Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Personality vs Looks

• 08-08-2012 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭

Would you rather be pig ugly with a great personality or really good looking with no personality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

What about you OP?
    Are you one of these types?

I'd rather the latter tbh. I'm not generally shallow but you leave me no choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Luckily I'm gorgeous & have a fantastic personality.
    People want to be me.

Ditto.

Great isn't it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Pig ugly, with personality and brains.

Good looks can bring instant gratification in some ways, but they're mostly superficial.

But of course I'd love to be super smart, charming and gorgeous.*
    *moreso than I already am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Does 'bubbly girl' still mean fat chick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Omackeral wrote: »

Yes. Also curvy=fat. As does voluptuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

People want to be me.

Same, except people want to be on me. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

lazygal wrote: »
    Would you rather be pig ugly with a great personality or really good looking with no personality?
    Neither.

I'd rather be me.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Looks all the way, having said that I'm really,really shallow:D:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

The happiest people are those who are blessed with good looks and stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Half and half would do me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Easy, good looking.

It's a lot easier to work on not having personality of a cavity block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

You can improve your personality, by and large you're stuck with your looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

People want to be IN me.

Fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Sometimes I havent found a certain guy attractive, but once I get to know them they can laugh me into bed!

Personality always wins me over, looks arent that important! As long as he's tall and funny :D

I'd rather be hot and stupid instead of ugly and smart, most people are more shallow than me alas. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

humbert wrote: »
    You can improve your personality, by and large you're stuck with your looks.

You can improve your looks with a bit of nip and tucking too!!

Omackeral wrote: »

No it doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Yeah I have the charm and charisma of a modern day Reg Holdsworth. I do however have to administer myself Rohypnol anytime I wish to masturbate; I'm just that ugly:(

Funny that, Kelly brook is always described as curvy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

syndeyfife wrote: »
    Sometimes I havent found a certain guy attractive, but once I get to know them they can laugh me into bed!

Personality always wins me over, looks arent that important! As long as he's tall and funny :D
    Dunno why, but you're post reminded me of this.:pac:

No it doesn't.

When it's self-referential it usually does. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

A heart, a mind and reasonable looks and I'm a happy guy...

(plus some nice curves)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,444 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Really good looking with no personality. I don't mind her having no personality, makes it easier for me tbh. However if it was a good looking woman with a b!tchy personality, i'd only do her the once and then kick her out:D.

I'd only be with a woman who was ugly with a great personality to make me look good when I stand beside her. Also if I just wanted to chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I suspect I already am the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I remember a 17 year old girl worked in my local, she was really good looking. She used to sit with us after closing time for a chat. She was convinced she was going to have a great life because she was good looking. So a bit of an eejit and fairly full of herself.
    Saw her a while back and she was about 25 and she looked like an oompa lumpa that was addicted to cakes.

That is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

If you were really, really, really, really good looking then no one would care if you were thick as a post. Like I wouldn't give a flying f*ck if Mila Kunis was retarded, she'd still get it. Whereas if you have a certain amount of looks and no brains then that doesn't work.

I'd opt for the really good looking option but I don't really have to choose because I'm already a bebo stunnah with a masso personality.

Buttonftw wrote: »
    No it doesn't.

When it's self-referential it usually does. :pac:
    I'm curvy.
    But I'm not fat.
    Whoops made a great reference to Kelly brook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Hmmmm looks or personality ...

I'd be happy with either! :/

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Cienciano wrote: »
    I remember a 17 year old girl worked in my local, she was really good looking. She used to sit with us after closing time for a chat. She was convinced she was going to have a great life because she was good looking. So a bit of an eejit and fairly full of herself.
    Saw her a while back and she was about 25 and she looked like an oompa lumpa that was addicted to cakes.

That is all

That's understandable, in fairness.

Working somewhere like Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory, it'd be hard not to develop an addiction to sweet treats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

I just fall for whoever I fall for. Last GF was an athletic Swedish blonde. Before that, a curvy Irish girl. Both are very beautiful and as sound and as much craic as you could want.

And I'm not saying every Irish girl is "curvy" just this one had an awesome hour glass figure.

And I'm not boasting. That's what they were/are to me. Someone else might think different.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

I always go for both, works well for me. I like to think I have both too, judging my some of my ex's. I don't understand why you'd go out with someone you didn't like, or didn't find attractive.

Perfectly comfortable with being single, and my right hand works just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Feisar wrote: »
    I just fall for whoever I fall for. Last GF was an athletic Swedish blonde. Before that, a curvy Irish girl. Both are very beautiful and as sound and as much craic as you could want.

And I'm not saying every Irish girl is "curvy" just this one had an awesome hour glass figure.

You lucky sod!

I'm curvy.
    But I'm not fat.

The meaning of the word has been molested and conflated to mean anything from a not-skinny size 6 to a size 18 with no hips. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

You lucky sod!

Cheers but lucky wasn't it. We just both really liked each other.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,975 ✭✭✭billyhead

I go for personality 1st. If you don't have one the relationship will hardly last. Finding love is like finding shoes. More often than not, people go after the good-looking ones. But in the end, they will choose the one that makes them feel comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

Personality goes a long way, but in this world, rightly or wrongly, looks go further

Jellicoe wrote: »
    Personality goes a long way, but in this world, rightly or wrongly, looks go further

Depends on the context but looks are just a prerequisite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

So height is more important than looks?

Another question we could ask is: which would you prefer... short, smart and good looking, or tall, funny and ugly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

''Could EdenHazard please report to the Looks vs Personality thread asap....''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

For the life of me i cant remember the movie but someone said it best:

"you can't fu*k someones personality" :pac:

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    So height is more important than looks?

Another question we could ask is: which would you prefer... short, smart and good looking, or tall, funny and ugly?

Yes definitely. Tall and funny, and he could be a munter for all I care!!
    Cannot be with a man thats smaller than me, makes him seem less manly. Im 5'10'' so anything around 6' is good! Taller the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Im 5'10'' so anything around 6' is good! Taller the better

Monster :mad:

**cough**6'4" splutter** :D

My sister is 5'11"" (or 6' when she's telling the truth)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

For the life of me i cant remember the movie but someone said it best:

"you can't fu*k someones personality" :pac:

Every hole is a goal :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

cantdecide wrote: »
    **cough**6'4" splutter** :D

My sister is 5'11"" (or 6' when she's telling the truth)

You should get that checked, might be a tumor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

I'm curvy.
    But I'm not fat.

A lot women describe themselves as curvy when they're actually fat/obese.

Post some pictures for clarification. :D

You should get that checked, might be a tumor.

Ouch

Monster :mad:

I used to wear 6'' heels when I went out. The faces on some people was priceless. Havent the balls to do that anymore lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

I'm so gorgeous they put me under arrest!