Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What should I do/buy to treat myself?

• 28-07-2012 10:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭

I've been working my balls off for a work deadline. What should I do or buy to reward my efforts? Willing to spend up to a few hundred yoyos.

Go away somewhere for a weekend?
    Buy some sort of gadget?
    Go for a round of golf?
    Snort cocaine off a prostitute's tits?
    Go to a casino and put a few hundred quid on black?

What would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

New balls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

no point spending money to treat yourself if you don't know what you want. Save it until you want something, then say oh look ill buy it for myself as a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Buy some sort of gadget.

Nothing better than a new gadget :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

Few naggins, be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭supernova84

Buy your office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

waits for someone to say fap. is bound to happen........

I will go with a weekend away. even if it just in ireland somewhere. get away from work and just relax for a few days

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Treat someone else to something!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Snort cocaine off a prostitute's tits. Wut were the other options?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭rameire

a photoshoot

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Split 2.28S, 1.52E. 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Fap - There, It's done!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd hop on a plane somewhere. Weekend break in a European city maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Take a long dump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Buy yourself a bunch of flowers, a bottle of wine, rent a girly film, put on mascara and have a good cry to yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Snort cocaine off anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Spend it all in a pound shop.

Snort cocaine off anything

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

Option 4 : Snort cocaine off a prostitute's tits
    And then stick your micky in cid-er

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

no point spending money to treat yourself if you don't know what you want. Save it until you want something, then say oh look ill buy it for myself as a treat
    I rarely want anything, I'm not really materialistic and am fairly frugal. Just have the urge to do something or buy something fun.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Buy some sort of gadget.

Nothing better than a new gadget :cool:
    What sort of gadget though?

I'd hop on a plane somewhere. Weekend break in a European city maybe?
    waits for someone to say fap. is bound to happen........

I will go with a weekend away. even if it just in ireland somewhere. get away from work and just relax for a few days
    I have a holiday booked for the end of August, few days in Portugal and a few days back home in Ireland. I'd definitely consider going somewhere else as well though. Maybe a trip to Derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

go on a coke and hookers cruise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Bigus

A half day here on your way to Derry

http://www.rallyschoolireland.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

Actully i am changing my idea. If you dont want to buy something and already have holiday planed why not a parachute jump. Know there not that expensive. I am hoping to do one in galway sometime nextyear. i am student down there and will do it in group so hoping to get it for 180e ish. Will say you would deffently get it for less than 300e
    Nothing beats jumping out of a plane when work gets you down ;)

Or perhaps some happyness.

Actully i am changing my idea. If you dont want to buy something and already have holiday planed why not a parachute jump. Know there not that expensive. I am hoping to do one in galway sometime nextyear. i am student down there and will do it in group so hoping to get it for 180e ish. Will say you would deffently get it for less than 300e
    Nothing beats jumping out of a plane when work gets you down ;)

Did a jump in January. If I go again I'll do the training for the licence. Good idea though, I like "experience" days like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Go on a bender until all the money is gone.. even if it lasts weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Buy Boards.ie and sack all the mods!

Bye everybody, see you after my ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Buy some chocolate Mikados and a cup of coffee. Stick the money in the bank. Don't reinforce the idea that you need an expensive treat just because you met a deadline. There will be loads more deadlines if you're good. Having a nice wedge in the bank will give you the freedom to only meet the ones you want to meet. That's a proper treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Pottler wrote: »
    Buy some chocolate Mikados and a cup of coffee. Stick the money in the bank. Don't reinforce the idea that you need an expensive treat just because you met a deadline. There will be loads more deadlines if you're good. Having a nice wedge in the bank will give you the freedom to only meet the ones you want to meet. That's a proper treat.

WTF is wrong with you tonight.

mattjack wrote: »
    I've a load of employees who do just this, get a few bob, blow it, then they're broke again. Jesus wept. So you worked hard, met a deadline... ok, I'll shut up :)
    Get two ribs removed at the Blackrock Clinic. Hours of fun "treats" assured.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Head off on a dodgy weekend to Amsterdam while the Mrs. is off somewhere else (like Spain). Revert here to let us know how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

He's all growed up today :(

He's right though. OP sounds like a celtic tiger remnant.
    Gots the monies,gots to spend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I've a load of employees who do just this, get a few bob, blow it, then they're broke again. Jesus wept. So you worked hard, met a deadline... ok, I'll shut up :)
    Get two ribs removed at the Blackrock Clinic. Hours of fun "treats" assured.:D

:D the Blackrock Clinic... well La Di fuckin' Da.....

Chucken wrote: »
    He's all growed up today :(

He's right though. OP sounds like a celtic tiger remnant.
    Gots the monies,gots to spend it.
    I'm feckin all growed up all day every day, by night I become the caped Gobshite. I spent the day in a Pharma plant discussing mind numbing health and safety issues with a rich, arrogant frenchman:( My treat is posting shite that is hopefully somtimes vaguely amusing:)

Good advice, but I do feck all but work.

:Dthe Blackrock Clinic... well La Di fuckin' Da.....
    :D:Dwhere else old boy? The foods simply devine y'know.:D

flash1080 wrote: »
    Good advice, but I do feck all but work.
    Err, you're talking to a workaholic whose idea of fun is posting on boards in between doing the accounts/quotes/pricing jobs in a home office. My idea of time off is sleep. When I want a treat, I buy myself a car. I buy a lot of cars. Reasoning is, they're vaguely justifiable for work, I get bored really easily and I like cars. Get a nice car? Works for me anyway.:) I'm aware that sounds arrogant, but luckily, I like really cheap cars, so I just get a different pile of poo every few weeks and sell the other one. I take an inverse snobbery approach to cars-the worse the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

I usually buy myself a handbag when I've done good. So buy a handbag. Am I playing this game right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

What sort of gadget though?

Well thats up to you I think.

I'm getting myself a pressure washer for passing all my exams !!! :o

Sounds stupid to most people but thats what I want :D

Err, you're talking to a workaholic whose idea of fun is posting on boards in between doing the accounts/quotes/pricing jobs in a home office. My idea of time off is sleep. When I want a treat, I buy myself a car. I buy a lot of cars. Reasoning is, they're vaguely justifiable for work, I get bored really easily and I like cars. Get a nice car? Works for me anyway.:) I'm aware that sounds arrogant, but luckily, I like really cheap cars, so I just get a different pile of poo every few weeks and sell the other one. I take an inverse snobbery approach to cars-the worse the better.
    I've been half thinking about getting another car but I just bought my current one around 4-5 months ago. Wouldn't mind a MR2 or E46 coupe. I wasn't thinking of spending that much money though!

Buy one you can sell again for a small loss. Consider the loss the "I'm worth it cost":) An Mr2 will reasonably well hold it's value and is fairly re-sellable. It makes more sense than some gadget that you get sick of in a week or two and can't give away. Don't turn your cash into thrash. Buy somthing you will genuinely get a lot of long-term pleasure out of. Mr2 or a blow-up doll:D

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Well thats up to you I think.

I'm getting myself a pressure washer for passing all my exams !!! :o

Sounds stupid to most people but thats what I want :D

You remind me of a mate of mine. For his 18 birthday all he wanted was a hug from my female cousin who he thought was hot. that was his present from me. :pac:

Pimpin... And so a career was born:D

Hmm, I like the sound of that. As im currently unemployed. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭stek

What sort of gadget though.[/QUOTE]

Buy a kindle fire. The e reader. Feckin brilliant gadget..

Stick a monkey on a 2/1 favourite today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Mayo_Boy wrote: »
    Option 4 : Snort cocaine off a prostitute's tits
    And then stick your micky in cid-er

It'll definitely improve the taste of the cider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Eat a Toffee Crisp or buy a €1 pack of donuts from Dunnes.