Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Jimmy Saville exposed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

I know this is a serious topic, but this made me laugh. God only knows how it made it on air - on the BBC too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Rascasse wrote: »
    The Sun have found video of a woman (she was 19) being groped live on air by Savile.

It's worth noting that in 1972 the BBC raised the minimum age for attending Top of the Pops to 16 (the age of consent in Britain). Only one reason for that as far as I can see....

Didn't take him long to blow his load. By then end of that video he couldn't even talk. Tracksuit pants must have ruined.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

^^^

:eek::eek::eek:

Is that why the camera zooms in on him straight away, I wonder...?

"Sh!t, he's at it again, camera 2 zoom, zoom!"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Now it looks like even the kiddy-fiddler church is gearing up to disown So Vile. The chief sky pilot in England and Wales has asked the big bosses in the Vatican to look into the possibility of stripping him of his Papal knighthood:;)

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/jimmy-savile/9636594/Jimmy-Savile-Catholic-Church-seeks-to-strip-star-of-Papal-knighthood.html

You couldn't make this stuff up!:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

You have to say it's one of the most evil things to happen in our time.

A man revered for helping children and raising money for charity, actually abusing all the children and getting way with it because the bigwigs told them to shut up/ they thought nobody would believe them.

That video of him molesting the 19 year old is so shocking and sickening, it's disgusting. You can tell it had become such a norm to him by then that he thought he could get away with anything.

It's others around him who normalised his behaviour. All at the BBC should be mortified with themselves. And the police.

A girl of 15 killed herself after being abused, naming her presenter abusers in her diary, yet the police said it was fantasy.

The lesson from this is don't turn a blind eye to things you see going on. Being a bystander and not taking action let's things keep happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Just spotted a headline saying that police are searching Savile's property in Glencoe which made me think.

Now, a wealthy person having several properties isn't unusual, but didn't he also have several council flats? I'm googling around and so far I've seen mention of him having council flats in Scarborough, Salford and London and supposedly shared his mother's council flat in Leeds. Given that he was famous, wealthy and had free digs in several hospitals and girl's homes and a caravan, how come councils all over England were handing him cheap (and from the looks of things, prime location) flats too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

“A bloke who’s a loner, dresses and acts like a nonce and thinks he is the most important person in the world.”

i do pray it's not the pope!:)

that would be bad

It's ok to post published news stories that name names, right?

John Simpson tried to out Larry the Lamb, was told to shush by BBC.

Jimmy Savile Sex Scandal: Was BBC's Larry the Lamb Derek McCulloch a Paedophile? [VIDEO]
    By DOMINIC GOVER: Subscribe to Dominic's RSS feed
    October 17, 2012 6:12 PM GMT

Uncle Mac: Derek McCulloch
    News veteran John Simpson has claimed that the BBC gagged him when he tried to expose the behaviour of an unnamed children's radio presenter who fits the profile of corporation legend Derek McCulloch.

Simpson spoke in thinly veiled terms about a sex abuser he called "Uncle Dick", who was famous as a children's radio entertainer from the 1930s to the 60s. Simpson told The Sun that the abuser was one of the BBC's biggest names from the 1920s until his death in 1967.

McCulloch is best remembered as "Uncle Mac" in BBC Radio's immensely popular Children's Favouriites and Children's Hour and for playing the Larry the Lamb character in Toytown.

His sign-off line, "Goodnight children, everywhere", was heard by four million youngsters who tuned in to every show.

Distinguished foreign correspondent Simpson said: "Week after week, children from all over the country would win competitions to visit the BBC and meet Uncle Dick.

Follow us

"He would welcome them, show them around, give them lunch, then take them to the gents and interfere with them," claimed Simpson in his book Strange Places, Questionable People.

"If parents complained, the director general's office would write saying the nation wouldn't understand such an accusation against a much-loved figure."

Simpson said he uncovered the allegations while researching the presenter's obituary in 1967. He said an unnamed woman branded the man believed to be McCulloch "an evil old bastard".

"I hope he died in agony," she added.

IBTimes UK contacted the BBC and asked if McCulloch's activities were under investigation as part of two investigations into sex abuse at the BBC unveiled by current director general George Entwistle.

A spokesman said: "The information will be shared with the BBC investigations unit and the police and we will look into these allegations as part of the Jimmy Savile review."

Simpson's agency Kruger Cowne said: "He [Simpson] is in Afghanistan. He is not prepared to comment."

McCulloch was so popular during his time at the BBC that members of the royal family would be taken on studio tours by him.

McCulloch was rewarded for his work with an OBE in 1964.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Aidric wrote: »
    Didn't take him long to blow his load. By then end of that video he couldn't even talk. Tracksuit pants must have ruined.

Ah here ffs:eek:
    He is practically swinging out of her crotch!!
    How the fcuk did he not get the sack after that?:eek:

I'd have decked the twat, live telly or no live telly. Scumbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

The dirty little bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Gary Glitter nicked this morning, surprising no one.

Something I read in a Guardian article yesterday shocked me;
    Paedophilia became a subject of national concern in the 1970s as it emerged as a civil rights issue. In 1974, paedophiles set up the Paedophile Information Exchange to lobby for the abolition of the age of consent and to oppose the banning of child pornography. The group operated openly until 1978 when the police arrested and charged some of its members.

That sounds like something out of Brass Eye yet completely true! PIE really existed and publicly lobbied for removal of the age of consent in the 70's.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paedophile_Information_Exchange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

It's ok to post published news stories that name names, right?

John Simpson tried to out Larry the Lamb, was told to shush by BBC.

link not working

My apologies, here's the full link: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/articles/395372/20121017/deerek-mccolloch-uncle-mac-dick-john-simpson.htm

and the text.

Jimmy Savile Sex Scandal: Was BBC's Larry the Lamb Derek McCulloch a Paedophile? [VIDEO]
    By DOMINIC GOVER: Subscribe to Dominic's RSS feed
    October 17, 2012 6:12 PM GMT

Uncle Mac: Derek McCulloch
    News veteran John Simpson has claimed that the BBC gagged him when he tried to expose the behaviour of an unnamed children's radio presenter who fits the profile of corporation legend Derek McCulloch.

Simpson spoke in thinly veiled terms about a sex abuser he called "Uncle Dick", who was famous as a children's radio entertainer from the 1930s to the 60s. Simpson told The Sun that the abuser was one of the BBC's biggest names from the 1920s until his death in 1967.

McCulloch is best remembered as "Uncle Mac" in BBC Radio's immensely popular Children's Favouriites and Children's Hour and for playing the Larry the Lamb character in Toytown.

His sign-off line, "Goodnight children, everywhere", was heard by four million youngsters who tuned in to every show.

Distinguished foreign correspondent Simpson said: "Week after week, children from all over the country would win competitions to visit the BBC and meet Uncle Dick.

"He would welcome them, show them around, give them lunch, then take them to the gents and interfere with them," claimed Simpson in his book Strange Places, Questionable People.

"If parents complained, the director general's office would write saying the nation wouldn't understand such an accusation against a much-loved figure."

Simpson said he uncovered the allegations while researching the presenter's obituary in 1967. He said an unnamed woman branded the man believed to be McCulloch "an evil old bastard".

"I hope he died in agony," she added.

IBTimes UK contacted the BBC and asked if McCulloch's activities were under investigation as part of two investigations into sex abuse at the BBC unveiled by current director general George Entwistle.

A spokesman said: "The information will be shared with the BBC investigations unit and the police and we will look into these allegations as part of the Jimmy Savile review."

Simpson's agency Kruger Cowne said: "He [Simpson] is in Afghanistan. He is not prepared to comment."

McCulloch was so popular during his time at the BBC that members of the royal family would be taken on studio tours by him.

McCulloch was rewarded for his work with an OBE in 1964.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Here's the best article about the whole thing. Nearly 8,000 words but a brilliant dissection of the culture that created Savile and his peers:

http://www.lrb.co.uk/2012/10/27/andrew-ohagan/light-entertainment

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

pauldla wrote: »
    ^^^

:eek::eek::eek:

Is that why the camera zooms in on him straight away, I wonder...?

"Sh!t, he's at it again, camera 2 zoom, zoom!"

I doubt it, that's just the cameraman seeing someone act erratically and zooming in to get her out of the frame.

As for this whole story, I get the feeling this thing is about to explode any day now, I'm usually not one for conspiracy theories but there is no way Savile got away with this for so long without very powerful and influential friends. I think this goes all the way to the government. I hope there is a lot of grainy old men sitting sweating as they wait for a slice of justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

karma_ wrote: »
    I hope there is a lot of grainy old men sitting sweating as they wait for a slice of justice.

majority are dead now i reckon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Are the BBC doing anything about this? They haven't issued an apology have they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Gary Glitter has been arrested in connection with Jimmy Savile.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭King Of Wishful Thinking

Some interesting comments from Status Quo guitarist, Rick Parfitt who played TOTP 108 times:
    "There were loads of little birds about at Top of the Pops, of course there were. What used to happen upstairs in the upper echelons where Savile and the other DJs were – well, I never, ever knew where their dressing rooms were.”

He doesn’t stop talking, Parfitt – you’d think he was still on cocaine, although he says the last time he took it was eight or nine years ago, “with my ex-partner, at our place in Teddington, I think, or at a restaurant”. Anyway, on he goes about the Top of the Pops years, which makes for uncomfortable reading, even though he says that all the girls were 17 or 18.

“I think that anybody would be forgiven around that time if you’ve got a girl in the corner – everybody was doing that. There were loads of girls, and they were willing. They were all coming into the dressing room – you’re walking into a rock band’s dressing room with a skirt up to your chin. Everybody was messing about. Of course we were. Everybody was groping everybody – that was it at Top of the Pops, everybody was at it.”

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭AlarmBelle

Here's the best article about the whole thing. Nearly 8,000 words but a brilliant dissection of the culture that created Savile and his peers:

that link will not work for me?

Link not working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Funnily enough, was just watching an old episode of Nevermind The Buzzcocks from the Mark Lamarr years, and there were a couple of jokes about Jimmy Saville on it that sound weirdly knowing now. I'm sure the guys on that show hadn't a clue, but it's just funny looking at it now.

AlarmBelle wrote: »
    that link will not work for me?
    Hootanany wrote: »
    Link not working.

Link working for me. I think the LRB was down.

What's the LRB.:confused:

The name of the website the article's published on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭AlarmBelle

works now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Chuckled at this.
    I met Dan Davies, Savile’s biographer, when he was deputy editor of Esquire and was writing his book. He always said the story was seedy and strange and that when the book was published he would call it ‘Apocalypse Now Then’.
    http://media.lrb.co.uk/2012-10-27-andrew-ohagan-light-entertainment.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Funnily enough, was just watching an old episode of Nevermind The Buzzcocks from the Mark Lamarr years, and there were a couple of jokes about Jimmy Saville on it that sound weirdly knowing now. I'm sure the guys on that show hadn't a clue, but it's just funny looking at it now.

How are you sure they hadn't a clue? :confused:

Sadowitz spoke about what Savile got up to on his shows in 1987.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    How are you sure they hadn't a clue? :confused:

Sadowitz spoke about what Savile got up to on his shows in 1987.

Well there weren't any explicit 'Jimmy Saville may be a paedophile and nobody has found out yet' jokes. There were just a couple of light-hearted jabs and it just sounds funny given what we know now. Jokes that may have meant nothing can just take on new meaning in light of stuff like this, doesn't mean that any of the people making the jokes at the time were in on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 144 ✭✭3GAINSBOROUGH

Jimmy Saville got away with being a paedophile for so long for the the following 2 reasons:
    1. He was a personal friend of Margaret Thatcher.
    2. He was a Freemason.
    In the fullness of time, this will be exposed fully. His large donations to the Freemasonary and Conservative Party were like an insurance policy. Connections that kept him above the law.

Well there weren't any explicit 'Jimmy Saville may be a paedophile and nobody has found out yet' jokes. There were just a couple of light-hearted jabs and it just sounds funny given what we know now. Jokes that may have meant nothing can just take on new meaning in light of stuff like this, doesn't mean that any of the people making the jokes at the time were in on it.

Yes there was, these stories were always going around, especially in regards to Savile + necrophilia. There's plenty of documented comments and insinuations to show that this stuff was common knowledge.

You've now seen it in his own writings and heard it from his own mouth and seen it in footage of him.

You've seen many many people come out and say that they heard and witnessed stuff. They couldn't accuse him outright for fear of their jobs and litigation. They went on to hint at his character in their works.

It's now clear that his proclivities were an open secret, which explains why Jerry Sadowitz's set, the Spitting Image skits, the Irvine Welsh satires, David Icke's rants, the faked HIGNFY script etc all exist. It might all seem strange and new to folk that were fans of Saint Sir Jimmy but you can't possibly look back at that stuff and say that it was all circumstantial "jabs". These same people are coming out in droves to say "common rumour, open secret" In retrospect it actually looks more like people in the know were trying to warn us than make silly, outrageous jabs at an innocent, eccentric character.

Especially with Jerry Sadowitz. He did explicitly call Savile a paeophile.

Children in Need have now said that they deliberately distanced themselves themselves from Savile because of those rumours. Children in Need has been a massive vehicle for BBC celebs and they distanced themselves from Savile when he was one of the biggest BBC celebs and yet they took anyone who could spare an hour. That is particularly telling.

One more thing:
    Jokes that may have meant nothing can just take on new meaning in light of stuff like this, doesn't mean that any of the people making the jokes at the time were in on it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxy1Lyw7U20

This clip has certainly taken on new meaning. I think we (society) took the wrong meaning (ie, this is innocent) view of it in the first place.

You can cast around all you want but most of the people of the time who were actually there are saying it was real and I'll take their actual experiences over your theories.

Yes there was, these stories were always going around, especially in regards to Savile + necrophilia. There's plenty of documented comments and insinuations to show that this stuff was common knowledge.

You've now seen it in his own writings and heard it from his own mouth and seen it in footage of him.

You've seen many many people come out and say that they heard and witnessed stuff. They couldn't accuse him outright for fear of their jobs and litigation. They went on to hint at his character in their works.

It's now clear that his proclivities were an open secret, which explains why Jerry Sadowitz's set, the Spitting Image skits, the Irvine Welsh satires, David Icke's rants, the faked HIGNFY script etc all exist. It might all seem strange and new to folk that were fans of Saint Sir Jimmy but you can't possibly look back at that stuff and say that it was all circumstantial "jabs". These same people are coming out in droves to say "common rumour, open secret" In retrospect it actually looks more like people in the know were trying to warn us than make silly, outrageous jabs at an innocent, eccentric character.

Especially with Jerry Sadowitz. He did explicitly call Savile a paeophile.

Children in Need have now said that they deliberately distanced themselves themselves from Savile because of those rumours. Children in Need has been a massive vehicle for BBC celebs and they distanced themselves from Savile when he was one of the biggest BBC celebs and yet they took anyone who could spare an hour. That is particularly telling.

One more thing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxy1Lyw7U20

This clip has certainly taken on new meaning. I think we (society) took the wrong meaning (ie, this is innocent) view of it in the first place.

You can cast around all you want but most of the people of the time who were actually there are saying it was real and I'll take their actual experiences over your theories.

Necrophilia?? :confused:

I was talking about an episode of Nevermind The Buzzcocks that I watched where there were a couple of jokes about Saville and was just saying that while it was strange to watch it back knowing what we know now, that I doubted Mark Lamarr and Bill Bailey, etc. were fully aware of what was going on or were in on the covering up of paedophilia.

I'm not saying that it wasn't real or that Saville didn't do any of the things he's been accused of, I'm simply referencing one episode of a BBC show that I watched where a couple of jokes have taken on new meaning, but that I didn't think that the people saying it at the time were fully aware of how much truth there may have been in what they were saying. They may have just thought he was a bit of a creep without knowing the full details, which I'm sure a lot of people thought at the time.

I did, however, see another episode with Tony Wilson where he made a dig at Saville which may well have had more to it.

Necrophilia?? :confused:

Sadly, yes. The necrophilia jags and accusations span back decades, long before he was dead, and even before his mother was dead. This is nothing new.

I'm not saying that it wasn't real or that Saville didn't do any of the things he's been accused of, I'm simply referencing one episode of a BBC show that I watched where a couple of jokes have taken on new meaning, but that I didn't think that the people saying it at the time were fully aware of how much truth there may have been in what they were saying..

Fair enough, but my point was that if you read through all of the evidence from now and from way back then this was all a very open secret in showbiz. I don't believe that all those jokes were made in all innocence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Or that was created by Savile and his peers?

Spread wrote: »
    Or that was created by Savile and his peers?

True, I should qualify: created the culture that enabled them to act as they did.

Fair enough, but my point was that if you read through all of the evidence from now and from way back then this was all a very open secret in showbiz. I don't believe that all those jokes were made in all innocence.

It may not have been in complete innocence. However, I'm sure there were people who just thought he was a bit creepy without knowing exactly what he was up to back in the day. There was a pervy vibe off him anyway without even knowing the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Why did Ken Clarke, as justice minister, halve sentences of ­paedophiles last year in a controversial announcement?

Why indeed? Worried about some mates, was he?

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

Has anyone heard the bbc radio ulster youtube clip? the lady reads out a "joke" by mistake. It's actually hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well these rumours where going around for years. If there is truth to these rumours I wonder will there be any truth to the rumours of the peadophile ring consisting of mps and other celebrities.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Well these rumours where going around for years. If there is truth to these rumours I wonder will there be any truth to the rumours of the peadophile ring consisting of mps and other celebrities.

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Has anyone heard the bbc radio ulster youtube clip? the lady reads out a "joke" by mistake. It's actually hilarious.

..for anyone curious.

Zebra3 wrote: »

Why indeed? Worried about some mates, was he?
    or worried about himself even
    ken clarke seems to be in the news atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Astonishing article that suggests that journalists knew exactly the depths of Savile's depravity many, many years ago.

http://www.vice.com/en_uk/read/good-morning-sinners-warren-ellis-jimmy-savile-and-the-price-of-silence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,310 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

It may not have been in complete innocence. However, I'm sure there were people who just thought he was a bit creepy without knowing exactly what he was up to back in the day. There was a pervy vibe off him anyway without even knowing the details.

I think thats the case for a lot of people. If you look at the clip the Sun posted of him 'groping' a girl on TOTP, its not unrealistic to think that people thought he was just a pervy creep that pinched the odd arse (that girl was 19). That's a world away from someone who preyed on vulnerable girls to perform sex acts with him and his buddies

Ian Hislop explained it well on the recent 'Have i got news for you' when he said people claiming that everyone 'knew' what he was up to was wrong. Sure they may have suspected him but not many actually 'knew' exactly what he was doing.

I've no doubt some did, but I don't think its fair to say 'everyone' did (even if they thought he was a creep)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Duck Soup wrote: »
    Astonishing article that suggests that journalists knew exactly the depths of Savile's depravity many, many years ago.

http://www.vice.com/en_uk/read/good-morning-sinners-warren-ellis-jimmy-savile-and-the-price-of-silence

for a half remembered drunken conversation sometime in the 1990's, the guy remembers it with extreme clarity. Smells like bull**** to me, that story anyway, god knows about the actual accusations of necrophilia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Necro-nonce. :eek::eek:

the inactivity or silence of police,politicians and mainstream press seems weird

-like a conspiracy even

was anyone arrested besides gary glitter(again)