Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Motors Evening Meet - 15/08/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Antares wrote: »
    Why is your name not on the list?

Because I don't live in Dublin or near it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Sure it's less than two hours up from Tip.
    If the lads from Gorey can do it then so can you.

CianRyan wrote: »

I know what you mean but I work 9 - 5:30 Monday to Friday, fvcked if I'm driving to Dublin at that hour of the evening :P

Ah yeah, that's fair enough.
    If I was working I'd probably struggle to make the twenty minute trip in. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I know what you mean but I work 9 - 5:30 Monday to Friday, fvcked if I'm driving to Dublin at that hour of the evening :P

Same as tbh and be lucky to be home before midnight, too much hassle really, an evening meet is really only suitable for people living nearby

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Same as tbh and be lucky to be home before midnight, too much hassle really, an evening meet is really only suitable for people living nearby

Exactly, which is why there will hopefully be a Munster meet for the likes of me :)

Although if I wasn't working on Wednesday or Thursday I would go to it but I am working so I can't.

Munster/midlands suit me fine, but actually having to go in past the M50 and all that comes with it is too much hassle for a non dub for an evening meet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Part timer. I'm even breaking from the border for it !

How is 9 to 5:30 monday to friday part time?! :pac:

Real men work 6am to 7pm Sunday to Saturday. :D

Nah, fair dues. :)

Real men work 6am to 7pm Sunday to Saturday. :D

Nah, fair dues. :)

Mmm higher tax bracket :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Exactly, which is why there will hopefully be a Munster meet for the likes of me :)

Although if I wasn't working on Wednesday or Thursday I would go to it but I am working so I can't.
    Munster/midlands suit me fine, but actually having to go in past the M50 and all that comes with it is too much hassle for a non dub for an evening meet

I'm happy to move to the other end of the Phoenix Park to make it easier for you guys!

Mmm higher tax bracket :pac:

My nett pay is probably better than his gross at that rate :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

i dont know much about driving routes in Ireland, but its practically motorway door to door from Gorey to the Phoenix Park bar the end stretch, maybe its a messy route from Tipp.

andyseadog wrote: »
    i dont know much about driving routes in Ireland, but its practically motorway door to door from Gorey to the Phoenix Park bar the end stretch, maybe its a messy route from Tipp.

Even the end stretch is dual carriage way with about 400m of city driving. Haha
    Edit: Just remembered you have to head up the quays so that adds a bit, still not a lot though.

I'm just presuming you can join the Cork road handy enough but I guess I could be wrong.
    I always remember stopping in Josephine's on the way down to Cork as a young one and that always seems a handy enough drive.

andyseadog wrote: »

It's motorway all the way from Thurles then the N7 into Newlands cross. I don't know Dublin that well though, inly know how to get from there to Trinity and around that area and the airport and Belfast.

Is the meet at the Chapelizod end of Phoenix park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Sh1t.

My chances of making this are rapidly decreasing. Work put me on te evening shift from 12.30-9pm that day as one guy is out sick. Unless someone can cover me the Alfa won't be there.

166man wrote: »
    the Alfa won't be there.

Did you really think that it would be there despite your work situation? :D :pac:

It's just off the central roundabout so any entrance would do really.

Right, to confirm it,
    Any one that needs directions/would like to convoy, we're meeting at the Red Cow Luas Stop at 6:15 and leaving there at 6:30.

Looking forward to this now, just hope the weather's not to bad. :)

Sounds like a plan! :D

Can someone link to a Google Maps of the exact location?

Looking at it here and don't see any parking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Tallon wrote: »
    Can someone link to a Google Maps of the exact location?

Looking at it here and don't see any parking

http://maps.google.ie/?ll=53.356968,-6.327932&spn=0.001649,0.004592&t=h&z=18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Tallon wrote: »
    Will those gates stay open?

I ****ing hope so!! :D

I was in there at about 3am once, does it usually close?

I was in there at about 3am once.........

Go on ! :)

Go on ! :)

Me and my mates use to drive around town laughing at people coming out of clubs, watching scraps, that sort of thing.
    One night we decided to have a look in the park, drove up to the first round about from Parkgate Street and turned around... Very uneventful, sorry. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Me and my mates use to drive around town laughing at people coming out of clubs, watching scraps, that sort of thing.

me and a few of my friends used to do this, we were a bit like the inbetweeners in my micra.

one night we seen a lad thumbing a lift outside a take away so we pulled up beside him and opened the door and sped off when he got close (you know that old trick). we dont this several times until he was foaming at the mouth with rage.

he was shouting a bit so we drove around the block to let him simmer, then we came back up the road (one way street) towards the take away and here he is standing in the middle of the road! so i beep him to move and he starts charging at the car! so i put the car in reverse and foot to the floor.

picture the scene 3 big lads in a micra flat out in reverse the wrong way up a one way street with a drunk fecker chasing the car. eventually i got enough ground on him to swing the car around and drive away, we all had a right chuckle and thought we'd heard the last of him.

so we spent the rest of the night driving around thinking no more of it really until i stop at a junction maybe 500 meters from the take away, c**t jumps out from behind a roadside flower bed kicks the rear corner panel and ****ing legs it off into the night. caused around €350 worth of damage if i remember rightly.

funny to look back on now :) we were assholes.

Hahaha, excellent story.
    We were in my mates Corsa and as much as we tried to antagonise drunks we never quite got that kind of reaction.

One night though I had the great idea of plugging a mic into one of these and plug that into the Aux jack, he also had quite a powerful stereo set up so we spent the night driving around the city pretending to be Garda and scaring the ****e out of people.

Simpler times... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

I used to just go drinking and looking for girls when I was younger...

Who am I kidding, that's what I still do! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

wrote:
    MCMLXXV - Pontiac Firebird Trans Am
    gollywog - vw golf gti "pink edition"
    Subway - e39 m5
    Alanstrainor - 325ci
    ConzyMaher - 325i
    166man- Alfa 159 SW (with red brake callipers)
    Tallon - Lexus IS200
    OSI - Golf GTI "Proper colour edition"
    Veloce- Alfa GT Monza
    Antares - Avensis? *May be attached to back of another vehicle.
    Daved_XB - A V8 of some description, depends on the weather (prov)
    CianRyan and Midnight_EG - Honda Civic.
    Ugglasdav- Rover P6 3500(yellow submarine)
    tuborg_man- bmw 525
    Drummerboy08 - Golf GTI (I think?)
    Jenizzle - Mazda RX8

Where'd my name go?? :(:(

Subway - e39 m5
    Alanstrainor - 325ci
    ConzyMaher - 325i
    Tallon - Lexus IS200
    Veloce- Alfa GT Monza
    tuborg_man- bmw 525
    Jenizzle - Mazda RX8
    Thatnastyboy - Surf "dirty edition"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Suppose I should actually add myself to the list.

Subway - e39 m5
    Alanstrainor - 325ci
    ConzyMaher - 325i
    Tallon - Lexus IS200
    Veloce- Alfa GT Monza
    tuborg_man- bmw 525
    Jenizzle - Mazda RX8
    Ded_Zebra - Toyota Levin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭lazy-biker

as a long time lurker i think i may come along and enjoy my only day off work

Subway - e39 m5
    Alanstrainor - 325ci
    ConzyMaher - 325i
    Tallon - Lexus IS200
    Veloce- Alfa GT Monza
    tuborg_man- bmw 525
    Jenizzle - Mazda RX8
    Ded_Zebra - Toyota Levin
    lazy-biker - toyota camry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Some turnout so far lads, SWEEET!!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I'll try make it. It's weather dependant! If so:

Mini 1275GT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Veloce wrote: »
    Some turnout so far lads, SWEEET!!

Ya its great! Cannot wait now, just booked the night off work today aswell so its all systems go! :)

antodeco wrote: »
    I'll try make it. It's weather dependant! If so:

Mini 1275GT

Subway - e39 m5
    Alanstrainor - 325ci
    ConzyMaher - 325i
    Tallon - Lexus IS200
    Veloce- Alfa GT Monza
    tuborg_man- bmw 525
    Jenizzle - Mazda RX8
    Ded_Zebra - Toyota Levin
    lazy-biker - toyota camry
    antodeco - Mini 1275GT

I'll be driving into work every day this week...which means parking under a tree...my car will be in a state even by Wed!

And for that you shall be abused and tormented :)

It's true though, birds of the feathered variety hate BMW's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

This is shaping up to be a great gig lads! :)

Hope the ice-cream man is there coz I won't have time for dinner. :D

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

You gonna make the spin up MM? You'd be up in an hour? Its a serious opportunity to show the car to some prospective buyers :pac: have you considered car sales as a career? :D

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    This is shaping up to be a great gig lads! :)

Hope the ice-cream man is there coz I won't have time for dinner. :D
    Not to be the bearer of bad news but we're looking at a very wet day Wednesday.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

I have underground parking, not sure if we'd squeeze 16 in..

Is there a decent multistory in the vicinity incase it is raining cats and dogs?

conzymaher wrote: »

Is there a decent multistory in the vicinity incase it is raining cats and dogs?
    Blanch Shopping Centre is down the road. Fine multistory there that should be fairly empty at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Hope not, I havent a hope of fitting into a multistory :eek: :pac:

You gonna make the spin up MM? You'd be up in an hour? Its a serious opportunity to show the car to some prospective buyers :pac: have you considered car sales as a career? :D

He would be more than 2h coming up in fairness, probably be quicker where im at than Thurles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

I'm still a maybe on this, I'll definitely know by tomorrow..