Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things culchies no nothing about.

• 31-07-2012 1:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭

1. Do you know the 5 lamps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

This is gonna end well anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

Spelling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The greasy slop that is known as coddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

hygiene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

How to pronounce Batter Burger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Riding for gear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

studiorat wrote: »
    1. Do you know the 5 lamps?

hang yer bollix off them

culchies know nothing about personal hygiene. once you leave dublin lynx becomes a big cat and not a deodorant/shower gel

and manners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Noisy neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I'd bet that they know that no and know are homonyms but not synonyms.

Foreplay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Fashion.

Eye brow studs and bleached blonde hair on lads is so (was it ever in style?)

Also, at gigs, you can always spot the culchie, he'll be the one in the cowboy straw hat and vest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

Driving east of the M50 (i.e anywhere around Dublin).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Define culchie.

Is someone born to culchie parents and brought up in, lets say Lucan, a culchie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

hang yer bollix off them

culchies know nothing about personal hygiene. once you leave dublin lynx becomes a big cat and not a deodorant/shower gel

and manners

What kind of a filthy sewer rat still uses Lynx?

Good quality heroin

The Dubs keep the best stuff for themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,038 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

places to go in Dublin besides Flannerys and Coppers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

IrishAm wrote: »
    Define culchie.

Is someone born to culchie parents and brought up in, lets say Lucan, a culchie?

Anywhere west of the M50 is bogland. Including Lucan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Define culchie.

To someone from the city centre, i'd say yes!

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Being so far up their own hole because they come from Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Things Dubs know nothing about - Culchies....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭thomasj

Ghandee wrote: »
    Fashion.

Eye brow studs and bleached blonde hair on lads is so (was it ever in style?)

Also, at gigs, you can always spot the culchie, he'll be the one in the cowboy straw hat and vest.

I would have agreed with that but the teddybear pyjama brigade came to mind

Talking with an American accent

There must a lot of Yanks around UCD

Like whatever OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Naming their daughters Kylie and Shania.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

why are culchie lads so aggressive. one walked into ME once in a club and expected me to apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I'm proud to be a culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,905 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

AEDIC wrote: »
    Being so far up their own hole because they come from Dublin?

Hmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Things Dubs no nothing about - Culchies....

As a culchie dub, I disagree.... :)

God these threads never end well...

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭jonnybangbang

Things Dubs no nothing about - Culchies....

Can we start a tread about this?

Anywhere west of the M50 is bogland. Including Lucan.

I agree. Born in James' to Dub parents.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Light pollution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Shagging non family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Marriage laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

I don't understand the divide to be honest.
    There's plenty of dubs with some weird chip on their shoulder about country folk, and then plenty of country folk who'll give you a hard time down the country because you're from Dublin...

The question should be - "What do idiots in general not understand?"

And a fair whack of you in here can answer that with first hand experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Can we start a tread about this?

The Boards.ie servers wouldn't be big enough to hold all the things that Dubs know nothing about. :D

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Talking with an American accent

There must a lot of Yanks around UCD

Like whatever OP

Most of them are farm dwellers embarrassed by their culchie roots. Cant pick up the Dub accent, so adopt an Orange county one instead.

Fools.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Polluted air and water.
    Smell of the Liffy.
    Heroin junkies asking for money at every corner.
    Pointless traffic jams.
    Being English/American.
    Knackers with umbrellas.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I agree. Born in James' to Dub parents.

:cool:

Wow, it's like you won some kind of lottery on that one.

What are the chances?

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Hmmmm

Perth W.A. via D15 - hmmmmm

Wow, it's like you won some kind of lottery on that one.

What are the chances?

Seven hundred million to one.

Legal gas piping......:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

How to inject heroin.

Yakult wrote: »
    Polluted air and water.
    Smell of the Liffy.
    Heroin junkies asking for money at every corner.
    Pointless traffic jams.
    Being English/American.
    Knackers with umbrellas.

You do know most culchies come to work/live/get educated in Dublin at one stage of their lives!

Cienciano wrote: »
    Shagging non family members.

Lapdancing/poledancing clubs that don't involve animals.

Dublin should become an independent state and throw off the shackles of culchie tyranny. Dublin generates 40% of the tax take.

We would be better off independent.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

thomasj wrote: »
    You do know most culchies come to work/live/get educated in Dublin at one stage of their lives!

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Public transport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Dublin>Culchieland.

No matter what way you spin it, this is a fact. It's why you all live here. More jobs, better infrastructure, nicer, more cultured people, better looking women. The list is endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensausage

going to concerts and stabbing each other
    buying/taking lots of heroin
    being on the dole for your entire adult life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,905 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

AEDIC wrote: »
    Perth W.A. via D15 - hmmmmm

I really don't want to have to explain the irony of your post to you. Please don't make me do it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

Well none of us know the economic secrets which make it financially viable to sell loi'ers at 5 for a pouuuuend (or whatever the current street value of loi'ers is in yewerr-ows).