Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What age did you have your first drink at and what was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Either 15 or 16, naggin of Hennessey :pac:

For the refined under-age drinker :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

stevek93 wrote: »
    Exactly whilst being carried in the door. :pac:

FYP:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

FYP:pac:

That happened me once:( I apparently tried too convince them I only had 2 pints:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭stevek93

That happened me once:( I apparently tried too convince them I only had 2 pints:o

I say that went down well. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

"Yea Da I only had BLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERGH"

No pocket money for a month :mad::mad::mad:

Was a bit like Kevin the teenager.. '' I HATE YOU '' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

We used to drink milk after a session to get rid of the smell of alcohol from our breathes. We thought it was a great idea. Me coming in and falling into the dogs basket used to ruin that plan, mind. "Grand, ma. Just saying hello to the dog."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

19 years old. A pint of Heineken. Wasted my childhood by not drinking. Oh Ireland! You are a harsh bitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I was 15 and had 3 cans of Carlsberg down on the beach, classy i know.

Oh don't talk to me! The first time I got absolutely loaded was when I was at a big beach party me and my friends organised when I wasn't long turned 15.

except the beach was more like a quarry and 3 naggins of vodka each over the course of a freezing night in september we were staggering and falling all over the place, the local guards came and we all fucking legged it through the fields all cut up and fucked until we reached the tent. Safe to say I got sick in it while the other lads weren't far off me.
    Ended up sleeping in my friend's brother's car until he gave a few of us a lift home at 4 in the morning.
    I remember teachers asking us wtf we got up to on the weekend. But it was good craic anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There is a family legend that my Dad gave me a sip of Heineken when I was a baby, don't know how true it is, though.

First time I intentionally had a drink, I was ten at my uncle's wedding and had champagne.

First time I was drunk was when I was 15, knacker drinking with mates.

first time i got really shítfaced was after drinking 6 cans of druids in half an hour and ending up rolling around a golfcourse, fighting with rakes, getting dropped and then my mam finding my friends trying to clean me up outside the house, wasnt my best moment

6 Cans in a half hour! You sure. :rolleyes: Have done that before but not my first time drinking!!!

6 Cans in a half hour! You sure. :rolleyes: Have done that before but not first time drinking!!!

wasnt my first time drinking, first time getting really bad, oh and drinking cider. It was so easy to drink so i just kept going and i didnt even notice i was getting drunk until i was nearly passing out!

lol when you start drinking for the first your clueless thinking its gonna effect you straight away so you keep drinking! Half hour later your on your back! :D

That and you'd be pissing a river while doing it!

Fucking cider! Love it but I hate it too :p

Used to love the thrill of after waiting for AGES someone would go into the offo for us, It's not as fun going in for yourself anymore:(

I dont condone buying underage teenagers drink. :)

Used to love the thrill of after waiting for AGES someone would go into the offo for us, It's not as fun going in for yourself anymore:(

If a teenager ever asks me to buy them drink im gonna take the money, and come back with like a big pack of toilet roll for them or something completely random...oh and then run like fúck!:D

Buy them a bottle of coke and some skittles:pac:

Anyone remember Stonehouse cider? Six for a fiver. That shit was mental.

Yeah there's actually no thrill in it once you turn 18. Good thing I went on quite a tear in Manchester a few months ago before that happened!:D

Tbh, there's no harm in underage drinking. God help the country if we all started at 18 and had no experience at all with it but we had no limits either.
    We had a good thing going!

ill get them some paint thinner, its essentially tesco vodka:pac:

IrishAm wrote: »
    Anyone remember Stonehouse cider? Six for a fiver. That shit was mental.

Rocket fuel:( used to drink that alot, it really did blow the head off you:eek:

No drinking session shall ever compare to your teenage years knacker drinking.

Great days.

Rocket fuel:( used to drink that alot, it really did blow the head off you:eek:

Liquid viagra.

Not in my experience:pac:

Was more like drink this and become the devil:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Rheo

My friend and I drank a can of Bulmers I think when we were 9 or something. Cider was the only alcoholic drink that tasted nice at that age. Man, we felt so cool and edgy :D

Not in my experience:pac:

Was more like drink this and become the devil:(:(

I would get up on a gust of wind after six of them bad boys.

Great times. I miss the ould knacker drinking sessions.

Liquid viagra.

That stuff would get the red rocket goin alright!

I would get up on a gust of wind after six of them bad boys.

Great times. I miss the ould knacker drinking sessions.

Yeah they were the days alright, head out early in the day, come back by the evening full of anticipation to see if you got away with it:cool:
    1ZRed wrote: »
    That stuff would get the red rocket goin alright!

Actually laughed at that ha, so disgusting!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 21 In_My_Tree

17, Captain Morgans w/orange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

MD (Mad Dogs) 20/20 I think it was a precursor to alco pops.
    I was 13, paid my mates brother to go the bottle shop for us.

Usually everyone says their first drink was rank, though that stuff
    was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

First ever drink was aged 4 or so, when my parents gave me a small glass of Bailey's to try. Apparently I knocked it straight back and demanded more.

First time properly drinking I was a very innocent 15 year old at a house party my older sister threw while my parents were away. For some reason I had it in my head that when guests come to a party they bring drink not for themselves, but for everyone else to share :confused: . Took and drank a few random beers and alcopops in the kitchen without anyone noticing. Feeling fairly merry, I then decided it would be a good idea to leave the party and go to my friend's house. Stumbled in his front door without his parents noticing. Sat down and watched Father Ted with my mate who was also so naive that he didn't cop I'd been drinking and just thought I seemed "In a happy mood". Stayed in his house until I sobered up. Looking back on it I don't know why we didn't go back to the party, both of us, instead of sitting around bored. Don't understand my logic as a teenager.

First time getting so drunk that I threw up was at the age of 18 at the same friend's birthday party at a GAA club. I remember it was 2:30 am, the lights had come on and the staff were trying to get everyone to leave. Me and my mate spot some man we didn't know who'd just come in and I demanded that bouncer throw him out. I remember being very insistent about it and making all sorts of gestures and threats unless this man was removed from the premises immediately. Turns out he was the other bouncer. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

My cousin birthday party. I was locked by the end of the night but I do remember that I drank a couple of pints of Bud, few bottles of it and a few more bottles of Bulmers lime (I think that's what it was) and a red bull and vodka.

Actually laughed at that ha, so disgusting!:pac:

Haha I know! The only way I thought of it is because when I was in 2nd year one of the weirdo introverted guys in my year sent a cock shot to one of the older girls in 3rd year. The rocket fuel comment reminded me of it again.

That little slip up bought him the nickname 'red rocket'. The pic did not go down well with everyone around the school obviously :p

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭validusername1

15 I think
    Don't even know what it was, just took a bottle of some 40% stuff from the press and we mixed it with the only drink in the fridge.. cranberry juice :l was horrible to say the least but it did the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Think i was 8 or 9 and my gran gave me a sip of Baileys to try.

Love that stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Some one left a glass of scoth on the floor when I was 3 or 4....

Best nights sleep I ever had :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

12. Had a 330ml can of heineken in my mates back yard.
    13 had a nagging before a concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

At 12 at my sisters hen night- Ritz.
    First time I got drunk was out with my other sister at 14 on cocktails while we were on holidays. I had no idea why the room was moving so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

First drink I ever head was when I had a sip of me Da's Smithwicks when I was about 7! First can I ever had was shared with a mate when I was about 12, a can of Hoffmans :pac:

I remember having a sip of me Ma's Martini years ago, thought it was perfume it was so rotten!!

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭dricko_lim

glass of west coast cooler when I was 7 before I went to school. Told my mother it was 7up and she got a phone call that morning from the school asking was I up late as I was asleep all morning!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

I was about 11 or so, dad gave me a glass of his guinness while we were outside plucking/gutting a pheasant.

ARGHHH.... MANLY NOISES!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Was about 8 or 9, we were having some do at our house and someone left an open can of Budweiser on the table out in the kitchen.

Had a sneaky few gulps, tasted like I was drinking sweat :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

A glass of Smithwicks shandy, I was probably 7.

First they came for the socialists...

Other than the few sips here and there, bacardi & coke and a sambuca when 14

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭sparkthatbled

I was 10 and Ray Houghton had just beaten Italy in USA 94! Someone set up a table outside with glasses of that cheapo cider champagne stuff. I was allowed one and, already being hyper, it sent me into turbo mode and i ran around for about half an hour non-stop recreating the goal with varying degrees of failure!

Next was when i was 15 at the millenium and i had a third of a can of Budweiser my friend nicked from his older brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

Feisar wrote: »
    A glass of Smithwicks shandy, I was probably 7.

Sh!t no! I was about 4. A loony gran-uncle-in-law fed me a lock of vodka when we were having a meal out. I went back to my Granny's and was trying to fight with everyone. My Granfather declared that if he didn't know better he'd of said I was drunk. Then the truth came out!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Maybe there's something different about my taste buds but I just can't stand the taste of anything with alcohol in it. It either burns like vinegar and tastes nasty or just tastes like water with some rotten vegetation mixed in.
    Have you tried cider, and/or spirits?

=-=

Cans of Dutch at 16. Horrible stuff! One day I got a 2L bottle of Linden Villlage; lovely stuff :D Started buying drink myself in the offie when I was 16, and drinking in the pub when I was 17. Good times :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

For my 10th birthday my dad pulled me a pint of guinness.

In a shot glass :)

I was always taking swigs of their drinks though, since I was about 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

A pint of Bulmers when I was 11 or 12, they tried to fool me with a pint of Cidona first though.