Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gomel versus Liverpool, Europa League 3rd QF Round First Leg, 19:00, Setanta Sports 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sack Hodgson!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Skrtel was always losing that. Allamona (Sp?) is the best player on the pitch so far. Decent save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Shelvey for Henderson please.

Or Gerrard, or Spearing, all Cm's hvae been rubbish.

Defence is grand, but we get to midfield, and can't pass through, so we just hoof it down out of play.

Horrible shíte altogether.

I would say get spearing off because he is the most limited player of our 3 cm's on the pitch .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭doc_17

Reading the last few pages makes me happy I don't have Setanta!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭ciano1

Liverpool were more entertaining to watch under Hodgson at this stage of the season! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Skrtel outpaced, decent save from Jones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Could easily be 3-0 down :/

• Registered Users Posts: 845 ✭✭✭skydish79

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Shelvey for Henderson please.

Or Gerrard, or Spearing, all Cm's hvae been rubbish.

Defence is grand, but we get to midfield, and can't pass through, so we just hoof it down out of play.

Horrible shíte altogether.

Even our defence looks dodgy, gomel have had the better chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Sterling gave away ball far too easily there, and Skrtel caught badly for pace...Jones did well to save it.
    Worrying display so far.

I would say get spearing off because he is the most limited player of our 3 cm's on the pitch .

Cant be easy for the team to carry a passenger who plays in such a position. Need a good player for DM and Spearing isn't close to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Oh my God, that was ridiculous.

Unbelievable how poor this Liverpool team is looking.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Christ...the first half can't come quick enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

Brendan needs to tell them to keep hold of the round white thing

Dodgy defending

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

on another day pool would be 4 or 5 down already

definitely playing out like they'll grab a 1-0 win against the run of play - it always happens

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

How are Gomel not ahead?

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

gaelicred wrote: »
    Brendan needs to tell them to keep hold of the round white thing

Spearing's head???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

This last 20 minutes has been a shambles. Home team awful wasteful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Yakult wrote: »
    Cant be easy for the team to carry a passenger who plays in such a position. Need a good player for DM and Spearing isn't close to that.

Leave him till half time and get lucas on for him .

Spearing head???
    :D:D:D

Should be at least 2 down, this is terrible. Needs to be sorted at ht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Reading this thread makes me sad :(

Kinda glad I'm at work instead of watching the game, sounds horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Lol players standing static with ball at feet looking to pass.

It will get better, might take a few games but it will get better.

Christ, I'd almost managed to forget about Stewart Downing over the summer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭RayCon

Even the ref doesn't like Downing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Rodgers out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Knex. wrote: »
    Reading this thread makes me sad :(

Kinda glad I'm at work instead of watching the game, sounds horrific.

It's real bad, man. I was looking forward to this. It's just an awful game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

Spearing is breaking down so many moves. He's never been good enough, shouldn't be near first choice for any game.

Christ, I'd almost managed to forget about Stewart Downing over the summer :(
    I have nightmares about him when i watch Family Guy

What was Henderson booked for?

Thank ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Hard to believe Liverpool are still withing touching distance of Gomel, never mind level!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Fixing his hair way too much .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Ref didn't like his gormless expression

Whew, delighted to get to ht at 0-0. Hard to think of any positives from that 1st half, except somehow didn't concede.

Spearing and Downing aren't good enough at this level. It's pretty damning.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Shankly Gates

I sped home from work for this!?

We have a decent team out too. Hard to pinpoint exactly what the problem is. Everyone seems poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Leiva wrote: »
    Fixing his hair way too much .

If its not his hair its his shin guards and socks. Spends way too much time preening himself on the pitch that fella, probably has a stylist in the dressing room. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Joni23

I sped home from work for this!?

We have a decent team out too. Hard to pinpoint exactly what the problem is. Everyone seems poor.

You just have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Pretty sure that was the worst 45 minutes I've ever seen from a Liverpool team. One thing that has carried on from pre season is the horrifically slow tempo we are building up at. So little constructive movement and not the slightest hint of urgency.

Carra our best player by a mile (he made one good tackle).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Why isnt pacheco in the squad?

Im at work so Im missing this. Depressing reading on here but Rodgers needs time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

WOW @ the trailer for being liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

We were better in pre season

awful stuff

Gerrard and Johnson in particular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Twice Enrique got himself into good crossing positions in a good bit of room and tired these mad hacks type shots across the box instead of just crossing it. I would have thought he was on his wrong foot if I didn't know better. I shouldn't really be picking on him as he has been one of our better players in whats been an awful half of football from us. We should be a couple behind.

Was pleased to see Sterling move across to the left hand side towards the very end of the half. I know he's on his favoured foot when played on the right for crossing but in three years watching him play youth football I don't think he has played a single game other than on the left of a three. It just seems while introducing him into the first team the prudent thing would be to play him in the position he's obviously most comfortable with to start with.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭RayCon

El Spearo wrote: »

Nobody else find it horribly cringey ?

El Spearo wrote: »
    Looking forward to seeing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Don't really know what people were expecting, Liverpool have been very poor so far but it is going to take a while for them to get used to playing a new system, the players who were at the euros probably only have a few training sessions under their belt with the new manager. Has been grim watching in the first half but people saying we deserve to be 3-0 down are taking the p*ss in my opinion. I'm not going to read into the EL qualifying performances too much, providing we get the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

I just don't think we have the players to play Rogers "system" effectively which makes me wonder what the f**k we are doing in the transfer market and why the f**k our best ball playing centre half isn't even there.