Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Damning Indictment of Ireland's Attitude Towards Alcohol

• 29-07-2012 12:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Sorry for the long thread title firstly...

So onto the topic at hand, Ireland and its attitude towards drink.

I went into town today with a mate, we went to a pub and set out in the sun and we grabbed a beer each.

I got an alcohol free beer, and my mate got an alcoholic beer. To which he turned to me and said
    "why are you wasting your money on the alcohol free stuff, why not get the alcoholic version"

I told him I bought it because I liked how it tasted and that was the most important thing to me. He rolled his eyes and said I was wasting my money on it.

To me it was a ridiculous attitude to have. I made a choice to have a drink I enjoyed and because it was alcohol free it was stupid.

I think what I'm getting at, is the people in this country are so obsessed with alcohol, they will only drink to get drunk and taste isn't important where as my approach is, to drink something that I enjoy the taste of...

Sorry if I'm not getting my point across in the most coherent manner, but the more and more I think about it and more annoyed by the whole thing I am...

P.S It was an Alcohol Free Erdinger I was drinking today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

You were stupid if it's the same price as the alcoholic version.

Should have gotten water, TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭galwayjohn89

Sorry for the long thread title firstly...

So onto the topic at hand, Ireland and its attitude towards drink.

I went into town today with a mate, we went to a pub and set out in the sun and we grabbed a beer each.

I got an alcohol free beer, and my mate got an alcoholic beer. To which he turned to me and said

I told him I bought it because I liked how it tasted and that was the most important thing to me. He rolled his eyes and said I was wasting my money on it.

To me it was a ridiculous attitude to have. I made a choice to have a drink I enjoyed and because it was alcohol free it was stupid.

I think what I'm getting at, is the people in this country are so obsessed with alcohol, they will only drink to get drunk and taste isn't important where as my approach is, to drink something that I enjoy the taste of...

Sorry if I'm not getting my point across in the most coherent manner, but the more and more I think about it and more annoyed by the whole thing I am...

P.S It was an Alcohol Free Erdinger I was drinking today

How does you mates attitude = Ireland's attitude?

I know load who choose not to drink and it's fine and they get the odd slag which is normal because we slag over everything. It just your mates attitude

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Dry shíte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Your mate's a tw@t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Vuzuggu wrote: »
    How does you mates attitude = Ireland's attitude?

I know load who choose not to drink and it's fine and they get the odd slag which is normal because we slag over everything. It just your mates attitude

It's attitude shared by a lot of people...

I also have many friends who don't drink either.

I've also been to Oz and seen how we carry on over there too, we as a nation have a bad attitude towards drink, and when I say we I refer to the majority of Irish, I've seen and met...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Alcohol-free beer is like going down on your sister. It tastes the same, but deep down, you know it's wrong.

xzanti wrote:
    Dry shíte

Both those just back up my point

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Ye sound like great mates, why not sit down and crack open a few and sort this out man to man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Pottler wrote: »
    Alcohol-free beer is like going down on your sister. It tastes the same, but deep down, you know it's wrong.

You need to stop fantasizing about munching off your sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

where did this happen

Both those just back up my point

Glad we could be of service :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Jesus,Id murder a dozen pints of Kaliber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

OP agree completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Fair play for getting such a dramatic thread title out of what was a fairly unremarkable conversation.
    Sorry if I'm not getting my point across in the most coherent manner

It wasn't alcohol free at all was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Whats the point of drinking if your not going to get drunk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Had a similar experience when I was younger. Went out one night and I got an orange juice instead of a beer. When asked why I said I didnt feel like getting drunk. Not one person could understand why I was out if I didnt want to get drunk. They took turns calling me gay for the rest of the night on the back of it.

In all seriousness though.. beer or indeed any alcohol is an acquired taste so I can see how someone would raise an eyebrow to people enjoying the taste without the additional benefits.. i.e. the false sense of security and well being that comes along with it..

Would you have been privy to such ridicule from your comrade had you ordered a Club Orange?

You need to stop fantasizing about munching off your sister.
    Deep down, I know it's wrong:pac: Some hope, she's a beatch!

mackg wrote: »
    Fair play for getting such a dramatic thread title out of what was a fairly unremarkable conversation.

It wasn't alcohol free at all was it?

No it was alcohol free of that I'm certain...

Its a little dramatic, but this country has a serious issue with its attitude towards alcohol and its consumption, as can be seen even from some of the posts on this thread...

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Had a similar experience when I was younger. Went out one night and I got an orange juice instead of a beer. When asked why I said I didnt feel like getting drunk. Not one person could understand why I was out if I didnt want to get drunk. They took turns calling me gay for the rest of the night on the back of it.
    I have visions of a queue of lads, taking tickets, awaiting their turn. "Gay". Next...."Gay"..next...

xzanti wrote: »
    In all seriousness though.. beer or indeed any alcohol is an acquired taste so I can see how someone would raise an eyebrow to people enjoying the taste without the additional benefits.. i.e. the false sense of security and well being that comes along with it..

Would you have been privy to such ridicule from your comrade had you ordered a Club Orange?

Probably not if I got a juice, but I wanted an Erdinger because it tastes nice, but I prefer not to have alcohol as I don't like what it does to me, so I stay away from it

I have visions of a queue of lads, taking tickets, awaiting their turn. "Gay". Next...."Gay"..next...

Well one would have a go at me over it while everyone else nodded and chortled like morons, then every time I went to the bar someone would decide it was their turn to have a go and get some attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I don't think you were in town and I think your friend is imaginary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

I would have no problem drinking non alcoholic beer if driving or a lemonade or water for that matter
    I don't see the problem with the OP having a non alcoholic drink if it's his/her's desire

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

To be honest, I at think the issue is solely with your mate. I am against Pricing drink based on the alcohol content and his argument indirectly supports it. N/A beers do have a place and go ahead enjoy'em at your leisure.

The only thing I would speak up about when it comes to someone drinking is when they keep getting half pints. I'd ask them about it because it'll be cheaper to get a pint and drink it slower...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Beer tastes rank anyway so I don't see why you'd get an alcohol free one. If I'm drinking beer it's because I want to get drunk and for no other reason. Why didn't you just get coke? :L
    When I'm out with my friends I'll start off drinking alcohol until about 1 in the morning and then I start ordering water (to curb the hangover a bit.)
    The looks I get from the bar staff and the customers are priceless!

Probably not if I got a juice, but I wanted an Erdinger because it tastes nice, but I prefer not to have alcohol as I don't like what it does to me, so I stay away from it

Well there's your answer.. the issue is not our attitude towards alcohol it's our attitude towards non alcohol :)

Beer tastes rank anyway so I don't see why you'd get an alcohol free one. If I'm drinking beer it's because I want to get drunk and for no other reason. Why didn't you just get coke? :L
    When I'm out with my friends I'll start off drinking alcohol until about 1 in the morning and then I start ordering water (to curb the hangover a bit.)
    The looks I get from the bar staff and the customers are priceless!

Erdinger and Paulaner are both delicious beers, I'm not talking about that muck Budweiser or Heineken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

It's more of a reflection of your friends attitude on non-alcoholic beer. As you said, it would probably not of been an issue if you got a juice.

He might also have given out to you if you got diet coke, decaf coffee or imitation meat.

Nothing wrong with having a non alcoholic beer. The sole reason for drinking is supposedly to socialise. Fine to get drunk to do it but people draw the line at drinking a non alcoholic beer to do it ? I've often drank one just to avoid being asked why I'm not drinking seven hundred times a night. And even though the taste isnt what I'd call lovely I have acquired somewhat of a taste for it and associate that with being out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I don't think you were in town and I think your friend is imaginary.

If your imaginary friend is taking the piss you know you have problems.
    Its a little dramatic, but this country has a serious issue with its attitude towards alcohol and its consumption, as can be seen even from some of the posts on this thread...

Point is if you're looking for a "damning indictment of our attitude to drinking" you could have picked a more damning example as opposed to a fairly innocuous exchange between you and your friend eg. the amount of pissed mofo's in every A&E in the country on an average Saturday night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... I think what I'm getting at, is the people in this country are so obsessed with alcohol, they will only drink to get drunk and taste isn't important where as my approach is, to drink something that I enjoy the taste of ...
    I think you mean that some people in this country are obsessed with alcohol, either with consuming it or condemning people who drink outright. My own position is I wouldn't begrudge anyone the right to a few drinks if that's their inclination, but there is a group in Irish society, I'd estimate 5% of the drinking population, who unfortunately seem to have a damaging relationship with alcoholl. Maybe your friend is one of them. If it makes you that upset, change your friends.

BTW, your tipple of choice is not alcohol-free; it contains between 0.4% & 0.5% abv, just so you're aware if you get breathalysed

I'd say the real issue here is your attitude to your mates. If you want to drink p1ss, go ahead and sup it up. I drink precisely whatever I want to, nobodys calling me gay or forcing beer down my neck. If I want alcohol, I'll have it, if I don't, I don't and nobody will pass any remarks. Get over yourself.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Drugs are bad mkaaaay.

I'd say the real issue here is your attitude to your mates. If you want to drink p1ss, go ahead and sup it up. I drink precisely whatever I want to, nobodys calling me gay or forcing beer down my neck. If I want alcohol, I'll have it, if I don't, I don't and nobody will pass any remarks. Get over yourself.

Who are you talking to ?

mathepac wrote: »

BTW, your tipple of choice is not alcohol-free; it contains between 0.4% & 0.5% abv, just so you're aware if you get breathalysed

Yeah I know mate, I don't drive and I tend to have only 1 or 2 over the course of a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Erdinger and Paulaner are both delicious beers, I'm not talking about that muck Budweiser or Heineken

Oh sorry I didn't see that in your OP.
    -

All I ever see is people giving out about people getting drunk here on boards. Is it really that terrible? I've been in some awful states in my (short) time as a drinker and I haven't damaged myself or anyone else so far. There are very few people who end up in A&E because of alcohol in my experience. Those who do give everyone else a bad name. I enjoy being drunk immensely and yes I do need it for social situations, I'm not afraid to admit that. Alcohol makes things easier and less awkward on a night out. That's just my opinion but I really don't think our relationship with alcohol is that bad tbh :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Why should he have gotten water :eek: he has already said he likes the taste of it.

Oh sorry I didn't see that in your OP.
    -

All I ever see is people giving out about people getting drunk here on boards. Is it really that terrible? I've been in some awful states in my (short) time as a drinker and I haven't damaged myself or anyone else so far. There are very few people who end up in A&E because of alcohol in my experience. Those who do give everyone else a bad name. I enjoy being drunk immensely and yes I do need it for social situations, I'm not afraid to admit that. Alcohol makes things easier and less awkward on a night out. That's just my opinion but I really don't think our relationship with alcohol is that bad tbh :L

Go to Bondi Junction on a friday night, all day Saturday & Sunday and you'll see the Irish in Oz making a holy show of themselves.

Also in any nightclub on a Saturday night in this country your'll see pretty much the same thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Who are you talking to ?

don't be getting aggressive now lay of the kaliber.

OP are you teetotal?

No mate I'm not, why do you ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

No it was alcohol free of that I'm certain...

If there is anything worse than listening to a load of drunken yobs, it's listening to hysteria about the 'end of society' from somebody listening to the same yobs.
    Somebody can't see the point of paying for fake alcohol....get over it, the world isn't gonna end.

BTW I have tried non alcoholic beers because I drink for the taste and they are piss poor imitations. I'd rather drink water.

No mate I'm not, why do you ask?

Well your username and you said that you dont like the way you behave with alcohol.

Who are you talking to ?
    Mary Robinson. Who da fuc do you think I'm talking to?? The OP maybe??

Well your username and you said that you dont like the way you behave with alcohol.
    His user name is A_Sober_Paddy, ie, usually a reformed alcoholic.:) Scuses if I'm wrong Paddy, but I'm a bit sloshed at the mo, what with de drink and de saturday night and dat. Actually am as it goes, sort of crept up on me, Larry Murphy style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

woodoo wrote: »
    Why should he have gotten water :eek: he has already said he likes the taste of it.

OP should have gotten it because the price of a pint is usually really high.

If he likes non-alcoholic beer, get it in the supermarket. Water is free in pubs. a 500ml drink of alcohol is usually around at least 4 euro.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... usually a reformed alcoholic.:) ...
    Is that a bit like a reformed cancer patient, or a reformed manic depressive, or a reformed assault victim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

I think you're blowing this out of proportion op.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    If there is anything worse than listening to a load of drunken yobs, it's listening to hysteria about the 'end of society' from somebody listening to the same yobs.
    Somebody can't see the point of paying for fake alcohol....get over it, the world isn't gonna end.

BTW I have tried non alcoholic beers because I drink for the taste and they are piss poor imitations. I'd rather drink water.

I don't think the world is going to end.

My main issue was with my mate's reaction to me choosing an alcohol free beverage
    His user name is A_Sober_Paddy, ie, usually a reformed alcoholic.:) Scuses if I'm wrong Paddy, but I'm a bit sloshed at the mo, what with de drink and de saturday night and dat. Actually am as it goes, sort of crept up on me, Larry Murphy style.

Not a reformed alcoholic(we by Irish standards I was an normal drinker) but decided to pretty much give it up. I've drank a few times since making my decision to stop. Mind you, to only have 1.

I found that drinking was making me feel a bit depressed so since I've stopped I've been in a much better place.
    LaVail wrote: »
    I think you're blowing this out of proportion op.

I'm not blowing it out of proportion...

Just a few links

http://alcoholireland.ie/2011/alcoholic-liver-disease-rates-and-deaths-almost-treble/

http://www.irishhealth.com/article.html?id=6248

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/health/2012/0619/1224318189455.html

I'm not against people drinking, but I do have a problem with people been condescending towards me for not drinking...

Also have a problem with the lack of education young people get with regards the side effects of alcohol. Also the carry on of some people with drink in them is beyond ridiculous.