Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Men-emasculated by 50 shades ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

Who decided it's crap though? If everyone is reading it through to the third book then it must be good.
    I'll get a copy and give it a read and see if I enjoy it. If I do then it's "good" as far as I'm concerned. If I have to force myself to read it then it's "bad". I'm not expecting literary genius but a readable enjoyable work of fiction.

The Twilight series is "bad" but loads of people were entertained by it. Therefore it's obviously good entertainment.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Feisar wrote: »
    Who decided it's crap though? If everyone is reading it through to the third book then it must be good.
    I'll get a copy and give it a read and see if I enjoy it. If I do then it's "good" as far as I'm concerned. If I have to force myself to read it then it's "bad". I'm not expecting literary genius but a readable enjoyable work of fiction.

The Twilight series is "bad" but loads of people were entertained by it. Therefore it's obviously good entertainment.

You can't objectify something that is inherently subjective. People are offering their personal opinions of the novels; I read enough excerpts to come to the conclusion that it was trashy nonsense. You might read it and think it's wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

From the bits I've read I'd find any woman who took any inspiration from the book very boring both sexually and intellectually.

I completely agree, but there are women who will.

I've seen numerous people on Facebook posting pictures of the book with taglines such as "For all the guys who think that women don't come with a manual...found one!" I know it's just a bit of a laugh but there are some very stupid and naive people in the world.

I completely agree, but there are women who will.

I've seen numerous people on Facebook posting pictures of the book with taglines such as "For all the guys who think that women don't come with a manual...found one!" I know it's just a bit of a laugh but there are some very stupid and naive people in the world.

I'd like to think they're the kind of people I wouldn't generally associate with anyway. :pac:
    I will admit though that it's sad to see some who have been through the wringer already or have been left high and dry from previous relationships and their results seemingly loving the whole thing. Still, not my problem and they would've been stupid enough to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Joni23

You can't objectify something that is inherently subjective. People are offering their personal opinions of the novels; I read enough excerpts to come to the conclusion that it was trashy nonsense. You might read it and think it's wonderful.

I think that's what they are saying.

cynder wrote: »
    My mother changed a man like that, took her 25 years.

He didn't hit her in the bedroom, it was in the living room, in the kitchen in front of us kids. He was possessive and controlling. After saying that the book is not based on a true story.

It's not a true story. It doesn't claim to be, its fictional. They are fictional characters.

I'm sorry to hear about your parents, but I'm not sure if your point was trying to prove or disprove what I said about women not being able to change an abusive man. Surely spending 25 years of your life in an abusive relationship before your partner changing is a lot worse of a life than being single, or leaving and finding someone else :confused: I'm sorry if I took your post up the wrong way though, I'm not entirely sure how you meant it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,810 ✭✭✭Calibos

The hype and the fact that its a best seller is just another reason for me to cry into my hands. Its another one of those times where I say to myself, "Ah FFS, why didn't I do that, if I knew thats all it took" etc etc

Just one example would be that competition the government ran for people to suggest ideas to get the economy going again with the 50 grand prize. When I read the winning entry I cried a little inside. Paraphrasing but it was along the lines of, "Ireland should invest in the digital economy and create a digital hub and create IT type stuff to sell blah blah" Sweet Jesus, it was the same generalistic non specific digital this digital that soundbite that any bogger TD even from Mayo had been coming out with for the last decade. The Fcuking Chancer got 50 grand for that sh1te!!!!

Similarily, I remember a thread a few years ago from a woman giving out about her husband and how for some stupid reason he had a problem with her watering the flowers in the front garden in the morning in her Pyjamas. "Its not like I have my Tits out", she said.

She finally understood why her Husband might have a problem with it after I explained things to her about how mens minds worked. I told her that if I was walking past her garden on my way to work what my thought process would be. How I would say howaya but would be transfixed by the glistening beads of sweat rolling down into the crease between her breasts, how I would imagine myself caressing her hips with the tips of my fingers as I slowly inched them between the elastic and the smooth ivory tender skin of her delicious dimples abover her glorius curvaceous bottom, inching ever closer to the panty line I had noticed under her pyjama bottoms from afar. I'd see myself pulling her tenderly but with just enough urgency closer until the heat between us was like fire in our bellies...............etc etc etc

I got a flood of marriage proposals after that particular thread.

So yeah, a bit pissed off when the sh1te that is FSOG has half the female population of the planet dripping wet and the author now a multi millionaire and me thinking, "FFS, if I knew it was that easy!!"

Calibos wrote: »
    The hype and the fact that its a best seller is just another reason for me to cry into my hands. Its another one of those times where I say to myself, "Ah FFS, why didn't I do that, if I knew thats all it took" etc etc

Just one example would be that competition the government ran for people to suggest ideas to get the economy going again with the 50 grand prize. When I read the winning entry I cried a little inside. Paraphrasing but it was along the lines of, "Ireland should invest in the digital economy and create a digital hub and create IT type stuff to sell blah blah" Sweet Jesus, it was the same generalistic non specific digital this digital that soundbite that any bogger TD even from Mayo had been coming out with for the last decade. The Fcuking Chancer got 50 grand for that sh1te!!!!

Similarily, I remember a thread a few years ago from a woman giving out about her husband and how for some stupid reason he had a problem with her watering the flowers in the front garden in the morning in her Pyjamas. "Its not like I have my Tits out", she said.

She finally understood why her Husband might have a problem with it after I explained things to her about how mens minds worked. I told her that if I was walking past her garden on my way to work what my thought process would be. How I would say howaya but would be transfixed by the glistening beads of sweat rolling down into the crease between her breasts, how I would imagine myself caressing her hips with the tips of my fingers as I slowly inched them between the elastic and the smooth ivory tender skin of her delicious dimples abover her glorius curvaceous bottom, inching ever closer to the panty line I had noticed under her pyjama bottoms from afar. I'd see myself pulling her tenderly but with just enough urgency closer until the heat between us was like fire in our bellies...............etc etc etc

So yeah, a bit pissed off when the sh1te that is FSOG has half the female population of the planet dripping wet and the author now a multi millionaire and me thinking, "FFS, if I knew it was that easy!!"

Your post turned me on more than 50 Shades of Grey :eek:

Joni23 wrote: »
    I think that's what they are saying.

He actually isn't. It's subtle. What he is saying, to paraphrase, is this. 'Who decided that this novel is inherently bad? A lot of people read it, therefore it must be good.' Look at the structure of the argument - he begins by refuting the idea of an objective statement when it comes to the artistic merit of the novel (which is correct, in my opinion) but then finishes by making an objective statement related to said artistic merit. He could have qualified it by saying 'therefore, it's good to them,' but he chose not to. Small details, big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

cynder wrote: »
    My mother changed a man like that, took her 25 years.

He didn't hit her in the bedroom, it was in the living room, in the kitchen in front of us kids. He was possessive and controlling. After saying that the book is not based on a true story.

It's not a true story. It doesn't claim to be, its fictional. They are fictional characters.

I'm sorry to hear about your parents, but I'm not sure if your point was trying to prove or disprove what I said about women not being able to change an abusive man. Surely spending 25 years of your life in an abusive relationship before your partner changing is a lot worse of a life than being single, or leaving and finding someone else :confused: I'm sorry if I took your post up the wrong way though, I'm not entirely sure how you meant it :)

Sorry left you confused.

My mother changed him, she didn't fall for him because of Wuthering heights or any other book she read.

She loved him, and stuck with him through thick n thin, she saw in him something that only she could see and in the end made him a better person. ( he had an abusive childhood)

Many women fall for the wrong guy some stick it out, others don't. It's their choice, but I bet none of the women stick with a guy thinking they can change him because of a novel. A fictional novel at that.

In fact I believe many know they can't change the guy but hope that he himself will change, but again, that too, rarely happens.

But you can't say a fictional character encourages women to seek a controlling guy because at the end of the day, You can't help who you fall in love with.

Your post turned me on more than 50 Shades of Grey :eek:

You going watering the plants tomorrow in your pjs???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'd get all the audiobooks if they sounded like this. For realsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

Fair enough. I'm not saying it's the case with yourself but it seems it is becoming cool to say it's sh!te.

First they came for the socialists...

Sarky wrote: »

Priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

kfallon wrote: »
    Again I'll just leave this here:

www.fiftyshadesgenerator.com

Welcome back Flutterinbantam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Just what I was thinking! I definitely could write some real trashy erotic ****e but the market will be flooded after 50 shades now with everyone trying. Next time you have an idea that seems too obvious to work run with it!:D

Sarky wrote: »

Still wouldn't pay for it due to royalties going to someone but would certainly give it a listen.

cruiser178 wrote: »

Jaysus

Could you by any chance finish off that ermmm writing, leaving a cliff hanger of etc etc is just not on......

Feisar wrote: »
    Fair enough. I'm not saying it's the case with yourself but it seems it is becoming cool to say it's sh!te.

I think you're right - people tend to jump on popular bandwagons. However, in my humble opinion, having read a couple of parts - it is shite. And I wish I came up with it first... :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I feel sorry for these bimbos holding FSOG aloft thinking they're so modern and neato in some misguided childish display of sexual liberation as having been successfully hoodwinked by some fad right-time-and-place hack author with the backing of an effective marketing department. The most scathing reviews among my friends have come from the females which helps restore my faith in womankind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

To those who have read it or are fans;

What would you think of it if had been written by a bloke?

cantdecide wrote: »
    I feel sorry for these bimbos holding FSOG aloft thinking they're so modern and neato in some misguided childish display of sexual liberation as having been successfully hoodwinked by some fad right-time-and-place hack author with the backing of an effective marketing department. The most scathing reviews among my friends have come from the females which helps restore my faith in womankind.

C'mon, we have all been hoodwinked by fads with the backing of an effective marketing department. Your a bit off with the childish display of sexual liberation talk.

As was said earlier in the thread every 5-10 years there's a new thing that "liberates" women sexually. This time it's some poorly written fiction, 10 years ago it was SATC, in 10 years there'll be something else.

Well then we should be singing its praises.

If it were true.

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭cristoir

How on earth does it emasculate men? In it the female protagonist is happily dominated emotionally and physically by an absolute príck of a man. He is emotionally distant and treats her like dirt. But that's ok because he's dangerous and maybe she can change him.

It's doesn't emasculate men, far from it. If anything it advances misogyny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Every five to ten years something new comes along to 'liberate' men from their role as provider and engage in fantasy. Star Wars, Star Trek, Batman, Playboy, Gameboy, Playstation etc.

I don't think one is more deserving of disdain than the other. Neither of them deserve disdain in my opinion.

Feeona wrote: »
    Every five to ten years something new comes along to 'liberate' men from their role as provider and engage in fantasy. Star Wars, Star Trek, Batman, Playboy, Gameboy, Playstation etc.

I don't think one is more deserving of disdain than the other. Neither of them deserve disdain in my opinion.

Wow that's quite a massive and inaccurate tangent.

I don't think so.

cristoir wrote: »
    How on earth does it emasculate men? In it the female protagonist is happily dominated emotionally and physically by an absolute príck of a man. He is emotionally distant and treats her like dirt. But that's ok because he's dangerous and maybe she can change him.

It's doesn't emasculate men, far from it. If anything it advances misogyny.

I was wondering about this too. Maybe the op is considers jealous men emasculated?

I don't think so.

I'd imagine the split in gender terms for video games is quite a bit closer than that of the readership of these books and I've literally never heard anyone else try to argue your point before so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Lol here we go.

Whenever men don't agree with or in this case, rightly heap ridicule on something that women do, they are 'emasculated','intimidated' or 'threatened by' it.

Women don't seem to like it when their embarrassing actions are pointed out to them.

Maybe they are efeminised by it ?? :pac:

I'd imagine the split in gender terms for video games is quite a bit closer than that of the readership of these books and I've literally never heard anyone else try to argue your point before so.

At one stage pornography was considered to be something that only men enjoyed. The fact that women enjoy pornography too purely for its escapism still seems to be a shock to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Downlinz

No disrespect but I really don't think the average man cares about what women want to feel threatened by it. We aren't insecure in our gender, the majority of those who think what the OP say are females imagining themselves in a males position.

rightly heap ridicule on something that women do,

Yeah that 'right to vote' thing is ridiculous. Women look foolish going into a voting booth :pac:

Actually these outlets often rely heavily on our role as provider and protector and they come out a lot more than every 5 to 10 years. Widely inaccurate:pac:

No I think it relies heavily on the need for escapism from that role

I haven't read it but I want to now to see what the hype is about. According to some of the other threads I will be a "lemming", or just afraid to admit I actually want to read it - it's a bit of a lose lose situation.
    I don't think it's ok to look down on people as "bimbos" for reading it, sure didn't you read it yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭cristoir

At one stage pornography was considered to be something that only men enjoyed. The fact that women enjoy pornography too purely for its escapism still seems to be a shock to some people.

A long time ago that was.

This book is hardly the first erotic novel aimed at woman though I'll admit it's by far the most popular. The internet is filled with free and better stuff then this trash if it's your kind of thing. This book is not breaking barriers or anyway societally revolutionary. It is just fan-fiction that is very popular because it's seen as "acceptable" porn.

Some people, probably the same kind of people who'd be shocked if they ever found the porn page on a P2P website. The fact that it's apparently perfectly acceptable for women to speak in public about this book and the like shows that if anything it's even more fine for them to be open about it than men.

Well I'd put that down to women being more likely to be open about anything and everything under the sun. Don't see a problem there to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

“I own my company. I don’t have to answer to a board.” He raises an eyebrow at me. Of course, I would know this if I had done some research. But holy crap, he’s arrogant. I change tack.

“And do you have any interests outside your work?”

“I have varied interests, Miss Steele.” A ghost of a smile touches his lips. “Very varied.” And for some reason, I’m confounded and heated by his steady gaze. His eyes are alight with some wicked thought.

“But if you work so hard, what do you do to chill out?”

“Chill out?” He smiles, revealing perfect white teeth. I stop breathing. He really is beautiful. No one should be this good-looking.

“Well, to ‘chill out,’ as you put it—I sail, I fly, I indulge in various physical pursuits.” He shifts in his chair. “I’m a very wealthy man, Miss Steele, and I have expensive and absorbing hobbies.”

Purple Prose is alive and well it seems

Well I'd put that down to women being more likely to be open about anything and everything under the sun. Don't see a problem there to be honest.

But I thought our patriarchal society had them all uptight about sex until now? As I said before, it's apparently fine for women to put up facebook statuses about reading the books just before bed, I bet it wouldn't be if I said something about the porn I was looking at before heading to bed. Nor should it be.

cristoir wrote: »
    A long time ago that was.

This book is hardly the first erotic novel aimed at woman though I'll admit it's by far the most popular. The internet is filled with free and better stuff then this trash if it's your kind of thing. This book is not breaking barriers or anyway societally revolutionary. It is just fan-fiction that is very popular because it's seen as "acceptable" porn.

I haven't read it myself, wouldn't be interested really. I don't think it's breaking barriers either but for some reason it's caught the public's imagination (durty feckers :P)

But I thought our patriarchal society had them all uptight about sex until now?

And as a man, you should be ashamed of patriarchal society if that's what you believe :mad: :pac:

But I thought our patriarchal society had them all uptight about sex until now? As I said before, it's apparently fine for women to put up facebook statuses about reading the books just before bed, I bet it wouldn't be if I said something about the porn I was looking at before heading to bed. Nor should it be.

What type of things are they saying?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Jasus, imagine what's gonna happen when Irish women discover you can get porn on the interweb !!

There won't be a shirt ironed in the land !!

And as a man, you should be ashamed of patriarchal society if that's what you believe :mad: :pac:

But if this book and the constant ****ing discussion of it everywhere liberated women from something then obviously there was a "problem" before.

I think the public discussion of ****/fisting material to be inappropriate is one of my major gripes with it. And as I said, any woman who finds inspiration from this book ain't for me for obviously being so goddamned boring to begin with.

Sala wrote: »
    What type of things are they saying?!

It was a couple of weeks ago now and from fairly prolific ones but basically along the lines of really enjoying it and being ready for bed. Friends would comment asking what parts and they'd be all "Oh yeah that was great!". Thankfully not many people I know are like that but from the amount of comments it seems plenty are.