Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on first Harley

Options
  • 28-07-2012 12:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 48

I've had a VFR800 for the past 14 years. It's time for a change so I am thinking of buying a Harley. My budget is a max of €10k. Use would be purely leisure and trips would be short so I don't need a big tourer. I was thinking of a Sportster 883 (maybe 2007 for around €5k) but I have no experience of Harleys. I have a few questions:

1. Am I likely to get bored with the Sportster after a short period so should aim for one of the bigger bikes?

2. Is the Sportster 1200 a better bet than the 883

3. How do Harley owners view the Sportster? Is it like "the poor man's porche" syndrome.

Any further advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Tagged:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭war_child

Your best bet is to get on to the Harley dealerships, as each person will have an individual opinion your better off getting the information from lads who have riden different types of harleys as most people once they get one rarelytrade up for a different model, on a personal note uve got me seething with jealousy:mad: lol always been a dream of mineto have a Harley so the very best of luck with your new purchase hope you get many miles of enjoyment out of it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,987 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

BizAngel wrote: »