Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

17hmr choice

• 08-08-2012 4:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭

Hey lads,
    Im looking to buy another 17hmr to accompany my .223.
    I had a cz 452 heavy barrel 16".
    While it was a very accurate gun I hated the stock which was very small I found.
    Im looking for another 17hmr to do a bit of recreational " zeroing" and some crows and rabbits.
    I have a hawke sidewinder 6-24x56 to go on top.
    I have been looking at the anschutz 1517 thumbhole, which I rather like.
    I have seen barrels on some of them at 14" and 18" how would this affect the accuracy, has anyone got one of these?
    Also I like the weirauch and walnut sako quad.
    Can any of you guys give me some advice on this.
    Many thanks in advance John

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

Since you like the rifle but not the stock, did you consider a custom stock.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

When anschutz is mentioned you cant really go wrong.

Id probably go for the 18" barrel, have one on my marlin and I am happy with it.

Not sure would a 14" barrel suit a hmr? I was told go for 18 over 16 so all the powder would burn before the bullet exits. I just followed the advice from the gunsmith doing the who knows what he was talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,671 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm in the same boat, have a CZ American that's plenty accurate but the stock is tiny! I'm not massive but I'm very cramped behind it. I'm going the custom stock route.
    Having said that, as previously posted, you can't go wrong with Anschutz.

First they came for the socialists...

Bullberry done a test on HMR's and velocity: http://www.bullberry.com/HMRdata.html

Not really enough information to be scientific but an indication none the less. If the rounds were weighed, rim thickness measured and there were 50 shots per length of barrel it would have given a clearer picture.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

thanks for the replies guys,
    I hadn't considered going for a custom stock but it has gave me something to think about.
    Was out with the local shop he hasnt got any anschutz I must ring around tomorrow and try to get a look at one in the flesh.
    Do any of you guys use weirauch?

I don't and haven't spoken to anyone who does. All I've heard of them is on the net from people but it's been all good.

What's the length of pull on the Anschutz, might not be much better than the CZ. Make sure you get behind it before you buy. And I mean in the position you usually shoot. My CZ is grand except for prone with a bipod. Which is the position I use it most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Tikkat3

johnfaul wrote: »
    thanks for the replies guys,
    I hadn't considered going for a custom stock but it has gave me something to think about.
    Was out with the local shop he hasnt got any anschutz I must ring around tomorrow and try to get a look at one in the flesh.
    Do any of you guys use weirauch?

Syconerd on here had one and might be worth a PM if you are looking for Weihrauch or an opinion on one. The one he was selling was very nice.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=77640910

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

I had a weihrauch 60j in 22 hornet, lovely rifle but the comb is low on them so i needed a comb raiser, was accurate and a great trigger only down fault i had with it was that sometimes the rounds got stuck when you went to reload but that was due to the rim of the the brass getting caught behind the rim of the round underneath it so that was more of a hornet problem than with the rifle, i see they have a new model now that looks nice, it has a straight comb and no iron sights, if i was upgrading my rimfire i'd strongly consider one

This is what has caught my fancy, does anyone know of any dealers with one so I could get a feel of it in the flesh
    1517RHS.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Is that in Hmr? If so what in gods name is a yoke that size hanging off the end of it for..Bit OTT

Its a bit OTT allright its a DM80 mod more for the 17 fireball or 17 remington.
    I personally would use a SAK myself

• Registered Users Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

Have a look at a CZ 455, semi-heavy varmint barrel with a thumbhole stock.

I just bought one from Fingal Sports in .22LR, he has .17 HMRs in the same setup though. Beautiful rifles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭silverfox1

I have a sako quad with the walnut stock myself and its a lovely gun to handle and shoot. Seriously accurate too. Never really had much to do with anschutz but that is a fine looking gun alright. The high mounts and the big bean tin hanging off the barrel really take the look off it though. Id say check out the 3 rifles you mentioned and see which suits best.

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭ArseLtd

18" would be best for 17hmr, any less and your losing velocity, you can see here

http://www.bullberry.com/HMRdata.html

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Chesapeake

ArseLtd wrote: »
    18" would be best for 17hmr, any less and your losing velocity, you can see here

http://www.bullberry.com/HMRdata.html

Reminds me of the 200 yard benchresters 20 yrs ago..............Ask what was the perfect barrel lenght - longer than 19" BUT less than 20" :D

My CZ thumbhole HMR is @ 495mm from shoulder to end.

In reply,
    By a CZ 452 and Boyds thumbhole it adds an extra 1 - 1 1/4 to stock and LOP.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭philog

i have a weihrauch 17 hmr with a 14 inch barrell...beautiful rifle and unbelievably accurate....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Vote 4 Pedro

What about a Ruger 77/17,
    Supposed to be a rimfire rifle that feels like a centerfire,
    don't know to much about them but they look nice

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭ArseLtd

Chesapeake wrote: »
    Reminds me of the 200 yard benchresters 20 yrs ago..............Ask what was the perfect barrel lenght - longer than 19" BUT less than 20" :D

My CZ thumbhole HMR is @ 495mm from shoulder to end.

In reply,
    By a CZ 452 and Boyds thumbhole it adds an extra 1 - 1 1/4 to stock and LOP.

It would be lovely if everything were simple! :)