eircom's the one providing the infrastructure, because out in the sticks we'll be forever screwed with sh1t broadband speeds, thanks to having an old bit of disintegrated copper wire attached to a rotten pole outside our houses.

ScumLord wrote: »
    In most other European countrys they have town planning so everyone is living in towns and they only have to supply broadband to that town. In Ireland we have houses all over the place which slows everything down as they have to bring connections out to every nook and cranny of the country.
    you put a smile on my face,
    i am a culchie,
    always a culchie,
    and always will,
    no notion of moving in next door for a wile, not even for broadband

It's post eircom I'd be more thinking about. If they go under (very likely) could Sky buy them out and then completely upgrade/overhaul the existing lines/network? It is a step in the right direction. The installer who put our Sky+ box in a few months ago said they were chomping at the bit to get into Ireland and now they finally have. Why have eircom not upgraded the network? Why are they light years behind the rest of Europe?

Because the Govt made a balls of privatising the company in the late 90's and they have been systematically asset stripped each time they were taken over by new owners.They are bankrupt,and no business in their right mind (Sky etc) would touch them with a barge pole these days in regards to a takeover.

Why are they light years behind the rest of Europe?

If we can deliver electricity to every house, we can easily do broadband. Fibre is dirt cheap. Blame successive governments for not investing properly and expecting the market to sort it (the national broadband scheme didn't bring a single person broadband)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's a great shame that Eircom's the one providing the infrastructure, because out in the sticks we'll be forever screwed with sh1t broadband speeds, thanks to having an old bit of disintegrated copper wire attached to a rotten pole outside our houses.
    This, so much fookin this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

goat2 wrote: »
    i dont know if it is the same crowd,
    but about a fortnite ago, two guys outside a shop were offering broadband, and i asked them was there a package that would include sky and they said yes, but the quote i got was dearer than what i pay right now for both services,
    there were a few people stopped had an interest, until they did the math like me, it was dearer and the others had same to say,
    they had a great banner to draw our attention, but that was all, just two minuits of our attention,
    i do know that it was a sky broadband package, but i dont know if it is the same crowd as is spoken of here
    Sounds legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I used to work sky broadband tech support, and at one point could have had it for free. The service was so bad and the "support" so poor I actually laughed in their (My superiors) face when they offered it to me and told them I was sticking with virgin media!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

My sisters best friends uncle told my dog in a dream five years ago. Its old news. :rolleyes:

lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I prefer Sky's programme guide, channel offerings etc. but unless they can match UPC's broadband offering at a similar or lower price, I'll be sticking with UPC.

Good broadband can compensate for poorer TV packages via torrenting etc. Better TV can't make up for crap broadband.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Even in the UK Sky resell BT DSL and its rubbish (someone I know in the UK has it), if your getting 4/5meg from eircom/Vodafone et al Sky will be the same, the more competition in the TV/Broadband market aint a bad thing though, maybe UPC will have a bb price cut because of it (hopefully :pac: )

Nick

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    If we can deliver electricity to every house, we can easily do broadband. Fibre is dirt cheap. Blame successive governments for not investing properly and expecting the market to sort it (the national broadband scheme didn't bring a single person broadband)
    It can be done yes but it's much more expensive trying to get it to houses spread out. People need electricity so they'll make it work but don't expect phone companies to go out of their way putting down expensive lines so that some out of the way farmer can see porn for the first time.

I don't expect phone companies to do it at all. We need a new fibre network, built and owned by the people that every provider can use. Let the ESB do it, they already deliver electricity to every house in the country. Broadband should be a requirement, just as essential to any home or business as electricity and water.

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    I don't expect phone companies to do it at all. We need a new fibre network, built and owned by the people that every provider can use. Let the ESB do it, they already deliver electricity to every house in the country. Broadband should be a requirement, just as essential to any home or business as electricity and water.
    They'll have to dig up all the lines again because they had no foresight to make it easy to upgrade these things. They're still doing work today that is out of date and are leaving no room for upgrades.

The ESB won't do it out of the kindness of they're hearts.

They'll have to dig up all the lines again because they had no foresight to make it easy to upgrade these things. They're still doing work today that is out of date and are leaving no room for upgrades.

So? We need this network.

Nor should they. We need a long term plan and a Government with a plan longer than the 4 years they're in power. We're late starting, other countries are finished. The sooner we plan and start the better, We need this network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Eircom laid fibre-optic cable along the road a few years, about ten yards from our house, and I haven't a clue whether or not anyone's actually connected to it. With my 2mb download speed about 1.5 miles from the exchange, I know it isn't me.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

I think the governments just gave up years ago after realising selling all our phone lines with Eircom was a f**ing dumbs**t move.

Seems they just thrown money at the mobile companies since all they have to do is slap a booster onto a pylon and job done, that will be good enough for em, just get as close to "100% coverage" as possible and leave it be lads.... :rolleyes:

And even if Eircom went under a Sky bought them out, what incentive would they have to update the country lines? Most likely they get into a pissing match with UPC for the services in the major towns, country folk have no alternative so no chance of em jumping ship :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

.... so that some out of the way farmer can see porn for the first time.
    I'm a farmer - What's this 'porn' you speak of??

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭vard

I had sky when I lived in London. Couldn't get their highest speed package, but had a typical DSL connection which was 17MBPS; never had any problems at all with it. I'm back in Ireland at the moment and forced to put up with pitiful Eircom speeds. UPC not available in my area...

I hope I'll have alternatives soon. Can't wait to escape eircom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭LowOdour

I suppose they will be looking for a home service staff? Anybody know if sky installers are well paid?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sky Broadband will still be limited to using the same crappy lines laid down by Eircom.

I have recently contacted Sky (inquiring about it) and they confirmed to me that they will NOT be able to give the speeds that are currently available to countries elsewhere – where the lines are of much better quality and that includes England.
    For the foreseeable future, the bulk of the country is stuck using the same far out of date lines which really only slower speeds and a lot of line degradation.

Say “Thank you Eircom” !!!

No alternatives will be forthcoming in the medium to long term,unless the government realise that if they want to achieve this 'smart economy' that they're always banging on about they need to invest a substantial amount of money upgrading our out of date telecommunications infrastructure.

Of course they won't though.They'll pay 3/02/Vodafone a few million to set up satelite 'broadband' schemes and throw up a few more 3g base stations instead.

I'm lucky enough to be in an area covered by UPC broadband,but I know people living in Dublin City Centre that have to rely on un-reliable 3g dongles,which is ridiculous for a capitol city in the year 2012.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

vard wrote: »
    ...I hope I'll have alternatives soon. Can't wait to escape eircom.

Sadly, you (and I) will be waiting a least another few years - to say the least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,079 ✭✭✭DenMan

No alternatives will be forthcoming in the medium to long term,unless the government realise that if they want to achieve this 'smart economy' that they're always banging on about they need to invest a substantial amount of money upgrading our out of date telecommunications infrastructure.

Of course they won't though.They'll pay 3/02/Vodafone a few million to set up satelite 'broadband' schemes and throw up a few more 3g base stations instead.

I'm lucky enough to be in an area covered by UPC broadband,but I know people living in Dublin City Centre that have to rely on un-reliable 3g dongles,which is ridiculous for a capitol city in the year 2012.

Why won't they not starviewadams? Isn't it in the best interests of the country to have a sustainable and reliable broadband infrastructure in place for growth to return to the economy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

Eircom will do what it always does, reduce its customers speed and increase the price. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭con71

They're actually going to use BT for the backbone. Sky chappie said so on Matt Cooper's show this evening.

Sky are bending the truth already then so,BT only have about 60 exchanges nationwide with their own equipment installed,so for the majority of their service delivery Sky willl be reliant on Eircom's shoddy infrastructure.