Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone know of an Irish doctor in Sydney?

• 31-07-2012 3:42am
    Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭

Hello all!

Can anyone recommend me an Irish Doctor around the CBD? Nothing wrong with me that I know of but I want to go just for a general check up.

Long story short, I just don't trust medical professionals here in Australia.. I have had bad experiences with Dentists (fillings falling out within a week and general rudeness) and staff in St Vincent's Hospital after a football incident (hairline fracture as opposed to badly bruised according to them!) and in general I just think they have a "laissez faire" attitude towards us wee Irish folk and can actually see a difference how I have been treated in both the Dentists and the Hospital.

That aside, 2 people in worked have been misdiagnosed in the Medical Centre across the road from me and another friend I play football with the same also happened. Pretty feckin worrying considering it is people's lives they are messing about with.

Looking for an Irish doctor who will get me a thorough once over (:eek:) and just put my mind at ease until I go home at Christmas and see my own doctor! Failing that, any decent doctors from the UK either I would consider.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=59643613

Remember this??

Cop on. You're there now and complaining.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭manlad

OP you sound like an idiot. You cant just generalize the whole Australian Medical system because of one or two bad experiences. You're in a different country deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

I find medical and dental to be of a much higher standard in Australia than in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Diddler82

manlad wrote: »
    OP you sound like an idiot. You cant just generalize the whole Australian Medical system because of one or two bad experiences. You're in a different country deal with it.

Its a 100% failure rate with both, 2 visits = 2 failures. My own experiences combined with the experiences of 3 other people (one of which had pneumonia misdiagnosed as 'bronchitis) has brought me to this point.

How does that amount to me being an idiot?

Regardless of this, you are just trolling so if you can't answer the initial question I have no interest in any response you can offer.

For anyone else who has anything pointless to offer: I didn't have to give a background story (I wish I didn't now!). I have been here close to 3 years, I love it here, have integrated well but for something like this after my own personal experiences I want the peace of mind or familiarity that can be probably offered by an Irish GP - I don't see what is wrong with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

In fairness I have to agree with the OP to some extent, although I don't know why he thinks an Irish doctor would be much better, there are Aussie doctors equally as good. There is a vast difference in the standard of medicine around this city though. I find that the doctors in a lot of the medical centres are pure shite.

My missus had a fall a while back and hurt her thumb, we went to 2 medical centres over 3 weeks and the doctors told her it was badly bruised take some pain killers and the swelling will subside. 3 weeks later, swelling was still there. We went to ER, broken thumb that needed k-wires.

I recently had some abdomen pains and went to see a doctor. Sent me for ultrasound and blood tests, then said ahh the ultrasound is pretty crap, you need an endoscopy. Went for an endoscopy, then the doctor said ahh no what you really need is a CT scan. I have had all 3 done and the conclusion was, yeah we don't know what is wrong with you. I went to see an allergy specialist for $50 and they told me to lay off gluten and wheat, haven't had stomach pain since.

They could have just sent me for a CT scan in the first place?. It was was only when they heard I didnt have medicare that I suddenly required all these procedures ($$$$)

OP, there is an Aussie doctor here who is awesome (Dr Andrew Patterson). This is about the only medical centre in the city worth talking about.

http://sanctuary.sanitarium.com.au/

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Cooperspale

Just wondering if the doctors were a bulk billing surgery/clinic or not.
    I have personally found the service to be better when it wasn't a bulk billing place. Bulk billers tend to like to push through the numbers for some reason plus they are always busy as lots of medicare card holders dont want or have the money upfront or want to wait for the rebate later.
    Also a recomendation from a pal/work mate is always good.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Diddler82 wrote: »
    Its a 100% failure rate with both, 2 visits = 2 failures. My own experiences combined with the experiences of 3 other people (one of which had pneumonia misdiagnosed as 'bronchitis) has brought me to this point.

And what about the positive experiences of other people? Did you canvass them as well or just look for negatives to suit your agenda?

Xavi6 wrote: »
    And what about the positive experiences of other people? Did you canvass them as well or just look for negatives to suit your agenda?

Funnily enough, the question I asked was can anyone recommend me a doctor in the CBD for a check up and the responses were all negative (coming from 3 Australian females aged between the age of 20 and 35)

If I don't get a response with an Irish doctor I will be going with Feelgood's advice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Pretty basic rule no personal abuse.

If the OP wants an Irish doctor that's his look out.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭manlad

With regards to it being classed as personal abuse I didn't call the OP an idiot, I insinuated that he sounded like one.

With regard to the OP's question, Im currently working as a ward clerk in a hospital in Melbourne and most of the doctors are Irish. Talking to most of them they will always say the healthcare is of a higher standard over here and the nobody is given less care because of their ethnic background.

You will find it hard to find an Irish GP as most Irish doctors seem to go straight to hospitals due to the wage rewards. I presume its the same situation in Sydney. You'd be best taking a walk around the wards and asking random doctors if they are Irish or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 YellowPencil

Funnily enough, the question I asked was can anyone recommend me a doctor in the CBD for a check up and the responses were all negative (coming from 3 Australian females aged between the age of 20 and 35)

If I don't get a response with an Irish doctor I will be going with Feelgood's advice though.

If Australians were giving you the same feedback, how do you work out that they had a special laissez faire attitude to the Irish?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

You will find it hard to find an Irish GP as most Irish doctors seem to go straight to hospitals due to the wage rewards. I presume its the same situation in Sydney. You'd be best taking a walk around the wards and asking random doctors if they are Irish or not.

I'll narrow it down a bit...there's an Irish Doctor working in The Sydney Private Hospital was chatting to him in the staff room a few months ago, OP why don't you book yourself in.

I agree with Cooperspale if you are walking in of the street to a medical centre that is 100% bulk billed and asking for next avaliable then you are going to get pretty average service.

Depending on the reason for the visit I use two local medical centres A & B

A. bulk billed show my card and nothing more to pay, the place is always packed. There are a couple of good Doctors at this centre but they are always booked out and I usually don't have 3 hrs to waste. I use this place for minor stuff (injections/Perscriptions) and take first cab of the rank.

B. Is pay $60 and get a rebate of $35.60, as you can imagine B is not as busy because it's not free but I find the doctors are far far better as because they rely on their client base returning rather than volume.

It's like McDonald's v Michelin rated Resturant, are you going get the best chefs working in Maccers?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

I just think they have a "laissez faire" attitude towards us wee Irish folk

I have seen Australian accused of many many things on this Forum, but accusing Australian Physicians of breaking the Hippocratic Oath is a brand new low.
    My Cudos to you Sir.

I for one second ManLad's "insinuation"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

With regards to it being classed as personal abuse I didn't call the OP an idiot, I insinuated that he sounded like one.
    Weasel words. Just leave it alone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭kdevitt

I'd agree with whats been said above about going to bulk billed places. The doctor my wife and kid go to in Cammeray doesn't bulk bill and is generally excellent (apart from the $1k blood test incident), she takes her time and doesn't rush her out.

When I see a doctor its usually in the CBD, and the closest crowd bulk bill and are chronic. I actually have been close to making an complaint about the guy because he's so bad but who needs the hassle!

Some useful info among all the keyboard warrior antics so thanks guys.

Although there are no Irish doctors by the sounds of things I am best to stay away from Bulk Billing Medical centres.

I probably should have just asked if there were any Irish doctors in Sydney [full stop].

Thanks Mandrake, no one had explained this to me (re Bulk Billing etc) as I am on a 457 I will be paying out of my own pocket regardless. Happy to go an see a slightly upmarket GP regardless of their nationality.

MOD - Please feel free to close if you wish.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

I use this place:

http://www.holdsworthhouse.com.au/medical-centre/ on Oxford Street.

Private. You pay up front. Good doctors.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Mod closed as per OP's request.

on a non-mod note - agree with Mandrake and feelgood about bulk-billing doctors