Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name one good actor who hasnt been in a bad movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Was about to post Bill Murray, had a quick check on IMDB to jog my memory... feckin Garfield staring right at me.

Think theres even a line in Zombieland about it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

or even Goldie Hawn?

As someone else said, its all subjective. Maybe we need to define "bad".

What "bad" movies did Goldie Hawn do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Easy Rod wrote: »
    Was about to post Bill Murray, had a quick check on IMDB to jog my memory... feckin Garfield staring right at me.

Think theres even a line in Zombieland about it! :D

Voice over doesnt count ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

syklops wrote: »

Overboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Not again........!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Bird on a wire, the first wives club, house sitter, overboard, the banger sisters.
    She's probably been in more bad movies than good

:pac::pac: I actually enjoyed that when it was released havent seen it in years though, it was good for what it was.

Another I like is Kurt Russell yeh hes made some seriousl cheesy films, proper 80,s fest but I love them kind of films, I even enjoyed Soldier and thought he was brilliant in Death Proof

Overboard was good too!
    cynder wrote: »
    Helen miren

She was in that Russell Brand Arthur remake though

al28283 wrote: »
    Bird on a wire, the first wives club, house sitter, overboard, the banger sisters.

Her daughter aint much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

pookiesboo wrote: »
    You know bad as in sh1te?! Like De Niro would be considered a great actor but hes been in some dire films like Midnight Run, Meet the Parents , Anthony Hopkins another Academy Award Winner who has made turkeys like Dracula and Mask of Zorro, etc. etc. The title of thread is fairly self explantory.

in what universe is Midnight Run a bad film? Mask Of Zorro was excellent as well.

Her daughter aint much better

cute though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

gaelicred wrote: »
    Overboard
    al28283 wrote: »

Ha I loved Overboard one them films as a kid i used to watch over and over so still have a soft spot for it and think its good, Bird On a Wire is a great 90,s action movie, and I enjoyed House Sitter aswell back when Steve Martin was funny.

Mel Gibson hasnt made to many bad movies either now that you mention Bird on a Wire

krudler wrote: »
    in what universe is Midnight Run a bad film? Mask Of Zorro was excellent as well.

The one where hes anklecuffed to a guy and they play the harmonica to run in time or am I thinking of a completely different film?Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Is Stone really that bad? Its a film im eager to see really liked the trailer, and with De Niro and Norton it really appealed to me.

No actresses have been mentioned yet maybe Meryl Streep or even Goldie Hawn?

Unbearable.

The one where hes anklecuffed to a guy and they play the harmonica to run in time or am I thinking of a completely different film?Seriously?

but Overboard is good? that movie sucks, even Kurt Russell can't save it. Midnight Run is fantastic, some of the most inventive swearing and insults you'll ever hear :pac: like was already said a "bad" movie is subjective.

Which film am I thinking of? Because I just googled it and in the picture the other guy is white but the film I saw he was anklecuffed to a black guy

Youre not thinking of Bulletproof are you? Now thats a terrible film.

but Overboard is good? that movie sucks, even Kurt Russell can't save it. Midnight Run is fantastic, some of the most inventive swearing and insults you'll ever hear :pac: like was already said a "bad" movie is subjective.

I liked it when I was 10, im sure its still a good movie...

Youre not thinking of Bulletproof are you? Now thats a terrible film.

YES! Thats the one! OK disregard everything else Ive said (hangs head in shame) Oh no wonder Ive been getting abuse! Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Joe Pesci

Mel Gibson

Leonardo DiCaprio - (The Beach)

Ashton Kutcher - (everything)

Russell Crowe - ?? (I've never seen A Good Year)

Denzel Washington

I can think some others but haven't seen enough of the films to nominate them.

Joe Pesci

Mel Gibson

Denzel Washington

The Book Of Eli was pretty dire. Hes in some film where hes on drugs too and its really cringey. Cant think of the name of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

Joe Pesci

Mel Gibson

Denzel Washington

Joe Pesci 8 Heads in a Dufflebag:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

What about Paddy Considine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

If it weren't for that wretched sci-fi fim Lost in Space, I would throw Gary Oldman out there. I have been a big fan of his going back to Sid and Nancy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

Richard Harris I haven't seen all of his but I don't remember a bad one..

The Book Of Eli was pretty dire. Hes in some film where hes on drugs too and its really cringey. Cant think of the name of it....
    gaelicred wrote: »
    Joe Pesci 8 Heads in a Dufflebag:eek:

Jaysus, the two I thought were bankers are being disputed straight away.

On The Book of Eli, I liked it, but even from an objective point of view, I don't think it's enough to knock him off the list.

Not sure what the other film is, would it be the Manchurian Candidate or is it one of his older films?

8 Heads in a Dufflebag, I'd never even heard of that but by the sounds of it, it could very well knock him off the list. :(

How about Michael Caine or Tom Hanks?

Michael Caine has had an amzing career crossing all genres and is still going strong today even though hes 79.

On The Book of Eli, I liked it, but even from an objective point of view, I don't think it's enough to knock him off the list.

Not sure what the other film is, would it be the Manchurian Candidate or is it one of his older films?

8 Heads in a Dufflebag, I'd never even heard of that but by the sounds of it, it could very well knock him off the list. :(

Have to agree with you on Book of Eli I enjoyed it and dont think it wa so bad to be used against him in the least.

Michael Caine has had an amzing career crossing all genres and is still going strong today even though hes 79.

Jaws the Revenge was a bad movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,329 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

How about Michael Caine or Tom Hanks?

Even Caine has been in the odd turkey (wasn't he in Bewitched?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Denzel - deja vu (uber-****e)
    Virtuosity - that was terrible too.

Ed Harris?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

Philip Seymour Hoffman?

The Boat That Rocked, The Invention of Lying, Mission: Impossible 3...

This thread smacks of "name any respected actor." Anyone with a substantial filmography will have some rubbish in there somewhere. But I don't think there are any bad James Dean movies, because AFAIK he was only in three.

Denzel - deja vu (uber-****e)
    Virtuosity - that was terrible too.

Ed Harris?

Ed Harris has been in a lot of terrible films, like a History of Violence and Appaloosa although im probably not the best to judge Ed Harris as generally I dont like him in films find him very one dimensional and his voice gets on my nerves :o.

No ones had one against Tom Hanks yet:), maybe even Robert Duvall?

YES! Thats the one! OK disregard everything else Ive said (hangs head in shame) Oh no wonder Ive been getting abuse! Ha!

thank christ, now go watch Midnight Run lol

Kinski wrote: »

ah here, MI3 is the best of the series and he's phenomenal in it.

Ed Harris has been in a lot of terrible films, like a History of Violence and Appaloosa although im probably not the best to judge Ed Harris as generally I dont like him in films find him very one dimensional and his voice gets on my nerves :o.

Yo didn't like A History of Violence?

No ones had one against Tom Hanks yet:), maybe even Robert Duvall?

Maybe someone will PM you about Hanks. Maybe they already have. Maybe You've Got Mail! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Kinski wrote: »

Mission Impossible 3 is brilliant!!

I think Paddy Considine is a good shout. I didn't see that Jason Statham film he was in last year though. Blitz.

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    Mission Impossible 3 is brilliant!!

I think Paddy Considine is a good shout. I didn't see that Jason Statham film he was in last year though. Blitz.

Blitz is not bad Jason even used a hurley to teach some lads a lesson :D

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Yo didn't like A History of Violence?

Maybe someone will PM you about Hanks. Maybe they already have. Maybe You've Got Mail! :)

I thought a History of Violence was one of the worst films id seen, I was so dissappointed because before I got the dvd I had been dying to see it as I thought it was going to be amazing and felt really dissappointed with it afterwards, maybe its were my dislike of Ed Harris came from :o.

:pac: Ah yeh I forgot about you got mail but you can fairly sure there was plenty of women who loved that film.

It wasnt Manchurian Candidate, I know hes on drugs in Training Day, maybe thats the one, it was really cringey him acting that hes on drugs, this is head wrecking...

After a long hard think it has to be Paul Newman.. Cool Hand Luke,Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid The Hustler, The Sting.. etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Philip Seymour Hoffman?

Tom Hanks was also in Larry Crowne and the Da Vinci Code films, the second one was worse, theres probably more but I feel bad having a go at him for some reason

After a long hard think it has to be Paul Newman.. Cool Hand Luke,Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid The Hustler, The Sting.. etc etc

Message in a Bottle was horrible!

Philip Seymour Hoffman?

Twister!

It wasnt Manchurian Candidate, I know hes on drugs in Training Day, maybe thats the one, it was really cringey him acting that hes on drugs, this is head wrecking...

It couldn't be Training Day. Not only is that a brilliant film, but Denzel also won an Oscar for his performance in it. And it was Ethan Hawk who took the drugs.

Message in a Bottle was horrible!

But that was really a Kevin Costner film.. and it wasn't really that bad.

American Gangster?

Doubt it was that one either, he was a major drug dealer in that one based on a true story a film which won critical acclaim.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 44 YoungTrouble

You know bad as in sh1te?! Like De Niro would be considered a great actor but hes been in some dire films like Midnight Run, Meet the Parents , Anthony Hopkins another Academy Award Winner who has made turkeys like Dracula and Mask of Zorro, etc. etc. The title of thread is fairly self explantory.

Meet The Parents was a good movie.
    Don't let its sequels take away from the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Meet The Parents was a good movie.
    Don't let its sequels take away from the fact.

So was Midnight Run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

and Worthington was the best thing in that movie, and has become more crap since, I dont get it. Bale wasn't meant to have such a prominent role iirc and had it changed to beef up his part.
    Agree 100% Worthington was very good, I think the only other film I've seen him in is Clash of the Titans though. :(
    No
    Yes. It's not all his fault, the whole crew are as much to blame. They should just rename him Emo-man. "oh woe is me, my parents are dead and the whole city hates me and I've no friends but that's okay because that's not why I'm here" If ever there was a film to root for the bad guys...
    I can't believe you think Bale is crap as Batman. I don't think any other actor could play Mr Wayne.
    Michael Keaton. Again as much to do with the writing as anything else though. And Mark Hamill is the best Joker, followed by Jack Nicholson.

There is no humour in the current series of Batman films. I don't mean haw haw lol funny but they are far too po-faced. Batman and Batman Returns are far superior.
    He was terrible in Terminator Salvation the fact in the film I wanted a long with most people I know wanted Marcus Wright to live and John Connors to die says it all really. It was poor writing and Bale basically being the same character he is in Batman.

But to say hes a crap Batman is crazy, and he is an actor in general I really do like and has made some great films like American Pyscho, The Fighter, Rescue Dawn, 3:10 to Yuma he does have a very impressive cv.
    In fairness I haven't seen any of those which is why I refrained from saying what I really think of Christian Bale, his only other film I've seen is Equilibrium. Anyway enough off-topicness....