Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cocky Lying Sales Rep Caught Out!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Biggins wrote: »
    He lied about their guaranteed ability to provide a minimum speed and more!

(I'm qualified also an I.T. engineer )
    Having dealt with many telecoms companies here, the hardest part is trying to explain to non IT people that a months lead time when it comes to installing lines and moving means sleepless nights. Because you just know you will get stalled , that promised times evaporate, that there will be some misunderstanding on their part - we can't be the first company that wanted to move office and keep existing phone numbers. Then there is the blame game where they blame eircom - in fairness eircom do drag their heels when it comes to third parties. And every so often you hear a whole new class of excuse.

ADSL reselling
    Win-back
    SKY salesmen

every so often you'd meet a competent salesperson but even then the rest of the organisation and blame would drag the whole experience down

At this stage I assume they are incompetent at best and don't get my hopes up of getting a straight answer or at least one that doesn't change if you ask the same question two days later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Having dealt with many telecoms companies here, the hardest part is trying to explain to non IT people that a months lead time when it comes to installing lines and moving means sleepless nights. Because you just know you will get stalled , that promised times evaporate, that there will be some misunderstanding on their part - we can't be the first company that wanted to move office and keep existing phone numbers. Then there is the blame game where they blame eircom - in fairness eircom do drag their heels when it comes to third parties. And every so often you hear a whole new class of excuse.

ADSL reselling
    Win-back
    SKY salesmen

every so often you'd meet a competent salesperson but even then the rest of the organisation and blame would drag the whole experience down

At this stage I assume they are incompetent at best and don't get my hopes up of getting a straight answer or at least one that doesn't change if you ask the same question two days later.

Thankfully though, the good sales reps there is out there, will get back to you (and I) and let his customers know about such problems.
    The uncaring ones, usually the liars anyway, won't bother their backside.
    They will have long gone and will have moved on in thought and location to their next victim customer.

I asked by the way, what lines they would be using and the reply was the present laid Eircom ones which they would be piggy-backing off through leasing.
    As I'd done previous checks (for the sake of my own business interests alone) I know the line quality was crap to say the least, and would be for some far time to come.

Its sad that judging by some posts here, that some fools in the world think its ok for folk to come to ones door and just take lies stated in an attempt to sign one up to a contract that, at the end of the day, would be a false and possible fraudulent one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Just a home with a number of very valuable items and a lot of specialised equipment.
    In having such, I wish to also protect my family in case others wish to deprive me of the tools of my livelihood.
    Sorry if that seems to upset people!

You started posting obscure pictures of your outside alarm and internet system and then started waffling on about having to be security conscious. Funny, is all.

IrishAm wrote: »
    You started posting obscure pictures of your outside alarm and internet system and then started waffling on about having to be security conscious. Funny, is all.

1. One picture and
    2. It was a response to another friendly post.
    3. It wasn't a picture (ONE picture) of my alarm OR my internet system either by the way. More inaccuracies

People are very sad that they have a problem with that.
    Their lives must be very unfulfilled indeed. Sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Yesterday this little fella from st johns ambulance knocked on my door. When i answered he said:

Hello, did you get the st johns ambulance envelope we left in your post box?

No...

Oh okay, we'll I have a spare envelope here so you can pop your donation into it!

Eh, I have no money, sorry.

(pissed off look on his face) oh right, thanks anyway.

And off he went, ( down my small driveway);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

1. One picture and
    3. It wasn't pictures of my alarm OR my internet system either by the way. More inaccuracies

Let us try again.

No one has a problem with someone putting cameras (even cheap ass ones) at their front and back doors. No one has a problem with a couple of sensor lights.

But, because you know better than professionals who would advise you that your installation is not only unsafe, but unsightly-you muddy the waters with waffle that would do justice to the CIA. Like you have been doing here for years.

That's why people are ripping the piss, mate.

Me, I just tried to give you a bit of advice. Your house probably won't go up in smoke or anything, but you have something unsafe outside your front door that could be easily addressed. Something you could probably tackle yourself, with a bit of help, which you're welcome to.

That's why people are ripping the piss, mate.
    Thats the net for you (and I).
    All we can do is try explaining/asking something, be firstly polite in answering any responding posts - then after a while when the fools come out, slowly (or fast) ignore them.

Anyway...

Your house probably won't go up in smoke or anything, but you have something unsafe outside your front door that could be easily addressed. Something you could probably tackle yourself, with a bit of help, which you're welcome to.
    The house itself was stripped down to the plaster boards and totally rewired by my father who was (now retired) an electrician of 45 years plus.
    The additional equipment outside there after was put in place with his and another's help who he trusted also.
    I can't speak 100% for the other person but I trust my own dad completely when it comes to the 'spark' trade.
    (Genuinely, his name and work reputation in the county is well known and is thought of very highly. I'm lucky to have him.).
    I take on board your concerns/thoughts but everything is really fine.
    If there was ANY problem at all or possibility of one in the future, I have a number of people that would point them out on a regular basis as they frequent my places.

I wouldn't tackle the ESB end of things myself.
    I'm not qualified in that area and I've learned not to mess around with things that I really don't have a professional understanding in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

<Snip>

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

1. One picture and
    3. It wasn't a picture (ONE picture) of my alarm OR my internet system either by the way. More inaccuracies

Chill, man. No malice intended. I was taking the proverbial.

IrishAm wrote: »
    Chill, man. No malice intended. I was taking the proverbial.

No worries, its late, I've been at it all day (No... not what some of ye durty minds are thinking!) and am tired. :)

(Have a sick kid at the mo that has a vomiting stomach bug which is going around - great fun having to clean up that mess at 2 to four in the morning. Still he brings much more joy and happiness into our lives than the occasional throw-up. Not this kid - which is also mine! The devil!!!)

Why did it need such extensive work? It seems a fairly new build!

The previous owner let the place go to ruin internally. There was internal damp also.
    Was better (according to a number of people I checked with including the loan assessor from the mortgage bank) to strip it down and redo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭N17er

Its all above board, put in and tested by a professional (not not in this case) whom had 50+ years in the business.
    The place is wired/secured safely front, sides and back.

So he has 50+ years practising at being gash... Get that socket out of there.

The previous owner let the place go to ruin internally. There was internal damp also.
    Was better (according to a number of people I checked with including the loan assessor from the mortgage bank) to strip it down and redo.

I can't imagine a relatively modern house being so bad as to warrant a complete rewire-not to mention restudding throughout and skimming. A loan assessor is not an engineer, btw-they merely put a value on the place, which may or may not reflect reality. You'd be looking at an engineer to do a proper assessment in the event that you are buying a compromised property.

The only eventualities that would justify that would be water or fire damage. Anything less could be patched, even if whole slabs had to be replaced, that's one wall in four, where affected. The house dates from what, the early noughties to the early nineties? Are you sure it was totally redone?

If you had dampness in a property that new, and I assume you're there a while, you'd be looking to homebond surely? That's a structural matter.

It's just that, on your other thread, the carpets etc. look fairly original, or reused from elsewhere-which is fair enough :)

I can't imagine a relatively modern house being so bad as to warrant a complete rewire-not to mention restudding throughout and skimming. A loan assessor is not an engineer, btw-they merely put a value on the place, which may or may not reflect reality. You'd be looking at an engineer to do a proper assessment in the event that you are buying a compromised property.

The only eventualities that would justify that would be water or fire damage. Anything less could be patched, even if whole slabs had to be replaced, that's one wall in four, where affected. The house dates from what, the early noughties to the early nineties? Are you sure it was totally redone?

If you had dampness in a property that new, and I assume you're there a while, you'd be looking to homebond surely? That's a structural matter.

It's just that, on your other thread, the carpets etc. look fairly original, or reused from elsewhere-which is fair enough :)

With some banks, in order to qualify for a mortgage, they send in their own house assessors. I think its now a requirement for all banks now possibly.
    Someone might confirm this?
    We had to get a structural report for the bank anyway - no choice if we were to qualify.
    The main house itself is 16 years old but the previous owner was using gas all the time and with poor ventilation being used, caused a lot of damp.

Yea, it was totally redone.
    Pitched in as much as I could helping the professionals. Took ages to rectify.
    The previous wiring was very badly done and there was not enough sockets alone or were badly positioned completely about the place. so channelling down to the brickwork and/or running the standard PVC electrical cabling behind fresh plasterboards, had to be done.

Well, you'd need a valuation (usually a local auctioneer) and an engineers report. Has been the case for years. Not to mind the usual planning searches etc.

But, what you're talking about, at the most, is excessive condensation. I'm gonna call you out on this and say there is no way that house was stripped back to the stud work and given a full rewire, not to mind reslabbing, and plastering throughout. You're talking at least fifty grand of work. You may have added bits here and there, and put your own mark on the place as every householder does, but that's about it.

Just to gove some context. My main home, which was a 4 bed detached-was totally redone internally about three years ago, new layout, new second fix carpentry, single storey extension, attic conversion etc. There was nothing wrong with it, it was just cheap ass and we wanted to improve the finish and extend the space. 90% of the original wiring and about three quarters of the internal walls didn't need to be touched, bar sanding, cornicing and painting.

There's no way that gaff was stripped to that extent.

Well, you'd need a valuation (usually a local auctioneer) and an engineers report. Has been the case for years. Not to mind the usual planning searches etc.

But, what you're talking about, at the most, is excessive condensation. I'm gonna call you out on this and say there is no way that house was stripped back to the stud work and rewired. You may have added bits here and there, and put your own mark on the place as every householder does, but that's about it.

The dad at the time offered for free to totally re-do it completely so we (wife and I) opted for that choice instead.
    We felt it was better to have it done right at the time by a person we trust more so than an unknown person who's 15+ year old work, was not apparently up to scratch.
    There was kids going into the house so for the sake of a mess for a while (we hadn't moved in yet), felt its was better safe than sorry later.

Edit: to tell you how bad it was, the original 'spark' didn't install the standard heavy duty PVC cabling which is used for attaching to cookers and such like in a kitchen.
    He actually used standard grey electrical wiring (there was heat burn lines up the wall - noted when the old kitchen tiles were removed). That was a shock not just to me but my father at the time. It was an utter original 'cowboy job' with short-cuts galore.
    The house itself was cheap enough so the work that it needed internally, we considered worth doing right from scratch in the long run.

We could go on all night!

Do get that socket sorted though-and presumably whatever is at the back door as well. (Cross-edited while you were posting).

Edit: to tell you how bad it was, the original 'spark' didn't install the standard heavy duty PVC cabling which is used for attaching to cookers and such like in a kitchen.
    He actually used standard grey electrical wiring (there was heat burn lines up the wall - noted when the old kitchen tiles were removed). That was a shock not just to me but my father at the time. It was an utter original 'cowboy job' with short-cuts galore.
    The house itself was cheap enough so the work that it needed internally, we considered worth doing right from scratch in the long run.

The premises would have been certified on completion, given its age. If whatever cable was used for the cooker circuit (I'm assuming 2.5 t&e, as you say it was insufficient) wasn't encased in conduit (which I've never seen omitted in a house of that era), and got hot enough to cause the surrounding plasterwork to scorch, the internal insulation would have been well compromised by that point. I have, in years of investigations into electrical fires and faulty installations, never come across such a scenario as you describe.

I can only hope that your dad, as a qualified and certified electrician himself, would have reported the matter to RECI/ECCSA immediately.

The premises would have been certified on completion, given its age. If whatever cable was used for the cooker circuit (I'm assuming 2.5 t&e, as you say it was insufficient) wasn't encased in conduit (which I've never seen omitted in a house of that era), and got hot enough to cause the surrounding plasterwork to scorch, the internal insulation would have been well compromised by that point. I have, in years of investigations into electrical fires and faulty installations, never come across such a scenario as you describe.

I can only hope that your dad, as a qualified and certified electrician himself, would have reported the matter to RECI/ECCSA immediately.
    He did the right thing so I heard, by all accounts.
    The owner/builder of the site was stopped building more and we suspect was questioned about some of the workmen hired.
    The council then took over management of the estate and finished off the remaining properties.

He did the right thing so I heard, by all accounts.
    The owner/builder of the site was stopped building more and we suspect was questioned about some of the workmen hired.
    The council then took over management of the estate and finished off the remaining properties.

I thought the place was fifteen years old when you got it? It was still incomplete? One wonders who issued a stop work notice, and to whom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,520 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Seaneh wrote: »
    Ah Jesus, have you little else to be worrying about than the ****ing size of chocolate bars?

I seriously doubt, given the website, you are much of programmer or "Graphic Artist", it's horrendous!

Actually, that does annoy me, shaving a bit off the bar size means I have to adjust all the other ingredients in a recipe to match the smaller bar. Or buy an extra bar and only use a it of it.

I thought the place was fifteen years old when you got it?

It was. We found out about the builder and his history through our neighbours.
    The owner/builder of the estate by the stage of us buying in it, was well gone.
    We were able to get the house after it was short while lying then at a cheap price, thus probably why it was better (according to those that came in and checked the place out for us) that the work had to be better redone.
    One wonders who issued a stop work notice, and to whom?
    From what I can gather, the then new residents that had moved in as the first new homes were built and sold, brought some matters to the attention of someone (I'm guessing someone in council or elsewhere) at the time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

kowloon wrote: »
    Actually, that does annoy me, shaving a bit off the bar size means I have to adjust all the other ingredients in a recipe to match the smaller bar. Or buy an extra bar and only use a it of it.

recipies tend to be in weight, not "bar" though... At least any recipe I've ever used in the several years I worked as a chef...

But you said the scheme was stopped prior to completion-and the local authority (your local County Council) took it in charge and completed the outstanding works. That is extremely unusual, and would have been well publicised.

I have a contact in the ETCI who would be very interested to learn of possible suspect installations in relation to your area. I will be contacting him on Monday. If what you describe is replicated elsewhere in that development, there needs to be a thorough inspection of all properties therein.

But you said the scheme was stopped prior to completion-and the local authority (your local County Council) took it in charge and completed the outstanding works.

The checking and rework of the other homes has been done thankfully.
    The current residents are happy in their homes now.
    Apparently when the homes were put up first, short cuts were taken.
    You probably know yourself, it wouldn't have been the first time.
    The dad used to tell me of some bad jobs he used to come across years ago on sites.
    Makes one wonder what people used to get away with years ago!

Thank heavens things are much stricter now, even down to the now basic things like having standard circuit-breakers as routine installation.

Appreciate the previous concern. I can understand where your coming from.
    Its the 'cowboys' of any trade that gives the rest a bad name the world over.

recipies tend to be in weight, not "bar" though... At least any recipe I've ever used in the several years I worked as a chef...

What I mean is a recipe might call for 250g and now the bars are 230g so I have to bring everything else down to match. It's not the end of the world, but it does annoy me.

Also, I'm T1 Diabetic and I've gotten used to how much insulin I take for different items. When the weights/contents change I have to adjust and mistakes get made.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

kowloon wrote: »
    What I mean is a recipe might call for 250g and now the bars are 230g so I have to bring everything else down to match. It's not the end of the world, but it does annoy me.

Also, I'm T1 Diabetic and I've gotten used to how much insulin I take for different items. When the weights/contents change I have to adjust and mistakes get made.

Protip:

http://allrecipes.com/ has a function where you can scale up or down a recipe :D

I have tons of recipies that huge quantities left over from my past career and can be a bitch to scale down (like a cookie recipe that makes 146ish large cookies, thats a lot of cookies, I only want say 10, what do!?).

Might come in handy :)

Can't help with the faulty pancreas :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

i was in Harvey Normans in blanch two weeks ago. I heard a sales guy tell an old couple that to get a better camera than the one he was holding would involve spending €1000 euro more. I would have said something to the couple but the camera he was holding was a decently priced little thing. It probably was the best camera for them. I just hated hearing the lies from the sales guy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I've learned not to mess around with things that I really don't have a professional understanding in.
    *giggles*

The dad used to tell me of some bad jobs he used to come across years ago on sites.
    yeah I've heard of estates in the North where half the houses had faulty sockets

There's no way this guys house was rewired from scratch, along with reslabbing and skimming, fifteen years later.

It's bull. There are too many things that don't add up.
    yeah I've heard of estates in the North where half the houses had faulty sockets

There's no way this guys house was rewired from scratch, along with reslabbing and skimming, fifteen years later.

I got the work done cheap, thru getting a cheap house what need work.
    I'm not the first and won't be the last.
    I'm sorry you seem to have problems with me. I'm moving on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭N17er

I got the work done cheap

Jeez I hope you didn't hire cheap corner cutting cowboys with shoddy practices like installing indoor sockets outside.. oh wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

How does roundymooney know stuff about Biggins house? From previous posts?

It got very sinister.

Protip:

http://allrecipes.com/ has a function where you can scale up or down a recipe :D

Nice one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I got the work done cheap, thru getting a cheap house what need work.
    I'm not the first and won't be the last.
    I'm sorry you seem to have problems with me. I'm moving on...

Our place in Kerry was knocked together by some builder that someone said was "practicing" when he and his team of cowboys built it. We had to have it re-wired when we bought it (it was less than 20 years old) , the roof leaked like a sieve because it wasn't put on properly, all of the concrete paving surrounding the building sank because there wasn't enough hardcore under it, all in all a feckin shambles, not to mention the plumbing and heating. At least we weren't stupid enough not to know how bad it was, and paid a cheap fair price for it.

On reflection, I wish we hadn't bought it, because we've since realised that most of the neighbours are up-themselves arseholes, who've barely spoken to us since we moved in 20 years ago.

The builder himself was quite busy during the boom, conning the local county council into thinking he was keeping to the rules, when in fact he wasn't, particularly with regard to using proper materials for foundations. On one estate that he built, the first house had the proper limestone foundations, and the council gave it the ok when they inspected it. The rest of the houses had everything but the right materials under them, but of course the council didn't know because they didn't look at those when they were being done.

I can well believe that shoddy buildings have been knocked up by 1000s over the decades, and you never hear of anyone getting nailed for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Well folks, there ye go. Another packed episode from the far side.
    Ye now know how to measure choccy bars for making some sort of, err, choccy containing thing, how to go way over the top with some poor sap selling broadband, how to extend a sh1te one line story over five pages, how to induce that stomach lurching feeling when someone who actually knows what they are talking about calls someone out for b.s, and also where to be sitting when the "cowboy electrical inspector man" calls out to Bigginss estate next week to start a "Priory Hall" job.:D
    I'm sure all the neighbours will be delighted that Biggsy has saved them from a firey damnation and I for one would be more than wiling to offer them cheap acomodation in the interim, while their houses are gutted and rebuilt. I'm sure they will all be delighted you have saved them Biggins.:D:D:D Oh God, please make the laughter stop, my feckin sides, someone think of the sides..

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Our place in Kerry was knocked together by some builder that someone said was "practicing" when he and his team of cowboys built it. We had to have it re-wired when we bought it (it was less than 20 years old) , the roof leaked like a sieve because it wasn't put on properly, all of the concrete paving surrounding the building sank because there wasn't enough hardcore under it, all in all a feckin shambles, not to mention the plumbing and heating. At least we weren't stupid enough not to know how bad it was, and paid a cheap fair price for it.

On reflection, I wish we hadn't bought it, because we've since realised that most of the neighbours are up-themselves arseholes, who've barely spoken to us since we moved in 20 years ago.

The builder himself was quite busy during the boom, conning the local county council into thinking he was keeping to the rules, when in fact he wasn't, particularly with regard to using proper materials for foundations. On one estate that he built, the first house had the proper limestone foundations, and the council gave it the ok when they inspected it. The rest of the houses had everything but the right materials under them, but of course the council didn't know because they didn't look at those when they were being done.

I can well believe that shoddy buildings have been knocked up by 1000s over the decades, and you never hear of anyone getting nailed for it.
    Nope. Very few. My parents bought a house at one stage in their home town that was of similar state.
    Instead of using proper filler to place into and around flues of a chimney, the builder used just sand as a filler.
    When one of the upper flues cracked, down came the sand into the fireplace and into the living room.
    The easy part was actually cleaning the mess up, the complicated messy part was actually repairing the inner part of the chimney which created a lot of complications.
    They were thankfully covered by a national builders insurance scheme.
    Pottler wrote: »
    ...my feckin sides, someone think of the sides..
    Glad to help! ;)

Samich wrote: »
    How does roundymooney know stuff about Biggins house? From previous posts?

It got very sinister.

You could have just asked me, you know.

From the thread he bumped last night, the image he posted on this thread, and his responses here. Simples.

Nothing sinister about asking someone to clarify something they've said, is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Dub88

Who gives a monkeys? Lay off biggins, your just as bad as the bully salesman

Dub88 wrote: »
    Shades of Enda. Biggins is a big boy, he's well able to fight his own battles. You licking his hole will just distract him. Anyway, it's a union matter, you're taking Abi s job.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Firegaurd

Is there a way i can block out everybody elses posts and just see the back and forth from Biggins and Roundy Mooney, it's hilarious :D

Cry me a river. If his stories stacked up, no one would bat an eyelid.

And anyway, he's withdrawn from the discussion, why are you dragging it up again?

You're still calling in the inspectors though? I've set up marqees and bought seats and fifty three gallons of popcorn. No going all soft on us now, ok.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Fair play to Biggins, of all the sales people calling to the door broadband ones are the biggest bullshitters. Airtricity are pretty bad too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

Cienciano wrote: »
    Fair play to Biggins, of all the sales people calling to the door broadband ones are the biggest bullshitters. Airtricity are pretty bad too.

Why even listen to the bullsh1t?

I just say no thanks and try not to be rude about it. But Just slightly forceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

PC CDROM wrote: »
    Why even listen to the bullsh1t?

I just say no thanks and try not to be rude about it. But Just slightly forceful.

That's what they get for knocking on your door and trying to get you to spend your money by telling you lies.

Pottler wrote: »
    Shades of Enda. Biggins is a big boy, he's well able to fight his own battles. You licking his hole will just distract him. Anyway, it's a union matter, you're taking Abi s job.
    You're the one licking mooneys hole ;)

Ok inspector 'cant let it go' gadget.