Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Notorious Judge strikes again.

• 03-08-2012 8:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭

Remember thae Judge who said he would "Blow the head of any intruder" who entered his house, the same Judge who wants women victims of domestic violence prosecuted if the withdraw the charges against their husbands/partners, the judge who describes himself as "Dirty Harry", well in his latest fcuk up a convicted drug dealer (who had pleaded guilty!) has had his conviction quashed because of the Judges comments when sentencing him.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/man-wins-appeal-after-controversial-judge-comments-3188775.html

When oh when will get professionally trained Judges in the District Court instead of the politically appointed Gombeens we have now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

SocSocPol wrote: »
    When oh when will get professionally trained Judges in the District Court instead of the politically appointed Gombeens we have now?

When they can be held to account by the populace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

omahaid wrote: »
    When they can be held to account by the populace.
    Judges should be accountable to the law, not the populance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Remember thae Judge who said he would "Blow the head of any intruder" who entered his house, the same Judge who wants women victims of domestic violence prosecuted if the withdraw the charges against their husbands/partners, the judge who describes himself as "Dirty Harry", well in his latest fcuk up a convicted drug dealer (who had pleaded guilty!) has had his conviction quashed because of the Judges comments when sentencing him.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/man-wins-appeal-after-controversial-judge-comments-3188775.html

So would I.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

So would I.

Yes, but you're not supposed to unless your life is threatened. It's illegal. Therefore it shouldn't be endorsed by a f*cking judge.

token101 wrote: »
    Yes, but you're not supposed to unless your life is threatened. It's illegal. Therefore it shouldn't be endorsed by a f*cking judge.

How is anyone supposed to know if a dead burglar was being threatening or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

How is anyone supposed to know if a dead burglar was being threatening or not?

thats a fair point, just make sure to stick a knife or something in his hands afterwards so that his prints are all over it ;)

They discovered drugs paraphernalia, approximately eight bags of cannabis, a weighing scales, a notepad with a "tick" list and over €700 in cash in the house.

Menace II Society he is not.

Faolchu wrote: »
    thats a fair point, just make sure to stick a knife or something in his hands afterwards so that his prints are all over it ;)

A lot of these legal "provisos" just confuse the issue sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

Judges should be accountable to the law, not the populance

Our gombeen politicians are 'accountable' to the populace. So I'd imagine that we'd see an increase rather than a decrease in idiot judges if that became the case. Judge Fidelma Healy Eames anybody?

That said, we badly need judicial reform and judges to climb out of their ivory towers once in a while.

conorhal wrote: »
    Our gombeen politicians are 'accountable' to the populace. So I'd imagine that we'd see an increase rather than a decrease in idiot judges if that became the case. Judge Fidelma Healy Eames anybody?

That said, we badly need judicial reform and judges to climb out of their ivory towers once in a while.

Politicians will have to be accountable to the people who voted for them purely and simply on the basis of how their profession operates.

The same set of rules do not apply to the legal profession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Are they though, i mean look at this edgit with her car tax and her ripping of tradesmen and fare avoidance. Where is the accountability? Can we turn off her salary?

We dont seem to have recourse with the government and anything appears to fall on deaf ears until 4 years comes around.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

8 months for selling weed?

FatherLen wrote: »
    8 months for selling weed?
    Caught red handed, pleaded guilty, but thanks to a gombeenman Judge his conviction has been qushed!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Blow the head off home intruders... OK by me.

Bury (legally...) drug dealers... OK by me.

Take the head off drug dealers... OK by me.

I think the laws should be changed to accommodate this judges views and we'd have a better country for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

johngalway wrote: »

I think the laws should be changed to accommodate this judges views and we'd have a better country for it.

in the past few weeks we have seen , corruption, abuse of powers, and ridiculously harsh/lenient sentences from judges. and you want to give them more power?

Caught red handed, pleaded guilty, but thanks to a gombeenman Judge his conviction has been qushed!:mad:

Jaysus, if only he'd been caught red handed trying to rape someone, and then pleaded not guilty - he'd have gotten two months less.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Yeah all fine but he should be intelligent enough to keep his month shut.

FatherLen wrote: »
    in the past few weeks we have seen , corruption, abuse of powers, and ridiculously harsh/lenient sentences from judges. and you want to give them more power?

I find it strange how you quote me and go on to talk about nothing I've said.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Not the first time this has happened.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/man-gets-bail-after-judge-said-ill-spit-you-out-3093782.html

Seriously, is this man senile or just sad? Either way, his indiscretions are costing the state a fair chunk of change. And he comes across as proper mental in this case.

When judges play it by the book they are criticized.

When they don't they are criticized.

I'm not a huge fan of the legal profession but perhaps it's the law that's the problem and not the judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

my God :eek:

the offender was worse than Hitler

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

From the Indo

Mr Murphy was then freed from Loughan House open prison in Co Cavan, where he had been in custody for the past three-and-a-half months.
    (Considering what happened there before, he could have walked out anyway, or who is to say he was there in the first place :rolleyes:)

He also branded Tyrone people as "typically thick", but again was forced to make a public apology for the remark. (:) THAT ONE MADE ME SMILE)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

When judges play it by the book they are criticized.

When they don't they are criticized.

I'm not a huge fan of the legal profession but perhaps it's the law that's the problem and not the judges.

With all due respect, have you actually read the OP's article? How is that even vaguely acceptable for a Judge to say?

As another link showed, the Judge has some previous, disturbing form and a worrying superiority complex for a man in his position.
    In an affidavit, his solicitor Joseph Coonan said his client attended the sitting of the court before Judge MacBride. When the matter was called he addressed the court without realising he had one hand in his pocket.

He said that on seeing this, the judge said: "How dare you speak to me like that, have you anything to say for yourself." Mr Coonan did not know that the judge was referring to his hand being in his pocket.

The judge continued: "How dare you speak to me with your hand in your pocket? I'll hold you in contempt of court. I will rise for five minutes." The judge ordered a garda inspector to escort him into his chambers, where Mr Coonan said he apologised to the judge.

The judge, he said, replied: "I am a Donegal man and we don't suffer fools, there was another practitioner who spoke to me like that in Donegal and I put manners him and I am going to put manners on you too."

Mr Coonan was then escorted back to court. When Mr Gavin's case was called, gardai objected to bail.

When Mr Gavin was being sworn in, the judge stated: "I want an armed member of An Garda Siochana between me and the accused at all times and in future, Mr Coonan added.

Mr Gavin took the bible and held it with both hands to his forehead before taking the oath. Mr Coonan said other clients of his have done this as a gesture of solemnity.

He said the judge stated: "Do not desecrate the bible like that take the oath correctly," adding "you've no respect for religion or the court, I'll swallow you up and spit you out".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

wants women victims of domestic violence prosecuted if the withdraw the charges against their husbands/partners
    I'm going to assume that he also means male victims of domestic violence, in which case I think that a charge of wasting police time or something similar is appropriate.
    Having said that, it's plain that this judge is a dick.

mconigol wrote: »
    Yeah all fine but he should be intelligent enough to keep his month shut.

Well, maybe... I don't think insulting people like with the Tyrone comment is particularly helpful to anything. But, neither is being verbally hamstrung. I wouldn't agree with the situation where a drug dealer gets off because of comments a judge makes, after all the criminal pleaded guilty. It's my belief it is the law that is at fault here, and not the judge, which is why I said above the law needs to be changed.

How many threads on here give out about dealing, junkies and the associated crime because of drugs and addiction. I have no sympathy for people who engage in those activities.

Neither do I believe judges or the Gardai are infallible, but in the case of this particular judge I believe he's mostly right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

the same Judge who wants women victims of domestic violence prosecuted if the withdraw the charges against their husbands/partners,

Mud sticks

If you accuse your husband of being a wife beater, soon all the town knows and then you drop the charges and walk away

Dangerous

If there are charges then back them up in court, not leave it hanging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

So would I.

I don't think your threats of oral sex, no matter how poorly performed, will have the effect you're hoping for.

Heres a few more of this Gombeens stunts.
    Yawning in court:
    http://www.joe.ie/news-politics/current-affairs/disrespectful-yawner-thrown-out-of-dundalk-court-0019970-1

Women victims of domestic violence should be prosecuted(Judge MacBride advised that the Director of Public Prosecutions be asked to consider prosecuting women who drop charges of assault with wasting Garda time)
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0719/1224320380917.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Jaysus, if only he'd been caught red handed trying to rape someone, and then pleaded not guilty - he'd have gotten two months less.

Ahh no, that only applies to quality people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In it's ideal form, the penal system should aid the reform of people who break the law. In that way, society as a whole is improved.

Your solution - which is to just kill criminals - serves no purpose other than to sate your own blood lust. It also doesn't work - in the states in America where the death penalty exists, the crime rates are as high (and sometimes higher) than those which don't have it.

Any time there's a thread like this, there's the populist cry of "kill them all" as a solution to criminals in society, but in reality it's ill thought out and utterly pointless logic.

In it's ideal form, the penal system should aid the reform of people who break the law. In that way, society as a whole is improved.

Your solution - which is to just kill criminals - serves no purpose other than to sate your own blood lust. It also doesn't work - in the states in America where the death penalty exists, the crime rates are as high (and sometimes higher) than those which don't have it.

Any time there's a thread like this, there's the populist cry of "kill them all" as a solution to criminals in society, but in reality it's ill thought out and utterly pointless logic.

When you get around to creating your ideal society get back to me. Communism is another thing which works, "ideally".

Until then "ideals" don't stop criminals, only honest, law abiding people who aren't the problem to begin with.

Ireland has an impotent set of laws which regularly sees criminals convictions over turned, or freed early.

Oh and by the by, if you read the thread, you'll discover the "populist" thinking is that the "judge done bad".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

"He also branded Tyrone people as "typically thick", but again was forced to make a public apology for the remark."

Sounds all right by me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

"ideals" don't stop criminals

Killing a criminal might stop him committing any more crimes, but it fails to address the problem of crime itself. To do that, you must address the reasons behind why crime exists, have sufficient ways of dealing with crime when laws are broken and introduce ways to try to reform those who do break the law.

You can "pooh-pooh" this as being just ideological nonsense, but your alternative - which is to introduce more dranconian laws - is proven to have no effect. That is the reality.

And when reality fails to live up to the ideal which it hoped to create, then it really is time to try another solution.

What you are failing to acknowledge is that the notion of trying to stop crime by putting an end to the life of criminals is also another ideology, but it simply doesn't work, much in the same way that you say that communism doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

FHE is many things, but a judge is not one of them!!

Judges in general seem have have their own little world.

ideological nonsense

That's exactly what it is, the country we live in is far from perfect so legislating for an ideal world is as good as pissing in the ocean to put out a fire on land.

The liberal agenda of mollycoddling criminals has spectacularly failed in this country. It is time to change the game and bring in proper laws that go in favour of law abiding society so people don't have to be afraid in their own homes or walking through their own towns and cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

That's exactly what it is, the country we live in is far from perfect so legislating for an ideal world is as good as pissing in the ocean to put out a fire on land.

The liberal agenda [...]

Come on now, Rush, don't you have a radio show to be presenting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Yeah because weed is such a dangerous drug....

The liberal agenda of mollycoddling criminals has spectacularly failed in this country. It is time to change the game and bring in proper laws that go in favour of law abiding society so people don't have to be afraid in their own homes or walking through their own towns and cities.

Scandanavia = liberal modern reform dedicated system = low crime.
    US = hang em high = high crime.

I'd suggest we try the former.

Caliden wrote: »
    Yeah because weed is such a dangerous drug....

The crime is actually irrelevant. The fact is yer man the Judge is a liability as the crap he comes out with means people go free.

Nodin wrote: »
    Scandanavia = liberal modern reform dedicated system = low crime.
    US = hang em high = high crime.

I'd suggest we try the former.

Sure, let's have our own Andres Behring Breivik, who if proven sane will spend no more than 21 years in prison luxury accommodation with flat screen TV, sushi, people employed to play chess and sports with him, and over night visits should he want them. All at taxpayers expense.

That'll sure learn the hell out of him for being a naughty Scandanavian and murdering 77 people using guns and bombs.

God damn it, I mean it really must grate with some people that he wasn't one of those gun crazy, murdering scumbag yanks.

We should all be more Scandanavian, they have all the right answers :rolleyes:

The crime is actually irrelevant. The fact is yer man the Judge is a liability as the crap he comes out with means people go free.

The law disallowing him make some of the comments he's made is the liability.

So essentially you would prefer anarchy? Hmm nope, i will go with the Law myself, and if the law is to mean anything then those who dispense justice must act within the law and be answerable to the law.
    As for your earlier comments regarding Scandanavia , well apart from being infantile and innaccurate they also showed how litttle you actually know about penal policy both here and abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Lower court judges are just appointees, it's a nice way of rewarding your pals/family/loyal supporters. As you move up the legal tree, the standard improves, as do the intelligence levels. The level of "out of touchery" sadly, just gets greater. Personally, I have little time for the judiciary, I'd be fairly sure if I chose 1 random judge and decided to pull his life apart on a forensic level, I'd have enough to bury him within a few weeks.

There may be notable exceptions. Sadly, that's fairly true in many cases as you climb the greasy pole of power. If you are looking for paragons of virtue and intelligence, you may have to look elsewhere. The power afforded to a judge within his courtroom pretty much intoxicates and you get muscle flexing like the "how dare you speak to me like that". Judges are people, they're just inflated by the power they have over those unfortunate enough to appear before them. Also, as people, they all have flaws and weaknesses. Some just have a "way" with words.:)

Sure, let's (.......)right answers :rolleyes:

So you're saying that scandanavia does have lower crime stats, denying they have lower crime stats?

...or are you just doing the old 'biased sample' routine to cover the fact that the hang em high approach hasn't worked? Because whatever about having "all the right answers", clearly they've managed to come up with a lot more in regards to reducing crime than others so tasked.

O - and what were these choice nuggets of wisdom that you refer to?

So essentially you would prefer anarchy? Hmm nope, i will go with the Law myself, and if the law is to mean anything then those who dispense justice must act within the law and be answerable to the law.
    As for your earlier comments regarding Scandanavia , well apart from being infantile and innaccurate they also showed how litttle you actually know about penal policy both here and abroad.
    So you're saying that scandanavia does have lower crime stats, denying they have lower crime stats?

...or are you just doing the old 'biased sample' routine to cover the fact that the hang em high approach hasn't worked? Because whatever about having "all the right answers", clearly they've managed to come up with a lot more in regards to reducing crime than others so tasked.

O - and what were these choice nuggets of wisdom that you refer to?

Instead of tamely trying to insult me, you could actually read the thread. It contains the answers to the questions you've asked, for some reason you seem to have missed them.

But why let that spoil a good rant eh :)

..........It contains the answers to the questions you've asked, for some reason you seem to have missed them.

The only comments from the Judge that I see in this thread are of the reactionary, stupid and prejudicial kind. Thus I'm forced to ask what useful remarks hes prevented from making (according to you).

Instead of tamely trying to insult me, you could actually read the thread. It contains the answers to the questions you've asked, for some reason you seem to have missed them.

But why let that spoil a good rant eh :)
    Nothing I could say could be as insulting to you as the what you yourself have posted.
    The only one ranting, and inanely so, is yourself.

Asked & answered Nodin, you're being pedantic :) They're there, you can read them at your leisure.

On the other hand, if you're somehow attempting to twist my remarks then you won't see the answers I've given.

It's completely up to you whether you choose to read back or not.

Nothing I could say could be as insulting to you as the what you yourself have posted.
    The only one ranting, and inanely so, is yourself.

If you want to let my comments bother you, go for it. I stand by the comments I've made in this thread.

Our opinions differ, build a bridge there buddy :)

If you want to let my comments bother you, go for it. I stand by the comments I've made in this thread.

Our opinions differ, build a bridge there buddy

This nonsense? Dear o dear.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80050004&postcount=15

You seem to be confused over something else as well. The fact is that the Scandavians have a lower rate of crime, and run regimes with an emphasis on rehabilitation. Thats not an "opinion" or something that will change because it doesn't happen to be what someone wants to hear.