Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

To report, or not report. That is the quistion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

keith16 wrote: »
    I was in tescos one day just kinda standing around the reading the newspapers near the customer service desk while the OH was "buying stuff".

Anyway, there was a about 5 young lads stocking up on junk food, which included those tall cans of "monster" energy drink.

As soon as the kids paid and left, this other guy came from nowhere and started having a go at the customer service girl, and in doing so, caught the attention of all the other plebs like me in the general vicinity.

So he is there demanding to speak with the manager, she is like "can I help you?"

Yes, came the reply "why did you sell those kids cans of guinness? I should call the gaurds"

"Those were energy drinks" she replied much to the amusement of aforementioned plebs.

Twould have been better for their health if they were drinking guinness instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Why is it that ye dont care? Its illegal, so I think everything the owner gets, He deserves.

Well then it sounds like you already know the answer to your question. No need for the thread at all if your that sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Wow OP that's pretty sad .... You're only a year younger than me.

I genuinely hope the teens find out what you're up to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

OP. Old before your time springs to mind.

your 19, dont waste your time with starting these threads, get yourself onto a porn site and do what every other 19 year old is doing

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Oh we've all done it (drank in pubs underage) , better in a pub than a field.. anyway as they're so young im sure they wont have the money to hit the pub frequently.. its not like they're purchasing bottles of vodka and sitting out in the streets, lighten up :D as long as they arent hurting anyone or drinking to excess who cares..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

eth0 wrote: »
    Dont think i said that but I'd make sure the owner wanted his pockets lined first

Oh sorry quoted the wroung person.

.Bob wrote: »
    your only 19 and your taking a hissy fit over underage drinkers? id say you were popular in school.

what 19 year old actually comes on boards.ie and asks people should he grass out underage drinkers? ta fuuuak
    I bet the barmaids shift was over, i doubt he said "hey you! serve those kids or go home begorrah!"

Yup, thats what he said, in a nut shell.

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Wow OP that's pretty sad .... You're only a year younger than me.

I genuinely hope the teens find out what you're up to.

Oh arnt you cool. ;)

BornToKill wrote: »
    Everyone's going to think the barmaid did the reporting. Do you think she will be happy with that or not?

Il go to the barman a tell him it was me. As long as he learns his lesson, thats all that I care about.

kelly1952 wrote: »
    as a parent of 4 lads who take a drink if we teach them early to respect drink we would have less of a problem in Ireland.

to stop people having a drink at a young age does nothing but drive them underground and they end up binge drinking.

This one youth I talk about in my OP. Is binge drinking. the parents know nothing of it...

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Sminkypinky

I don't see that much of a problem with it myself unless all the young crowd were plastered. As a barman I always checked ID but I also grew up in an area where there was no social life outside GAA and drink so I don't think a few young lads going for pints is as bad as a bunch of teenage pregnancies around the place.

Yes, but don't you think that there may be a connection between giving alcohol to under-age people and teenage pregnancies?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

If the owner knew they were underage he can be closed down (AFAIK) so don't report him but to point out that they were under 18. Not in a smart arse way or anything.

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Report it. Turning a blind eye every now and again I wouldnt mind but if he's hell bent on serving kids to line his pocket then fcuk him, he has no business running a pub.
    In the op you said the place was burnt down and they served from tents. Now someone legitimately refused to serve and was unfairly dismissed?

Feck that the kids are getting served, if you ain't spinning a yarn here the owner is a cowboy ted.
    humbert wrote: »
    Report it if you think it's ethically wrong. Understand in your own mind why you think it's wrong.

The legality of it really doesn't matter.
    Kirby wrote: »
    He sent a member of staff home for refusing to serve under age punters?

The discussion ends there. Report him. The fecker deserves everything he gets. Thats a scummy thing to do. I hope she reported him herself.
    If the owner knew they were underage he can be closed down (AFAIK) so don't report him but to point out that they were under 18. Not in a smart arse way or anything.

These are the only posts that really made sence. What makes it worse is, The people that were in favor of underage drinking, where the posters that I really looked up to and I thought they where good contributers to the forums. Ah well... :rolleyes:

Edit: I dont know how I missed this. Great post BTW.
    TheChizler wrote: »
    You're saying that she was sent home for refusing to serve to under 18 year olds? Personally I wouldn't report them for serving the odd pint as long as they weren't getting pissed or anything, but if the owner is punishing his own staff for refusing to break the law, and opening themselves (the bar staff) to prosecution, then that would be reason enough for a call from me.

Yup thats exactly it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭TheChizler

These are the only posts that really made sence. What makes it worse is, The people that were in favor of underage drinking, where the posters that I really looked up to and I thought they where good contributers to the forums. Ah well... :rolleyes:

I feel personally insulted that mine was neglected... Sniff... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

The owner never even asked for I.D. as he knew them well. there was a female bartender there as well. who asked for I.D. She then refused to serve them and was sent home. By the owner.

But back to your point.
    I think its an uttar disgraceful for a bartender to serve anyone under the age of 18.

Is it because your just recently legal to drink yourself that you now class yourself as an auld lad and anyone younger than you (barely) are now kids?

Get off your high horse and stop being a kill joy!

TheChizler wrote: »
    I feel personally insulted that mine was neglected... Sniff... ;)

Sorry I missed that, But ya, the only way I can describe the other posts are cringeworthy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Sorry I missed that, But ya, the only way I can describe the other posts are cringeworthy....
    When did you (if ever) start drinking yourself, OP?

cruais wrote: »
    Is it because your just recently legal to drink yourself that you now class yourself as an auld lad and anyone younger than you (barely) are now kids?

Get off your high horse and stop being a kill joy!

I just hate to see owners of pubs ect. break the law just so they have a bit of extra money.

Also do you encourage under age drinking offen? Or are you one of these coolers that buy children beer. Just to be looked up to? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Il go to the barman a tell him it was me. As long as he learns his lesson, thats all that I care about.

Who are you to teach people lessons? You sound very self-righteous, you must be great craic. I'd also wager that theres no way your going to approach that barman and tell him you reported him. Sounds like they slacked the rules a little for an event for the community and your trying to ruin it for everyone.

On a side note I work as a barman and Ill never serve under 18s, mainly because they are prone to having one too many and annoying everyone else, no-point letting three youths with no money drive out countless adults.

brummytom wrote: »
    When did you (if ever) start drinking yourself, OP?

Well growing up with an alcoholic grandfather, I seen the damage that alcohol can cause to both the individual and the family. So I dont drink very offen. Just the odd one or two beers during the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

I just hate to see owners of pubs ect. break the law just so they have a bit of extra money.

Also do you encourage under age drinking offen? Or are you one of these coolers that buy children beer. Just to be looked up to? :rolleyes:

I don't see anything wrong with a 17 year old having a pint. Theres worse things for a 17 year old to be getting up to! :rolleyes:

And no, I don't by children beer, for the only children I'm close to are my nieces and nephews, with the oldest of them being ten!

But I still think your a kill joy!

So I was at a local fund raiser two days ago, in the local pub. I seen the barman (owner) serving youths alcoholic beverages. (None of their parent were at it.) Which included beer ect. The pub burned down last week. But they had a tent kinda thing in its place at the funraiser. One of the youths inparticular is sold alcoholic beverages on a regular basis. (He is in the pub every secound day.) (Im not one of them youths as im 19.:D) So should I report the owner?
    Martyn1989 wrote: »
    Who are you to teach people lessons? You sound very self-righteous, you must be great craic. I'd also wager that theres no way your going to approach that barman and tell him you reported him. Sounds like they slacked the rules a little for an event for the community and your trying to ruin it for everyone.

On a side note I work as a barman and Ill never serve under 18s, mainly because they are prone to having one too many and annoying everyone else, no-point letting three youths with no money drive out countless adults.

Did you read the bold part of the OP?

And this "youth" I talk about does be in the pub form about 11 in the morning to 7 in the morning. Unless he runs out of money, in that case he is told that he is not wanted.

I don't see anything wrong with a 17 year old having a pint. Theres worse things for a 17 year old to be getting up to! :rolleyes:

And no, I don't by children beer, for the only children I'm close to are my nieces and nephews, with the oldest of them being ten!

I think the issue was that they were as young as 15 and getting pissed. Also the bartender was sent home for not breaking the law.

Thats your opinion, Not that I care. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

OP sounds like great fun

What kinda pub opens from 11 in the morning till 7 the next?, is it an early house? .. you didnt mention this in your op..

And this "youth" I talk about does be in the pub form about 11 in the morning to 7 in the morning. Unless he runs out of money, in that case he is told that he is not wanted.

I'd actually be in favour of practical laws that ban this practice with everybody. Completely taking advantage of a person's dependence on alcohol. Maybe that's not what happens in this case but it does happen.

Martyn1989 wrote: »

Why dont you "Slack" the rule as you call it?

One thing I dont get though. I sound "self-rouhteous" ect. But you dont serve under 18s.? So what makes it OKAY, for this pub to sell alcohol to under age children. but you "will never serve under 18s".... :rolleyes:

What kinda pub opens from 11 in the morning till 7 the next?, is it an early house? .. you didnt mention this in your op..

I really didnt see the point in putting it in the OP...

Did you read the bold part of the OP?

I did read it, but you want to report them for the fundraiser, not this. How do you know hes in there that much? How do you know hes not 18?

In answer to your OP I don't think you should report them, it seems that on that occasion they where serving the lads a few drinks at a special event, so long as it was under control its ok in my book.

Granted the legal drinking age is 18 because people are deemed to be mature enough to make informed decisions by that age, but the truth is that there are tons of adults out there who are not mature enough to make their own decisions.

Well growing up with an alcoholic grandfather, I seen the damage that alcohol can cause to both the individual and the family. So I dont drink very offen. Just the odd one or two beers during the weekend.
    I'm sorry to hear about your Grandfather, can't have been easy.

But even so, you didn't actually answer my question. Even if you weren't drinking before the age of 18, I'd be amazed if none of your friends were. Why did you not report those who served them?

Real Life wrote: »
    OP sounds like great fun

Do I know you? :rolleye:

Edit: :pac: just read the user name.. LOL, just because you have "life" in your user name dosnt mean you have a life.... :D

Ah but you should of.. you have a point, He clearly abuses it something else.. His parents must know? No parent could over look their child spending that much time in the pub, They have as much responsibility as the barman.

Why dont you "Slack" the rule as you call it?

One thing I dont get though. I sound "self-rouhteous" ect. But you dont serve under 18s.? So what makes it OKAY, for this pub to sell alcohol to under age children. but you "will never serve under 18s".... :rolleyes:

I think its ok to bend the rules for a community event but not on a regular night. I told you why I dont slack the rule, because they have a few too many and drive out adults, no-one wants to bring their girlfriend out for a drink and sit next to 4 cackling spotty schoolboys trying to look down her top.

The difference is you where at a community fundraiser held in a pub, not having a pint in said pub on a Wednesday after work.

Oh and your use of this :rolleyes: made you seem even more self-righteous ;)

Never mind this lad, I'd be concerned about the 15 year olds doing it. Do they 'only have the one' (meaning three) or do they drink a substantial amount? How often?

I'm sorry to hear about your Grandfather, can't have been easy.

But even so, you didn't actually answer my question. Even if you weren't drinking before the age of 18, I'd be amazed if none of your friends were. Why did you not report those who served them?

Oh took your post up wrong. Em no I didnt, never really had interest in drink. When you see a loved one in that frame of mind because of drink and rune there life. It was something that I never wanted anything to do with. But once I turned 18 I went out on soft drinks ect. But most of the time I rather, not to drink as it brings back the memeries I try to forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,214 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

OP sounds like one of these ones thats goes to a pub and watches everyones business but their own.You see,if it doesnt concern you,dont worry about. op,u have your 3 glasses and go home and read what people are up in court in the local newspaper.You will probably be out Xmas eve looking for a free one....

Ah but you should of.. you have a point, He clearly abuses it something else.. His parents must know? No parent could over look their child spending that much time in the pub, They have as much responsibility as the barman.

I can tell you, the parent know nothing. The barman is delighted to see him coming in the door. He tells the parent he is going to work with a neighbour.

Oh took your post up wrong. Em no I didnt, never really had interest in drink. When you see a loved one in that frame of mind because of drink and rune there life. It was something that I never wanted anything to do with. But once I turned 18 I went out on soft drinks ect. But most of the time I rather, not to drink as it brings back the memeries I try to forget.
    That's understandable.

However, just because you've seen someone ruined by drink doesn't mean it's evil. If anything, removing the taboo of alcohol at a young age could prevent people from binging on it in their later years.

I'm not trying to claim the barman had some noble aim - he wanted to make a few euro, the lads wanted a drink. It was mutually beneficial. But Ireland/the UK's attitude to drink is already so ridiculous at the moment compared to the continent, where alcohol is encouraged from a young age, that I don't think heightening that taboo at all is a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,355 ✭✭✭naughto

if you do report them lets hope the young lads find out who you are and kick the sh1te out of ya.

I can tell you, the parent know nothing. The barman is delighted to see him coming in the door. He tells the parent he is going to work with a neighbour.

Hmmm well I can see your predicament definitely, He's clearly taking advantage.
    I honestly thought it was innocent kids being kids, If it were my young brother or sister I'd drag the barman out by the neck and kick the ****e outta him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

Where does he get the money?

Would talking to the parents be out of the question? I suppose it would seem ridiculous coming from someone barely over 18. But would that be an option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

From 11am until 7am the next morning? I don't doubt it's happening but it does seem that you're prone to exaggeration at the very least.

If you havent already mentioned it to anyone, write a little tip off to the parents, let them deal with it, he clearly has a problem that needs dealt with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Better them in a pub than a field or street corner.

I'd rather the ****ers didn't drink but if they have to that it would be in the field. Who the hell wants a bunch of kids drinking in their local?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I'm a non-drinker myself, but I probably wouldn't report him. I'd steer well clear of the whole thing, tbh. As long as the youths weren't/aren't causing any trouble - it just doesn't have anything to do with you, so why get involved in a potential sticky situation?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

This guy expects us to believe that the Barman sent home his employee because she wouldn't serve to underage people? Get out.

I'm 17 and I've been in a pub a couple of times with my family etc. and tbh it's a whole lot safer than in a field in the middle of the night, I'm so obsessed with not looking out of the ordinary that I would never dream of doing anyting stupid.

Of course there has to be a line, Under 16s is probably tha.

I also look a heck of a lot younger and I'm sure when I'm 18 and out clubbing or whatever, narrow minded feckers like yourselves will be wondering what the **** is this kid doing in there? How do you actually know they're underage, looks can be deceiving.

TheStook wrote: »
    Of course there has to be a line, Under 16s is probably tha.
    Well the kinda already is a legal one...

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

I just don't believe this story at all, "Barman fires barmaid for not serving"
    ya right, one of the young fellows drinks in bar from 11am till7am every secound day. Thats 20 hours of drinking in a early house bar every second day, lets just say he takes sunday off, for the laugh, thats drinking 3 days out of 6 by 20 hours, thats 60 hours a week drinking in a bar.

We'll give him a chance here and say he only drinks 1 beer every half hour, (sure he's only a wee lad) right, don't know the prices in sligo, but we'll say 5euro a pint, now so thats 5 euro by 2 by 60 hours, thats 600euro a week on drink plus food since he in the bar for 20 hours thats a few runs to the chipper, ya have to have two meals at the min for 20hours drinkfest, say 15euro for food by 3, is, 45.

So I guessing hes spending 645e a week. Oh where does oh where does he get this money as he can't have a job as he pissed most of the week and hungover and sleeping the rest. pure bullsh1t story